Product Library / Switches & Dimmers

Research profile · verified 2026-11-03

Lutron Claro Smart Switch for Caséta (DVRF-5NS)

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your home?

[2][9][18][27][38][47]
[2][18][27][38][47]
[3][19][29][40][49]

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: CLEAR-CONNECT[1][25][34][43][52]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

A hub or controller is required

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Required for the device

Lutron Caséta Smart Hub

Yes for anything smart. The switch works standalone as a wall control and pairs directly with Pico remotes without a hub, but Lutron states a Smart Hub is required to monitor or operate Caseta products from a smart device and to create scenes or timeclock schedules. No app, no voice, and no ecosystem integration without it — a real added cost on top of the switch.[1][25][26][34][36][43][45][52]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[11][25][26][34][36][43][45][52]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
Not established from vendor documentation

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[2][9][18][27][38][47]Google HomeWorks[2][18][27][33][37][38][46][47]AlexaWorks[2][18][27][38][47]SmartThingsWorks[2][9][18][24][27][28][38][39][47][48]Home AssistantWorks[3][19][29][40][49]
On/offDevice control
Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

✓ Documented for this model[33][37][46]

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Lutron states the Smart Hub contains Apple Home technology — the hub provides it, not the switch.[2][9][18][27][38][47]

Google Home

Requires a Lutron Smart Hub; the switch carries no standard radio.[2][18][27][33][37][38][46][47]

Alexa

Requires a Lutron Smart Hub; the switch carries no standard radio.[2][18][27][38][47]

SmartThings

Official Lutron-SmartThings integration. Lutron says it needs three things: a Lutron Smart Hub or Smart Hub PRO, at least one Lutron dimmer or shade, and a SmartThings hub of any generation. Caseta scenes cannot be imported into SmartThings.[2][9][18][24][27][28][38][39][47][48]

Home Assistant

Official lutron_caseta integration with local push via Smart Hub or Bridge PRO; wall switches expose as switch entities. Lutron does not list Home Assistant on its own works-with page — support is documented only from the Home Assistant side.[3][19][29][40][49]

Device documentation: [11] [25] [26] [34] [36] [43] [45] [52]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][18][27][38][47]Requires a Lutron Smart Hub; the switch carries no standard radio.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][18][27][33][37][38][46][47]Requires a Lutron Smart Hub; the switch carries no standard radio.In Google Home you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][9][18][27][38][47]Lutron states the Smart Hub contains Apple Home technology — the hub provides it, not the switch.In Apple Home you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][9][18][24][27][28][38][39][47][48]Official Lutron-SmartThings integration. Lutron says it needs three things: a Lutron Smart Hub or Smart Hub PRO, at least one Lutron dimmer or shade, and a SmartThings hub of any generation. Caseta scenes cannot be imported into SmartThings.In SmartThings you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][19][29][40][49]Official lutron_caseta integration with local push via Smart Hub or Bridge PRO; wall switches expose as switch entities. Lutron does not list Home Assistant on its own works-with page — support is documented only from the Home Assistant side.In Home Assistant you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub

Plans and ongoing costs[16][31][42][51]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[12][22][23][30][34][41][43][50][52]

No subscription appears on Lutron's product or support pages. Established by absence rather than by an affirmative statement.

Maintenance and offline use

Who it's for

Households that already run a Lutron Smart Hub, or are willing to buy one, and want a paddle-style on/off switch with Lutron's dedicated RF reliability rather than Wi-Fi. Works with every major ecosystem once the hub is in place. Not a fit for hubless setups or boxes without a neutral wire.

Check availability at Lutron

This opens Lutron's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

53 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] support.lutron.com article 'Claro Smart In-Wall Switch DVRF-5NS' and casetawireless.com Claro Smart Switch product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge
  2. [2] casetawireless.com/us/en/works-with — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  3. [3] home-assistant.io/integrations/lutron_caseta/ — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  4. [4] Absence check across casetawireless.com and support.lutron.com — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Price
  5. [5] support.lutron.com article 'What is the Caseta Smart Hub and when do I need one' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
  6. [6] casetawireless.com Claro Smart Switch product page and support.lutron.com DVRF-5NS article, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Market availability
  7. [7] Re-verification pass, 2026-08-20, re-read at Lutron's own Claro product page. ✅ IDENTITY unchanged: the switch is DVRF-5NS with six colour codes — White (WH), Ivory (IV), Light Almond (LA), Black (BL), Gray (GR), Brown (BR). ⭐ HUB SCOPE, and it is more precise than a yes/no: a Caséta Smart Hub is NOT required for basic operation, and the page states "Smart hub required for scheduling feature". ⛔ PRICE: Lutron publishes no price on this page, so this record carries none — unchanged and correct. ⚠ The product page names no ecosystem by name, grouping compatibility under "Voice Assistants", "Thermostats", "Audio" and "Shades and Fans"; the named list lives on the separate works-with page (re-read the same day, ©2026). — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Research status, Service status
  8. [8] home-assistant.io, Lutron Caséta integration documentation — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-08-18
  9. [9] Lutron support, 'Apple HomeKit and how to set up and use voice commands with the Caséta or RA2 Select Systems' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  10. [10] casetawireless.com Claro smart switch product page, re-read 2026-08-20 as truth maintenance: the switch is still published on Lutron’s own site as a current product under DVRF-5NS with six colour codes (WH, IV, LA, BL, GR, BR), with no discontinuation notice and no successor named. Lutron publishes no price on the page, so this record carrying no price is unchanged and correct. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Market availability
  11. [11] casetawireless.com's Claro Smart Switch page, read 2026-08-20, describing it as "A smart switch that provides on/off control" and "A wired, in-wall switch for on/off control of lights or ceiling/exhaust fans", with stated uses "Control your non-dimmable outdoor lights remotely", "put them on a schedule to go on/off automatically based on the time of day or the sun's position", and "Automatically turn your smart switch off after a set amount of time". Home Assistant's own documentation for its Lutron Caséta integration, read 2026-08-20, adds what a connected platform receives: "Wall switches as switches". Lutron's own Caséta Load Controls specification submittal (369987o, dated 08.14.25), read in full 2026-08-20 lists DVRF-5NS under conventional 3-way wiring and distinguishes it from the accessory switch, which "control[s] Diva Smart dimmers and switches from additional locations and do[es] not directly control the load". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  12. [12] Lutron Pico Controls product-selection FAQs — "Do I need a Caséta smart hub to use a Pico paddle remote? No, the Pico paddle remote can be paired directly with Caséta smart products." and "Once a Pico paddle remote has been added to a Caséta system, the Pico paddle remote does not require internet, but it does require power to the smart hub." · Lutron Caséta technical-support FAQs — "The Lutron App connects to the Smart Bridge via the cloud using an account (email address and password) that you create during initioal system setup." (vendor's spelling of 'initioal' preserved) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  13. [13] https://www.casetawireless.com/us/en/products/dimmers-switches/claro-smart-switch (read 2026-09-09): 'Neutral wire required — All homes built after 1973 in the US, or 1980 in Canada, are required to have neutral wires.' A line-voltage in-wall switch with a required neutral is hardwired, from the wiring requirement rather than from the device class. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: Power source
  14. [14] Attempted 2026-09-09. https://www.casetawireless.com/us/en/products/dimmers-switches/claro-smart-switch is live and names no phone platform. The two support.lutron.com pages cited on this record — including the one about using the app — have told us in writing not to read them, and a refusal like that is never worked around. The platforms the app runs on stay unrecorded, and the reason is a site that has said no rather than a fact nobody looked for., verified 2026-09-09
  15. [15] this record's own provenance, re-read 2026-09-16: every entry was checked for a statement by Lutron itself — its own app, its own hub or bridge, its own documentation for controlling the device over the home network, or its own statement about this model — that the DVRF-5NS keeps working when the internet is down. No such entry exists on this record. What the old value rested on instead: Home Assistant's own documentation for its Lutron Caséta integration, which describes a certificate-authenticated connection to the Caséta bridge over the home network, with the bridge pushing changes rather than being polled., verified 2026-09-16
  16. [16] Lutron's Caséta consumer site enumerated whole from its own sitemap — 72 addresses, none of them a plans, pricing or membership page — with the FAQ, the Works With page and two product listings read in full, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Subscription
  17. [17] Lutron's own Caséta product page for the Claro Smart Switch, re-read in full 2026-09-18 (7,889 characters of visible text, footer ©2026). ✅ STILL SOLD AND STILL CURRENT: the page publishes the switch as "Claro Smart Switch", model "DVRF-5NS-(color code)", with the same six colour codes — WH | White, IV | Ivory, LA | Light Almond, BL | Black, GR | Gray, BR | Brown. No discontinuation notice, no successor, no "legacy" or "replaced by" language anywhere on the page. ⛔ NO PRICE, AND THE PAGE SAYS WHY IT HAS NONE: a whole-page scan returns zero currency figures and zero occurrences of the words price or MSRP. Instead the page routes a buyer out — "Do you want to buy in-store or online?", "Choose one of the retailers below", and "Selecting any of the retailer links will redirect you from a Lutron operated website to a site operated by that retailer." Lutron runs no first-party store, so there is no vendor surface on which a price could appear. ✅ FEATURE TEXT UNCHANGED against what this record already carries: "A wired, in-wall switch for on/off control of lights or ceiling/exhaust fans", "Controls up to 5A of LED, ELV, MLV, or fluorescent lighting, as well as 3A fan", "Neutral wire required", and the 2-or-more-location options (wired toggle / Claro accessory switch / Pico smart remote). The hub conditional this record makes a point of carrying is still on the page verbatim: "Smart hub required for scheduling feature." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Research status
  18. [18] Lutron's own Caséta "Works With" page, re-read 2026-09-18 (4,603 characters of visible text). All four platforms this record publishes as fully supported are still named on it, in Lutron's own words: "Amazon Alexa — Alexa will get the lights for you. Just say the word."; "Google Assistant — Enjoy hands-free control of the lights in your home with the Google Home voice-enabled speaker powered by the Google Assistant."; "Apple Home — The smart hub (formerly smart bridge) contains Apple Home technology, so you can use Siri® to control your lights, shades, and more."; "Samsung SmartThings — Control lights and shades from the SmartThings app and add more automation to your home." The page names no Home Assistant and no Matter, exactly as it did on 2026-08-20. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  19. [19] Home Assistant's own Lutron Caseta integration documentation, re-read 2026-09-18 (12,445 characters of visible text). Unchanged in every respect this cell rests on: "Its IoT class is Local Push."; the integration "is responsible for communicating with the Lutron Caseta Smart Bridge for the Caseta product line of dimmers, switches, shades, and sensors"; the supported-device list still carries "Wall switches as switches"; and the supported bridges still include the Caséta Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH), configured by the Smart Bridge's IP address on the local network. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  20. [20] https://www.casetawireless.com/us/en/products/dimmers-switches/claro-smart-switch, read 2026-09-18. The page DOES carry installation language, and it is marketing language: "15-minute install — Installation only requires three steps and one screwdriver. The interactive Lutron Wiring Wizard tool further simplifies the installation process", and lower down "DIY Installation — Installing Caséta dimmers and switches is easy – it only takes 3 steps and 15 minutes with step-by-step videos and guides." Beside it, on the same page, Lutron offers the other door: "Have a Pro Install for Me — Don't want to do it yourself? We hear you. Let a Lutron Pro take care of the install." The page links an "Installation Guide" and a "Specification Submittal" as separate documents; neither was opened. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
  21. [21] Conduct was checked before anything was read, 2026-09-18, on every host this record cites. Lutron's Caseta consumer site and Home Assistant's documentation site both answer normally and were read. Lutron's support site turns our reader away and was not asked again today — eleven addresses on that site have refused us., verified 2026-09-18
  22. [22] Lutron's own specification submittal for the Caséta load controls, which lists this model by number — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Vendor account required
  23. [23] Lutron's own frequently-asked-questions page for Caséta — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Vendor account required
  24. [24] casetawireless.com/us/en/smart-things, Lutron's own Caséta page for Samsung SmartThings, read in full 2026-09-24. Verbatim, from its FAQ block: 'What Lutron hardware is required to work with SmartThings? You’ll need a Lutron smart hub or smart hub PRO (any generation), and at least one Lutron dimmer or Lutron shade.' · 'What SmartThings hardware is required to work with Caséta? You’ll need a SmartThings hub (any generation).' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  25. [25] Lutron's Caséta Load Controls specification submittal, read in full on 2026-10-03 (31 pages). The copy served today carries the revision line "369987m 1 04.01.24". Verbatim, each from one line of the text layer: "Lutron patented Clear Connect RF Technology"; "Load controls always operate locally and do not"; "Works with the Lutron App (via a Smart Hub or"; "DVRF-5NS, and DVRF (-6L, -5NE) use conventional"; "DVRF-5NS, and DVRF (-6L, -5NE) can be used with"; "DVRF (-6L, -5NE) and DVRF-5NS can also be wired"; "up to 10 devices (total) may be paired to each"; and the wiring-diagram heading "Switches (PD-5WS-DV, PD-5ANS, PD-6ANS, DVRF-5NS)". The DVRF-5NS shares the PD-5ANS row of the load table, a switch needing a neutral connection at 120 V~: incandescent or halogen 10 W to 600 W, MLV 10 W to 600 VA, fan 0.1 A to 3 A, LED one bulb to 5 A, fluorescent one ballast to 5 A, ELV 10 W to 600 W, the same in every gang column. The Diva and Claro feature table ticks no dimming for it, and its single-pole diagram wires it to line, load, neutral and ground. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Capabilities, Power source, Installation, Research status
  26. [26] Lutron's own Caséta product page for the Claro Smart Switch, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "DVRF-5NS-(color code)"; "A smart switch that provides on/off control in a design that matches other paddle style switches in your home."; "Controls up to 5A of LED, ELV, MLV, or fluorescent lighting, as well as 3A fan."; "Pair with a wired toggle switch for control from 2 locations"; "Neutral wire required"; "Smart hub required for scheduling feature." The page lists six colours (white, ivory, light almond, black, gray and brown), prints no price, and sends a buyer to a list of retailers ("Choose one of the retailers below"). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Capabilities, Market availability, Price
  27. [27] Lutron's own Caséta 'Works With' page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Alexa will get the lights for you. Just say the word."; "Enjoy hands-free control of the lights in your home with the Google Home voice-enabled speaker powered by the Google Assistant."; "The smart hub (formerly smart bridge) contains Apple Home technology, so you can use Siri ® to control your lights, shades, and more."; "Control lights and shades from the SmartThings app and add more automation to your home." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Service status
  28. [28] Lutron's own Caséta page for Samsung SmartThings, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "You’ll need a Lutron smart hub or smart hub PRO (any generation), and at least one Lutron dimmer or Lutron shade." and "You’ll need a SmartThings hub (any generation)." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  29. [29] Home Assistant's Lutron Caséta integration page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Lutron Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH)"; "Lutron Caséta Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH)"; "Wall switches as switches"; "After setup, switches will appear in Home Assistant"; "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  30. [30] Lutron's own Caséta frequently-asked-questions page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Multi-home control allows you to install Caséta or RA2 Select products in two or more homes and control your different homes with a single login." and "How do I add a new home to my account? Go to Settings --> Account --> Add Home --> Follow the instructions". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Vendor account required
  31. [31] Lutron's Caséta home page, read in full on 2026-10-03. It calls the app free ("control it how you like with the free Lutron app, smart remote, voice assistant, or automated schedules") and names no plan, membership or monthly charge; the only subscription wording on it is the newsletter form's "Unsubscribe at any time." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Subscription
  32. [32] Pages on this record that could not be read on 2026-10-03: Lutron's support article on Apple HomeKit and voice commands at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/casetawireless/article/using-the-app/Apple-HomeKit-and-how-to-set-up-and-use-voice-commands-with-the-Caseta-or-RA2-Select-Systems and the Pico product-selection FAQ at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/pico-controls/faqs/product-selection. Lutron's support site turns our reader away., verified 2026-10-03
  33. [33] Google's Automations supported-devices table lists this switch by model under the Lutron service. Verbatim: "Action · Lutron · LIGHT · DVRF-5NS · brightness, onoff", verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, What your assistant can automate
  34. [34] Lutron's Caséta Load Controls specification submittal, read in full on 2026-10-12 through tools/page-read.mjs --pdf (104,326 characters of text). The copy served today carries the revision line "369987m 1 04.01.24" and its fingerprint equals the reads of 2026-09-27, 2026-10-03 and 2026-10-04, so the text has not changed since then. Verbatim, each from one line of the text layer: "Lutron patented Clear Connect RF Technology"; "Load controls always operate locally and do not"; "Works with the Lutron App (via a Smart Hub or"; "up to 10 devices (total) may be paired to each"; and the wiring-diagram heading "Switches (PD-5WS-DV, PD-5ANS, PD-6ANS, DVRF-5NS)". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Vendor account required, Capabilities, Power source, Installation, Research status
  35. [35] This record's own entries, which already name the Caséta Smart Hub: the Lutron pages already quoted on this record, which name the Caséta Smart Hub as what adds app and platform control., verified 2026-10-12
  36. [36] Lutron's own Caséta product page for the Claro Smart Switch, read in full on 2026-11-03. Verbatim: "DVRF-5NS-(color code)"; "A smart switch that provides on/off control in a design that matches other paddle style switches in your home."; "Controls up to 5A of LED, ELV, MLV, or fluorescent lighting, as well as 3A fan."; "Pair with a wired toggle switch for control from 2 locations"; "Neutral wire required"; "Smart hub required for scheduling feature." The page lists six colours (white, ivory, light almond, black, gray and brown), prints no price, and sends a buyer to a list of retailers ("Choose one of the retailers below"). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Capabilities, Market availability, Price
  37. [37] Google's Automations supported-devices table, read in full on 2026-11-03. The Lutron rows still list this switch by model as a LIGHT with the brightness and onoff traits as an Action: "Lutron LIGHT DVRF-5NS brightness , onoff Action". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, What your assistant can automate
  38. [38] Lutron's own Caséta 'Works With' page, read in full on 2026-11-03. Verbatim: "Alexa will get the lights for you. Just say the word."; "Enjoy hands-free control of the lights in your home with the Google Home voice-enabled speaker powered by the Google Assistant."; "The smart hub (formerly smart bridge) contains Apple Home technology, so you can use Siri ® to control your lights, shades, and more."; "Control lights and shades from the SmartThings app and add more automation to your home." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Service status
  39. [39] Lutron's own Caséta page for Samsung SmartThings, read in full on 2026-11-03. Verbatim: "You’ll need a Lutron smart hub or smart hub PRO (any generation), and at least one Lutron dimmer or Lutron shade." and "You’ll need a SmartThings hub (any generation)." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  40. [40] Home Assistant's Lutron Caséta integration page (documentation build 2026.10.4), read in full on 2026-11-03. Verbatim: "Lutron Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH)"; "Lutron Caséta Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH)"; "Wall switches as switches"; "After setup, switches will appear in Home Assistant"; "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  41. [41] Lutron's own Caséta frequently-asked-questions page, read in full on 2026-11-03. Verbatim: "Multi-home control allows you to install Caséta or RA2 Select products in two or more homes and control your different homes with a single login." and "How do I add a new home to my account? Go to Settings --> Account --> Add Home --> Follow the instructions". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: Vendor account required
  42. [42] Lutron's Caséta home page, read in full on 2026-11-03. It calls the app free ("control it how you like with the free Lutron app, smart remote, voice assistant, or automated schedules") and names no plan, membership or monthly charge. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: Subscription
  43. [43] Lutron's Caséta Load Controls specification submittal, read in full on 2026-11-03 through tools/page-read.mjs --pdf (104,326 characters of text). The copy served today carries the revision line "369987m 1 04.01.24" and its fingerprint equals the reads of 2026-10-03 and 2026-10-12. Verbatim, each from one line of the text layer: "Lutron patented Clear Connect RF Technology"; "Load controls always operate locally and do not"; "Works with the Lutron App (via a Smart Hub or"; "up to 10 devices (total) may be paired to each"; and the wiring-diagram heading "Switches (PD-5WS-DV, PD-5ANS, PD-6ANS, DVRF-5NS)". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Vendor account required, Capabilities, Power source, Installation, Research status
  44. [44] Pages on this record that could not be read on 2026-11-03: Lutron's support article on Apple HomeKit and voice commands at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/casetawireless/article/using-the-app/Apple-HomeKit-and-how-to-set-up-and-use-voice-commands-with-the-Caseta-or-RA2-Select-Systems and the Pico product-selection FAQ at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/pico-controls/faqs/product-selection. Lutron's support site turns our reader away., verified 2026-11-03
  45. [45] Lutron's own Caséta product page for the Claro Smart Switch, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "DVRF-5NS-(color code)"; "A smart switch that provides on/off control in a design that matches other paddle style switches in your home."; "Controls up to 5A of LED, ELV, MLV, or fluorescent lighting, as well as 3A fan."; "Pair with a wired toggle switch for control from 2 locations"; "Neutral wire required"; "Smart hub required for scheduling feature." The page lists six colours (white, ivory, light almond, black, gray and brown), prints no price, and sends a buyer to a list of retailers ("Choose one of the retailers below"). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Capabilities, Market availability, Price
  46. [46] Google's Automations supported-devices table, read in full on 2026-11-06. The Lutron rows still list this switch by model as a LIGHT with the brightness and onoff traits as an Action: "Lutron LIGHT DVRF-5NS brightness , onoff Action". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, What your assistant can automate
  47. [47] Lutron's own Caséta 'Works With' page, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "Alexa will get the lights for you. Just say the word."; "Enjoy hands-free control of the lights in your home with the Google Home voice-enabled speaker powered by the Google Assistant."; "The smart hub (formerly smart bridge) contains Apple Home technology, so you can use Siri ® to control your lights, shades, and more."; "Control lights and shades from the SmartThings app and add more automation to your home." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  48. [48] Lutron's own Caséta page for Samsung SmartThings, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "You’ll need a Lutron smart hub or smart hub PRO (any generation), and at least one Lutron dimmer or Lutron shade." and "You’ll need a SmartThings hub (any generation)." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  49. [49] Home Assistant's Lutron Caséta integration page (documentation build 2026.11.0), read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "Lutron Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH)"; "Lutron Caséta Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH)"; "Wall switches as switches"; "After setup, switches will appear in Home Assistant"; "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  50. [50] Lutron's own Caséta frequently-asked-questions page, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "Multi-home control allows you to install Caséta or RA2 Select products in two or more homes and control your different homes with a single login." and "How do I add a new home to my account? Go to Settings --> Account --> Add Home --> Follow the instructions". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Vendor account required
  51. [51] Lutron's Caséta home page, read in full on 2026-11-06. It calls the app free ("control it how you like with the free Lutron app, smart remote, voice assistant, or automated schedules") and names no plan, membership or monthly charge. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Subscription
  52. [52] Lutron's Caséta Load Controls specification submittal, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs --pdf (104,326 characters of text). The copy served today carries the revision line "369987m 1 04.01.24" and its fingerprint equals the reads of 2026-10-03 and 2026-10-12. Verbatim, each from one line of the text layer: "Lutron patented Clear Connect RF Technology"; "Load controls always operate locally and do not"; "Works with the Lutron App (via a Smart Hub or"; "up to 10 devices (total) may be paired to each"; and the wiring-diagram heading "Switches (PD-5WS-DV, PD-5ANS, PD-6ANS, DVRF-5NS)". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Vendor account required, Capabilities, Power source, Installation, Research status
  53. [53] Pages on this record that could not be read on 2026-11-06: Lutron's support article on Apple HomeKit and voice commands at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/casetawireless/article/using-the-app/Apple-HomeKit-and-how-to-set-up-and-use-voice-commands-with-the-Caseta-or-RA2-Select-Systems and the Pico product-selection FAQ at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/pico-controls/faqs/product-selection. Lutron's support site turns our reader away., verified 2026-11-06

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Lutron Claro Smart Switch for Caséta (DVRF-5NS) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker