Product Library / Water Protection & Plumbing
Research profile · last verified 2026-08-13Phyn Plus Smart Water Assistant + Shutoff (2nd Gen)
Exactly which product this is[1][20]
- Model number
- PHYPF007
- Generation
- 2nd Gen
- Region this page covers
- US
- Also sold or listed as
- Phyn Plus 2nd Gen · PHYPF007
“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.
Compatibility
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[6][21] | Usage queries plus opening and closing the water, but through a CUSTOM skill, which matters more than it sounds. The documented grammar is 'Alexa, ask Phyn Device to turn off my water' — custom-skill grammar normally cannot be used as an action inside an Alexa Routine, so the thing most buyers assume works, putting a third-party leak sensor and this valve in one Routine, is unconfirmed and probably not available. Separately, no voice PIN is documented for closing OR reopening your water supply. |
| Google Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[30] | Status, leak queries, and opening and closing the valve. The same missing-PIN concern applies as with Alexa — nothing documented prevents a voice command from shutting off or restoring your water. This comes from Phyn's own documentation only; we did not find a Works with Google directory entry to confirm it from Google's side. |
| Apple Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[7][22] | No Apple Home support. Phyn's own product page lists only Alexa, Google Home and IFTTT, and published third-party testing states affirmatively that there is no HomeKit support. Worth knowing the history: Belkin announced a HomeKit-enabled Phyn water assistant in 2019 and it never shipped. The only route is Home Assistant plus a HomeKit bridge. |
| SmartThings | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[22] | No path was found, and the evidence leans strongly toward none, but nothing settles it. The only substantive source is a SmartThings community thread from December 2019 that ended unresolved, with the observation that Phyn had closed off outside access, and no SmartThings driver exists. Recorded as unknown rather than no, because a seven-year-old forum thread is not a vendor statement in either direction. |
| Home Assistant | PartialPartial support — see the catch[9][19]Someone's observation, checked 2026-08-13This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-13. | Full valve open and close, plus usage, temperature, pressure and flow — through a community integration rather than an official one. It is actively maintained (version 2026.8.1, released 2026-08-01, whose release notes are a compatibility fix for Home Assistant 2026.8), but it is fragile in ways worth knowing before you buy: it signs in to Phyn's closed service with your account password, it needs the internet rather than working over your own network, it broke on 2025-06-11 when Phyn changed how that service works (and was patched the same day), and it rests on a single volunteer maintainer. An earlier fork was abandoned on 2025-08-31. Rated partial because the capability is real and the support behind it is thin. |
? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.
What it can do[25]
You can tell it to
- Valve
It reports
- Leak detected
- Water flow
Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.
| What it does | Google Home | Alexa | Home Assistant |
|---|---|---|---|
| Valve | ✓ routines can use it | ? not stated | ✓ routines can use it |
| Leak detected | ✓ routines can use it | ? not stated | ✓ routines can use it |
| Water flow | ✗ app only | ? not stated | ✓ routines can use it |
Platform documentation: Amazon Alexa — automation engine ceiling (eight terms observed; residue inconclusive by refusal) (2026-09-01), Google Home — automation engine ceiling (2026-09-01), Home Assistant — automation engine ceiling (2026-08-29)
Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.
Subscription reality[2][18]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.
Unusually, this is an AFFIRMATIVE vendor claim rather than an absence argument. Phyn states 'No subscription fees. At Phyn, we believe that your data is yours. We don't charge you a fee to access your water use data' and 'We think you shouldn't have to pay a monthly subscription to help save our water.' The app carries no in-app purchases, and the auto-shutoff help article documents the feature end to end with no fee or plan language anywhere. No plan names, tiers or prices exist on phyn.com, the help centre or either app store. One precision caveat: the verbatim no-subscription clause is scoped in its own explanatory sentence to DATA ACCESS — but nothing anywhere gates shutoff, and there is no plan structure with which to gate it.
Maintenance reality[1][20]
- Works without the internet: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own material and it does not answer this either way. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
- Mains powered from a standard outlet, not hardwired, and the outlet must be close — Phyn's product page says within 12 ft while its help centre says 11 ft, so plan for the conservative figure. BACKUP BATTERY: Phyn is silent, and published third-party testing states there is none; recorded as unestablished rather than asserted, because the vendor never says so. On a power cut the valve holds whatever position it was in, and a manual shutoff tool is provided on the mounting bracket. The unmitigated risk is that no battery means a power outage disables protection entirely, and outages correlate with exactly the freeze and storm events that burst pipes. Rated 125 psi, 25 GPM, max 50 °C, with under 7 psi pressure drop at full flow; fits mains up to 1¼ inch via 1 inch NPSM male threads, adapters not included. Plumbing Check closes the main on its own overnight schedule for 3–5 minutes (extended runs 10–13) and alerts on a 4 psi drop over 3 minutes. No consumables or maintenance article was located — recorded as unestablished, not as 'none'.
- Security updates: No security-update support date is on record for this model yet. We haven't yet checked whether Phyn publishes one, so this is a gap in our research — not a statement about the manufacturer.
The catch
The price is not the cost, and the protection has gaps you would not guess. Add unquoted licensed-plumber labour to cut into your main, possible thread adapters that are not included, and an outlet within about eleven feet. There is no battery backup, so a power cut disables protection entirely and freezes the valve where it stands — during exactly the storms that burst pipes. Auto-shutoff is disabled by default for up to 21 days while the system learns your home, and published testing reports false alarms clustering in those first weeks. It only sees plumbing downstream of itself, so irrigation teed off ahead of it, outbuildings and split service lines are invisible. And third-party leak sensors are second-class citizens: Phyn's own pucks trigger the valve natively in-app, while everything else goes through IFTTT polling or an unofficial component.
Who it's for
Homeowners with an accessible main, a nearby outlet and a willingness to pay a plumber, who want whole-home leak detection without scattering point sensors, and who value the absence of a subscription — over five to ten years that is a real cost advantage against subscription-tied competitors. It fits Alexa and Google households, and Home Assistant users comfortable running a community integration. It is a poor fit for Apple Home households, SmartThings-centric setups, renters, homes on well or non-potable supply, homes with branch plumbing ahead of the install point, and anyone unwilling to add a UPS to cover the power-outage gap.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
35 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] phyn.com/products/phyn-plus-smart-water-assistant-shutoff-v2 — active cart at $579.99, outlet within 12 ft, valve 'will remain in the state it was in when the power is lost', manual tool on the bracket, Alexa/Google/IFTTT only, licensed plumber recommended. SKU PHYPF007 corroborated by Home Depot and SupplyHouse listings. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19Backs: Product identity, Price, Maintenance
- [2] phyn.com/pages/phyn-plus-difference states 'No subscription fees… We don't charge you a fee to access your water use data' and 'We think you shouldn't have to pay a monthly subscription to help save our water.' The App Store listing shows the app as free with no in-app-purchase section. helpcenter.phyn.com auto-shutoff article documents the feature with no fee or plan language. No plan names, tiers or prices exist anywhere across phyn.com, the help centre or either app store. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19Backs: Subscription
- [3] helpcenter.phyn.com/help/what-is-offline-leak-protection-and-how-does-it-work (page last updated 2026-01-30) — activates when the unit has power but no Wi-Fi or Phyn cloud, monitors for a high flow rate plus continuous flow duration, and 'If both thresholds are met, Phyn Plus will automatically shut off your water.' Vendor-stated limits: 'Leak detection during offline mode is limited to catastrophic leak protection only', no push or SMS alerts until reconnection, and the valve must be reopened by physically pressing and holding the blue button. Numeric thresholds are not published. NOTE THE ASYMMETRY: Phyn's puck sensors relay through the Phyn cloud, so puck-triggered shutoff does NOT work offline, unlike the valve's own pressure sensing. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19
- [4] helpcenter.phyn.com/help/what-is-auto-shutoff-and-how-does-it-work — 'Auto Shutoff is disabled by default while Phyn learns your home's water usage patterns', unlocking after 700 water events for most homes or 1,000 for homes with irrigation, a pool or a softener, and 'Regardless of the number of water events, Auto Shutoff will automatically become available after 21 days.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19
- [5] helpcenter.phyn.com irrigation article — if an irrigation system 'is fed from a separate supply line, Phyn Plus will unfortunately be unable to monitor and protect that system' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19
- [6] helpcenter.phyn.com Alexa article documents the invocation 'Alexa, ask Phyn Device to turn off my water' and makes no mention of Routines. Custom-skill grammar of this form is not normally usable as a Routine action, but no source confirms or denies it for this skill — recorded as the highest-value open question on this record, because leak-sensor-triggers-valve via a Routine is precisely what buyers assume works. No voice PIN is documented for either direction. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [7] Phyn's own product page lists only Alexa, Google Home and IFTTT; published third-party testing (TechHive review of the 2nd gen) states affirmatively that there is no HomeKit support; a 2019 Belkin announcement of a HomeKit-enabled Phyn water assistant never shipped. The negative rests on an affirmative published statement plus vendor enumeration, not on silence alone., verified 2026-08-20Backs: Apple Home compatibility
- [8] community.smartthings.com thread 180388 (December 2019) ended unresolved with a report that Phyn had closed the connection other software used to reach its service, with no replies after 2019-12-12, and no Edge driver was located. That is not a vendor statement in either direction, so the level stays unknown despite leaning strongly toward none. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-22Someone's observation, checked 2026-08-22This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-22.
- [9] github.com/jordanruthe/homeassistant-phyn, v2026.6.3 released 2026-06-20, exposing valve control plus usage, temperature, pressure and flow; it signs in to Phyn's closed cloud service with the owner's own password, broke on 2025-06-11 when Phyn changed that service, and was patched the same day. The earlier MizterB fork was archived 2025-08-31. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-07-19Someone's observation, checked 2026-07-19This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-07-19.Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [10] Phyn's own Smart Water Sensor triggers the valve natively in-app per helpcenter.phyn.com. Third-party sensors have two confirmed routes: a dated first-person Home Assistant community report (2024-10-09) of an IKEA BADRING Zigbee sensor closing the Phyn valve through the community integration, and official IFTTT applets (ifttt.com/phyn — one trigger, three actions) whose polling latency is 5 minutes on paid plans and 1 hour on free, which substantially undermines the point of automatic shutoff. No direct SmartThings or Ring path was found. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19
- [11] phyn.com/pages/warranty states TWO years from delivery, conditioned on installation per Phyn's installation guide and applicable code, NOT on a plumber credential. MYTHS TO REJECT: claims of a '3-year warranty if professionally installed' and that 'warranty claims require a plumber license number' both trace to a single plumbing contractor's blog — an interested party — and appear nowhere in Phyn's warranty text. Also note phyn.com/pages/find-a-phyn-pro states a Phyn Pro is 'not an employee, agent, representative, joint venturer, or partner of Phyn LLC', so the directory is not a certification. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19
- [12] Outlet distance is 12 ft on the product page and 11 ft in the help centre. Professional installation is 'recommended' on the product and installation pages but listed as a hard requirement on the setup-requirements page. Rated pressure appears as 125 psi in the headline specs against a 100 psi maximum-working note in installer documentation, likely a materials-versus-certification distinction. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19
- [13] A csa-iot.org certified-products search for Phyn returned no entries and no public Phyn Matter commitment was found. Recorded as no evidence of Matter support rather than as a confirmed absence, because the registry's filter-driven interface does not permit a clean asserted negative. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-19Backs: Protocols
- [14] phyn.com selling the 2nd gen with a live cart 2026-07-19, footer '© 2026 Phyn LLC'. Announced 2021-11-01. The 1st generation (PHNSWA01) is off the shop but still covered by a combined 1st+2nd gen support section, and no formal end-of-life notice was found for it., verified 2026-08-20Backs: Market availability
- [15] Help-center articles updated 2026-01-30 and 2026-02-05; Phyn app v8.23.0 shipped around 2026-07-01, roughly three weeks before this check. No shutdown, end-of-life or cloud-sunset notice found., verified 2026-07-19Backs: Service status
- [16] Phyn's own store listing for this model, at phyn.com/products/phyn-plus-smart-water-assistant-shutoff-v2, read 2026-08-13 in the structured form the shop publishes for its own use rather than as marketing copy: $579.99, no crossed-out earlier price, in stock, one version only. Character for character the same as the 2026-07-19 read. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-13Backs: Price, Market availability
- [17] itunes.apple.com/search?term=Phyn&entity=software&country=us read 2026-08-13 returns Phyn by PHYN LLC: version 8.24.0, currentVersionReleaseDate 2026-08-12T23:57:04Z, averageUserRating 4.70 across 2,645 ratings. A release ONE DAY before this check is the strongest available evidence on this axis, and it is the specific thing the ownership-churn concern in this note needed testing against — 'sold twice in four years' is a real risk fact, and an app shipped yesterday is a real counter-fact. Neither cancels the other; the note keeps both. ⊕ Read from Apple's own structured search results, so the version and the date are stated values rather than text lifted off a page. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-13Backs: Service status
- [18] phyn.com/pages/phyn-plus-difference read 2026-08-13 still carries, word for word: 'At Phyn, we believe that your data is yours.' / 'We don't charge you a fee to access your water use data.' / 'We think you shouldn't have to pay a monthly subscription to help save our water.' The precision caveat this record already records survives the re-read intact and is worth restating: the verbatim clause is scoped to DATA ACCESS in its own explanatory sentence — it is the absence of any plan structure anywhere, not this sentence, that establishes shutoff is not gated. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-13Backs: Subscription
- [19] github.com/jordanruthe/homeassistant-phyn latest release read from GitHub's own release listing on 2026-08-13: v2026.8.1, published 2026-08-01, repository not archived. The record's previous figure was v2026.6.3 (2026-06-20), so this is a genuine advance rather than a re-stamp. The release body is 'Fix: Migrate deprecated service helper imports for HA 2026.8 compatibility' — routine upkeep tracking Home Assistant's own release train, which is exactly the signal the 'partial / fragile support model' rating turns on. The fragility qualifiers are unchanged and deliberately kept: one volunteer maintainer, Phyn's closed cloud service, an account password, and the 2025-06-11 break when Phyn changed that service. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-13Someone's observation, checked 2026-08-13This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-13.Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [20] phyn.com product page read 2026-08-13. Confirmed unchanged: 'Main water supply line 1 1/4" or smaller', '1" NPSM male threaded ends', 'Power outlet within 12 feet of installation', one-to-two-hour install, ultrasonic flow sensor with no moving parts. BACKUP BATTERY: still absent from the page in either direction — the page documents the manual shutoff tool on the mounting bracket as the power-loss fallback and never mentions a battery, which is why this record says unestablished rather than 'none'. ⚠ SCOPE OF THIS ENTRY, stated so it cannot be over-read: the psi, GPM and temperature figures in the maintenance note are NOT re-verified here — they came from a spec sheet in July and today's page does not carry them. The 11-ft-vs-12-ft vendor disagreement stands: this page still says 12. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-13Backs: Product identity, Maintenance
- [21] helpcenter.phyn.com Alexa article read 2026-08-13. The skill is named 'Phyn Device' and every documented command uses custom-skill grammar: 'Alexa, ask Phyn Device how much water I used today.', 'Alexa, ask Phyn Device to turn off my water.', 'Alexa, ask Phyn Device to turn on my water.', plus a multi-home form. The article mentions no PIN, no confirmation step beyond account linking, and no Routines. That silence is the cell's whole catch and it is unchanged: 'ask <skill>' grammar is not normally usable as a Routine action, so the pairing most buyers assume — a third-party leak sensor triggering this valve in one Routine — remains unconfirmed, and nothing documented stands between a spoken command and your water supply. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-13Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [22] phyn.com product page read 2026-08-13 names Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant and IFTTT, and nothing else. Apple Home, HomeKit, SmartThings and Matter appear nowhere on it. That is a re-read of the SAME evidence the apple cell already rests on (a vendor list that omits Apple), and it changes neither cell. SmartThings deliberately stays 'unknown' rather than moving to 'none': a vendor page that does not mention SmartThings is not a vendor statement that SmartThings does not work, and the only other source remains an unresolved 2019 community thread. The distinction is the point — 'we found no path' and 'there is no path' are different claims and this record only has evidence for the first. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-13Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
- [23] csa-iot.org/csa-iot_products/?p_keywords=phyn read 2026-08-13 returns 'No Entries Found'. Validated as a true negative the same day by running the identical search with p_keywords=aqara, which returned a full page of Matter certificates — so the search worked at the moment phyn returned nothing. Corroborated by the vendor's own product page, which names no Matter support. protocols stays wifi-only. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-13Backs: Protocols
- [24] Re-verification performed 2026-08-13: price and stock from the store's own structured product data ($579.99, available, no crossed-out earlier price) · the no-subscription claim re-read verbatim on phyn.com · install and hardware constraints from the product page · the Alexa custom-skill grammar from the help centre · the community Home Assistant integration's version from GitHub's own release listing (v2026.8.1, 2026-08-01) · Matter negative re-run with a live control test · vendor app currency from Apple's own structured search results (v8.24.0, shipped 2026-08-12). No integration level changed. The stored price was corrected from a rounded 580 to 579.99. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-13Backs: Research status
- [25] phyn.com/products/phyn-plus-smart-water-assistant-shutoff-v2, read 2026-08-20: "Turn off your tap, with a tap" from the Phyn app from anywhere, and "Phyn Plus can turn your water off automatically in the event of a leak"; it will "alert you the second a leak is detected" using "patented, high-definition pressure wave analysis"; and an "ultrasonic flow sensor" supports "Monitor how much water your family is using monthly, daily, and even hourly in the Phyn app". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilities
- [26] Phyn's help-centre article cited by this record was read 2026-08-20 and contains no statement about Wi-Fi, hubs, bridges or setup requirements — it addresses the Alexa question only. phyn.com, the vendor's main site and the source of this record's product-page citations, is on our register of hosts that turn us away, so no first-party setup or specification page could be reached that day. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Required hub or bridge
- [27] phyn.com/products/phyn-plus-smart-water-assistant-shutoff-v2 (read 2026-08-22, answering normally), verbatim: 'Phyn Needs: Main water supply line 1 1/4” or smaller · WiFi at install location · Power outlet within 12 feet of installation' · 'One Phyn Plus in a single location is all you need to monitor your entire home's water system for leaks.' · 'Phyn plays well with others — Phyn works seamlessly with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant. And with IFTTT you can have Phyn trigger actions with other smart home products.' · FAQ: 'What if I have a weak Wi-Fi signal where Phyn Plus will be installed? If your installation location is out of the range of your home's Wi-Fi you may want to consider adding a repeater or Wi-Fi extender.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-22Backs: Required hub or bridge
- [28] No source was read for this entry. It classifies evidence this record already carries, and records the classification so it is not re-derived., verified 2026-08-22
- [29] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was retired from this record on 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
- [30] Phyn, Phyn Plus Smart Water Assistant + Shutoff (2nd gen) product page (https://phyn.com/products/phyn-plus-smart-water-assistant-shutoff-v2), read 2026-09-03, answering normally. Under the heading "Phyn plays well with others", verbatim: "Phyn works seamlessly with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant. And with IFTTT you can have Phyn trigger actions with other smart home products." Neither Apple Home nor SmartThings is named anywhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-03Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [31] https://helpcenter.phyn.com/ (read 2026-09-09) links https://apps.apple.com/us/app/phyn/id1338894928 and https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.phyn. No third mobile platform is named. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09Backs: App platforms
- [32] The three Phyn pages cited on this record (read 2026-09-09) are help-centre articles about connectivity troubleshooting and carry no band, frequency or power specification. Both stay blank: checked, and not published. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
- [33] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
- [34] phyn.com product page and 'Phyn Plus difference' page, helpcenter.phyn.com (home and the Alexa article), the community Home Assistant integration README and its release record, the SmartThings community thread and the CSA search, re-read 2026-09-10 under our rules for reading other people's sites; itunes.apple.com/search was not read, because Apple's own robots file disallows it. Product page: the valve 'will not turn off your water unless it was already in the closed position. In the event of power loss, you can use the manual shut off tool included on the mounting bracket'. Community README: 'The integration's IoT class is Cloud Polling, meaning the Home Assistant integration with this device happens via the Phyn cloud service. As such it requires an active internet connection to see updates and make changes'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-10
- [35] Record-keeping entry, 2026-09-15: this record already said Apple Home is not supported, and that answer now names the shared Apple Home rule the reason rests on, verified 2026-09-15
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.