Product Library / Switches & Dimmers

Research profile · verified 2026-11-06

Philips Hue Tap Switch Mini

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your home?

[1][3]
[1][3]
[1][3]
[1][3]
[1][3]

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: ZIGBEE · BLUETOOTH[1][3]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Optional. The page's FAQ says 'If you don't have a bridge, you can connect these switches to up to 10 lights', and its specification table gives 'Max. lights per switch 50 (with Hue Bridge)'. The same FAQ says 'A Hue bridge is required to be able to change the way a Hue dimmer switch, smart button, or tap dial switch controls your lights', and it answers the question of how the tap dial switch differs from the mini-mount version with 'The only difference is the mount that the Tap dial switch comes with.' The page's shop block, beside a Bridge Pro offer, says 'For a Hue Tap Switch Mini Black a bridge is required'; that disagreement is recorded on this record.[1][3]

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Philips Hue Bridge

With a Bridge the switch reaches up to 50 lights and its buttons can be reconfigured; without one, the FAQ gives up to 10 lights.[1][3]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Button pressed

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [3]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[1][3]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
None documented by the vendor
Reported events
1 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][3]Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][3]AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][3]SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][3]Home AssistantInconclusive[1][3]
Button pressedReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Signify lists Apple Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same table also reads 'HomeKit compatible Yes'. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]

Google Home

Signify lists Google Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]

Alexa

Signify lists Alexa among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]

SmartThings

Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]

Home Assistant

Not established. Signify's product page does not list Home Assistant among the third-party systems, and no Home Assistant page was read for this record.[1][3]

Device documentation: [1] [3]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][3]Signify lists Alexa among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][3]Signify lists Google Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
Apple HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][3]Signify lists Apple Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same table also reads 'HomeKit compatible Yes'. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][3]Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][3]Not established. Signify's product page does not list Home Assistant among the third-party systems, and no Home Assistant page was read for this record.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[1][3]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

The product page names no plan or subscription for this switch.

Maintenance and offline use

Where Philips Hue's own pages disagree

Required hub or bridge

On whether it needs a hub or bridge, this page shows A Hue Bridge is optional: the switch connects to up to 10 lights without one, and a Bridge adds up to 50 lights and reconfigurable buttons. Signify's shop page says a Bridge is required for the Tap Switch Mini, while the same page's FAQ connects the tap dial switch to up to 10 lights without one, so this page lists the Bridge as optional and says what it adds.

Who it's for

A Hue household that wants a small battery switch with four buttons and a dimming dial, to mount on a wall, stick to a magnetic surface or carry as a remote.

Check availability at Philips Hue

This opens Philips Hue's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

5 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Signify's US Philips Hue product page for the Hue Tap Switch Mini Black, read in full on 2026-10-23. Verbatim: 'Hue Tap Switch Mini Black $54.99' · 'Current price is $54.99' · 'Shape Tap dial switch (mini mount) Color Black In stock' · 'For a Hue Tap Switch Mini Black a bridge is required' · 'Control up to three Rooms or a Zone with each individual button of the Tap dial switch, available in black or white. Turn the dial to dim and brighten the lights. Mount it to the wall, place it on a magnetic surface, or use it as a remote control.' · 'No-wire installation' · 'Battery powered' · 'Material number (12NC) 929003593002' · 'EAN/UPC - product 046677581954' · 'Batteries included 1 x CR2032' · 'Configurable buttons 5' · 'Frequency band 2400 - 2483.5 MHz' · 'Lifetime 50.000 clicks / 12.000 turns' · 'Max. lights per switch 50 (with Hue Bridge)' · 'Minimal battery lifetime 2' · 'HomeKit compatible Yes' · 'Philips Hue App Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later' · 'WiFi Works without Wi-Fi' · 'Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller' · 'Max. number of accessories 12 (with Hue Bridge)' · 'Compatible operating systems iOS, Android' · 'Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee' · 'Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos' · 'IP code IP20'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-23
    Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities, Security-update support period
  2. [2] Signify's US Philips Hue product page for the Hue Tap Switch Mini White, read in full on 2026-10-23. Verbatim: 'Current price is $54.99' · 'Color White' · 'Material number (12NC) 929003593102' · 'EAN/UPC - product 046677582036' · 'Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee'. Same specification table as the Black listing apart from colour and part numbers. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-23
  3. [3] Signify's US Philips Hue product page for the Hue Tap Switch Mini Black, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: 'Hue Tap Switch Mini Black $54.99' · 'Current price is $54.99' · 'Shape Tap dial switch (mini mount) Color Black In stock' · 'For a Hue Tap Switch Mini Black a bridge is required' · 'Control up to three Rooms or a Zone with each individual button of the Tap dial switch, available in black or white. Turn the dial to dim and brighten the lights. Mount it to the wall, place it on a magnetic surface, or use it as a remote control.' · 'No-wire installation' · 'Battery powered' · 'Material number (12NC) 929003593002' · 'EAN/UPC - product 046677581954' · 'Batteries included 1 x CR2032' · 'Configurable buttons 5' · 'Frequency band 2400 - 2483.5 MHz' · 'Lifetime 50.000 clicks / 12.000 turns' · 'Max. lights per switch 50 (with Hue Bridge)' · 'Minimal battery lifetime 2' · 'HomeKit compatible Yes' · 'Philips Hue App Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later' · 'WiFi Works without Wi-Fi' · 'Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller' · 'Max. number of accessories 12 (with Hue Bridge)' · 'Compatible operating systems iOS, Android' · 'Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee' · 'Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos' · 'IP code IP20' · 'Software upgradable Yes' · 'If you don't have a bridge, you can connect these switches to up to 10 lights' · 'A Hue bridge is required to be able to change the way a Hue dimmer switch, smart button, or tap dial switch controls your lights' · 'What is the difference between the Tap dial switch and the Tap dial switch with mini mount? The only difference is the mount that the Tap dial switch comes with.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities, Security-update support period
  4. [4] Signify's US Philips Hue product page for the Hue Tap Switch Mini White, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: 'Current price is $54.99' · 'Color White' · 'Material number (12NC) 929003593102' · 'EAN/UPC - product 046677582036' · 'Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
  5. [5] Carried from this unit's read of Signify's US product page for the Hue Tap Switch Mini Black, read 2026-11-06., verified 2026-11-06

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Philips Hue Tap Switch Mini with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker