The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
Product Library / Switches & Dimmers
Research profile · last verified 2026-10-03Lutron Pico Wireless Remote Control
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your platform?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: CLEAR-CONNECT[1][14][17][32]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
A Lutron system is required, but a hub is not always. Lutron states that a Pico can be paired straight to a Caseta device: 'Although it is not required for functionality between a Pico remote and a Caséta device, adding the Caséta Smart Hub to your system unlocks additional programming options.' So the remote works hub-free as an extra point of control for a switch, dimmer, fan control or shade you already own — and needs the Caséta Smart Hub only for scenes, schedules and any third-party integration. What it never does is work alone: there is no Pico-only mode, and it speaks only to Lutron equipment.[3][17][20][24][28][32][33]
Lutron states it directly: 'Lutron Smart Hubs, Repeaters, Processors, Pico remote controls, and standard keypads are not controllable devices via the Home app.' Only load controllers appear. A Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2 or L-BDGPRO2) is what gives the SYSTEM its HomeKit connection — it does not put the Pico in Apple Home.[4]
The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
Same as Alexa, and on the same basis. Lutron's Google Home FAQ discusses controlling Lutron scenes by voice, not surfacing Pico remotes to Google — and the same load-controllers-only model applies. Recorded as none from Lutron's stated integration model rather than from a Google-specific statement, which Lutron does not publish.[4]
The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
The Pico controls your Lutron devices; it does not appear to Alexa as anything. Lutron's integration model exposes load controllers only — dimmers, switches, fan controls, smart plugs and hybrid keypads — and Lutron states affirmatively that Pico remotes are not devices in the Apple Home app and do not show up in the SmartThings app. Lutron publishes no equivalent sentence for Alexa specifically, so this cell rests on that stated model plus the two affirmative statements about sibling platforms, not on an Alexa-specific disclaimer. Practical effect: a Pico press cannot start an Alexa routine or touch a non-Lutron device.[4]
The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
Lutron's own FAQ answers the question outright: 'Do Pico remotes show up in the SmartThings app? No, Pico remotes do not show up in the SmartThings app.' The Lutron devices a Pico controls can appear; the remote itself cannot.[5]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
Lutron Pico Wireless Remote Control
- SwitchLutron Pico Wireless Remote Control
- Device connectionLutron Caséta Smart HubRequired hub or bridge
- Official integrationHome AssistantPlatform control
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-03
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
Setup and sources
Lutron: a Pico pairs straight to a Caséta device with no hub, and adding the Caséta Smart Hub unlocks the further options. Home Assistant reaches a Pico only through a Lutron bridge, the Caséta Smart Hub among those its integration names.
The one platform where a Pico press escapes Lutron's walls. Home Assistant's official Lutron Caséta integration exposes 'Pico Remotes as device triggers', and its documentation states 'Device triggers are available for every button on Pico remotes, Shade remotes, and keypads' — press, release, multi-tap, and long-press on HomeWorks QSX. That makes a $20 button a trigger for anything Home Assistant controls. It is local push, and it requires one of the named bridges: the Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH), Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH), RA2 Select Main Repeater, RadioRA 3 processor or QSX processor.[6][15][36]
Equipment that adds features
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Apple Home · Doesn't work
Button pressed
This device reports button pressed.
- Event
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Lutron states it directly: 'Lutron Smart Hubs, Repeaters, Processors, Pico remote controls, and standard keypads are not controllable devices via the Home app.' Only load controllers appear. A Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2 or L-BDGPRO2) is what gives the SYSTEM its HomeKit connection — it does not put the Pico in Apple Home.
Connection documentation: [4]
Device documentation: [10] [15] [17] [31] [36] [38]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-03
casetawireless.com · checked 2026-09-19
assets.lutron.com · checked 2026-10-12
support.lutron.com · checked 2026-07-31
Google Home · Doesn't work
Button pressed
This device reports button pressed.
- Event
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Same as Alexa, and on the same basis. Lutron's Google Home FAQ discusses controlling Lutron scenes by voice, not surfacing Pico remotes to Google — and the same load-controllers-only model applies. Recorded as none from Lutron's stated integration model rather than from a Google-specific statement, which Lutron does not publish.
Connection documentation: [4]
Device documentation: [10] [15] [17] [31] [36] [38]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-03
casetawireless.com · checked 2026-09-19
assets.lutron.com · checked 2026-10-12
support.lutron.com · checked 2026-07-31
Alexa · Doesn't work
Button pressed
This device reports button pressed.
- Event
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
The Pico controls your Lutron devices; it does not appear to Alexa as anything. Lutron's integration model exposes load controllers only — dimmers, switches, fan controls, smart plugs and hybrid keypads — and Lutron states affirmatively that Pico remotes are not devices in the Apple Home app and do not show up in the SmartThings app. Lutron publishes no equivalent sentence for Alexa specifically, so this cell rests on that stated model plus the two affirmative statements about sibling platforms, not on an Alexa-specific disclaimer. Practical effect: a Pico press cannot start an Alexa routine or touch a non-Lutron device.
Connection documentation: [4]
Device documentation: [10] [15] [17] [31] [36] [38]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-03
casetawireless.com · checked 2026-09-19
assets.lutron.com · checked 2026-10-12
support.lutron.com · checked 2026-07-31
SmartThings · Doesn't work
Button pressed
This device reports button pressed.
- Event
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Lutron's own FAQ answers the question outright: 'Do Pico remotes show up in the SmartThings app? No, Pico remotes do not show up in the SmartThings app.' The Lutron devices a Pico controls can appear; the remote itself cannot.
Connection documentation: [5]
Device documentation: [10] [15] [17] [31] [36] [38]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-03
casetawireless.com · checked 2026-09-19
assets.lutron.com · checked 2026-10-12
support.lutron.com · checked 2026-07-31
Home Assistant · Works
Button pressed
This device reports button pressed.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: Maker’s hub or bridge
Setup and sources
Home Assistant is the only platform on this record with documented access to Pico presses. Its Caséta integration fires a lutron_caseta_button_event carrying serial number, device type, button number, device name, area name and action type, and states that "Device triggers are available for every button on Pico remotes, Shade remotes, and keypads" — with "Button pressed", "Button released" and "Button tapped multiple times in quick succession" all "Supported on all hardware". Long press is "currently only confirmed to work on HomeWorks QSX processors", which is not this product's system.
Maker’s hub or bridge. Lutron: a Pico pairs straight to a Caséta device with no hub, and adding the Caséta Smart Hub unlocks the further options. Home Assistant reaches a Pico only through a Lutron bridge, the Caséta Smart Hub among those its integration names. Required product →
The one platform where a Pico press escapes Lutron's walls. Home Assistant's official Lutron Caséta integration exposes 'Pico Remotes as device triggers', and its documentation states 'Device triggers are available for every button on Pico remotes, Shade remotes, and keypads' — press, release, multi-tap, and long-press on HomeWorks QSX. That makes a $20 button a trigger for anything Home Assistant controls. It is local push, and it requires one of the named bridges: the Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH), Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH), RA2 Select Main Repeater, RadioRA 3 processor or QSX processor.
Connection documentation: [6] [15] [36]
Device documentation: [10] [15] [17] [31] [36] [38]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-03
casetawireless.com · checked 2026-09-19
assets.lutron.com · checked 2026-10-12
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- None documented by the vendor
- Reported events
- 1 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeDoesn't work[4] | Google HomeDoesn't work[4] | AlexaDoesn't work[4] | SmartThingsDoesn't work[5] | Home AssistantWorks[6][15][36] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Button pressedReported event | Event Doesn't work | Event Doesn't work | Event Doesn't work | Event Doesn't work | Event Not stated |
Automation availability for this model is not established.
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Lutron states it directly: 'Lutron Smart Hubs, Repeaters, Processors, Pico remote controls, and standard keypads are not controllable devices via the Home app.' Only load controllers appear. A Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2 or L-BDGPRO2) is what gives the SYSTEM its HomeKit connection — it does not put the Pico in Apple Home.[4]
Google Home
Same as Alexa, and on the same basis. Lutron's Google Home FAQ discusses controlling Lutron scenes by voice, not surfacing Pico remotes to Google — and the same load-controllers-only model applies. Recorded as none from Lutron's stated integration model rather than from a Google-specific statement, which Lutron does not publish.[4]
Alexa
The Pico controls your Lutron devices; it does not appear to Alexa as anything. Lutron's integration model exposes load controllers only — dimmers, switches, fan controls, smart plugs and hybrid keypads — and Lutron states affirmatively that Pico remotes are not devices in the Apple Home app and do not show up in the SmartThings app. Lutron publishes no equivalent sentence for Alexa specifically, so this cell rests on that stated model plus the two affirmative statements about sibling platforms, not on an Alexa-specific disclaimer. Practical effect: a Pico press cannot start an Alexa routine or touch a non-Lutron device.[4]
SmartThings
Lutron's own FAQ answers the question outright: 'Do Pico remotes show up in the SmartThings app? No, Pico remotes do not show up in the SmartThings app.' The Lutron devices a Pico controls can appear; the remote itself cannot.[5]
Home Assistant
The one platform where a Pico press escapes Lutron's walls. Home Assistant's official Lutron Caséta integration exposes 'Pico Remotes as device triggers', and its documentation states 'Device triggers are available for every button on Pico remotes, Shade remotes, and keypads' — press, release, multi-tap, and long-press on HomeWorks QSX. That makes a $20 button a trigger for anything Home Assistant controls. It is local push, and it requires one of the named bridges: the Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH), Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH), RA2 Select Main Repeater, RadioRA 3 processor or QSX processor.[6][15][36]
Button pressed: Home Assistant is the only platform on this record with documented access to Pico presses. Its Caséta integration fires a lutron_caseta_button_event carrying serial number, device type, button number, device name, area name and action type, and states that "Device triggers are available for every button on Pico remotes, Shade remotes, and keypads" — with "Button pressed", "Button released" and "Button tapped multiple times in quick succession" all "Supported on all hardware". Long press is "currently only confirmed to work on HomeWorks QSX processors", which is not this product's system.
Platform documentation:
support.lutron.com · checked 2026-07-31
support.lutron.com · checked 2026-07-31
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-03
- Home Assistant: Home Assistant is the only platform on this record with documented access to Pico presses. Its Caséta integration fires a
lutron_caseta_button_eventcarrying serial number, device type, button number, device name, area name and action type, and states that "Device triggers are available for every button on Pico remotes, Shade remotes, and keypads" — with "Button pressed", "Button released" and "Button tapped multiple times in quick succession" all "Supported on all hardware". Long press is "currently only confirmed to work on HomeWorks QSX processors", which is not this product's system.
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4] | The Pico controls your Lutron devices; it does not appear to Alexa as anything. Lutron's integration model exposes load controllers only — dimmers, switches, fan controls, smart plugs and hybrid keypads — and Lutron states affirmatively that Pico remotes are not devices in the Apple Home app and do not show up in the SmartThings app. Lutron publishes no equivalent sentence for Alexa specifically, so this cell rests on that stated model plus the two affirmative statements about sibling platforms, not on an Alexa-specific disclaimer. Practical effect: a Pico press cannot start an Alexa routine or touch a non-Lutron device. |
| Google Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4] | Same as Alexa, and on the same basis. Lutron's Google Home FAQ discusses controlling Lutron scenes by voice, not surfacing Pico remotes to Google — and the same load-controllers-only model applies. Recorded as none from Lutron's stated integration model rather than from a Google-specific statement, which Lutron does not publish. |
| Apple Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4] | Lutron states it directly: 'Lutron Smart Hubs, Repeaters, Processors, Pico remote controls, and standard keypads are not controllable devices via the Home app.' Only load controllers appear. A Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2 or L-BDGPRO2) is what gives the SYSTEM its HomeKit connection — it does not put the Pico in Apple Home. |
| SmartThings | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[5] | Lutron's own FAQ answers the question outright: 'Do Pico remotes show up in the SmartThings app? No, Pico remotes do not show up in the SmartThings app.' The Lutron devices a Pico controls can appear; the remote itself cannot. |
| Home Assistant | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[6][15][36] | The one platform where a Pico press escapes Lutron's walls. Home Assistant's official Lutron Caséta integration exposes 'Pico Remotes as device triggers', and its documentation states 'Device triggers are available for every button on Pico remotes, Shade remotes, and keypads' — press, release, multi-tap, and long-press on HomeWorks QSX. That makes a $20 button a trigger for anything Home Assistant controls. It is local push, and it requires one of the named bridges: the Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH), Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH), RA2 Select Main Repeater, RadioRA 3 processor or QSX processor.In Home Assistant you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub |
Plans and ongoing costs[3][14][30]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[12][33][35]
No subscription is referenced on Lutron's product page or in its Pico specification submittal. Lutron's residential systems are sold as hardware.
Maintenance and offline use[1]
- Batteries: CR2032 (one included) — manufacturer-stated 120 months per set
- Works without the internet: Yes — the core function runs on the device or your home network. A vendor cloud may still be involved in remote access.[11][17][20][23][24][27][28][32][33][34]
- Lutron publishes a 10-year battery life figure and states its basis rather than leaving it as marketing: 'Based on a 1 year shelf life, an average of 10 button presses per day, and an ambient temperature of 86 °F (30 °C).' Range is 30 ft (9 m) through walls and 60 ft (18 m) line-of-sight. The radio is Clear Connect at 431–437 MHz — well below the crowded 2.4 GHz band. Available as a handheld, wall-mount (faceplate adapter kit sold separately), car-visor clip or tabletop pedestal, all sold separately. Configurations: 2-button, 2-button raise/lower, 3-button, or 3-button raise/lower.
- Security updates: No security-update support date is on record for this model yet. We haven't yet checked whether Lutron publishes one, so this is a gap in our research — not a statement about the manufacturer.
The catch
A wireless button is only as universal as the hub that hears it, and this one is a Lutron citizen first. Lutron says plainly that Pico remotes are not devices in Apple Home and do not appear in SmartThings, and the same load-controllers-only model keeps them out of Alexa and Google Home — so the Pico can dim your Caséta lights beautifully and cannot touch a non-Lutron bulb, or start a voice-assistant routine, unless Home Assistant is in the picture. In the other direction, it needs no hub at all to act as an extra switch for a Caséta device you already own, and no wiring, which is why it is the standard answer to a missing three-way. Mounting hardware — faceplate adapter, visor clip, pedestal — is sold separately, and Lutron publishes no price on its own pages.
Who it's for
Anyone already running Lutron — Caséta, RadioRA 3, HomeWorks, Athena, Vive or myRoom XC — who needs another point of control where there is no wire: a second bedside switch, a fix for a missing three-way, a shade control by the door. Home Assistant households get considerably more, because there the button can trigger anything. Not the remote to buy if you are not in the Lutron world, or if you expect it to appear in Alexa, Google Home or Apple Home.
This opens Lutron's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
41 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] lutron.com product page, 'Pico Remote Light Control — 2/3 Button, Gloss White' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Batteries, Works without the internet
- [2] Lutron specification submittal 369612q, 'Pico Wireless Control and Mounting Accessories' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Market availability, Service status, Power source, Installation
- [3] support.lutron.com Caséta Wireless article, 'The Pico Remote and its use in the Caseta System' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Required hub or bridge, Subscription
- [4] support.lutron.com Caséta Wireless article, 'Apple HomeKit and how to set up and use voice commands with the Caseta or RA2 Select Systems' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
- [5] support.lutron.com Caséta Wireless FAQ, 'What hardware is required from Lutron to use Google Home' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: SmartThings compatibility
- [6] Home Assistant documentation, Lutron Caséta integration — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [7] docs/candidates/2026-07-31-wireless-controllers.md (discovery sweep brief, since deleted), lutron.com product page and specification submittal 369612q, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Price, Research status
- [8] Lutron's Pico remote product page, re-read 2026-08-18 — 'wire-free' and Clear Connect RF are stated, but neither is a statement about internet or hub independence, and the page makes none. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
- [9] Lutron's Pico product page, specification submittal 369612q, and the support article 'The Pico Remote and its use in the Caseta System' — all already cited on this record — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-19Backs: What it provides to your home
- [10] Lutron's own Caséta Load Controls specification submittal (369987o, dated 08.14.25), read in full 2026-08-20 establishes what the device is and is not: "The Caséta family of dimmers, switches, and fan controls can be controlled directly and remotely when paired with Pico remote controls", and Lutron's Pico support article describes it as adding "additional points of wireless control to a Caséta switch, dimmer, fan control, or shade" with per-model button layouts (2-button on/off; 3-button raise/lower with a "favorite" preset level; a 4-button scene model that "Activates scenes that program to buttons on the Scene Pico Remote ... via the Lutron app"). Home Assistant's own documentation for its Lutron Caséta integration, read 2026-08-20, establishes what a connected platform receives: a separate event for each button press, which is what the limits note describes. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilities
- [11] Lutron Pico Controls product-selection FAQs — "Do I need a Caséta smart hub to use a Pico paddle remote? No, the Pico paddle remote can be paired directly with Caséta smart products." and "Once a Pico paddle remote has been added to a Caséta system, the Pico paddle remote does not require internet, but it does require power to the smart hub." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Works without the internet
- [12] Lutron support, 'The Pico Remote and its use in the Caseta System' — "Although it is not required for functionality between a Pico remote and a Caséta device, adding the Caséta Smart Hub to your system unlocks additional programming options for Pico scene remotes P01/P02/P03 and EL2/ES2." · Lutron Pico Controls product-selection FAQs — "Do I need a Caséta smart hub to use a Pico paddle remote? No, the Pico paddle remote can be paired directly with Caséta smart products." and "Once a Pico paddle remote has been added to a Caséta system, the Pico paddle remote does not require internet, but it does require power to the smart hub." · Lutron Caséta technical-support FAQs — "The Lutron App connects to the Smart Bridge via the cloud using an account (email address and password) that you create during initioal system setup." (vendor's spelling of 'initioal' preserved) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Vendor account required
- [13] No source was read for this entry. It records how this record's existing evidence for its no-support ecosystem cells was classified, so a later pass reads the classification instead of working it out again. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-22
- [14] Lutron specification submittal "Pico Wireless Control and Mounting Accessories", re-downloaded and read in full 2026-09-18. It is still the same document at the same address, still revision 369612q dated 06.20.2025, and it still carries: "This battery-operated control requires no external power or communication wiring."; "10 year battery life (one CR2032 battery included)" with its stated basis, "Based on a 1 year shelf life, an average of 10 button presses per day, and an ambient temperature of 86 °F (30 °C)"; "Can provide control of blinds, curtains, or lighting devices within a range of 30 ft (9 m) through walls and 60 ft (18 m) line-of-sight"; "Communicates using Radio Frequency (RF) at 431 MHz to 437 MHz" with frequency/channel code J covering 431.0–437.0 MHz; "Operating Voltage 3 V" on one CR2032; and the model-number builder PJ2 – XXXX – XXX – XXX with button-configuration codes 2B, 2BRL, 3B and 3BRL. The systems list is unchanged: Caséta Wireless controls, Energi Savr Node / Quantum / myRoom through a QS sensor module, Vive systems including Maestro Wireless controls and PowPak modules, GRAFIK Eye QS wireless, HomeWorks QS wireless, RadioRA 2, Serena RF remote control shades and Sivoia QS wireless. Mounting remains handheld, wall-mount with a separately sold faceplate adapter kit, car visor clip and table-top pedestal. The document carries a live limited-warranty pointer and support telephone numbers, and no discontinuation, obsolescence or replacement notice. Read for the subscription question as well: the words subscription, plan, monthly, account and cloud appear nowhere in it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18Backs: Market availability, Service status, Product identity, Protocols, Batteries, Power source, Subscription
- [15] Home Assistant documentation for the Lutron Caséta integration, re-read 2026-09-18 and still current, not deprecated or removed. Verbatim: "Device triggers are available for every button on Pico remotes, Shade remotes, and keypads (Palladiom, SeeTouch, Sunnata, HomeOwner, etc.)." The trigger actions are press, release and multi_tap on all hardware, and long_press on HomeWorks QSX processors only. The IoT class is still "Local Push". The supported bridge hardware is still the Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH), the Caséta Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH), the RA2 Select Main Repeater (RR-SEL-REP2-BL), the QSX Processor (HQP7) and the RadioRA 3 All-in-One Processor (RR-PROC3). — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-20Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
- [16] A check of how each cited host has answered us, run 2026-09-18 before any page was opened. Of the four hosts this record cites, two answer and two turn our client away: assets.lutron.com and www.home-assistant.io are read normally, while support.lutron.com and www.lutron.com both refuse, across eleven and one recorded addresses respectively. No attempt was made to read either of them by any other route., verified 2026-09-18
- [17] Lutron's own Caséta site, product page "Pico Original Remote for Switches" (model PJ2-2B-G(color code)-L01, one of this record's listed configurations), read 2026-09-19, verified 2026-09-19Backs: Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Batteries, Capabilities, Protocols, Research status
- [18] Lutron's own Caséta product page for this control, read 2026-09-19 for a published price, verified 2026-09-19Backs: Price
- [19] The open Lutron Caséta product page for this control, read 2026-09-19 and checked for platform and account language, verified 2026-09-19
- [20] Lutron's own Caséta page for the Pico smart remote, verified 2026-09-20Backs: Required hub or bridge, Batteries, Market availability, Works without the internet
- [21] Lutron's Caséta smart-hub advantage page, verified 2026-09-20
- [22] A conduct check of every host this record cites, run 2026-09-20 before any page was opened, verified 2026-09-20
- [23] Lutron, Pico Wireless Control and Mounting Accessories specification submittal, revision 369612q 06.20.2025 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-20Backs: Batteries, Works without the internet, Market availability, Service status
- [24] Lutron, Caseta site, Pico Original Remote for Switches product page and the Pico Smart Remote advantage page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-20Backs: Batteries, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge
- [25] Lutron Pico specification submittal and the Caseta Pico pages, re-read in unit U1 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-20Backs: Research status
- [26] Lutron's own Pico specification submittal, revision '369612q 06.20.2025', re-read in full 2026-09-20 (11 pages, text extracted locally), together with Lutron's Caséta product page for the Pico original remote switches, read the same day. From the submittal, verbatim: 'battery-operated control requires no external power or communication wiring'; 'Battery-powered. Requires no wiring.'; under Power, 'Operating Voltage 3 V-' and '(1) CR2032 Battery (included)'; and the reconfiguration list 'Handheld remote', 'Wall-mount control (with or without faceplate; faceplate adapter kit sold separately)', 'Car visor control (car visor clip sold separately)', 'A table top control (table top pedestal sold separately).' From the Caséta page: 331,095 bytes of markup contain no dollar figure at all, and the purchase controls are off-site retailer links (Amazon, Best Buy, Lowe's, The Home Depot)., verified 2026-09-20Backs: Power source, Installation, Price
- [27] Lutron, Pico Wireless Control specification submittal revision 369612q 06.20.2025, read with Lutron's Caséta consumer pages for the Pico — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-21Backs: Works without the internet, Batteries
- [28] Lutron Caséta consumer site, Pico Original Remote Switches product page, verified 2026-09-21Backs: Works without the internet, Batteries, Required hub or bridge
- [29] Looked on 2026-09-22 for another Lutron page carrying the facts on this record that can no longer be re-checked: how the Pico shows up — or does not — in Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home and SmartThings, and whether a Lutron account is needed. Those four statements come from Lutron's support site, which turns our reader away, so it was not knocked on again. The two Lutron sites that do open for us were both searched, ten requests between them: the Caseta consumer site, whose seventy-odd pages were checked by their addresses and three read in full, and Lutron's document library, whose index carries nothing under this product's name. Neither names a voice platform in connection with a Pico. The Pico specification document on the document library does answer the battery, range and radio questions, and this record already cites it for them. So the platform statements keep the dates they were read on., verified 2026-09-22
- [30] Lutron's Pico Wireless Control and Mounting Accessories specification submittal, read in full on 2026-10-03 (11 pages). The copy served today carries the revision line "369612q 1 06.20.2025". Verbatim, each from one line of the text layer: "battery-operated control requires no external power or"; "Caséta Wireless controls"; "Battery-powered. Requires no wiring."; "(one CR2032 battery included)."; "Based on a 1 year shelf life, an average of 10 button presses per day, and an ambient"; "within a range of 30 ft (9 m) through walls and 60 ft (18 m)"; "431 MHz to 437 MHz."; "Car visor control (car visor clip sold separately)"; "A table top control (table top pedestal sold separately)."; "Limited Warranty: www.lutron.com/warranty or". The model-number pages build a Pico from the 2B, 2BRL, 3B and 3BRL button codes and the L01 lights marking, and the document names no plan or subscription. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Product identity, Power source, Installation, Batteries, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Research status
- [31] Lutron's Caséta Load Controls specification submittal, read in full on 2026-10-03. The copy served today carries the revision line "369987m 1 04.01.24". Verbatim, each from one line of the text layer: "controls can be controlled directly and remotely"; "when paired with Pico remote controls providing"; "locations and do not directly control the load."; "Option 2: With Pico remote controls"; "PJ2-2B-xx and wallbox mounting adapters (PICO-WBX-ADAPT)". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Capabilities
- [32] Lutron's own Caséta product page for the Pico Original Remote for Switches, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "PJ2-2B-G(color code)-L01"; "A single Pico remote can control up to 10 Caséta dimmers and switches in the home control without the need for new wiring."; "Communicates directly with the Caséta smart controls via Lutron's ultra-reliable Clear Connect RF technology. No smart hub required."; "the Pico smart remote offers a 10-year typical battery life"; "Smart hub required for scheduling feature." The page lists four colours, prints no price, and sends a buyer to a list of retailers ("Choose one of the retailers below"). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Batteries, Market availability, Price
- [33] Lutron's own Caséta page for the Pico smart remote, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "App Not Required Anyone at home — from the babysitter to the in-laws — can adjust the lights as easily as you can."; "With a 10-year typical battery life, the Pico is virtually maintenance free"; "With a Smart Hub 1. Go to Settings in the Lutron app"; "Without a Smart Hub 1. Hold the off button on the dimmer or switch for 6 seconds until the LED lights blink 2. Hold the off button on the Pico for 6 seconds". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Vendor account required, Batteries
- [34] Lutron's Caséta page on why the smart hub helps, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "When your Wi-Fi goes down, you won't lose your lighting control."; "you’ll still be in control using your dimmers, switches, and Pico smart remote."; "Our Pico smart remotes and motion sensors communicate on a more efficient frequency than Wi-Fi so their batteries can last up to 10 years"; "You can connect up to 75 Lutron devices with your smart hub". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Works without the internet, Batteries
- [35] Lutron's own Caséta frequently-asked-questions page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Multi-home control allows you to install Caséta or RA2 Select products in two or more homes and control your different homes with a single login." and "How do I add a new home to my account? Go to Settings --> Account --> Add Home --> Follow the instructions". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Vendor account required
- [36] Home Assistant's Lutron Caséta integration page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Pico Remotes as device triggers"; "Device triggers are available for every button on Pico remotes, Shade remotes, and keypads"; "Button tapped multiple times in quick succession. Supported on all hardware."; "Caséta and RadioRA 3 bridges do not emit this event"; "Lutron Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH)"; "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
- [37] Pages on this record that could not be read on 2026-10-03: Lutron's Pico product page at https://www.lutron.com/us/en/controls/keypads-remotes/pico, and four Lutron support pages, the Pico article at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/casetawireless/article/product-selection/The-Pico-Remote, the Apple HomeKit article at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/casetawireless/article/using-the-app/Apple-HomeKit-and-how-to-set-up-and-use-voice-commands-with-the-Caseta-or-RA2-Select-Systems, the Google Home hardware FAQ at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/casetawireless/faqs/connected-products/what-hardware-is-required-from-lutron-to-use-google-home and the Pico product-selection FAQ at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/pico-controls/faqs/product-selection. Both Lutron sites turn our reader away., verified 2026-10-03
- [38] Lutron's Caséta Load Controls specification submittal, read in full on 2026-10-12 through tools/page-read.mjs --pdf (104,326 characters of text). The copy served today carries the revision line "369987m 1 04.01.24" and its fingerprint equals the reads of 2026-09-27, 2026-10-03 and 2026-10-04, so the text has not changed since then. Verbatim, each from one line of the text layer: "controls can be controlled directly and remotely"; "when paired with Pico remote controls providing"; "Option 2: With Pico remote controls". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-12Backs: Capabilities
- [39] This record's own entries, which already name the Caséta Smart Hub: the Lutron FAQ already quoted on this record, that adding the Caséta Smart Hub unlocks additional programming options for Pico, and Home Assistant's supported-bridge list naming the Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH)., verified 2026-10-12
- [40] This record's own entries: the Lutron Caséta Pico smart-remote page entry bq107-t3-20261003b-pico-smart-remote-page of 2026-10-03 (claims hubRequired; pairing 'Without a Smart Hub' and the app route 'With a Smart Hub'), the Lutron support entry of 2026-07-31 ('adding the Caséta Smart Hub to your system unlocks additional programming options') and the Home Assistant Lutron Caséta integration entry bq107-t3-20261003b-pico-home-assistant of 2026-10-03, whose supported-bridge list names the Lutron Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH)., verified 2026-10-12
- [41] Record-keeping entry: desk correction, no page read; an editorial flourish opening the catch sentence on no-hub use becomes "In the other direction,"., verified 2026-10-18
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Lutron Pico Wireless Remote Control with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.