Product Library / Cameras & Doorbells

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-20

Ring Floodlight Cam 4K Pro

Compiled by SmartHomeWorkflow Research · Ring · Cameras & Doorbells · ~$279.99 (Ring.com US list, re-verified 2026-08-18: $279.99 for the wired 1-pack (unchanged since 2026-07-19) and $299.99 for the plug-in variant — never treated as a live price. The $199.99 sale showing on 2026-07-19 has ended, so the list figure this record already recorded is now also the price on the page.)

⚠ Similar names, different products: Ring sells two cameras whose names are easy to confuse, and they are not the same camera. This page covers the Retinal 4K one — 3840 x 2160, $279.99 wired — which Ring renamed to "Floodlight Cam 4K Pro" on 2026-08-21; it was "Floodlight Cam Pro (2nd Gen)" before that. The other camera, still on sale beside it, is the plain "Floodlight Cam Pro" — "Featuring Retinal 2K", 2624 x 1472, $229.99. ⚠ The rename has NOT reached Ring's own storefront: as of 2026-08-21 the retail product page still heads this camera "Floodlight Cam Pro (Newest Model) Featuring Retinal 4K", while Ring's support hub already uses the new name. So you may meet this camera under any of three names — match the resolution or the price before you buy.

Exactly which product this is[1][13][16]

Model number
Not established
Generation
2nd Gen
Region this page covers
US
Also sold or listed as
Ring Floodlight Cam Pro (2nd Gen) · Floodlight Cam Pro (Newest Model)

“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.

Compatibility

EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[6]The natively supported platform — Amazon owns Ring — and Ring states Alexa integration is included at no monthly cost.
Google HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[6]NOT ESTABLISHED. Ring's Google Assistant support has been widely reported as withdrawn, but no affirmative statement either way was found on ring.com or support.ring.com. Recorded as unknown rather than asserted from community reports.
Apple HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[6]NOT ESTABLISHED. No Ring statement on Apple Home or HomeKit was found in primary sources. Community reports point to Homebridge as the only route, which is not a vendor-supported integration.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[6]NOT ESTABLISHED. No Ring statement on SmartThings compatibility was found in primary sources.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[6]NOT ESTABLISHED. No Ring statement was found in primary sources within this research pass.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Protocols: WIFI[10]

What it can do[12]

You can tell it to

  • Camera stream
  • Two-way audio
  • Spotlight
  • Siren

It reports

  • Motion detected

Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.

What it doesAlexa
Camera stream? not stated
Two-way audio? not stated
Spotlight? not stated
Siren? not stated
Motion detected✓ routines can use it

Platform documentation: Amazon Alexa — automation engine ceiling (eight terms observed; residue inconclusive by refusal) (2026-09-01)

Some of these may need a paid plan — see Subscription reality below.

Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.

Subscription reality[2][4][5][10]

◐ Works without a subscription: Yes, but some features need a plan.

Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[17]

Tiers as of 2026-07-19 (ring.com/plans), after the 2026 rename from Ring Home to Ring Protect: Ring Solo $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr covers ONE device; Ring Multi $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr covers all devices at one location; Ring Pro $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr. Virtual Security Guard is $99/mo. The pricing field records the entry Solo tier. The decisive fact for a buyer: the free tier is real-time awareness only — live view, alerts and talk are free, but ZERO recording happens without a plan. A 30-day trial starts at device setup.

Maintenance reality[1]

Security updates[11]

Ring declares security updates for this model until December 31, 2030 (the document this comes from names no country, so which markets it legally covers is not stated). After that date the product keeps working; the manufacturer simply has no stated obligation to keep issuing security fixes.

Ring's security-updates support page lists "Floodlight Cam Pro (2nd Gen)" in its Cameras table with software security updates until at least 31 December 2030, on a separate row from "Floodlight Cam Pro" — which carries the same date, so which generation you own changes nothing here. ⚠ Read it as a floor rather than an expiry. Ring's wording: "We'll support your device with software security updates until at least four years from when you bought it new on amazon.com where Amazon is the seller or on ring.com (or, in each case, until the date stated below if later). If you got your device somewhere else, we'll support it with software security updates until at least the date stated below." ⊕ Ring's British filing (UK PSTI Statement of Compliance v2.6) was deliberately not used for this date: it has a single "Floodlight Cam Pro" row (Model Number 5CCEA3) with no generation named, and the support page shows two generations exist, so that row cannot be matched to either one. That filing marks every date in its table with a footnote reading "Ring devices receive guaranteed software security updates until at least four years after the device is last available for purchase as a new unit on our websites. For accurate, current dates please see link" — and the link is the support page above. The signed filing itself sends you to the support page for the current date, so the two documents are not in competition. ⚠ Ring's own product-name-changes article, read two days before the change, says this model is renamed "Floodlight Cam 4K Pro" on August 21, 2026, and that the change is cosmetic. ⊕ One scope note: the support article this date comes from names no country anywhere — it was re-read on 27 August 2026 for that question specifically — so no country is recorded for this date. Ring does file a British statement of compliance, but it is a different document covering a different list of models, so its UK scope is not borrowed here; the one Ring page on this site that cites that filing directly (the 2nd-gen Video Doorbell) is marked UK for that reason.

The catch

Live View, motion alerts and Two-Way Talk are genuinely free, which makes the no-subscription story sound better than it is: without a plan the camera records nothing at all. Every recording, and the 180-day history, sits behind Ring Protect. Note also that Ring's '4K' is its own term, 'Retinal 4K' (3840x2160), and that the plans were renamed from Ring Home to Ring Protect in 2026 — older comparisons citing Basic/Standard/Premium are out of date.

Who it's for

Alexa households wanting a bright, radar-equipped floodlight camera and willing to carry a subscription, since the device does not record without one.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

20 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] https://ring.com/products/floodlight-cam-pro-2nd-gen — $279.99 list wired ($199.99 sale, $299.99 plug-in), 'Retinal 4K' (3840x2160), 140 deg H x 85 deg V True View Lens, 200-2000 lumens, 85dB siren, dual-band WiFi, hardwired/plug-in with no battery option — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Maintenance
  2. [2] https://ring.com/support/articles/v5hc7/introducing-ring-home-plans (reached from the former https://ring.com/explore-ring-home) — 'Ring Home plans were renamed Ring Protect plans in 2026. Your subscription automatically transitions to your new plan, and you keep the same features.' Home Basic to Ring Solo, Home Standard to Ring Multi, Standard+monitoring to Ring Pro, Home Premium to Premium Legacy. Re-verified 2026-07-30, wording unchanged — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-30
    Backs: Subscription
  3. [3] https://ring.com/plans — Ring Solo $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr (one device); Ring Multi $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr (all devices, one location); Ring Pro $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr; Virtual Security Guard $99/mo — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19
  4. [4] https://blog.ring.com/home-security/ring-cameras-without-subscription/ (post dated 2026-07-16) — 'Live View, real-time Motion Alerts, Two-Way Talk, customizable Motion Zones, and Alexa integration at no monthly cost'; cloud video history listed under subscription-required features — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19
    Backs: Subscription
  5. [5] https://ring.com/support/articles/aqp76/Birds-Eye-View-Information + https://ring.com/support/articles/jx8sh/Using-3D-Motion-Detection — 'A compatible Ring subscription is required for these features'. NOTE: these articles still use the older 'Floodlight Cam Wired Pro' device naming; applicability to the 2nd Gen specifically is inferred, not directly sourced — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19
    Backs: Subscription
  6. [6] No affirmative statement found on ring.com or support.ring.com for Google, Apple Home, SmartThings or Home Assistant. Recorded as unknown rather than as negatives, because only community-forum and third-party-blog material was available, and that is not enough to publish a statement that something does not work., verified 2026-07-19
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  7. [7] https://ring.com/products/floodlight-cam-pro-2nd-gen — current flagship floodlight camera, listed on ring.com/collections/security-cameras, verified 2026-07-19
    Backs: Market availability
  8. [8] https://ring.com/explore-ring-home, verified 2026-07-19
    Backs: Service status
  9. [9] Re-verification pass, 2026-08-20. Primary sources re-read and the record checked against them: ring.com/products/floodlight-cam-pro-2nd-gen ("Floodlight Cam Pro (Newest Model)", "Retinal 4K" at "3840 x 2160 pixels", wired 1-pack "$279.99" and plug-in 1-pack "$299.99", "Add to Cart" present on each variant, "85dB Siren", floodlights adjustable "200 to 2000" lumens, "Wired" and "Plug-In" configurations, "Works with Alexa"); ring.com/products/floodlight-cam-pro, the separately-sold camera of nearly the same name ("Floodlight Cam Pro (Featuring Retinal 2K)", "2K Video (2624 x 1472)", "$229.99"); ring.com/explore-ring-home ("Ring Home plans were renamed Ring Protect plans in 2026. Your subscription automatically transitions to your new plan, and you keep the same features."); home-assistant.io/integrations/ring. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Research status
  10. [10] ring.com/products/floodlight-cam-pro-2nd-gen, re-read 2026-08-18 — 'Floodlight Cam Pro (Newest Model)' wired 1-pack '$279.99', plug-in 1-pack '$299.99', 'Add to Cart' present; feature comparison rows 'Dual-band wifi lets you also connect to a 5.0 GHz signal for a faster, more stable connection.' (this model) against 'Single-band wifi lets you connect to a 2.4 GHz signal' (Floodlight Cam Plus); 'Works with Alexa' in the same comparison; 'Subscribe to a compatible Protect Plan to rewatch moments you missed, unlock intelligent recognition, get emergency monitoring, and more.' Plan pricing re-read at ring.com/plans the same day and unchanged: Solo $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr, Multi $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr, Pro $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Price, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Subscription
  11. [11] Ring, "Information on Ring Devices Software Security Updates" (ring.com support article ri2p1), read 2026-08-19; page states "Last updated 6 days ago". Cameras table row: "Floodlight Cam Pro (2nd Gen) | 31 December 2030", under the column heading "Software security updates until at least"; the table also carries a separate "Floodlight Cam Pro" row at the same date. Forthcoming rename to "Floodlight Cam 4K Pro" (August 21, 2026) read from Ring's own "Ring product name changes" article (https://ring.com/support/articles/538eg/ring-product-name-changes). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Security-update support period
  12. [12] Ring, Floodlight Cam Pro (2nd Gen) product page, read 2026-08-19. Feature headline: "85dB Siren & 2000 Lumen Floodlights". Light control is stated rather than implied: "Our super bright outdoor camera lights up the night with two, motion-activated floodlights. Adjust the lumens from 200 to 2000 for more coverage across your yard or property." Also "Motion Detection & Alerts" and "3D Motion Detection", plus "Two-Way Talk" and "Two-Way Talk with Audio+" in the feature grid, and "Live View" in the specification list. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Capabilities
  13. [13] ring.com/products/floodlight-cam-pro-2nd-gen, re-read 2026-08-20 — heading "Floodlight Cam Pro (Newest Model)"; "Retinal 4K" at "3840 x 2160 pixels"; wired 1-pack "$279.99", plug-in 1-pack "$299.99"; "Add to Cart" present on each variant; "85dB Siren"; floodlights adjustable "200 to 2000" lumens; the device "offers both 'Wired' and 'Plug-In' configurations". Read alongside ring.com/products/floodlight-cam-pro the same day, which sells a DIFFERENT camera under a nearly identical name: "Floodlight Cam Pro (Featuring Retinal 2K)", "2K Video (2624 x 1472)", "$229.99". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Product identity, Power source, Market availability
  14. [14] home-assistant.io/integrations/ring, read 2026-08-20. Its supported-device list names models explicitly, and under "Stickup cams" it reads: "Floodlight Cam, Floodlight Cam Pro, Floodlight Cam Plus, Indoor Cam, Indoor Cam (2nd Gen), Spotlight Cam Battery, Spotlight Cam Wired, Spotlight Cam Plus, Spotlight Cam Pro, Stick Up Cam, Stick Up Battery, Stick Up Wired, Stick Up Cam (3rd Gen)". The page carries no generation qualifier on the "Floodlight Cam Pro" entry and no date indicating when the list was last extended. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-20
  15. [15] ring.com/explore-ring-home, re-read 2026-08-20: "Ring Home plans were renamed Ring Protect plans in 2026. Your subscription automatically transitions to your new plan, and you keep the same features." — the exact statement this record's service note rests on, re-confirmed in Ring's own words. The same page states "24/7 Professional Monitoring is only available in the US and Canada (excluding Quebec)." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Service status
  16. [16] https://ring.com/support/articles/538eg/ring-product-name-changes — 'The following Ring camera names are changing on August 21, 2026', with the table giving 'Floodlight Cam Pro (2nd Gen)' becoming 'Floodlight Cam 4K Pro'. Corroborated on Ring's support product hub (https://ring.com/support/products/cameras/floodlight-cam-pro-2nd-gen), whose heading now reads 'Floodlight Cam 4K Pro'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Product identity
  17. [17] Ring support, 'Setting up and installing your Ring Alarm Base Station', read 2026-08-21 — 'If this is your first Ring product, you will be asked to set up an account.' The same article adds 'you can have multiple locations (up to 10) on one Ring account', so the account is the container the products live in. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  18. [18] Ring support, 'Fixing offline devices', read 2026-08-21 — 'If your Ring device falls offline, you will not be able to view live video, get alerts, or record events around your home.' Live view, alerts and recording ARE the core function of a camera or video doorbell, so the core function does not survive the outage. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Works without the internet
  19. [19] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: the pass that recorded which region this product's security-update statement covers, verified 2026-08-27
  20. [20] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check it against YOUR setup →