Product Library / Outdoor, Lawn & Irrigation

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-22

Melnor 4-Zone Bluetooth Water Timer

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[2][4]
[2]
[2]
[2]
[3]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: BLUETOOTH[1][2][3][4][6][14]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub, no account, no network — and unlike most 'no hub required' claims in this catalogue, that is not a marketing framing but a hard architectural limit that cuts both ways. The timer speaks Bluetooth to a phone and to nothing else. Melnor states the working distance plainly: scheduling happens 'from your smart device via the app within a 30 ft. range', and the app requires iOS 9 or Android 7.0 with Bluetooth 4.0. What you get is genuine independence — no vendor cloud, no hub to buy or power, no account to lose, and nothing that stops working when the internet does. What you give up is everything remote: there is no way to check or change this timer from work, from holiday, or from the other end of a large garden. The schedules themselves run on the timer, so it waters correctly whether your phone is present or not; you simply cannot reach it from outside those 30 feet.[2][14]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Valve

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [2] [14]

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [2] [14]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[2][14]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeDoesn't work[2][4]Google HomeDoesn't work[2]AlexaDoesn't work[2]SmartThingsInconclusive[2]Home AssistantWorks[3]
ValveDevice control
Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

On/offDevice control
Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

No route, and the architecture rather than the vendor's silence is what settles it. A full-text read of Melnor's product page returns zero occurrences of 'Apple', 'Alexa', 'Google', 'SmartThings', 'Home Assistant' and 'Matter' — no platform of any kind is named. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Melnor. And unlike a Wi-Fi product that could gain a cloud integration tomorrow, a Bluetooth-only timer with no hub and no account has no mechanism through which Apple Home could reach it. Recorded 'none' rather than 'unknown' on that combination — vendor silence, no Matter certificate we could confirm, and the absence of any transport that could carry such an integration.[2][4]

Google Home

No route, identically to Alexa: no platform named by the vendor, and no cloud service through which Google Home could reach a Bluetooth-only valve. Recorded 'none' on the architecture rather than on silence alone.[2]

Alexa

No route, for the same structural reason as Apple. Melnor names no platform anywhere, and there is no hub, no account and no internet-facing service for a voice assistant to talk to — an Alexa skill needs something on the vendor's side to connect to, and this product has nothing of the kind. Recorded as a no rather than as unknown, because what is missing is not documentation but any way in at all. The radio it was built with is the whole reason: this timer speaks only Bluetooth, to a phone standing within about 30 feet of the tap, so there is nothing for Alexa to reach even from the next room.[2]

SmartThings

Recorded unknown rather than none, and the distinction from the three cells above is deliberate rather than an inconsistency. SmartThings is the one platform that could in principle reach this device without a vendor cloud, because a SmartThings hub with Bluetooth radios could theoretically talk to a Bluetooth valve directly — the same shape of local path Home Assistant actually uses here. Whether any such support exists is not documented on either side: Melnor names no platform, and no Samsung documentation naming this product was located. So neither side speaks and the honest state is unknown.[2]

Home Assistant

The finding of this record, and a genuinely surprising one: the manufacturer that names no smart-home platform anywhere is the one whose product Home Assistant supports officially and locally. Home Assistant ships an OFFICIAL Melnor integration — introduced in Home Assistant 2022.9, IoT class 'Local Polling' — and it is fully local: 'The devices are set up through Bluetooth and don't need any additional bridge or gateway.' It provides sensor and switch entities, and it discovers devices automatically once Home Assistant's own Bluetooth integration is running. The class match to this product is explicit rather than inferred: the documentation states that '1-zone, 2-zone, and 4-zone valves are supported', and this is the 4-zone valve. Two limits belong on the cell honestly. First, no model numbers are published — the support statement is by zone count and by brand (Melnor and Eden), so a buyer is matching a class rather than a part number, and this catalogue would rate the cell higher still if a model list existed. Second, and practically: Home Assistant must be within Bluetooth range of the tap, since there is no hub or cloud to bridge the distance — the same 30 ft constraint that governs the phone app governs this too, which for many gardens means a Bluetooth proxy rather than the server itself. Recorded 'full' because the integration is official, current, covers this device's stated class, and delivers the product's whole function; and 'local' because it genuinely is — this is the only record in the subcategory with a control path that touches no vendor server at all.[3]

Device documentation: [2] [14]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2][4]No route, and the architecture rather than the vendor's silence is what settles it. A full-text read of Melnor's product page returns zero occurrences of 'Apple', 'Alexa', 'Google', 'SmartThings', 'Home Assistant' and 'Matter' — no platform of any kind is named. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Melnor. And unlike a Wi-Fi product that could gain a cloud integration tomorrow, a Bluetooth-only timer with no hub and no account has no mechanism through which Apple Home could reach it. Recorded 'none' rather than 'unknown' on that combination — vendor silence, no Matter certificate we could confirm, and the absence of any transport that could carry such an integration.
Amazon AlexaDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2]No route, for the same structural reason as Apple. Melnor names no platform anywhere, and there is no hub, no account and no internet-facing service for a voice assistant to talk to — an Alexa skill needs something on the vendor's side to connect to, and this product has nothing of the kind. Recorded as a no rather than as unknown, because what is missing is not documentation but any way in at all. The radio it was built with is the whole reason: this timer speaks only Bluetooth, to a phone standing within about 30 feet of the tap, so there is nothing for Alexa to reach even from the next room.
Google HomeDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2]No route, identically to Alexa: no platform named by the vendor, and no cloud service through which Google Home could reach a Bluetooth-only valve. Recorded 'none' on the architecture rather than on silence alone.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2]Recorded unknown rather than none, and the distinction from the three cells above is deliberate rather than an inconsistency. SmartThings is the one platform that could in principle reach this device without a vendor cloud, because a SmartThings hub with Bluetooth radios could theoretically talk to a Bluetooth valve directly — the same shape of local path Home Assistant actually uses here. Whether any such support exists is not documented on either side: Melnor names no platform, and no Samsung documentation naming this product was located. So neither side speaks and the honest state is unknown.
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3]The finding of this record, and a genuinely surprising one: the manufacturer that names no smart-home platform anywhere is the one whose product Home Assistant supports officially and locally. Home Assistant ships an OFFICIAL Melnor integration — introduced in Home Assistant 2022.9, IoT class 'Local Polling' — and it is fully local: 'The devices are set up through Bluetooth and don't need any additional bridge or gateway.' It provides sensor and switch entities, and it discovers devices automatically once Home Assistant's own Bluetooth integration is running. The class match to this product is explicit rather than inferred: the documentation states that '1-zone, 2-zone, and 4-zone valves are supported', and this is the 4-zone valve. Two limits belong on the cell honestly. First, no model numbers are published — the support statement is by zone count and by brand (Melnor and Eden), so a buyer is matching a class rather than a part number, and this catalogue would rate the cell higher still if a model list existed. Second, and practically: Home Assistant must be within Bluetooth range of the tap, since there is no hub or cloud to bridge the distance — the same 30 ft constraint that governs the phone app governs this too, which for many gardens means a Bluetooth proxy rather than the server itself. Recorded 'full' because the integration is official, current, covers this device's stated class, and delivers the product's whole function; and 'local' because it genuinely is — this is the only record in the subcategory with a control path that touches no vendor server at all.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[2][14]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: No — no vendor account is involved.[2][14]

No subscription, and structurally there is nothing for one to attach to — there is no cloud service, no account and no remote access to meter. Recorded 'none' with more confidence than the usual absence-of-fee-language reading supports, because the product's architecture makes a future fee close to impossible: a Bluetooth-only device with a local app has no gate a vendor could put a price behind. The running cost is batteries — four AA cells, not included — and nothing else.

Maintenance and offline use[2]

The catch

This timer is defined by what it does not have. There is no hub, no account, no vendor cloud and no internet in the path at all — the timer talks Bluetooth to your phone 'within a 30 ft. range' and that is the whole system. The upside is real and rarer than it should be: nothing here can be discontinued out from under you, no service can start charging, and the watering does not stop when your router does. The downside is equally absolute and is the first thing to be sure about: you cannot check or change this timer from anywhere except standing near it. No checking from work, no adjusting from holiday, no alerts. The schedules run on the timer itself, so the garden still gets watered — you just have no reach. Second, the smart-home answer is mostly no, with one large exception. Melnor names no platform anywhere on its site: no Alexa, no Google, no Apple, no Matter, and the official Matter certification register holds nothing for the brand. For Alexa and Google that is not a documentation gap but a structural one — a voice skill needs something on the vendor's side to connect to, and this product has nothing of the kind. The exception is Home Assistant, which ships an official Melnor integration that works entirely over your own network, names '1-zone, 2-zone, and 4-zone valves' as supported, needs no bridge or gateway, and gives you a switch and sensors for each zone. A vendor that mentions no platform turns out to have the only no-cloud control path in its category. The catch on the catch: Home Assistant has to be within Bluetooth range of the tap, which for most gardens means running a small Bluetooth relay outside rather than the server itself. Third, the price is not a number. Melnor's own page has a cart but no price, and every product on its site renders without one — this is a retail-channel product, so what you pay is the shop's figure, not the manufacturer's. Fourth, what is missing from the documentation is worth knowing before an outdoor purchase: there is no published weather or water-resistance rating for this timer, and no published battery life for the four AA cells it needs and does not include. Set against that, the warranty is seven years, which is far and away the longest in its category. Finally, four zones off one tap with independent schedules — Melnor's own framing is 'like four complete water timers in one', with up to twelve start times per day per zone, a rain delay of up to seven days, and a manual mode you can operate at the valve itself or from the app.

Who it's for

The right hose timer for someone who wants four independently scheduled zones off one tap and actively does NOT want a cloud account — and, above all, the right one for a Home Assistant household, where it is the only product in this subcategory with a fully local, officially supported control path that touches no vendor server. It suits a tap within Bluetooth reach of the house, a buyer who values a seven-year warranty and no ongoing dependency, and anyone shopping the budget end of a subcategory whose alternatives run $99.99 and $134.99 with hubs included. It is the wrong product if you want to check your watering from anywhere but the garden, because there is no remote access of any kind; and the wrong product for an Alexa, Google or Apple household, where the answer is not 'undocumented' but 'no transport exists'. Think twice if the tap is far from the house or from your Home Assistant server, since 30 feet of Bluetooth is the entire communication budget; if you need a published weather rating for a device living outdoors year-round, because Melnor publishes none; or if you want to know the price before you shop, since the manufacturer does not publish one.

Check availability at Melnor

This opens Melnor's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

19 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] melnor.com/products/4-zone-bluetooth-water-timer, SKU 93280 (re-read 2026-08-09): 'The innovative Bluetooth timer works with the Melnor BT App to easily set watering schedules directly from your smart device'; 'The MelnorBT app available through the Apple and Google play stores enables you to control your watering with your smart device within a 30-ft range'; 'Switch over to Manual Mode through the app or directly at the valve'. No hub, network or account is described anywhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  2. [2] Melnor, 4-Zone Bluetooth® Water Timer product page (US) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-05
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Installation, Power source, Batteries, Works without the internet, Capabilities, Market availability, Service status, Subscription, Vendor account required, Research status, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  3. [3] Home Assistant, Melnor Bluetooth integration documentation — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Protocols, Service status
  4. [4] CSA-IoT certified products database, keyword search — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-05
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility
  5. [5] A search check on the certification registry used another company's product (Narwal's Flow 2) to test that the search answers. That certificate belongs to a different product and says nothing about this one., verified 2026-08-05
  6. [6] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, vendor registry (read 2026-08-22 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs). Melnor does not appear under any name tried: 'melnor'. The DCL's vendor registry was enumerated to EXHAUSTION on 2026-08-22 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: substring queries were unioned until the distinct-VID count reached 833, which is the record count the tool itself reports scanning per query (the union of a/e/i/o/u/y reached 832; the last holdout was 'SLV GmbH', a vowel-free name, recovered by adding l/s/t). Every vendor in the ledger was therefore inspected, not searched for. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Protocols
  7. [7] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance (a check of how this record marks the facts it does not have), verified 2026-08-27
  8. [8] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was replaced by the read that actually established this record, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
  9. [9] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
  10. [10] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-11 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-11
  11. [11] the record's own customer-facing prose as it stood before 2026-09-15 (no external read), verified 2026-09-15
  12. [12] Record-keeping entry: this record's existing no-support answers for Apple Home and Google Home now name the platform rule the reason rests on, 2026-09-15, verified 2026-09-15
  13. [13] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-18 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-18
  14. [14] Melnor's own product page, re-read in full 2026-09-22, and its Shopify structured product record at the same address with '.js' appended, read first per the structured-route rule. The page: 'SKU: 93280', an Add to cart control and a quantity selector with NO price figure anywhere on this product, while its 1-zone, 2-zone and HydroLogic siblings all render '$0.00'. 'Easy and convenient scheduling from your smart device via the app within a 30 ft. range.' 'Each valve works like a separate timer with up to 12 customizable start times per day'. 'Watering Delay temporarily pauses the schedule due to rain'. 'Create unique device zone names and secure your timer with a password'. 'Minimum requirements: iOS 9 or Android 7.0, Bluetooth 4.0'. 'Requires 4 x AA batteries (not included)'. 'Backed by a Melnor 7-Year Limited Warranty'. The store's own structured product data returns a price of zero for every variant of this timer, with no crossed-out original price recorded, the item marked in stock, and the SKU 93280. Neither surface names Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, HomeKit, SmartThings, Matter, Thread, Wi-Fi or a hub of any kind, and neither carries an IP or weather rating. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Installation, Power source, Batteries, Capabilities, Market availability, Service status, Subscription, Works without the internet, Vendor account required, Research status
  15. [15] The store's own structured product data for this page, read 2026-09-22: a price of zero for the product and for its single variant, no crossed-out original price recorded, the item in stock, the SKU 93280, and no subscription or recurring-purchase option offered. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
  16. [16] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-23
  17. [17] Melnor's own store listing for the 4-Zone Bluetooth Water Timer, read 2026-09-24. The listing sells a single version and gives it the part code 93280; it publishes no retail barcode. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  18. [18] The Matter certification ledger kept by the Connectivity Standards Alliance, read on 2026-10-06: no maker registration was found under the names Melnor or Melnor Inc, so the ledger cannot say either way whether this Melnor product is certified. The Alliance's public product directory could not serve as the second check that day: its search showed the same list of products whatever name it was given, and a member company's page lists no products at all. No certification answer is recorded for this date. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-06
  19. [19] A wording correction to this record's own sentences about the certification body's keyword search. No page was read., verified 2026-10-07

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Melnor 4-Zone Bluetooth Water Timer with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker