Product Library / Blinds, Shades & Curtains

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-29

RYSE SmartShade (Wired)

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[3][14][18]
[3][14]
[3][14]
[5][10][15][19]
[5][15][19]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: BLUETOOTH[1][2][13][19]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Not to move the shade, and yes for everything else people buy a smart shade for. RYSE's own description draws the line explicitly: on its own, the SmartShade 'converts your beaded-chained window shades into motorized shades, where you can open and close your shades via our mobile app or on-device buttons', over Bluetooth LE. Everything past that is gated on the RYSE SmartBridge, sold separately: RYSE lists 'With SmartBridge (additional purchase)' against creating 'routines or schedules', connecting 'with Apple HomeKit, Google Home, or Amazon Alexa for voice control', and controlling 'multiple shades simultaneously (Groups) from the app'. The SmartBridge's own page repeats the boundary from the other side - it is 'Capable of connecting with up to 10 SmartShades and SmartCurtains at once' and 'enables many exciting features including group control, routines, and integrations with Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Apple HomeKit' - and adds a constraint the shade page does not mention: a stated range of '40ft from SmartShade'.[2][3][13][14][19]

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Ryse hub or bridge

The RYSE SmartBridge (model BR-0101/BR-0201), $49.99. Required for every ecosystem integration, for schedules and routines, for group control and for remote access. It reaches the shade over 2.4 GHz radio at a stated 40 ft, and reaches the house network by Ethernet cable or WiFi. No third-party hub is named anywhere as a substitute.[2][3][13][14][19]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Open/close

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [2] [13] [19]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[2][13][19]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[3][14][18]Google HomeWorks[3][14]AlexaWorks[3][14]SmartThingsInconclusive[5][10][15][19]Home AssistantInconclusive[5][15][19]
Open/closeDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Works only through the RYSE SmartBridge, sold separately. Apple's own list of accessories for the Home app places the 'RYSE Smart Bridge' among its bridges: accessories the Home app connects to directly, which bring the devices behind them into the app. RYSE's pages say the same from their side, naming Apple HomeKit only under 'With SmartBridge (additional purchase)'. Apple lists the bridge rather than the shade, and neither Apple nor RYSE says which of the shade's controls show up in the Home app.[3][14][18]

Google Home

Same two RYSE sentences and the same SmartBridge condition. RYSE writes 'Google Home' rather than 'Google Assistant' on both pages, which is the app rather than the voice service. Sourced to RYSE alone.[3][14]

Alexa

Same two RYSE sentences and the same SmartBridge condition. RYSE writes 'Amazon Alexa' on both pages and describes the result as voice control rather than as a skill, a routine trigger or a state report, so the cell records that the platform can operate the shade and stops there. Sourced to RYSE alone.[3][14]

SmartThings

RYSE does not name SmartThings for this product, and what its page does name is narrower than it first looks. The shade page, read again on 20 September 2026, carries the line "Connect with Apple HomeKit, Google Home, or Amazon Alexa for voice control", under a feature panel headed "Voice Control" that reads "Go completely hands-free — just ask Alexa, Google, or Siri to adjust your shades." That is a list of the assistants you can speak to, not a list of the home platforms the shade joins — SmartThings is the sort of platform people use for automations and dashboards rather than voice, so leaving it out of a voice list says nothing about it. SmartThings appears nowhere else on the page either. So this is unanswered rather than ruled out.[5][10][15][19]

Home Assistant

Same absence as SmartThings, from the same two lists. There is a second reason not to reason toward an answer here: the shade itself speaks only Bluetooth LE, and its bridge is a closed RYSE device with no published way for other systems to control it locally, so a Home Assistant route would have to be something RYSE built or approved — and RYSE has published nothing. Home Assistant publishes nothing naming this product either.[5][15][19]

Device documentation: [2] [13] [19]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][14][18]Works only through the RYSE SmartBridge, sold separately. Apple's own list of accessories for the Home app places the 'RYSE Smart Bridge' among its bridges: accessories the Home app connects to directly, which bring the devices behind them into the app. RYSE's pages say the same from their side, naming Apple HomeKit only under 'With SmartBridge (additional purchase)'. Apple lists the bridge rather than the shade, and neither Apple nor RYSE says which of the shade's controls show up in the Home app.In Apple Home you also need: a Ryse hub
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][14]Same two RYSE sentences and the same SmartBridge condition. RYSE writes 'Amazon Alexa' on both pages and describes the result as voice control rather than as a skill, a routine trigger or a state report, so the cell records that the platform can operate the shade and stops there. Sourced to RYSE alone.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Ryse hub
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][14]Same two RYSE sentences and the same SmartBridge condition. RYSE writes 'Google Home' rather than 'Google Assistant' on both pages, which is the app rather than the voice service. Sourced to RYSE alone.In Google Home you also need: a Ryse hub
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[5][10][15][19]RYSE does not name SmartThings for this product, and what its page does name is narrower than it first looks. The shade page, read again on 20 September 2026, carries the line "Connect with Apple HomeKit, Google Home, or Amazon Alexa for voice control", under a feature panel headed "Voice Control" that reads "Go completely hands-free — just ask Alexa, Google, or Siri to adjust your shades." That is a list of the assistants you can speak to, not a list of the home platforms the shade joins — SmartThings is the sort of platform people use for automations and dashboards rather than voice, so leaving it out of a voice list says nothing about it. SmartThings appears nowhere else on the page either. So this is unanswered rather than ruled out.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[5][15][19]Same absence as SmartThings, from the same two lists. There is a second reason not to reason toward an answer here: the shade itself speaks only Bluetooth LE, and its bridge is a closed RYSE device with no published way for other systems to control it locally, so a Home Assistant route would have to be something RYSE built or approved — and RYSE has published nothing. Home Assistant publishes nothing naming this product either.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[4][12][16]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription is referenced on RYSE's SmartShade page, on its SmartBridge page, or in the RYSE app's App Store listing. Recorded on absence rather than on a pledge: RYSE nowhere states affirmatively that remote access and voice control stay free, and remote access is the feature class that most often acquires a fee later. The App Store listing shows no in-app purchase tier, which is the strongest of the three signals, but it is still an absence.

Maintenance and offline use[2]

The catch

The price on the listing is not the price of the product most people think they are buying. On its own, the SmartShade is a Bluetooth motor: you open and close the shade from the RYSE app when you are in range, or by pressing the buttons on the unit. Schedules, groups, remote access and every one of the three named ecosystems live behind the RYSE SmartBridge, a separate $49.99 purchase, which takes the real cost of a voice-controlled shade to $199.98. Second, the mechanism is a beaded chain, and the fit is specific rather than approximate: '#10 size beaded chain', shades up to 9 x 9 ft or 10 lbs. A shade with a wand, a cord loop or a different bead gauge is not a candidate, and this is worth measuring before ordering rather than after. Third, the platform list is short and it is closed at three. RYSE names Apple HomeKit, Google Home and Amazon Alexa on both of its pages and names nothing else - no SmartThings, no Home Assistant, no Matter, no IFTTT - and because the shade is Bluetooth-only with a closed vendor bridge, there is no protocol-level side door for a platform RYSE has not built for. Fourth, the bridge has a range of its own: RYSE states 40 ft from the shade, which is a constraint in a house where the router and the window are not on the same floor. Finally, RYSE publishes no company page and its help centre refused every request during this research, so the facts here come from two product pages and an app-store listing rather than from documentation.

Who it's for

Someone renting, or otherwise unwilling to replace a shade that works, who wants existing beaded-chain roller shades to open on a schedule or on a voice command, and who is running one of exactly three ecosystems: Apple Home, Google Home or Alexa. The install story is genuinely the appeal - a clip-on unit, a bracket, and a chain you already own - and the wired power means there is no battery to remember. Budget the bridge from the start and it is a coherent product. It is the wrong pick if the shade uses a cord loop or a wand rather than a #10 beaded chain, if the shade is larger than 9 x 9 ft or heavier than 10 lbs, if the window sits more than 40 ft from where the bridge can live, or if SmartThings or Home Assistant is the intended home - RYSE documents neither, and a Bluetooth motor behind a closed bridge leaves nothing for this catalogue to fill the gap with.

Check availability at RYSE

This opens RYSE's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

23 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] helloryse.com store data for the SmartShade (Wired), SKU GR-0103, read by machine on 2026-08-09: the product's own feature list reads 'On-Device Controls', 'RYSE App', 'Bluetooth Controls'. Corroborated by this record's existing RYSE store-listing evidence, which places every ecosystem integration (Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa) behind the separately-sold SmartBridge rather than on the shade itself. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  2. [2] RYSE store listing, SmartShade (Wired) - description, feature blocks, specification table, box contents and warranty sections — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Power source, Installation, Works without the internet, Market availability
  3. [3] RYSE store listing, SmartBridge - description, feature bullets and specification table — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  4. [4] Apple App Store listing for the RYSE app (developer RYSE INC.) - developer field, description, pricing and release notes — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Subscription, Research status
  5. [5] RYSE store listings, SmartShade and SmartBridge - the two platform enumerations — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  6. [6] RYSE SmartShade and SmartBridge product pages, already cited on this record — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-19
  7. [7] helloryse.com SmartShade (Wired) product page, re-read 2026-09-10 — 'converts your beaded-chained window shades into motorized shades, where you can open and close your shades via our mobile app or on-device buttons'; 'On-Device Buttons Need close-up control? Just tap the built-in buttons on your SmartShade to open or close on the spot, right by your window.'; specification row 'Connectivity Bluetooth LE'; '*Scheduling commands require the RYSE SmartBridge'. Corroborated by the SmartBridge page this record already cites (https://www.helloryse.com/products/ryse-smartbridge, re-read the same day), whose comparison chart lists 'Control Remotely (RYSE App)', 'Routines' and the Apple Homekit, Amazon Alexa and Google Home integrations as bridge features. The cited App Store listing was also re-read and states nothing about offline use. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-10
    Backs: Works without the internet
  8. [8] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13
  9. [9] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-19 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-19
  10. [10] RYSE's SmartShade product page, read again 2026-09-20 with a browser-rendered read, the rung this host takes. Two passages name platforms and both are labelled voice: the feature panel headed "Voice Control" ("Go completely hands-free—just ask Alexa, Google, or Siri to adjust your shades.") and the SmartBridge paragraph ("Connect with Apple HomeKit, Google Home, or Amazon Alexa for voice control"). SmartThings appears zero times in the served markup of the whole page; the other hits for Google and Alexa are customer testimonials. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  11. [11] RYSE's store listing, https://www.helloryse.com/products/rysesmartshade, structured listing read 2026-09-20: title "SmartShade (Wired)", vendor "RYSE", price 14999, a struck-through price of 19999, available true; variants "Wired" (SKU GR-0203-KYT120200BU) 14999 available true, and "Wire-free" (SKU GR-0203-KYT120200BU-RFB) 14999 available false. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  12. [12] The RYSE app's US App Store listing, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ryse/id1216335329, read in full 2026-09-20: app "RYSE", developer "RYSE INC.", price "Free", latest version 2.3.7 released July 2. No In-App Purchases section is listed and no subscription is mentioned anywhere on the listing. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Subscription
  13. [13] RYSE, SmartShade (Wired) product page, https://www.helloryse.com/products/rysesmartshade, read in full 2026-09-21 - the structured route first and then the rendered page, with the customer-review regions excluded from every reading. Structured listing: title "SmartShade (Wired)", vendor "RYSE", price 14999 against a compare-at of 19999, two variants - "Wired" (SKU GR-0203-KYT120200BU) available and "Wire-free" (SKU GR-0203-KYT120200BU-RFB) not available. Rendered page, verbatim and unchanged: the description "converts your beaded-chained window shades into motorized shades, where you can open and close your shades via our mobile app or on-device buttons. Get the best experience with our SmartBridge (additional purchase), where you can:" followed by "Create routines or schedules…", "Connect with Apple HomeKit, Google Home, or Amazon Alexa for voice control" and "Control multiple shades simultaneously (Groups) from the app"; the feature panels "Schedules & Routines*", "Room & Group Control*" and "Voice Control*" footnoted "*With RYSE SmartBridge", with Voice Control reading "Go completely hands-free—just ask Alexa, Google, or Siri to adjust your shades."; "On-Device Buttons - Need close-up control? Just tap the built-in buttons on your SmartShade to open or close on the spot, right by your window."; "Install in just 5 minutes without a professional. Renter friendly and leaves no trace."; "*Scheduling commands require the RYSE SmartBridge"; "1 Year Warranty" and "30 Day Money Back". Specifications, verbatim: Model "GR-0103"; Dimensions "1.8 x 1.8 x 5.1 in"; Weight "330 g"; Compatibility "#10 size beaded chain"; Supported Shade Sizes "Up to 9 x 9 ft. or 10 lbs of weight"; Power "Optional 12V⍰2.0A Adapter (with 9 ft. cable)"; OS Requirements "iOS - 16 or later, Android - 8.0 or later"; Connectivity "Bluetooth LE"; Operating Temperature "0°C to 40°C (32°F to 104°F)"; Radio Frequency "2.4 GHz"; Radio Power "+8 dBm"; Operating Humidity "10% to 85%". In the box: SmartShade with a Back Cover, Power Adapter, Inside Mounting Bracket, Outside Mounting Bracket Attachement, Mounting Bracket Attachment Screws, Screws, Anchors. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Works without the internet, Market availability, Research status
  14. [14] RYSE, SmartBridge product page, https://www.helloryse.com/products/ryse-smartbridge, read in full 2026-09-21 - structured route then rendered, review regions excluded. Structured listing: title "SmartBridge", price 4999 against a compare-at of 7999, variants "2025" (SKU BR-0201) available and "2024" (SKU BR-0201-RFB) not available. Description, verbatim: "The RYSE SmartBridge add-on offers ultimate control of your retrofit smart home setup. Capable of connecting with up to 10 SmartShades or SmartCurtains at once, it enables group control, routines, and integrations with Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Apple HomeKit." followed by "Set schedules to automatically move your shades or curtains", "Send commands to up to 10 devices as a group", "Integrate with Alexa, Google Home, and Apple HomeKit" and "Remote access – control your shades from anywhere in the world". Specifications, verbatim and unchanged: Model "BR-0101/BR-0201"; Radio Frequency "2.4 GHz"; Range "40ft from SmartShade"; connection by "Ethernet cable" with "Simply connect your SmartBridge with any modem or wifi-extender with a vacant ethernet port. No ethernet port? No problem - connect via WiFi only." Nothing on the page names SmartThings, Home Assistant, Matter or IFTTT. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  15. [15] RYSE's SmartShade and SmartBridge product pages, both read in full 2026-09-21 with the review regions excluded. Neither names SmartThings, Home Assistant, Matter or IFTTT anywhere. What the shade page does name is a voice list - "Connect with Apple HomeKit, Google Home, or Amazon Alexa for voice control" under a panel headed "Voice Control" reading "Go completely hands-free—just ask Alexa, Google, or Siri to adjust your shades." - and the bridge page names the same three platforms and stops. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  16. [16] Apple App Store listing for the RYSE app, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ryse/id1216335329, read in full 2026-09-21. Seller "RYSE INC.", category Utilities, price Free, no In-App Purchases section, version 2.3.7. Compatibility now reads iOS 17.1 or later, iPadOS 17.1 or later and visionOS 1.0 or later. Description, verbatim: "RYSE lets you control your window shades from the comfort of your iPhone and create groups and routines for added convenience and automation. Compatible with RYSE SmartShade and SmartBridge, and backwards compatible with AXIS Gear. After receiving your RYSE or AXIS products, download the free app for a smarter home that saves you time and energy." No subscription, plan, tier or fee appears anywhere on the listing. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Subscription, Product identity, Research status
  17. [17] RYSE's own store listing for the SmartShade, read 2026-09-24. The listing sells a Wired and a Wire-free version; the Wired version carries the part code GR-0203-KYT120200BU and the retail barcode 873110000129. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  18. [18] Apple's own list of accessories that work with the Home app, read in full on 2026-09-27. Under the category heading 'Bridges', between 'RadioRA 2 by Lutron Connect Bridge' and 'Savant Pro Host', Apple lists 'RYSE Smart Bridge'. The shade itself is not named anywhere on the page, including under 'Windows and Coverings'. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  19. [19] RYSE's SmartShade (Wired) page, read in full on 2026-09-29, structured route first. Structured listing: title 'SmartShade (Wired)', vendor 'RYSE', available true, price 14999 against a compare-at of 19999; variant 'Wired' SKU GR-0203-KYT120200BU, barcode 873110000129, available true; variant 'Wire-free' SKU GR-0203-KYT120200BU-RFB, available false. Page, verbatim: "Specifications Model GR-0103" · "Connectivity Bluetooth LE" · "OS Requirements iOS - 16 or later, Android - 8.0 or later" · "Install in just 5 minutes without a professional." · "converts your beaded-chained window shades into motorized shades, where you can open and close your shades via our mobile app or on-device buttons" · "Connect with Apple HomeKit, Google Home, or Amazon Alexa for voice control" · "*With RYSE SmartBridge" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29
    Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Protocols, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Market availability, Research status, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  20. [20] RYSE's own store listing data for the SmartShade (Wired), read in full 2026-10-02. The listing's title is "SmartShade (Wired)" and its seller is "RYSE". The Wired version carries the part code "GR-0203-KYT120200BU", the barcode "873110000129", a price of 14999 cents against an original-price field of 19999 cents, and is marked available. The Wire-free version carries the part code "GR-0203-KYT120200BU-RFB", the barcode "873110000310", the same two price fields, and is marked not available. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Certification and product IDs, Price, Market availability
  21. [21] This record's own entries: bq107-a5ctrl-ryse-bridge-page-2026-09-21 (the SmartBridge page: 'Integrate with Alexa, Google Home, and Apple HomeKit') and bq107-u1-20260929-ryse-shade-page (the SmartShade page, which lists the platforms under 'With SmartBridge (additional purchase)')., verified 2026-10-12
  22. [22] RYSE's SmartShade (Wired) page, read in full on 2026-10-13, with its structured listing. Page, verbatim: "Specifications Model GR-0103". Structured listing: variant 'Wired' SKU GR-0203-KYT120200BU, barcode 873110000129; variant 'Wire-free' SKU GR-0203-KYT120200BU-RFB, barcode 873110000310, available false. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-13
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  23. [23] RYSE's own store listing data for the SmartShade (Wired), read in full 2026-10-15. The listing's title is "SmartShade (Wired)" and its vendor is "RYSE". The Wired version carries the part code "GR-0203-KYT120200BU", the barcode "873110000129", a price of 14999 cents against a compare-at field of 19999 cents, and is marked available. The Wire-free version carries the part code "GR-0203-KYT120200BU-RFB", the barcode "873110000310", the same two price fields, and is marked not available. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Certification and product IDs, Price, Market availability

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check RYSE SmartShade (Wired) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker