Product Library / Switches & Dimmers

Research profile · verified 2026-10-04 · sources re-checked 2026-11-02, unchanged

Lutron Caséta Smart Fan Speed Control Switch (PD-FSQN)

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your home?

[2][9][12][24][32]
[2][12][24][32]
[2][12][24][32]
[2][9][12][21][24][25][32][33]
[3][26][34]

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: CLEAR-CONNECT[1][20][22][30][38]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

A hub or controller is required

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Required for the device

Lutron Caséta Smart Hub

Yes for anything smart. The switch carries only Lutron's proprietary Clear Connect RF and no standard radio, so every ecosystem integration happens at the hub. It works as a manual wall control with no hub and pairs directly with Pico remotes and Caseta motion sensors (up to 10 devices), but the Lutron app, remote access, voice assistants, and all platform integrations require a Lutron Smart Hub or Smart Hub PRO. RF range is 60 ft line-of-sight, 30 ft through walls.[1][20][22][23][30][31][38]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [10] [20] [22] [30] [38]

Documented device function

Fan mode

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [10] [20] [22] [30] [38]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[10][20][22][30][38]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
Not established from vendor documentation

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks; on/off unconfirmed[2][9][12][24][32]Google HomeWorks; on/off unconfirmed[2][12][24][32]AlexaWorks; on/off unconfirmed[2][12][24][32]SmartThingsWorks; on/off unconfirmed[2][9][12][21][24][25][32][33]Home AssistantWorks[3][26][34]
On/offDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Fan modeDevice control
Control

Works

Control

Works

Control

Works

Control

Works

Control

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Lutron states the Smart Hub contains Apple Home technology — the hub provides it, not the switch — and its HomeKit help article says fan controls are among the Lutron devices that show up in the Apple Home app, so setting the fan speed works there. Lutron's Siri sentence promises control of 'your lights, shades, and more' and doesn't say whether Apple Home can turn the fan on and off, so on/off is unconfirmed.[2][9][12][24][32]

Google Home

Works only through a Lutron Smart Hub, sold separately; the switch itself has no standard radio. Lutron lists Google Home among the platforms its Caséta hub works with, so setting the fan speed works through Google Home. Lutron's Google description mentions lights only and doesn't say whether Google Home can turn the fan on and off, so on/off is unconfirmed.[2][12][24][32]

Alexa

Works only through a Lutron Smart Hub, sold separately; the switch itself has no standard radio. Lutron lists Alexa among the platforms its Caséta hub works with, so setting the fan speed works through Alexa. Lutron's Alexa description mentions lights only and doesn't say whether Alexa can turn the fan on and off, so on/off is unconfirmed.[2][12][24][32]

SmartThings

Official Lutron-SmartThings integration. Lutron says it needs three things: a Lutron Smart Hub or Smart Hub PRO, at least one Lutron dimmer or shade, and a SmartThings hub of any generation. Caseta scenes cannot be imported into SmartThings. Lutron's SmartThings description names lights and shades and doesn't say whether SmartThings can turn the fan on and off, so on/off is unconfirmed; setting the fan speed works.[2][9][12][21][24][25][32][33]

Home Assistant

Official lutron_caseta integration with local push; fan speed control is an explicitly supported device type and appears as a fan entity. Requires a Smart Hub or Bridge PRO plus generated certificates. Note Lutron does not list Home Assistant on its own works-with page — support is documented only from the Home Assistant side.[3][26][34]

Device documentation: [10] [20] [22] [30] [38]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks; on/off unconfirmedWorks; on/off unconfirmed — see the catch[2][12][24][32]Works only through a Lutron Smart Hub, sold separately; the switch itself has no standard radio. Lutron lists Alexa among the platforms its Caséta hub works with, so setting the fan speed works through Alexa. Lutron's Alexa description mentions lights only and doesn't say whether Alexa can turn the fan on and off, so on/off is unconfirmed.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
Google HomeWorks; on/off unconfirmedWorks; on/off unconfirmed — see the catch[2][12][24][32]Works only through a Lutron Smart Hub, sold separately; the switch itself has no standard radio. Lutron lists Google Home among the platforms its Caséta hub works with, so setting the fan speed works through Google Home. Lutron's Google description mentions lights only and doesn't say whether Google Home can turn the fan on and off, so on/off is unconfirmed.In Google Home you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
Apple HomeWorks; on/off unconfirmedWorks; on/off unconfirmed — see the catch[2][9][12][24][32]Lutron states the Smart Hub contains Apple Home technology — the hub provides it, not the switch — and its HomeKit help article says fan controls are among the Lutron devices that show up in the Apple Home app, so setting the fan speed works there. Lutron's Siri sentence promises control of 'your lights, shades, and more' and doesn't say whether Apple Home can turn the fan on and off, so on/off is unconfirmed.In Apple Home you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
SmartThingsWorks; on/off unconfirmedWorks; on/off unconfirmed — see the catch[2][9][12][21][24][25][32][33]Official Lutron-SmartThings integration. Lutron says it needs three things: a Lutron Smart Hub or Smart Hub PRO, at least one Lutron dimmer or shade, and a SmartThings hub of any generation. Caseta scenes cannot be imported into SmartThings. Lutron's SmartThings description names lights and shades and doesn't say whether SmartThings can turn the fan on and off, so on/off is unconfirmed; setting the fan speed works.In SmartThings you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][26][34]Official lutron_caseta integration with local push; fan speed control is an explicitly supported device type and appears as a fan entity. Requires a Smart Hub or Bridge PRO plus generated certificates. Note Lutron does not list Home Assistant on its own works-with page — support is documented only from the Home Assistant side.In Home Assistant you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub

Plans and ongoing costs[17][28][36]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[11][18][19][27][35][38]

No subscription appears on the product page, the works-with page, or the specification submittal. Established by absence across three manufacturer surfaces rather than by an affirmative statement.

Maintenance and offline use

Who it's for

Households already running a Lutron Smart Hub who have an AC permanent split-capacitor ceiling fan without a bundled remote, and who want the reliability of Lutron's dedicated RF rather than Wi-Fi. Not a fit for hubless setups, DC-motor fans, or anyone who wants to keep a mechanical switch at a second spot.

Check availability at Lutron

This opens Lutron's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

43 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Lutron specification submittal 369987 (assets.lutron.com/a/documents/369987_eng.pdf) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Protocols, Product identity, Required hub or bridge
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  2. [2] casetawireless.com/us/en/works-with — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  3. [3] home-assistant.io/integrations/lutron_caseta/ — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  4. [4] Absence check across casetawireless.com, lutron.com fan-controls page, and specification submittal 369987 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Price
  5. [5] Lutron specification submittal 369987 p.4 footnote 4; support.lutron.com article 'What fans can I control with the PD-FSQN' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
  6. [6] Lutron's own current product page for this control, casetawireless.com/us/en/products/dimmers-switches/original-smart-fan-speed-control-switch, read 2026-08-22 — it is listed on Lutron's live Caséta dimmers-and-switches catalogue and names the model as 'PD-FSQN-(color code)' with colour options 'WH | White · IV | Ivory · LA | Light Almond · BL | Black'. Its own copy: 'Provides control of your ceiling fan right from the wall, choose from 4 fan speeds plus off', 'Neutral wire required — All homes built after 1973 in the US, or 1980 in Canada, are required to have neutral wires', and 'Extend control — Control your fan from anywhere in the home with a Pico smart remote for fan control or anywhere in the world with the Lutron app. Smart hub required.' Corroborated by Lutron specification submittal 369987, re-downloaded the same day and still at revision 369987o dated 08.14.25 — the same revision this record already cited, unchanged. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Market availability
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  7. [7] Re-verification pass, 2026-08-20, covering two questions. ✅ HOME ASSISTANT, at the integration's own page: the supported-device list names "Lutron smart fan speed control" explicitly and creates a fan entity for it, alongside dimmers as lights, wall switches as switches, scenes, shades as covers, occupancy/vacancy sensors and Pico remotes as device triggers. Supported bridges are enumerated — Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH), Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH), RA2 Select Main Repeater, QSX Processor, RadioRA 3 processor. ✅ SERVICE, at Lutron's own works-with page: maintained and carrying a "©2026 Lutron Electronics Co., Inc" notice, still naming Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home (via the smart hub, "formerly smart bridge"), Apple Watch, Sonos Voice Control, Ring, SmartThings, IFTTT, XFINITY Home and Wink. ⛔ PRICE: Lutron still publishes no price for this control on its own site, so this record carries none — unchanged, and correct. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Research status, Service status
  8. [8] home-assistant.io, Lutron Caséta integration documentation — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-08-18
  9. [9] Lutron support, 'Apple HomeKit and how to set up and use voice commands with the Caséta or RA2 Select Systems' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  10. [10] Lutron's own Caséta Load Controls specification submittal (369987o, dated 08.14.25), read in full 2026-08-20, which states the capability in one line: "PD-FSQN provides 4 quiet fan speeds plus OFF for a single ceiling fan." Home Assistant's own documentation for its Lutron Caséta integration, read 2026-08-20, establishes that a connected platform receives it as a fan: "Lutron smart fan speed control" appears there as a fan a homeowner can name and control. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  11. [11] Lutron Pico Controls product-selection FAQs — "Do I need a Caséta smart hub to use a Pico paddle remote? No, the Pico paddle remote can be paired directly with Caséta smart products." and "Once a Pico paddle remote has been added to a Caséta system, the Pico paddle remote does not require internet, but it does require power to the smart hub." · Lutron Caséta technical-support FAQs — "The Lutron App connects to the Smart Bridge via the cloud using an account (email address and password) that you create during initioal system setup." (vendor's spelling of 'initioal' preserved) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  12. [12] Three Lutron-owned surfaces, all read 2026-08-22. (1) The product page (casetawireless.com/us/en/products/dimmers-switches/original-smart-fan-speed-control-switch): 'Neutral wire required', 'Provides 4-speed plus off control of a single ceiling fan, up to 1.5 A', 'Extend control … Smart hub required', 'PD-FSQN-(color code)'. The page publishes NO price and no cart; it offers only 'Do you want to buy in-store or online?' and 'Choose one of the retailers below', with the notice that 'Selecting any of the retailer links will redirect you from a Lutron operated website to a site operated by that retailer'. (2) Specification submittal 369987, re-downloaded and still revision 369987o / 08.14.25: 'PD-FSQN provides 4 quiet fan speeds plus OFF for a single ceiling fan', PD-FSQN listed in the load table at 120 V~ with 0.1 A minimum and 1.5 A maximum, and the wallbox-depth footnote 'PD-FSQN requires 2½ in (63 mm) minimum depth'. (3) The Caséta works-with page, still carrying '© 2026 Lutron Electronics Co., Inc' and still naming Alexa, Google, Apple Home, SmartThings, Sonos, Ring and IFTTT. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Research status, Price, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  13. [13] https://www.casetawireless.com/us/en/products/dimmers-switches/original-smart-fan-speed-control-switch (read 2026-09-09): 'Neutral wire required — All homes built after 1973 in the US, or 1980 in Canada, are required to have neutral wires', beside 'Provides 4-speed plus off control of a single ceiling fan, up to 1.5 A'. An in-wall control wired to line voltage with a required neutral is hardwired, from the wiring requirement rather than from the device class. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: Power source
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  14. [14] Attempted 2026-09-09. The Caséta product page is live and names no phone platform; the support.lutron.com page cited on this record has told us in writing not to read it, and a refusal like that is never worked around. The Lutron Claro DVRF-5NS switch was handled the same way for the same reason. The platforms the app runs on stay unrecorded because Lutron's support site said no, not because nobody looked., verified 2026-09-09
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  15. [15] Dead-link check, 2026-09-12. https://www.casetawireless.com/us/en/products/dimmers-switches/caseta-fan-speed-control no longer exists, by either way of asking for it. https://www.casetawireless.com/us/en/products/dimmers-switches/original-smart-fan-speed-control-switch is live and carries both quoted sentences — "Provides 4-speed plus off control of a single ceiling fan, up to 1.5 A." and "Neutral wire required — All homes built after 1973 in the US, or 1980 in Canada, are required to have neutral wires." — and names no mobile platform. Neither address has an Internet Archive capture, so the archive cannot say which way the old slug died; the re-point rests on the live page's wording. The support.lutron.com refusal recorded on the re-pointed context entry is unchanged and was not retried., verified 2026-09-12
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  16. [16] this record's own provenance, re-read 2026-09-16: every entry was checked for a statement by Lutron itself — its own app, its own hub or bridge, its own documentation for controlling the device over the home network, or its own statement about this model — that the PD-FSQN keeps working when the internet is down. No such entry exists on this record. What the old value rested on instead: Home Assistant's own documentation for its Lutron Caséta integration, which describes a certificate-authenticated connection to the Caséta bridge over the home network, with the bridge pushing changes rather than being polled., verified 2026-09-16
  17. [17] Lutron's Caséta consumer site enumerated whole from its own sitemap — 72 addresses, none of them a plans, pricing or membership page — with the FAQ, the Works With page and two product listings read in full, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Subscription
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  18. [18] Lutron's own specification submittal for the Caséta load controls, which lists this model by number — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Vendor account required
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  19. [19] Lutron's own frequently-asked-questions page for Caséta — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Vendor account required
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  20. [20] Lutron's own Caséta Load Controls specification submittal, revision '369987o 08.14.25', re-read in full 2026-09-20 (31 pages, text extracted locally). Verbatim, unchanged: 'Load controls always operate locally and do not require system control.'; 'Lutron patented Clear Connect RF Technology'; 'PD-FSQN provides 4 quiet fan speeds plus OFF for a single ceiling fan'; 'PD-FSQN requires 2½ in (63 mm) minimum depth.'; the load row 'Fan speed control (neutral connection required)', '120 V~', 'Single Ceiling Fan (permanent split-capacitor motor)', 0.1 A minimum and 1.5 A maximum; and footnote 4, 'Not for use with fans that have integrated fan speed and / or light control modules, DC motor fans, fans with remote controls, bathroom or kitchen exhaust type fans.', verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Works without the internet, Protocols, Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Power source
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  21. [21] casetawireless.com/us/en/smart-things, Lutron's own Caséta page for Samsung SmartThings, read in full 2026-09-24. Verbatim, from its FAQ block: 'What Lutron hardware is required to work with SmartThings? You’ll need a Lutron smart hub or smart hub PRO (any generation), and at least one Lutron dimmer or Lutron shade.' · 'What SmartThings hardware is required to work with Caséta? You’ll need a SmartThings hub (any generation).' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  22. [22] Lutron's Caséta Load Controls specification submittal, read in full on 2026-10-03 (31 pages). The copy served today carries the revision line "369987m 1 04.01.24". Verbatim, each from one line of the text layer: "Lutron patented Clear Connect RF Technology"; "Load controls always operate locally and do not"; "Works with the Lutron App (via a Smart Hub or"; "single ceiling fan."; "up to 10 devices (total) may be paired to each"; "Not for use with fans that have integrated fan speed and / or light control modules, DC motor fans, fans with remote controls, bathroom or kitchen exhaust"; and, under the fan-control wiring diagrams, "Single Pole Installation (load is controlled from 1 location)", "3-Way Installation (load is controlled from 2 locations)", "Option 1: With Pico remote controls" and "The mechanical switch will need to be removed so the Pico remote control can be installed." The PD-FSQN load row gives a fan speed control needing a neutral connection, 120 V~, one ceiling fan with a permanent split-capacitor motor, 0.1 A minimum and 1.5 A maximum in every gang column, and the single-pole fan diagram wires the control to line, neutral, ground and the fan. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Capabilities, Power source, Installation, Research status
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  23. [23] Lutron's own Caséta product page for the Original Smart Fan Speed Control Switch, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "PD-FSQN-(color code)"; "Provides 4-speed plus off control of a single ceiling fan, up to 1.5 A."; "Neutral wire required"; "Control your fan from anywhere in the home with a Pico smart remote for fan control or anywhere in the world with the Lutron app. Smart hub required." The page lists four colours (white, ivory, light almond and black), prints no price, and sends a buyer to a list of retailers ("Choose one of the retailers below"). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Market availability, Price
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  24. [24] Lutron's own Caséta 'Works With' page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Alexa will get the lights for you. Just say the word."; "Enjoy hands-free control of the lights in your home with the Google Home voice-enabled speaker powered by the Google Assistant."; "The smart hub (formerly smart bridge) contains Apple Home technology, so you can use Siri ® to control your lights, shades, and more."; "Control lights and shades from the SmartThings app and add more automation to your home." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Service status
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  25. [25] Lutron's own Caséta page for Samsung SmartThings, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "You’ll need a Lutron smart hub or smart hub PRO (any generation), and at least one Lutron dimmer or Lutron shade." and "You’ll need a SmartThings hub (any generation)." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  26. [26] Home Assistant's Lutron Caséta integration page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Lutron Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH)"; "Lutron Caséta Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH)"; "Lutron smart fan speed control"; "After setup, fans will appear in Home Assistant"; "you must first log in to your Lutron account and generate a certificate that allows Home Assistant to connect to your bridge"; "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  27. [27] Lutron's own Caséta frequently-asked-questions page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Multi-home control allows you to install Caséta or RA2 Select products in two or more homes and control your different homes with a single login." and "How do I add a new home to my account? Go to Settings --> Account --> Add Home --> Follow the instructions". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Vendor account required
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  28. [28] Lutron's Caséta home page, read in full on 2026-10-03. It calls the app free ("control it how you like with the free Lutron app, smart remote, voice assistant, or automated schedules") and names no plan, membership or monthly charge; the only subscription wording on it is the newsletter form's "Unsubscribe at any time." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Subscription
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  29. [29] Pages on this record that could not be read on 2026-10-03: Lutron's support article on Apple HomeKit and voice commands at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/casetawireless/article/using-the-app/Apple-HomeKit-and-how-to-set-up-and-use-voice-commands-with-the-Caseta-or-RA2-Select-Systems and the Pico product-selection FAQ at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/pico-controls/faqs/product-selection. Lutron's support site turns our reader away., verified 2026-10-03
  30. [30] Lutron's Caséta Load Controls specification submittal, read in full on 2026-10-04 (31 pages). The copy served today carries the revision line "369987m 1 04.01.24". Verbatim, each from one line of the text layer: "Lutron patented Clear Connect RF Technology"; "Load controls always operate locally and do not"; "Works with the Lutron App (via a Smart Hub or"; "single ceiling fan."; "up to 10 devices (total) may be paired to each"; "Not for use with fans that have integrated fan speed and / or light control modules, DC motor fans, fans with remote controls, bathroom or kitchen exhaust"; and, under the fan-control wiring diagrams, "Single Pole Installation (load is controlled from 1 location)", "3-Way Installation (load is controlled from 2 locations)", "Option 1: With Pico remote controls" and "The mechanical switch will need to be removed so the Pico remote control can be installed." The PD-FSQN load row gives a fan speed control needing a neutral connection, 120 V~, one ceiling fan with a permanent split-capacitor motor, 0.1 A minimum and 1.5 A maximum in every gang column, and the single-pole fan diagram wires the control to line, neutral, ground and the fan. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Capabilities, Power source, Installation, Research status
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  31. [31] Lutron's own Caséta product page for the Original Smart Fan Speed Control Switch, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "PD-FSQN-(color code)"; "Provides 4-speed plus off control of a single ceiling fan, up to 1.5 A."; "Neutral wire required"; "Control your fan from anywhere in the home with a Pico smart remote for fan control or anywhere in the world with the Lutron app. Smart hub required." The page lists four colours (white, ivory, light almond and black), prints no price, and sends a buyer to a list of retailers ("Choose one of the retailers below"). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Market availability, Price, Service status
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  32. [32] Lutron's own Caséta 'Works With' page, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Alexa will get the lights for you. Just say the word."; "Enjoy hands-free control of the lights in your home with the Google Home voice-enabled speaker powered by the Google Assistant."; "The smart hub (formerly smart bridge) contains Apple Home technology, so you can use Siri ® to control your lights, shades, and more."; "Control lights and shades from the SmartThings app and add more automation to your home." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Service status
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  33. [33] Lutron's own Caséta page for Samsung SmartThings, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "You’ll need a Lutron smart hub or smart hub PRO (any generation), and at least one Lutron dimmer or Lutron shade." and "You’ll need a SmartThings hub (any generation)." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  34. [34] Home Assistant's Lutron Caséta integration page, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Lutron Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH)"; "Lutron Caséta Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH)"; "Lutron smart fan speed control"; "After setup, fans will appear in Home Assistant"; "you must first log in to your Lutron account and generate a certificate that allows Home Assistant to connect to your bridge"; "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  35. [35] Lutron's own Caséta frequently-asked-questions page, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Multi-home control allows you to install Caséta or RA2 Select products in two or more homes and control your different homes with a single login." and "How do I add a new home to my account? Go to Settings --> Account --> Add Home --> Follow the instructions". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Vendor account required
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  36. [36] Lutron's Caséta home page, read in full on 2026-10-04. It calls the app free ("control it how you like with the free Lutron app, smart remote, voice assistant, or automated schedules") and names no plan, membership or monthly charge; the only subscription wording on it is the newsletter form's "Unsubscribe at any time." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Subscription
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  37. [37] Pages on this record that could not be read on 2026-10-04: Lutron's support article on Apple HomeKit and voice commands at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/casetawireless/article/using-the-app/Apple-HomeKit-and-how-to-set-up-and-use-voice-commands-with-the-Caseta-or-RA2-Select-Systems and the Pico product-selection FAQ at https://support.lutron.com/us/en/product/pico-controls/faqs/product-selection. Lutron's support site turns our reader away., verified 2026-10-04
  38. [38] Lutron's Caséta Load Controls specification submittal, read in full on 2026-10-12 through tools/page-read.mjs --pdf (104,326 characters of text). The copy served today carries the revision line "369987m 1 04.01.24" and its fingerprint equals the reads of 2026-09-27, 2026-10-03 and 2026-10-04, so the text has not changed since then. Verbatim, each from one line of the text layer: "Lutron patented Clear Connect RF Technology"; "Load controls always operate locally and do not"; "Works with the Lutron App (via a Smart Hub or"; "PD-FSQN provides 4 quiet fan speeds plus OFF"; "up to 10 devices (total) may be paired to each". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Vendor account required, Capabilities, Power source, Installation, Research status
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  39. [39] This record's own entries, which already name the Caséta Smart Hub: Home Assistant's supported-bridge list, already quoted on this record, naming the Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH)., verified 2026-10-12
  40. [40] Lutron's Caseta 'Works With' compatibility page, read in full on 2026-10-24 (plain read). No claim graded., verified 2026-10-24
  41. [41] Lutron's Original Smart Fan Speed Control Switch product page (PD-FSQN), read in full on 2026-10-24 (plain read). No claim graded., verified 2026-10-24
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  42. [42] Lutron's Caseta SmartThings page, read in full on 2026-10-24 (plain read). No claim graded., verified 2026-10-24
  43. [43] Record-keeping entry: Lutron's Caséta works-with page, its SmartThings page, the PD-FSQN product page and its HomeKit help article, as quoted on this record's own entries., verified 2026-08-19

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Lutron Caséta Smart Fan Speed Control Switch (PD-FSQN) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker