Product Library / Smart Lighting

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-24

Philips Hue White & Color Ambiance A19

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[5][22][26][27]
[7][22][26]
[6][22][26]
[8][11][22][26][28]
[4][9][21][24]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: ZIGBEE · BLUETOOTH[2][3][5][14][22]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Philips Hue Bridge

Optional for the bulb to light, effectively mandatory for a smart home. Signify's own specification table labels the row "Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required)" and lists Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, Google Assistant, Microsoft Cortana and Samsung SmartThings under it — so without the Bridge there is no Alexa, no Google, no Apple Home and no SmartThings, and what remains is Bluetooth control from a phone standing in the room. The same table caps accessories at "12 (with Hue Bridge)".[13][22]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [12] [21]

Documented device function

Brightness

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [12] [21]

Documented device function

Color

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [12] [21]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[12][21]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
5 documented
Reported events
Not established from vendor documentation

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)[5][22][26][27]Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[7][22][26]AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[6][22][26]SmartThingsWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)[8][11][22][26][28]Home AssistantWorks[4][9][21][24]
On/offDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

BrightnessDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

ColorDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Color temperatureDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

SceneDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Apple's own accessory list includes the Philips Hue Bridge and says it supports Philips Hue bulbs, so this bulb reaches Apple Home through the bridge and turns on and off there. Neither Apple nor Philips Hue says whether brightness, color or color temperature come across, so those are unconfirmed. The bulb itself is Zigbee and Bluetooth, so the bridge is not optional.[5][22][26][27]

Google Home

Philips Hue lists Google Assistant and Google Home for this bulb and says the Hue Bridge is required, but it does not say which of the bulb's controls Google gets, so nothing beyond the name is confirmed.[7][22][26]

Alexa

Philips Hue lists Alexa among the voice assistants for this bulb and says the Hue Bridge is required, but it does not say which of the bulb's controls Alexa gets, so nothing beyond the name is confirmed.[6][22][26]

SmartThings

SmartThings lists the Hue bridge among the bridges it supports, and Philips Hue says the bridge is required for SmartThings, so this bulb connects through the bridge and turns on and off. Neither SmartThings nor Philips Hue says whether brightness, color or color temperature come across, so those are unconfirmed.[8][11][22][26][28]

Home Assistant

Full local control via the Hue Bridge — the official Hue integration is bridge-only, local push. Pairing the bulb straight to a Zigbee dongle also works but uses a different integration (ZHA), outside the Hue app ecosystem.[4][9][21][24]

Device documentation: [12] [21]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[6][22][26]Philips Hue lists Alexa among the voice assistants for this bulb and says the Hue Bridge is required, but it does not say which of the bulb's controls Alexa gets, so nothing beyond the name is confirmed.
Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[7][22][26]Philips Hue lists Google Assistant and Google Home for this bulb and says the Hue Bridge is required, but it does not say which of the bulb's controls Google gets, so nothing beyond the name is confirmed.
Apple HomeWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; three functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[5][22][26][27]Apple's own accessory list includes the Philips Hue Bridge and says it supports Philips Hue bulbs, so this bulb reaches Apple Home through the bridge and turns on and off there. Neither Apple nor Philips Hue says whether brightness, color or color temperature come across, so those are unconfirmed. The bulb itself is Zigbee and Bluetooth, so the bridge is not optional.
SmartThingsWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; three functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[8][11][22][26][28]SmartThings lists the Hue bridge among the bridges it supports, and Philips Hue says the bridge is required for SmartThings, so this bulb connects through the bridge and turns on and off. Neither SmartThings nor Philips Hue says whether brightness, color or color temperature come across, so those are unconfirmed.
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][9][21][24]Full local control via the Hue Bridge — the official Hue integration is bridge-only, local push. Pairing the bulb straight to a Zigbee dongle also works but uses a different integration (ZHA), outside the Hue app ecosystem.

Plans and ongoing costs[3][22]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own setup material and it does not say either way. Treat it as unanswered rather than as a no.[15]

Optional Hue Secure subscription is for cameras only

Maintenance and offline use[3]

The catch

Premium price; the ecosystem push (Bridge, accessories) adds up fast — and the Bluetooth listed above is part of why. It controls the bulb directly from a phone with no Bridge, but Signify caps that path at 10 lights per phone or tablet, roughly 10 metres of range, and basic timers only; remote access, full automations and custom scenes are what the Bridge is for.

Who it's for

Whole-home color lighting where reliability matters most; 20+ bulb setups.

Check availability at Philips Hue

This opens Philips Hue's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

30 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] FCC equipment authorization 2AGBW9290038537X, grantee Signify (China) Investment Co., Ltd., product 'LED Lamp' (filing read 2026-08-09 via fccid.io; apps.fcc.gov refuses us outright and that refusal was respected). Authorised ranges 2402-2480 MHz and 2405-2480 MHz. Exhibits include 'Test Report_BLE_Part 1', 'Test Report_BLE_Part 2' and a separate 'Test Report_Zigbee', all dated 2025-04-07. Known-negative control on the same grantee: FCC ID 2AGBW9290030675X 'Hue Motion Sensor' carries 2405-2480 MHz only and no BLE exhibit. Role of the radio from philips-hue.com FAQ 'How to connect Philips Hue without a Bridge' (read 2026-08-09). — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-09Seller's spec sheet, checked 2026-08-09This fact comes from a retailer or review specification listing rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-09.
  2. [2] philips-hue.com/en-us/explore-hue/faq/controls/how-to-connect-philips-hue-without-a-bridge (read 2026-08-09): 'Many newer Hue bulbs include Bluetooth connectivity, allowing direct control from your smartphone using the Philips Hue app, no additional hardware required' · comparison table 'Without Hue Bridge (Bluetooth): Up to 10 lights per control source · Control range 10 meters (Bluetooth range)' against 'With Hue Bridge (Zigbee/Matter): Up to 50 lights + 12 accessories'. · https://www.philips-hue.com/en-us/p/hue-white-and-color-ambiance-60w-a19-e26-smart-bulb/046677590826 (read 2026-08-09): the product's own page contains no Bluetooth claim outside the shared specification template and the cross-sell tiles. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  3. [3] Signify's official Philips Hue 60W A19 E26 product page (read 2026-08-08): embedded offer data "price":"54.99"; 'Current price is $54.99'; 'In stock'; 'Product number (EAN/UPC) 046677590826'; 12NC 929003853701; 'Lumen output at 4000K 810', 'Wattage equivalent 60 W', 'Fitting/cap E26', 'Form factor A19', 'Dimmable to 0.2% brightness', 'Chromasync™ precision color'; 'Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee'; 'Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos'; 'Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required) Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, Google Assistant, Microsoft Cortana, Samsung Smartthings'; 'HomeKit compatible Yes'; 'Number of switch cycles 50,000'; 'Software upgradable Yes'; 'Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorised reseller'; 'Max. number of accessories 12 (with Hue Bridge)'; no subscription, plan or trial for the bulb anywhere — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-08
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Subscription, Works without the internet, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Protocols
  4. [4] Home Assistant official documentation for the Philips Hue integration (read 2026-08-08): IoT class 'Local Push'; V2 bridges 'push state changes to Home Assistant instantly over their local event stream'; V1 bridges poll because 'the V1 API does not support push updates'; approximately 16% of active installations — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-08
    Backs: Service status, Home Assistant compatibility
  5. [5] philips-hue.com official Hue White & Color Ambiance A19 page — Bluetooth + Zigbee ONLY (NO Thread); Matter/HomeKit via the Hue Bridge; ~$49.99 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-15
    Backs: Product identity, Apple Home compatibility, Market availability, Research status, Protocols
  6. [6] Philips Hue official spec sheet (philips-hue.com White & Color Ambiance A19: 'Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required): Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, Google Assistant, Microsoft Cortana, Samsung Smartthings'; protocols Bluetooth + Zigbee). An Echo with a built-in Zigbee radio may pair the bulb hub-free, but no primary source confirming that path was found, so the catch does not claim it — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  7. [7] Philips Hue official spec sheet (White & Color Ambiance A19: 'Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required)' names Google Assistant; bulb is Zigbee/Bluetooth only — no direct WiFi/Thread path exists) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  8. [8] Philips Hue official spec sheet (White & Color Ambiance A19: 'Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required)' names Samsung Smartthings). Whether the SmartThings-to-Hue link runs through the cloud or on the local network could not be confirmed at a first-party source — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  9. [9] Home Assistant official docs (home-assistant.io/integrations/hue: 'V2 Hue bridges (square shape) push state changes to Home Assistant instantly over their local event stream'; integration scope is 'lights and sensors connected to your Hue bridge') — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  10. [10] Shared-rule wiring, 2026-08-15: attached the 'hue-bridge-matter' rule to alexa, google, apple. The rule quotes Signify's Bridge→Matter statement verbatim from a same-session vendor read and supplies this page's setup-path line. NOTHING on this record was re-verified — no level, catch, path or protocol was re-checked, and no axis date moves, which is why this entry carries no claims., verified 2026-08-15
  11. [11] Signify's Philips Hue product spec sheet for this model and philips-hue.com/en-us/explore-hue/works-with/matter — both already cited on this record or on the shared Hue-Bridge-to-Matter rule attached to it — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  12. [12] Home Assistant's Hue integration documentation, read 2026-08-20: the integration "allows you to control and monitor the lights and sensors connected to your Hue bridge", and on scenes — "These Hue scenes are automatically imported into Home Assistant and available as scene entities", with the note that "Using Hue scenes is recommended when you want to control multiple lights at once" because they send commands more efficiently than individual light control. Creating or editing Hue scenes from Home Assistant is explicitly not supported. Colour and colour-temperature control are the product's own specification (White and Color Ambiance). — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  13. [13] Signify's own US product page for this bulb, read 2026-08-20. The specification table states the protocol and the dependency in the row labels themselves: "Communication protocol: Bluetooth, Zigbee" and "Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required): Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, Google Assistant, Microsoft Cortana, Samsung Smartthings". The bulb "Works without Wi-Fi" with "Instant control via Bluetooth" through the Hue app. The accessory limit is published as "Max. number of accessories: 12 (with Hue Bridge)". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  14. [14] Signify's own US specification table for this bulb, read 2026-08-20 during the radio-list sweep: "Communication protocol: Bluetooth, Zigbee" — Matter is not in it — and a separate row reading "Matter functionality: Via Hue Bridge or 3rd party hubs (thread border routers)"., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  15. [15] This bulb's own Philips Hue product page (model 046677590826), read 2026-08-21. Its specification table lists "Compatibility with 3rd party systems — Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos" and "Communication protocol — Bluetooth, Zigbee", but carries NO "Matter functionality" row — the row that the sibling Essential A19's page does carry, reading "Via Hue Bridge or 3rd party hubs (thread border routers)". Read alongside Signify's bulb setup guide (https://www.philips-hue.com/en-us/support/connect-hue-product/bulbs-and-lamps), which offers this bulb the Bridge route and the Bluetooth route and reserves "Connect Without a Bridge (Direct via Matter-Enabled Bulbs)" for "A Matter-enabled Hue lights (with Matter logo on the packaging)". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  16. [16] Three identifiers, each from a document this record already cites. FCC grant 2AGBW9290038537X — grantee Signify (China) Investment Co., Ltd., product 'LED Lamp' — read via fccid.io on 2026-08-09 by the entry that backs this record's radio list, which binds the grant to model 929003853701. The GTIN and the 12NC are the two halves of this record's own model-number string, '929003853701 (12NC) · EAN 046677590826'. — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-09Seller's spec sheet, checked 2026-08-09This fact comes from a retailer or review specification listing rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-09.
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
    Checked 2026-08-09. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  17. [17] https://www.philips-hue.com/en-us/p/hue-white-and-color-ambiance-60w-a19-e26-smart-bulb/046677590826 (read 2026-09-09): 'Philips Hue App: Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later', and Technical specifications 'Fitting/cap: E26', 'Form factor: A19', 'Input voltage: 110V-130V'. A bulb that takes its supply through an E26 lampholder screws in, and that is recorded from the stated cap rather than from the kind of device it is. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: App platforms, Power source
  18. [18] this record's own provenance, re-read 2026-09-16: every entry was checked for a statement by Signify (Philips Hue) itself — its own app, its own hub or bridge, its own documentation for controlling the light over the home network, or its own statement about this model — that the Hue White & Color Ambiance A19 keeps working when the internet is down. No such entry exists on this record. What the old value rested on instead: Home Assistant's own documentation for its Philips Hue integration (IoT class Local Push; V2 bridges push state changes over their local event stream)., verified 2026-09-16
  19. [19] Signify's own Philips Hue product page for the White and Color Ambiance 60W A19 E26 bulb, already cited by this record, read end to end on 2026-09-16 after the host-conduct check and checked for any statement about the bulb's behaviour without the internet. It carries none. The only sentences on the page that mention a Hue Bridge are customer reviews, which are not treated as evidence for any claim. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
  20. [20] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-19 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-19
  21. [21] Home Assistant's official documentation for the Philips Hue integration, re-read in full 2026-09-22. 'The Philips Hue integration allows you to control and monitor the lights and sensors connected to your Hue bridge. The integration supports: Lights; Motion sensors (including temperature and light level sensors); Remotes and switches (as device triggers for automations, and also exposed as battery sensors when they are battery-powered).' On scenes: 'These Hue scenes are automatically imported into Home Assistant and available as scene entities'; 'Creating or editing Hue scenes in Home Assistant is not supported'; 'Using Hue scenes is recommended when you want to control multiple lights at once.' On the bridge split: 'V2 Hue bridges (square shape) push state changes to Home Assistant instantly over their local event stream. V1 Hue bridges (round shape) are polled on an interval'. Footer: 'The Philips Hue hub was introduced in Home Assistant 0.60, and it's used by 15.9% of the active installations. Its IoT class is Local Push.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Service status, Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
  22. [22] Signify's own US product page for this bulb, read in full on 2026-09-24. Verbatim: 'Current price is $54.99' · 'In stock' · 'Model 810' · 'Product number (EAN/UPC) 046677590826' · 'Material number (12NC) 929003853701' · 'Fitting/cap E26' · 'Form factor A19' · 'Input voltage 110V-130V' · 'Batteries included No' · 'Light output White and color light' · 'Color temperature 1000-20000 K' · 'Dimmable with Hue app and switch Yes' · 'Philips Hue App Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later' · 'Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required) Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, Google Assistant, Microsoft Cortana, Samsung Smartthings' · 'HomeKit compatible Yes' · 'Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller' · 'Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee' · 'Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos' · 'Max. number of accessories 12 (with Hue Bridge)'. A 'Halloween sale: Save 30% when you buy 2 or more!' banner applies to multi-buys only; the single bulb's own price is $54.99 with no struck figure. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, App platforms, Power source, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  23. [23] Philips Hue's End of Support Policy on its own US support site, read 2026-09-26. For lights, devices and accessories other than the Hue Bridge it says: 'Signify intends to continue to support your Products with required security, quality and interoperability updates as well as maintaining compatibility with our online services, the latest version of our Philips Hue bridge (when applicable) and the latest version of the Philips Hue mobile application for a minimum total of five (5) years from the date of your purchase from an authorized reseller.' Its summary table gives 'At least 5 years' of 'Security, quality and interoperability patches' for 'Philips Hue lights, devices and accessories (other than Philips Hue Bridge)', under the line 'Durations are from the moment Signify stops selling this version of the product.' Its current support status lists 'All Hue branded lights' and 'All Hue branded accessories' as in active support. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-26
    Backs: Security-update support period
  24. [24] Home Assistant's Philips Hue integration page, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "allows you to control and monitor the lights and sensors connected to your Hue bridge. The integration supports: Lights" · "Its IoT class is Local Push." · "Categories Hub Light". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  25. [25] Signify's US product page for this bulb, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Control using app or voice" · "HomeKit compatible Yes" · "Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required) Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, Google Assistant, Microsoft Cortana, Samsung Smartthings" · "Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
  26. [26] Philips Hue's US page for the White and color ambiance A19 E26 bulb, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Control using app or voice" · "Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required) Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, Google Assistant, Microsoft Cortana, Samsung Smartthings" · "Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos". The page names no function on any platform. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  27. [27] Apple's own list of accessories that work with the Home app, read in full on 2026-10-07 (rendered, after the plain read returned the page shell without the list). Under both Lights and Bridges it lists, verbatim, "Philips Hue Bridge – supports Philips Hue Bulbs, Light Fittings, Switches and Sensors". The list names no function and no bulb model. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  28. [28] SmartThings' 'Supported Devices' page, read in full on 2026-10-07 (rendered, after the plain read returned the page shell without the list). Under the Bridge category it lists the brands "ABB InSite Energy Management System EZVIZ Hue Netatmo ThingsOne ThirdReality". The list names no Hue product model and no function; its Lighting category shows only its first brands. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  29. [29] This record's own entries, which already name the Hue Bridge: Signify's specification row, already quoted on this record, labelled "Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required)", and the same table's accessory cap, "12 (with Hue Bridge)"., verified 2026-10-13
  30. [30] Record-keeping entry: this record's Alexa, Google Home and Apple Home answers now sit as an exception entry in Signify's Hue Bridge range rule instead of carrying the rule's id, 2026-10-16, verified 2026-10-16

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Philips Hue White & Color Ambiance A19 with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker