Compatibility is named, but the connection method is not documented here. A working path cannot be drawn yet.
Product Library / Switches & Dimmers
Research profile · verified 2026-11-06Philips Hue Dimmer Switch (latest model)
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your home?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: ZIGBEE · BLUETOOTH[1][3]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
Optional. The page's FAQ says 'If you don't have a bridge, you can connect these switches to up to 10 lights', and its specification table gives 'Max. lights per switch 50 (with Hue Bridge)'. The same FAQ says 'A Hue bridge is required to be able to change the way a Hue dimmer switch, smart button, or tap dial switch controls your lights'. The page's shop block, beside a Bridge Pro offer, says 'For a Dimmer Switch (latest model) a bridge is required'; that disagreement is recorded on this record.[1][3]
Signify lists Apple Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same table also reads 'HomeKit compatible Yes'. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
Compatibility is named, but the connection method is not documented here. A working path cannot be drawn yet.
Signify lists Google Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
Compatibility is named, but the connection method is not documented here. A working path cannot be drawn yet.
Signify lists Alexa among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
Compatibility is named, but the connection method is not documented here. A working path cannot be drawn yet.
Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Not established. Signify's product page does not list Home Assistant among the third-party systems, and no Home Assistant page was read for this record.[1][3]
Equipment that adds features
Philips Hue Bridge
With a Bridge the switch reaches up to 50 lights and its buttons can be reconfigured; without one, the FAQ gives up to 10 lights.[1][3]
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Apple Home · Works per the maker; details unconfirmed
Button pressed
This device reports button pressed.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Signify lists Apple Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same table also reads 'HomeKit compatible Yes'. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
Connection documentation: [1] [3]
philips-hue.com · checked 2026-11-06
Google Home · Works per the maker; details unconfirmed
Button pressed
This device reports button pressed.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Signify lists Google Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
Connection documentation: [1] [3]
philips-hue.com · checked 2026-11-06
Alexa · Works per the maker; details unconfirmed
Button pressed
This device reports button pressed.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Signify lists Alexa among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
Connection documentation: [1] [3]
philips-hue.com · checked 2026-11-06
SmartThings · Works per the maker; details unconfirmed
Button pressed
This device reports button pressed.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
Connection documentation: [1] [3]
philips-hue.com · checked 2026-11-06
Home Assistant · Inconclusive
Button pressed
This device reports button pressed.
- Event
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Not established. Signify's product page does not list Home Assistant among the third-party systems, and no Home Assistant page was read for this record.
Connection documentation: [1] [3]
philips-hue.com · checked 2026-11-06
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- None documented by the vendor
- Reported events
- 1 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][3] | Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][3] | AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][3] | SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][3] | Home AssistantInconclusive[1][3] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Button pressedReported event | Event Not stated | Event Not stated | Event Not stated | Event Not stated | Event Inconclusive |
Automation availability for this model is not established.
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Signify lists Apple Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same table also reads 'HomeKit compatible Yes'. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
Google Home
Signify lists Google Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
Alexa
Signify lists Alexa among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
SmartThings
Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
Home Assistant
Not established. Signify's product page does not list Home Assistant among the third-party systems, and no Home Assistant page was read for this record.[1][3]
Platform documentation:
philips-hue.com · checked 2026-11-06
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | Works per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][3] | Signify lists Alexa among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system. |
| Google Home | Works per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][3] | Signify lists Google Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system. |
| Apple Home | Works per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][3] | Signify lists Apple Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same table also reads 'HomeKit compatible Yes'. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system. |
| SmartThings | Works per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][3] | Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system. |
| Home Assistant | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][3] | Not established. Signify's product page does not list Home Assistant among the third-party systems, and no Home Assistant page was read for this record. |
? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.
Plans and ongoing costs[1][3]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.
The product page names no plan or subscription for this switch.
Maintenance and offline use
- Batteries: CR2032 (one included)
- Works without the internet: Not established — we have not sourced this yet. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
- One CR2032 cell included ('Batteries included 1 x CR2032'). The page's 'Minimal battery lifetime' row reads '2' with no unit, so no battery life is recorded. Two configurable buttons, rated for '50.000 clicks', IP20, radio band 2400 - 2483.5 MHz, mounts on a wall or stands free and is portable. The FAQ says the older dimmer switch used a CR2450 cell and had separate on and off buttons. Two-year warranty.
- Security updates: Philips Hue states its security-update commitment for this model as a period rather than a date: Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller (the document this comes from names no country, so which markets it legally covers is not stated). That is a floor measured from a starting point the manufacturer sets — a launch or a purchase — rather than a fixed end date, so it cannot be placed on a calendar here. We record the commitment as the manufacturer states it, in our words, rather than converting it into a date it did not give. This is a published commitment, not a gap in our research.[1][3]
Where Philips Hue's own pages disagree
Required hub or bridge
- “For a Dimmer Switch (latest model) a bridge is required” Signify's US product page for the dimmer switch, the store block beside a Bridge Pro offer, read 2026-10-23
- “If you don't have a bridge, you can connect these switches to up to 10 lights” Signify's US product page for the dimmer switch, the FAQ answer 'What do I need to set up my Hue dimmer switch, smart button, or tap dial switch?', read 2026-10-23
On whether it needs a hub or bridge, this page shows A Hue Bridge is optional: the switch connects to up to 10 lights without one, and a Bridge adds up to 50 lights and reconfigurable buttons. Signify's shop page says a Bridge is required for the dimmer switch, while the same page's FAQ connects it to up to 10 lights without one, so this page lists the Bridge as optional and says what it adds.
Who it's for
A Hue household that wants a battery-powered two-button dimmer to stick on a wall or a magnetic surface, or to carry as a remote, without rewiring.
This opens Philips Hue's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
3 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] Signify's US Philips Hue product page for the Dimmer Switch (latest model), read in full on 2026-10-23. Verbatim: 'Dimmer Switch (latest model) $30.99' · 'Current price is $30.99' · 'Shape Dimmer switch In stock' · 'For a Dimmer Switch (latest model) a bridge is required' · 'The Hue dimmer switch attaches to walls or magnetic surfaces, but can also be used as a remote control anywhere in your home.' · 'No-wire installation' · 'Battery powered' · 'Material number (12NC) 929002398601' · 'EAN/UPC - product 046677562779' · 'Batteries included 1 x CR2032' · 'Configurable buttons 2' · 'Frequency band 2400 - 2483.5 MHz' · 'Lifetime 50.000 clicks' · 'Max. lights per switch 50 (with Hue Bridge)' · 'Minimal battery lifetime 2' · 'IP code IP20' · 'HomeKit compatible Yes' · 'Philips Hue App Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later' · 'WiFi Works without Wi-Fi' · 'Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller' · 'Compatible operating systems iOS, Android' · 'Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee' · 'Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos' · 'A Hue bridge is required to be able to change the way a Hue dimmer switch, smart button, or tap dial switch controls your lights' · 'If you don't have a bridge, you can connect these switches to up to 10 lights'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-23Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities, Security-update support period
- [2] Carried from this unit's read of Signify's US product page for the Dimmer Switch (latest model), read 2026-10-23., verified 2026-10-23
- [3] Signify's US Philips Hue product page for the Dimmer Switch (latest model), read in full on 2026-11-06 (plain read). Verbatim: "Dimmer Switch (latest model) $30.99" · "Current price is $30.99" · "Shape Dimmer switch In stock" · "For a Dimmer Switch (latest model) a bridge is required" · "The Hue dimmer switch attaches to walls or magnetic surfaces, but can also be used as a remote control anywhere in your home." · "Material number (12NC) 929002398601" · "EAN/UPC - product 046677562779" · "Software upgradable Yes" · "Batteries included 1 x CR2032" · "Configurable buttons 2" · "Frequency band 2400 - 2483.5 MHz" · "Lifetime 50.000 clicks" · "Max. lights per switch 50 (with Hue Bridge)" · "Minimal battery lifetime 2" · "IP code IP20" · "HomeKit compatible Yes" · "WiFi Works without Wi-Fi" · "Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller" · "Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee" · "Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos" · "A Hue bridge is required to be able to change the way a Hue dimmer switch, smart button, or tap dial switch controls your lights" · "If you don't have a bridge, you can connect these switches to up to 10 lights" · "used a CR2450 battery; the current version of the dimmer switch, the smart button, and the tap dial switch all use a CR2032 battery" · "Warranty 2 year(s)" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities, Security-update support period
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Philips Hue Dimmer Switch (latest model) with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.