Product Library / Cameras & Doorbells

Discontinued

Ring Video Doorbell (2nd gen)

⚠ Similar names, different products: Ring's store URL for this doorbell now sells a DIFFERENT product. ring.com/products/video-doorbell-v2 — the address this record has always cited — served the "Battery Doorbell 2K (2nd Gen) - 2026 release" at $99.99 when read on 2026-08-20, a newer battery doorbell that Ring renamed from "Battery Doorbell (2nd Gen)". This record is the Video Doorbell (2nd Gen), the 2020 second generation of Ring's original wired-or-battery video doorbell, which Ring still documents separately at ring.com/support/products/doorbells/video-doorbell-gen-2. Two different doorbells, one address: check which one a page is describing before trusting a price or a spec you find at that URL.

Nothing this doorbell does has been withdrawn — we checked this for the first time and everything it claims still works. Ring has retired the model, so the thing to watch is an end-of-support announcement: a retired doorbell's service is the part most likely to change without notice. Ring has retired this model — it is sold neither new nor refurbished by Ring, and its product page now redirects to the Battery Doorbell 2K. Anything you find is third-party stock. And without a subscription it is a live-view-only doorbell: recordings are paywalled at $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr for a single device.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[6][36]
[4][17][32]
[25][41]
[3][7][22][35]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[20][31]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

Equipment requirements need a check

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Camera stream

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11] [31]

Documented device function

Two-way audio

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11] [31]

Documented device function

Doorbell pressed

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11] [31]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[11][31]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
2 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeDoesn't work[6][36]Google HomeDoesn't work[4][17][32]AlexaWorks[4][20][30][31][42][43][44][45]SmartThingsPartial[25][41]Home AssistantPartial[3][7][22][35]
Camera streamDevice control
Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Works

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Two-way audioDevice control
Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Works

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Doorbell pressedReported event
Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

No Apple Home support — Ring's only officially supported ecosystem is Alexa, and Ring has announced no HomeKit or Matter camera plans even after Matter 1.5 added camera support (December 2025).[6][36]

Google Home

No Google Home support[4][17][32]

Alexa

Ring's support page for this doorbell lists Works with Alexa, and Ring's Alexa help article sets out the route: you link your Ring and Amazon accounts and turn on the Ring Skill in the Alexa app, so it works through the internet rather than inside your home. An Alexa device can then let you talk to visitors and get alerts, and one with a screen can show the doorbell's Live View.[4][20][30][31][42][43][44][45]

SmartThings

Samsung's own Works with SmartThings catalogue lists this exact doorbell for the United States, by its model number, so the pairing is supported rather than merely assumed. What Samsung does not publish is how much of the doorbell SmartThings sees — its listing gives a model and a category and no feature list — so expect the linked service's basic events and keep the Ring app for live video.[25][41]

Home Assistant

Official HA core 'ring' integration (cloud polling), and its supported-device list explicitly includes the Doorbell (2nd Gen): ding/motion event sensors, battery, and live view work; two-way audio is not supported and the last-recording entity requires a Ring Protect subscription.[3][7][22][35]

Device documentation: [11] [31]

Some functions may need a paid plan. Plan requirements are shown below.

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][20][30][31][42][43][44][45]Ring's support page for this doorbell lists Works with Alexa, and Ring's Alexa help article sets out the route: you link your Ring and Amazon accounts and turn on the Ring Skill in the Alexa app, so it works through the internet rather than inside your home. An Alexa device can then let you talk to visitors and get alerts, and one with a screen can show the doorbell's Live View.
Google HomeDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4][17][32]No Google Home support
Apple HomeDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[6][36]No Apple Home support — Ring's only officially supported ecosystem is Alexa, and Ring has announced no HomeKit or Matter camera plans even after Matter 1.5 added camera support (December 2025).
SmartThingsPartialPartial support — see the catch[25][41]Samsung's own Works with SmartThings catalogue lists this exact doorbell for the United States, by its model number, so the pairing is supported rather than merely assumed. What Samsung does not publish is how much of the doorbell SmartThings sees — its listing gives a model and a category and no feature list — so expect the linked service's basic events and keep the Ring app for live video.
Home AssistantPartialPartial support — see the catch[3][7][22][35]Official HA core 'ring' integration (cloud polling), and its supported-device list explicitly includes the Doorbell (2nd Gen): ding/motion event sensors, battery, and live view work; two-way audio is not supported and the last-recording entity requires a Ring Protect subscription.

Plans and ongoing costs[2][5][27][34]

⚠ Works without a subscription: No — core features are paywalled.

Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[14][39]

Recordings effectively require a plan; live view, motion alerts and two-way talk are free. CURRENT TIER NAMES (Ring renamed Ring Home plans to Ring Protect plans on 2026-01-14): Ring Solo $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr covers ONE device; Ring Multi $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr covers all devices at one location; Ring Pro $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr adds 24/7 professional monitoring. The pricing field records the entry Solo tier. Note for multi-camera households: Solo is per-device, but Ring Multi is flat for a whole location, so a three-camera home is $9.99/mo rather than three times $4.99 — per-camera fee maths overstates the cost past two devices.

Maintenance and offline use

Security updates[10][29][37][38]

Ring declares security updates for this model until December 31, 2028 (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). After that date the product keeps working; the manufacturer simply has no stated obligation to keep issuing security fixes.

Ring's UK PSTI Statement of Compliance v2.6 names this model in its product table — Product/Model Name "Video Doorbell (2nd Generation)", Model Number 5UM5E5, Defined Support Period "31 December 2028 or later" — and Ring's own US security-updates support page independently gives "Video Doorbell (2nd Generation) - Satin Nickel, Venetian Bronze" the same 31 December 2028. This is the ONLY record in the Ring batch where the signed regulatory declaration answers by model number, which is why declaredIn is the regulatory class here and the vendor policy page elsewhere. Ring states the table figure as a floor rather than an expiry: the column is headed "Software security updates until at least", and the page's commitment reads "We'll support your device with software security updates until at least four years from when you bought it new on amazon.com where Amazon is the seller or on ring.com (or, in each case, until the date stated below if later). If you got your device somewhere else, we'll support it with software security updates until at least the date stated below." The four-year-from-purchase half of that commitment cannot extend this model in practice: Ring no longer sells it new, so there is no purchase date after which four years could run past 2028. ⊕ REGION: UK — the declaring document is a UK PSTI Statement of Compliance, filed under the Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure Act. The scope is the filing's own: this is a promise made for the United Kingdom, and it is printed that way so a buyer elsewhere is never told a British legal commitment covers their unit (S-1b).

Who it's for

Alexa households comfortable with a monthly fee; avoid if you're subscription-averse (see eufy/Reolink).

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

45 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Ring's own store, read 2026-08-08: ring.com/products/video-doorbell-v2 redirects (2 hops) to ring.com/products/battery-doorbell-2nd-gen ('Battery Doorbell 2K'); ring.com/products/video-doorbell-v2-certified-refurbished redirects to ring.com/collections/certified-refurbished, whose doorbell list names Battery Doorbell $89.99, Battery Doorbell Plus (Video Doorbell) $127.99, Wired Doorbell Plus (Video Doorbell Pro) $129.99, Wired Doorbell Pro (Video Doorbell Pro 2) $116.99 and Battery Doorbell Pro $206.99 — and does not name the Video Doorbell (2nd Generation) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-08
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Research status
  2. [2] Ring's own plans page (read 2026-08-08): 'Ring Solo $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr + applicable tax — Video recording, smart alerts, and more, for one device'; 'Ring Multi $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr'; 'Ring Pro $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr'; '24/7 Continuous Recording +$3/mo per camera'; Smoke & CO Pro Monitoring '+$5/month' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-08
    Backs: Subscription
  3. [3] Home Assistant official documentation for the Ring integration (read 2026-08-08): IoT class 'Cloud Polling'; 'used by 6.3% of active installations'; supported doorbells include Doorbell 2, 3, Pro variants, Elite, Wired and Peephole Cam; 'Bronze quality' tier — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-08
    Backs: Service status, Home Assistant compatibility
  4. [4] ring.com/support/products/doorbells/video-doorbell-gen-2 — recording gated behind Ring Protect; no-sub = live view + basic notifications only; Alexa yes, no Google Home; no Matter — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-15
    Backs: Product identity, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Research status
  5. [5] https://ring.com/plans — Ring Solo $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr (one device); Ring Multi $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr (all devices, one location); Ring Pro $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr. Rename date from ring.com/support/plans/standard: 'Ring Home plans were renamed Ring Protect plans on January 14, 2026'. Corroborated independently by https://ring.com/explore-ring-home, which maps Home Basic to Ring Solo, Home Standard to Ring Multi, Standard-plus-monitoring to Ring Pro, and Home Premium to Premium Legacy. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19
    Backs: Subscription, Price
  6. [6] Negative-space verification, stated explicitly: no ring.com support or product page names Apple Home/HomeKit/Matter anywhere; Ring's 'Works With Ring — Basic Information' article (ring.com/support/articles/xow3y) names Alexa as the only tested/certified ecosystem; as of 2026-07-21 Ring has certified no Matter camera despite Matter 1.5 shipping — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  7. [7] Home Assistant official docs (home-assistant.io/integrations/ring — supported devices include 'Doorbell (2nd Gen)'; 'Two-way audio in camera live view is not currently supported… To view the last recording entity you will need a Ring subscription') — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  8. [8] samsung.com/us/smartthings/doorbell/ring-battery-video-doorbell-plus (a different model's page, quoted as the shape of what Samsung DOES document) + retired Samsung Ring-on-TV article ANS00087644; checked 2026-07-21, verified 2026-07-21
  9. [9] 2026-07 web research sweep (docs/02 catalog; primary sources cited there) — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-12
  10. [10] Ring LLC, UK PSTI Statement of Compliance v2.6 (Ring_v2.6_UK_PSTI), read 2026-08-19 as page images after text extraction failed. Product table row: "Video Doorbell (2nd Generation) | 5UM5E5 | 31 December 2028 or later*". Declared by Amazon.com Services LLC under the Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure Act 2022; original date of issue 29 April 2024; signed Jason Mitura, VP, April 16, 2026. Corroborated by Ring's own US support page "Information on Ring Devices Software Security Updates" (https://ring.com/support/articles/ri2p1/Information-on-Ring-Devices-Software-Security-Updates), whose Doorbells table gives the same model the same date. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Security-update support period
  11. [11] Ring, Video Doorbell (2nd gen) product page (ring.com/products/video-doorbell-v2), read 2026-08-19. Feature copy: "Live View and Two-Way Talk — Stay connected to everything that happens at the door with Live View and Two-Way Talk. Greet visitors, catch deliveries, and shoo off intruders — right from your phone." and "Motion Detection — Receive real-time motion alerts sent straight to your phone and know exactly when someone stopped by your door." Doorbell press is enumerated in the storage copy: "videos of every doorbell ring, motion event, and Live View event". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Capabilities
  12. [12] The URL this record cites for its product facts, ring.com/products/video-doorbell-v2, served content for a product titled **"Ring Battery Doorbell 2K"** on 2026-08-20 — a lithium-ion battery doorbell on "Wi-Fi 4, 2.4GHz Single Band Wi-Fi", with an in-box list of "Battery Doorbell 2K", "Universal Mounting Plate", "Installation Tools and Hardware", "Setup Guide" and "Security Sticker". This record is the Ring Video Doorbell (2nd gen). — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  13. [13] Ring's own two surfaces, read 2026-08-20. ring.com/products/video-doorbell-v2 — this record's long-standing citation — now serves a product titled "Battery Doorbell 2K" at $99.99, described as "Battery Doorbell 2K (2nd Gen) - 2026 release", whose own FAQ explains the naming: asked the difference between the Battery Doorbell (2nd Gen) and the Battery Doorbell 2K, Ring answers "Nothing. We changed the name, but the features remain the same." Separately, ring.com/support/products/doorbells/video-doorbell-gen-2 remains live and covers "Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)", identifying it as "the 2nd generation of our original video doorbell (released 2020)" — and carries Ring's own advisory that "Some Ring product names have changed.", verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Product identity
  14. [14] Ring support, 'Setting up and installing your Ring Alarm Base Station', read 2026-08-21 — 'If this is your first Ring product, you will be asked to set up an account.' The same article adds 'you can have multiple locations (up to 10) on one Ring account', so the account is the container the products live in. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  15. [15] Ring support, 'Fixing offline devices', read 2026-08-21 — 'If your Ring device falls offline, you will not be able to view live video, get alerts, or record events around your home.' Live view, alerts and recording ARE the core function of a camera or video doorbell, so the core function does not survive the outage. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Works without the internet
  16. [16] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance (filling in which region this record's security-support facts describe), verified 2026-08-27
  17. [17] Ring's own support page for this model, re-read 2026-08-30 for this claim specifically. The page still describes 'Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)' under that name, and the only third-party platform it names anywhere is Alexa — 'Works with Alexa'. The words 'Google', 'Google Home', 'Google Assistant', 'Nest', 'Apple', 'HomeKit', 'Siri' and 'Matter' appear nowhere on it. Corroborated the same day on ring.com/support/articles/xow3y/Works-with-Ring, Ring's own 'Works With Ring' program article, which describes what the program certifies — 'Products go through enhanced integration and testing to be sure they work seamlessly with Ring, and they can sometimes have extra functionality' — names Alexa as the only ecosystem in it ('If Alexa control is available, it is included as part of the device's testing and certification'), and names Google, Google Home, Google Assistant, Nest, Apple, HomeKit and Matter nowhere. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-30
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  18. [18] https://ring.com/support/products/doorbells/video-doorbell-gen-2 (read 2026-09-09): 'Wifi Connectivity: 802.11 b/g/n 2.4GHz Wifi' and 'Power: Internal battery, hardwire to existing doorbell kit, or Solar Mount. Transformer requirements: 8-24 VAC (40VA max) and 50/60Hz.' ⊕ Calling it mixed is the vendor's own list of three supplies for ONE device, which is what that word means here — unlike the Ring Alarm 8-piece kit, where the pieces of a KIT are powered differently and mixed was refused. ⊖ A separate Ring troubleshooting page says 'Try connecting the device to a different 2.4GHz wifi network, instead of 5GHz'; that sentence is about the buyer's router and is NOT what this value rests on. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source
  19. [19] The three Ring pages cited on this record (read 2026-09-09) link no app store and name no platform for the Ring app. The app's platforms stay unrecorded: we looked, and Ring does not publish them — the same result as the Ring Alarm Flood & Freeze Sensor and the Ring Alarm 8-piece kit, which makes it a fact about Ring's own pages rather than about our research. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
  20. [20] Ring support, 'Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)' (read 2026-09-13): 'Learn all about the 2nd generation of our original video doorbell (released 2020).' Tech Specs 'Wifi Connectivity 802.11 b/g/n 2.4GHz Wifi'; Features Included '• 2.4 GHz wifi connectivity' · '• Internal battery' · '• Works with Alexa'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Protocols, Product identity, Amazon Alexa compatibility
  21. [21] Ring support, 'Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)' (read 2026-09-13): Power 'Internal battery, hardwire to existing doorbell kit, or Solar Mount. Transformer requirements: 8-24 VAC (40VA max) and 50/60Hz.'; Box Includes 'Micro USB Charging Cable'. Cross-read the same day, Ring's 'Troubleshooting battery performance' (https://ring.com/support/articles/9iatk/troubleshooting-battery-performance): 'Batteries in Ring devices are made to last for months between charges, but certain things can cause batteries to drain faster.' and 'The more Live Views, linked events, and motion events your device is performing, the more often you will need to recharge your battery.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Batteries
  22. [22] Home Assistant, Ring integration documentation (read 2026-09-13): supported doorbells include 'Doorbell (2nd Gen)'; 'Two-way audio in camera live view is not currently supported.'; 'To view the last recording entity you will need a Ring subscription.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Service status
  23. [23] Ring store (read 2026-09-13): ring.com/products/video-doorbell-v2 redirects to ring.com/products/battery-doorbell-2nd-gen, which sells 'Battery Doorbell 2K' ('Newest Model'). No Ring store page sells the Video Doorbell (2nd Gen). — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Market availability, Research status
  24. [24] lifecycle.service.note, as it read before 2026-09-15: Raised from unknown — the axis had never been checked (no verification date and no source were recorded). Full rather than degraded: nothing this record claims has been withdrawn. ⚠ Re-check when Ring announces an end-of-support date; a retired model's service axis is the one most likely to move without notice., verified 2026-09-15
  25. [25] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner catalogue, Ring page, read browser-rendered 2026-09-16 — the page answered and 4,027 characters of it were visible on screen, with a further 6,645 characters present in the page but not shown. Under the heading 'Ring Products', region selector 'United States', the grid prints one row per supported device: 'Video Doorbell 2nd Gen | Model Number 5UM5E5 | Category Doorbell', alongside Floodlight Cam (8SF1P7), Video Doorbell 3 (5AT3S9), Spotlight Cam Wired (8SH1P7), Video Doorbell Wired (5AT3T5), Indoor Cam (2nd Gen) (5F72E9) and the rest of the Ring range. The page's own breadcrumb is 'Works with SmartThings › Supported Devices › Ring'. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Certification and product IDs, Research status
  26. [26] Two Ring pages, both read 2026-09-16. (1) The model's own support page, still published under the title "Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)" with the line "Learn all about the 2nd generation of our original video doorbell (released 2020)", and still listing the full feature set — "1080p HD Video with Night Vision · Advanced Motion Detection · Live View · 2.4 GHz wifi connectivity · Lifetime theft protection · Internal battery · Does not require connection to a wired doorbell · Works with Alexa" — plus the tech specs ("802.11 b/g/n 2.4GHz Wifi", transformer "8-24 VAC (40VA max)", "Two-way audio with noise cancellation", "155° horizontal, 90° vertical") and a Software Security Updates section. It carries a notice that "Some Ring product names have changed" and no end-of-support or withdrawal notice. (2) The store address this record has always cited, ring.com/products/video-doorbell-v2, which still redirects to ring.com/products/battery-doorbell-2nd-gen and sells the "Battery Doorbell 2K" — a different doorbell. No Ring store page sells the Video Doorbell (2nd Gen). — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Market availability, Service status
  27. [27] Ring's own plans page, re-read in full 2026-09-22. Headed 'Ring Protect Plans'. Verbatim: 'Ring Solo $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr + applicable tax — Video recording, smart alerts, and more, for one device'; 'Ring Multi $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr + applicable tax — Video recording, smart alerts, and more for all devices at one location'; 'Ring Pro $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr + applicable tax — Get intelligent assistant features... plus emergency response when your system is triggered'; 'Virtual Security Guard $99.00/mo + applicable tax'. Footer condition: 'Plans auto-renew until canceled. One device or location covered per plan.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Subscription
  28. [28] The product URL this record cites, ring.com/products/video-doorbell-v2, re-read in full 2026-09-22. It serves a page titled 'Battery Doorbell 2K — Doorbell Camera | Ring', badged 'Newest Model', priced '$99.99' with no crossed-out figure, in Speckled Gray, Speckled White and Matte Mocha. Nothing on the page names, sells or prices a 'Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Required hub or bridge, Research status
  29. [29] Ring LLC, UK PSTI Statement of Compliance, read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: table columns 'Product/Model Name / Model Number / Defined Support Period' · row 'Video Doorbell (2nd Generation) 5UM5E5 31 December 2028 or later*' · '* Ring devices receive guaranteed software security updates until at least four years after the device is last available for purchase as a new unit on our websites.' · 'We, Amazon.com Services LLC, declare under our sole responsibility that the products described above are in conformity with the relevant statutory requirements for sale in the United Kingdom' · 'of the Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure Act 2022' · 'Original Date of Issue: 29 April 2024' · 'Date: April 16, 2026'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Security-update support period
  30. [30] Ring's support article 'Connecting Amazon Alexa devices with Ring devices', read in full on 2026-10-02 (2,248 characters). Verbatim: "When you link your Amazon and Ring accounts, you can access Ring device features using voice commands with compatible Alexa devices" · "Talk to visitors at your door ." · "Get alerts on your device ." · "Watch Live View from your Ring doorbell or camera on devices with screens." · "Follow the prompts in the Alexa app to link your Ring and Alexa accounts." · "Your Alexa devices won't appear in the list if you activated the Ring Skill with a different account." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  31. [31] Ring's support page for this model, read in full on 2026-10-02 (2,056 characters, the same text as change detection's copy). Verbatim: "Learn all about the 2nd generation of our original video doorbell (released 2020)." · "Audio Two-way audio with noise cancellation" · "Power Internal battery, hardwire to existing doorbell kit, or Solar Mount." · "Wifi Connectivity 802.11 b/g/n 2.4GHz Wifi" · "• Works with Alexa" · "Micro USB Charging Cable". The words Google, Nest, Apple, HomeKit, Siri, Matter and SmartThings appear nowhere on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Capabilities, Batteries, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Service status, Research status
  32. [32] Ring's support page for this model, read in full on 2026-10-02. The only third-party platform it names is Alexa ('Works with Alexa'); the words Google, Google Home, Google Assistant and Nest appear nowhere on it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  33. [33] The product address this record has always cited, read in full on 2026-10-02 (31,956 characters). It serves a page titled 'Battery Doorbell 2K — Doorbell Camera | Ring', badged 'Newest Model', with "Now $39.99 Was $99.99" and "Generation Battery Doorbell 2K (2nd Gen) - 2026 release". Nothing on the page names, sells or prices a Video Doorbell (2nd Gen). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Market availability
  34. [34] Ring's plans page, read in full on 2026-10-02 (23,913 characters). Verbatim: "Ring Solo $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr + applicable tax" · "Video recording, smart alerts, and more, for one device" · "Ring Multi $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr + applicable tax" · "Ring Pro $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr + applicable tax" · "+$3/mo per camera*" · "+$5/month" · "Plans auto-renew until canceled. One device or location covered per plan." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Subscription
  35. [35] Home Assistant's Ring integration page, read in full on 2026-10-02 (13,789 characters). Verbatim: "Battery Doorbell, Doorbell (2nd Gen), Peephole Cam" · "The Ring integration does not connect locally to devices, all communication goes via the cloud." · "Two-way audio in camera live view is not currently supported." · "To view the last recording entity you will need a Ring subscription." · "Its IoT class is Cloud Polling." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Service status
  36. [36] Ring's 'Works With Ring' article, read in full on 2026-10-02 (1,916 characters). Verbatim: "If Alexa control is available, it is included as part of the device's testing and certification." Apple, HomeKit, Siri and Matter appear nowhere in it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  37. [37] Ring's UK PSTI Statement of Compliance (v2.6), read in full on 2026-10-02. Verbatim: row "Video Doorbell (2nd Generation) 5UM5E5 31 December 2028 or later*" · "Ring devices receive guaranteed software security updates until at least four years after the device is last available for purchase as a new unit on our websites." · "Date: April 16, 2026" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Security-update support period, Certification and product IDs
  38. [38] Ring support, 'Information on Ring Devices Software Security Updates', read in full on 2026-10-02 (6,329 characters). The Doorbells table row reads 'Video Doorbell (2nd Generation) - Satin Nickel, Venetian Bronze 31 December 2028'. Verbatim: "until at least four years from when you bought it new on amazon.com where Amazon is the seller or on ring.com" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Security-update support period
  39. [39] Ring support, 'Setting up and installing your Ring Alarm Base Station', read in full on 2026-10-02 (5,329 characters). Verbatim: "If this is your first Ring product, you will be asked to set up an account." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Vendor account required
  40. [40] Ring support, 'Fixing offline devices', read in full on 2026-10-02 (4,888 characters). Verbatim: "If your Ring device falls offline, you will not be able to view live video, get alerts, or record events around your home." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Works without the internet
  41. [41] SmartThings' Ring partner page, read rendered in full on 2026-10-02 (14,881 characters). The United States list carries the row 'Video Doorbell 2nd Gen Model Number 5UM5E5 Category Doorbell'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Certification and product IDs
  42. [42] Ring's support article 'Connecting Amazon Alexa devices with Ring devices', read in full on 2026-10-04 (same text as change detection's copy). Verbatim: "When you link your Amazon and Ring accounts, you can access Ring device features using voice commands with compatible Alexa devices" · "Talk to visitors at your door ." · "Watch Live View from your Ring doorbell or camera on devices with screens." · "Your Alexa devices won't appear in the list if you activated the Ring Skill with a different account." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  43. [43] Ring's support page for this model, read in full on 2026-10-04 (same text as change detection's copy). Verbatim: "Learn all about the 2nd generation of our original video doorbell (released 2020)." · "Audio Two-way audio with noise cancellation" · "• Works with Alexa". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  44. [44] Ring Help, 'Connecting Amazon Alexa devices with Ring devices', read in full on 2026-10-18. Verbatim: "When you link your Amazon and Ring accounts, you can access Ring device features using voice commands with compatible Alexa devices." · "Your Alexa device lets you: Talk to visitors at your door." · "Watch Live View from your Ring doorbell or camera on devices with screens." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-18
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  45. [45] Ring Help, Video Doorbell (2nd Gen), read in full on 2026-10-18. Verbatim: "Audio Two-way audio with noise cancellation" · "Features Included" … "Live View" … "Works with Alexa". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-18
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Ring Video Doorbell (2nd gen) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker