Product Library / Plugs & Outlets

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-16

Meross Smart Wi-Fi Surge Protector Power Strip (MSS425FHK)

⚠ Similar names, different products: Meross ships this power strip in HomeKit and non-HomeKit variants whose product titles read almost identically, and the letters at the end of the model are the only reliable tell — this record covers the HK-suffixed MSS425FHK, and it is the HK that carries Apple HomeKit. The same family also varies by outlet and USB count across regions. Check the model string on the box rather than the listing title, which is the same mistake this catalogue already documents on the Meross MSS620 outdoor plug.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1]
[1]
[1]
[1][17]
[15][18]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[1]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub or bridge is needed to use it — Meross states 'Works with any 2.4GHz or Dual Band WiFi router. No hub required.' The one condition is Apple's rather than Meross's, and Meross spells it out: 'To enable HomeKit remote control, a HomePod, an Apple TV 4K or Apple TV HD or an iPad is needed as a Homekit bridge to connect it to your home WiFi network.' Without one, Apple Home control works at home and not from away — and Meross names its own app as the alternative for that case.[1]

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Matter controller

Not a Matter device — this entry records the Apple home hub requirement, which is the only hub-shaped thing in the path. Meross names the qualifying devices itself: 'a HomePod, an Apple TV 4K or Apple TV HD or an iPad'. It is needed for Apple Home control from outside the house, not for local control and not for the Meross app.[1]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [5]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[5]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[1]Google HomeWorks[1]AlexaWorks[1]SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][17]Home AssistantInconclusive[15][18]
On/offDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Native HomeKit rather than a cloud bridge, and Meross states the version floor itself: 'Compatible With Apple HomeKit(iOS 13 or above), Siri'. Each of the four AC outlets is individually controlled, so they appear as separate accessories; the four USB ports are group-controlled and are not four separate things in the Home app. Remote access needs an Apple home hub — Meross names 'a HomePod, an Apple TV 4K or Apple TV HD or an iPad' — which is Apple's requirement, not a Meross limitation. ⚠ Buy the HK model: Meross sells non-HomeKit variants of this strip under near-identical titles.[1]

Google Home

Named in the same Meross sentence as Alexa and Apple, reached the same way, with the same internet dependency. Per-outlet control; the USB bank is one thing rather than four.[1]

Alexa

Named directly by Meross in its voice-control line and reached by account linking through Meross's cloud, with each outlet addressable separately by voice. Being cloud-routed it stops working when your internet does — unlike the Apple Home path on the same device, which is the sharpest practical difference between the two on this product.[1]

SmartThings

Meross lists SmartThings among the platforms you can use to turn the strip's outlets on and off by voice. It does not say how the strip connects to SmartThings, and it publishes no SmartThings setup article.[1][17]

Home Assistant

Not established. Home Assistant ships no Meross integration and Meross names Home Assistant nowhere. A community project, meross_lan, lists the MSS425 and runs on your own network, but it needs a device key taken from your Meross account, and neither Meross nor Home Assistant stands behind it.[15][18]

Device documentation: [5]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1]Native HomeKit rather than a cloud bridge, and Meross states the version floor itself: 'Compatible With Apple HomeKit(iOS 13 or above), Siri'. Each of the four AC outlets is individually controlled, so they appear as separate accessories; the four USB ports are group-controlled and are not four separate things in the Home app. Remote access needs an Apple home hub — Meross names 'a HomePod, an Apple TV 4K or Apple TV HD or an iPad' — which is Apple's requirement, not a Meross limitation. ⚠ Buy the HK model: Meross sells non-HomeKit variants of this strip under near-identical titles.
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1]Named directly by Meross in its voice-control line and reached by account linking through Meross's cloud, with each outlet addressable separately by voice. Being cloud-routed it stops working when your internet does — unlike the Apple Home path on the same device, which is the sharpest practical difference between the two on this product.
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1]Named in the same Meross sentence as Alexa and Apple, reached the same way, with the same internet dependency. Per-outlet control; the USB bank is one thing rather than four.
SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][17]Meross lists SmartThings among the platforms you can use to turn the strip's outlets on and off by voice. It does not say how the strip connects to SmartThings, and it publishes no SmartThings setup article.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[15][18]Not established. Home Assistant ships no Meross integration and Meross names Home Assistant nowhere. A community project, meross_lan, lists the MSS425 and runs on your own network, but it needs a device key taken from your Meross account, and neither Meross nor Home Assistant stands behind it.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[1]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No plan, paid tier or recurring charge is named anywhere in Meross's own listing for this product, including around the scheduling, timer and sunrise/sunset features that would be the obvious things to gate. We record no subscription on that basis; the honest limit is that this is the absence of paywall language on the maker's own listing rather than an explicit 'no subscription' statement. A Meross account is needed for the Meross app, which is a different thing from a subscription and is recorded separately.

Maintenance and offline use[1]

The catch

The four AC outlets are individually switched and the four USB ports are not — they move as one group — so if the point of buying it is controlling a phone charger separately from a tablet charger, that is not what this does. It is Wi-Fi and largely cloud-routed: Apple Home is the one local path, while Alexa and Google Home run through Meross's cloud, so an internet outage takes both with them, and Meross does not say how SmartThings connects. Home Assistant has no official integration at all; the community route is real and local but needs a device key pulled out of a Meross cloud account first. And the model letters decide what you get — the HK suffix is what carries HomeKit, on a listing whose title looks the same either way. On the other side of the ledger: per-outlet control at this price, ETL and FCC certification, a 15 A rating, surge protection, and native HomeKit rather than a bridge.

Who it's for

A desk, media wall or bench where four things need switching independently — and especially an Apple Home household, since HomeKit is the one path on this strip that keeps working without the internet. It also suits a household that wants scheduling with sunrise and sunset triggers on individual sockets. Look elsewhere if you need the USB ports controlled separately from each other, if you want Matter, if you want a local-first setup outside Apple Home, or if you are on Home Assistant and unwilling to run a community integration that starts with extracting a key from the vendor's cloud.

Check availability at Meross

This opens Meross's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

22 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] shop.meross.com product listing 'Meross Smart Power Strip, MSS425FHK (US Version)', read from the store's own structured product data — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-16
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Market availability, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  2. [2] Home Assistant's integration documentation, in which no Meross page exists, plus the meross_lan community project's own supported-hardware list — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-08-16Someone's observation, checked 2026-08-16This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-16.
  3. [3] Record created 2026-08-16 from shop.meross.com's own structured product data, with the Home Assistant answer settled from sources outside Meross — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-16
    Backs: Research status
  4. [4] Meross first-party surfaces read 2026-08-20. meross.com/en-gc/security carries no support-period, end-of-support or lifecycle statement of any kind; its only update-related content is a notice that new HomeKit firmware has been released to "drastically improve the connection stability", which announces a release rather than a duration. shop.meross.com is a registered refusing host, so the storefront rung could not be walked. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Security-update support period
  5. [5] Meross store product page, MSS425FHK — "4 Outlets and 4 USB Ports: Equipped with 4 individually controlled Outlets and 4 group controlled USB ports."; "Voice Control: … just make a voice command to turn on/off the connected devices."; "Schedule and Timer Setting: WiFi Surge Protector supports turning on and off the home or office devices automatically." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Capabilities
  6. [6] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-05 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-05
  7. [7] https://shop.meross.com/products/meross-smart-power-strip-compatible-with-apple-homekit-siri-amazon-alexa-google-home-and-smartthings-4-ac-outlets-4-usb-ports-and-1-8m-extension-cord-voice-and-remote-control-us-version (read 2026-09-10) states 'Works with any 2.4GHz or Dual Band WiFi router. No hub required.' The subject there is the ROUTER, and the sentence is permissive rather than exclusive — it says which routers the strip can join, not which radios the strip has. That is the same shape refused for Hunter, Leviton, Legrand, Kwikset and Google in batches 1 through 6, and it is refused here for the same reason. On platforms the page says an Android user 'can use the Meross app' and names iOS only in the phrase 'Apple HomeKit(iOS 13 or above)', which is HomeKit's requirement rather than the Meross app's; no app-store link appears in the page source. Both facts stay unrecorded. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-10
  8. [8] Meross, 'User Manual' for this model — the 13-page PDF that Meross's own product-documentation page (meross.com/product/19/article/) publishes under the name UG_MSS425FHK(US)_2307_EN — opened 2026-09-12 and read page-as-image because the file carries no text layer. Installation Guide step 2, verbatim: 'Plug MSS425F into an outlet near main Wi-Fi.*', printed beside an illustration of a plug entering a wall receptacle, with the footnotes '* Proximity to main Wi-Fi is required only during the initial setup process.' and '* MSS425F only supports 2.4GHz networks.' Safety Information item 3, verbatim: 'Make sure the device is fully plugged in and kept out of reach of children for safety concern.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12
    Backs: Power source
  9. [9] this record's own provenance, re-read 2026-09-16: every entry was checked for a statement by Meross itself — its own app, its own hub or bridge, its own documentation for controlling the device over the home network, or its own statement about this model — that the MSS425FHK keeps working when the internet is down. No such entry exists on this record. What the old value rested on instead: the meross_lan COMMUNITY project on GitHub (an unofficial Home Assistant integration; Home Assistant ships none for Meross), whose supported-hardware list names MSS425., verified 2026-09-16
  10. [10] Meross's own store listing for the Smart Power Strip MSS425FHK, already cited by this record, read end to end on 2026-09-16 after the host-conduct check and checked for any statement about the strip's behaviour without the internet. It carries none. The nearest sentence concerns remote access only: 'To enable HomeKit remote control, a HomePod, an Apple TV 4K or Apple TV HD or an iPad is needed as a Homekit bridge to connect it to your home WiFi network.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
  11. [11] Plugs into a wall outlet — nothing to wire or mount., verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Installation
  12. [12] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-18 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-18
  13. [13] Meross's own store listing for this product, read 2026-09-18. The listing is titled "Meross Smart Power Strip, MSS425FHK (US Version)", is sold by Meross, and gives MSS425FHK-US as the order code for the version this record covers. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  14. [14] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-23
  15. [15] Home Assistant's documentation address for a meross_lan integration, read on 2026-10-03: there is still no page there. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  16. [16] The meross_lan project's page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Its supported-hardware list carries "MSS425 : Smart WiFi Surge Protector (multiple sockets power strip)" and "MSS620 : Smart WiFi Indoor/Outdoor Plug", and its setup notes say "you'd need the 'device key' which is a secret stored in your Meross profile". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-03Someone's observation, checked 2026-10-03This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-10-03.
  17. [17] Meross's own store page for the MSS425FHK, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Meross Smart Power Strip, MSS425FHK (US Version)" · "Voice Control: Compatible With Apple HomeKit(iOS 13 or above), Siri, Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings, Control your devices hands-free, just make a voice command to turn on/off the connected devices." The page names no way of connecting to SmartThings. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  18. [18] Home Assistant's documentation address for a meross_lan integration, read on 2026-10-08: there is still no page there., verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  19. [19] The meross_lan project's page, read in full on 2026-10-08. Its supported-hardware list still carries "MSS425 : Smart WiFi Surge Protector (multiple sockets power strip)", and its setup notes still say "you'd need the 'device key' which is a secret stored in your Meross profile"., verified 2026-10-08Someone's observation, checked 2026-10-08This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-10-08.
  20. [20] Meross's security page, read in full 2026-10-08 (plain read). It carries no support period, end-of-support date or lifecycle statement. Its one update-related sentence still reads: "We have released new firmwares for HomeKit devices to drastically improve the connection stability." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Security-update support period
  21. [21] Meross's user manual for this model (the file Meross's documentation page names UG_MSS425FHK(US)_2307_EN), opened 2026-10-08 as PDF text: the file has no text layer, and the text read returns 13 characters., verified 2026-10-08
  22. [22] This record's own entries for the pages that name the route., verified 2026-08-16

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Meross Smart Wi-Fi Surge Protector Power Strip (MSS425FHK) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker