Product Library / Switches & Dimmers

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-20

Lutron Caséta Wireless In-Wall Switch (PD-5WS-DV)

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[3][7][13]
[3][12][24]
[3][11]
[3][7][14][23]
[4]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: CLEAR-CONNECT[1][5]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

A hub or controller is required

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Required for the device

Lutron Caséta Smart Hub

Setup and sources

A Lutron Smart Bridge or Smart Bridge PRO. The switch speaks Lutron's proprietary Clear Connect RF and carries no Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, Z-Wave or Thread radio, so no third-party hub is a substitute. Home Assistant's integration names the specific bridges it supports - the Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH) and the Smart Bridge PRO (L-BDGPRO2-WH) among them - and still reaches the switch through one of them rather than around it.

Yes for anything that resembles a smart switch, and the specification submittal is unusually precise about the boundary. Without a hub the PD-5WS-DV is still a wireless switch in a narrow sense: it works with Pico remote controls, with Caséta motion sensors, and with Lutron Radio Powr Savr occupancy and vacancy sensors 'in standalone applications', and Lutron notes those sensors 'do not work with Smart Bridge or Smart Bridge PRO'. The app, and with it every ecosystem on this record, arrives only with a hub - the feature table lists 'Works with the Lutron app (via a Smart Bridge or Smart Bridge PRO)' as a distinct line, footnoted 'The Lutron App is required for setup and use with the Smart Bridge and Smart Bridge PRO.' There is a distance constraint too, which most hub dependencies do not state: the switch 'must be located within 60 ft (18 m) line-of-sight or 30 ft (9 m) through walls of a Lutron Smart Bridge, Smart Bridge PRO, or Caséta Wireless Repeater.'[1]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[1]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[3][7][13]Google HomeWorks[3][12][24]AlexaWorks[3][11]SmartThingsWorks[3][7][14][23]Home AssistantWorks[4]
On/offDevice control
Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

✓ routines can use it[24]

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

'Apple Home' is named on Lutron's 'Works With' page, alongside 'Apple Watch' as a separate entry. The Apple Home technology sits in the Lutron hub, not in the switch - the same reading the Claro record records.[3][7][13]

Google Home

Named on the same Lutron 'Works With' page as 'Google Assistant', which is the voice service rather than the Google Home app. Reached through the Smart Bridge; the switch itself is Clear Connect only.[3][12][24]

Alexa

A property of the Lutron Smart Bridge rather than of this switch, which carries no standard radio of any kind. 'Amazon Alexa' is named on Lutron's Caséta 'Works With' page, which is a system-level page: it lists what the Caséta system works with, not what each SKU does. Same framing as the Claro switch record.[3][11]

SmartThings

Official Lutron-SmartThings integration. Lutron says it needs three things: a Lutron Smart Hub or Smart Hub PRO, at least one Lutron dimmer or shade, and a SmartThings hub of any generation. A limit of the system rather than of this switch: Caséta scenes cannot be imported into SmartThings.[3][7][14][23]

Home Assistant

The one platform on this page that Lutron does not claim and the other side does, which is the stronger of the two directions. Home Assistant's own Lutron Caséta integration documents support for the Caséta line, names the specific bridges it works with, controls them over your own network, and states plainly that it handles "Wall switches as switches" — which is exactly what this model is. Home Assistant appears nowhere on Lutron's "Works With" page, so the support is documented from one side only, and that side is the one doing the integrating.[4]

Device documentation: [1]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][11]A property of the Lutron Smart Bridge rather than of this switch, which carries no standard radio of any kind. 'Amazon Alexa' is named on Lutron's Caséta 'Works With' page, which is a system-level page: it lists what the Caséta system works with, not what each SKU does. Same framing as the Claro switch record.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][12][24]Named on the same Lutron 'Works With' page as 'Google Assistant', which is the voice service rather than the Google Home app. Reached through the Smart Bridge; the switch itself is Clear Connect only.In Google Home you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][7][13]'Apple Home' is named on Lutron's 'Works With' page, alongside 'Apple Watch' as a separate entry. The Apple Home technology sits in the Lutron hub, not in the switch - the same reading the Claro record records.In Apple Home you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][7][14][23]Official Lutron-SmartThings integration. Lutron says it needs three things: a Lutron Smart Hub or Smart Hub PRO, at least one Lutron dimmer or shade, and a SmartThings hub of any generation. A limit of the system rather than of this switch: Caséta scenes cannot be imported into SmartThings.In SmartThings you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[4]The one platform on this page that Lutron does not claim and the other side does, which is the stronger of the two directions. Home Assistant's own Lutron Caséta integration documents support for the Caséta line, names the specific bridges it works with, controls them over your own network, and states plainly that it handles "Wall switches as switches" — which is exactly what this model is. Home Assistant appears nowhere on Lutron's "Works With" page, so the support is documented from one side only, and that side is the one doing the integrating.In Home Assistant you also need: a Lutron Caséta Smart Hub

Plans and ongoing costs[3]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[9]

No subscription is referenced on Lutron's specification submittal, its product-selection article or the Caséta 'Works With' page. Established by absence rather than by an affirmative statement, the same basis recorded on the Claro switch.

Maintenance and offline use[1]

The catch

Lutron recommends against this switch whenever you have a choice, and that is the first thing to know about it. Its product-selection article says so directly: 'The PD-5WS-DV switch does not require a neutral connection. If a neutral connection is available in the wallbox, Lutron strongly recommends using the PD-5ANS / PD-6ANS where possible', and where a neutral is present it points buyers at the PD-6ANS or PD-5ANS instead, on the grounds that those models handle LED lamps and fixtures more reliably. This is the no-neutral fallback, not the default. Second, the reason for that recommendation is a real cost: with LED, fluorescent or ELV loads the switch may need a LUT-MLC load adapter, and Lutron's guidance is not subtle - install one with those load types 'regardless of wattage', and if the status LED flashes or glows red, 'a LUT-MLC must be installed'. Even then, 'some load types may still flicker or glow in the off state'. Third, the hub is mandatory for everything a buyer is likely to want. The switch speaks Lutron's proprietary Clear Connect and nothing else, so without a Smart Bridge there is no app, no Alexa, no Apple Home, no schedule - only Pico remotes and Caséta sensors - and the switch has to sit within 60 ft line-of-sight or 30 ft through walls of that bridge. Fourth, the load table is a table for a reason: capacity drops as switches are ganged together, from 600 W incandescent alone to 350 W in the middle of a gang at 120 V, so a three-gang box is a different calculation than a single. Finally, Matter does not appear anywhere on Lutron's Caséta compatibility page, which lists sixteen platforms and partners - so a household planning around Matter should read that silence carefully rather than assume the newest standard arrived quietly.

Who it's for

Someone with a Caséta system already in the house, or planning one, who has hit the wiring problem this SKU exists to solve: an older wallbox with no neutral wire, where the neutral-required Caséta switches cannot go. It is also the model for a 277 V commercial or multi-family circuit, since it is the dual-voltage one. The Clear Connect radio is the reason people choose Caséta at all - it does not sit on the Wi-Fi network, and Home Assistant reaches it locally through the bridge - and this switch inherits that. It is the wrong pick if the wallbox does have a neutral, because Lutron itself says to buy the PD-5ANS or PD-6ANS instead for better LED compatibility; if the load is LED, fluorescent or ELV and the extra LUT-MLC adapter is unwelcome; if there is no Lutron hub and no intention of buying one; or if the plan depends on Matter, which Lutron does not name for Caséta anywhere on its own compatibility page.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

25 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Lutron specification submittal 369831e, Caséta Wireless In-Wall Switch PD-5WS-DV / PD-6ANS — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Works without the internet, Capabilities, Market availability
  2. [2] Lutron support article, 'Caséta Wireless In-Wall Switches - PD-5WS-DV, PD-5ANS, PD-6ANS' (product selection) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Product identity, Installation, Research status
  3. [3] Lutron Caséta 'Works With' compatibility page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Subscription, Price
  4. [4] Home Assistant lutron_caseta integration documentation — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  5. [5] Lutron Caséta 'Works With' compatibility page - the platform enumeration — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Protocols
  6. [6] Lutron specification submittal 369831 (PDF), opened 2026-08-18 — the file's text is compressed in a way our reader cannot turn back into words, so it establishes nothing either way. A submittal sheet is in any case a wiring and ratings document; outage behaviour would not normally appear in one. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  7. [7] Lutron support, 'Apple HomeKit and how to set up and use voice commands with the Caséta or RA2 Select Systems' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  8. [8] Lutron support, 'What is the Caseta Smart Hub and when do I need one' — "The Caséta Smart Hub controls Lutron's Caséta Wireless family of products." and, of that hub, "The smart hub connects to an available LAN port on your router using the included ethernet cable. It does not communicate over Wi-Fi, so the system still works locally even if your internet is down." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Works without the internet
  9. [9] Lutron Pico Controls product-selection FAQs — "Do I need a Caséta smart hub to use a Pico paddle remote? No, the Pico paddle remote can be paired directly with Caséta smart products." and "Once a Pico paddle remote has been added to a Caséta system, the Pico paddle remote does not require internet, but it does require power to the smart hub." · Lutron Caséta technical-support FAQs — "The Lutron App connects to the Smart Bridge via the cloud using an account (email address and password) that you create during initioal system setup." (vendor's spelling of 'initioal' preserved) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  10. [10] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
  11. [11] Lutron's own Caséta page for Amazon Alexa, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  12. [12] Lutron's own Caséta page for Google Home and the Google Assistant, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  13. [13] Lutron's own Caséta page for Apple Home, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  14. [14] Lutron's own Caséta page for Samsung SmartThings, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  15. [15] Lutron's Caséta category index for smart dimmers and switches, verified 2026-09-20
  16. [16] A conduct check of every host this record cites, run 2026-09-20 before any page was opened, verified 2026-09-20
  17. [17] Re-verification pass of 2026-09-20, anchored on Lutron's Caseta 'Works With' compatibility page, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Research status
  18. [18] Lutron, Caseta Wireless In-Wall Switch specification submittal (PD-5WS-DV, PD-6ANS), revision 369831e 04.09.21 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Works without the internet, Market availability
  19. [19] Looked on 2026-09-22 for another Lutron page carrying two facts on this record that can no longer be re-checked: whether a Lutron account is needed, and how much work fitting the switch takes. Both come from Lutron's support site, which turns our reader away, so it was not asked again. Lutron's Caseta site, which does open for us, was searched and five of its pages read, and the switch's own specification document on Lutron's document library was read in full; six requests between them. The Caseta page for the Pico remote shows how to pair a Pico to a switch without a Smart Hub, and the specification document says the switch always works on its own and can take up to ten Picos with no hub. Neither says anything about a Lutron account, so the account answer still rests on the support page. The specification document also draws the switch wired to the line, load and neutral in the wall box, but it is not an installation guide and gives no view on how hard that is. So both facts keep the dates they were read on., verified 2026-09-22
  20. [20] Looked again on 2026-09-23 for one half of an answer on this record: whether the Lutron app needs a Lutron account. The other half, that a Pico remote can run this switch with no hub and no app, is already on Lutron pages we can read, but the answer is only complete with both, so it keeps its date until the app half is found. Lutron's support site, which turns our reader away, was not asked. Lutron's Caseta site, which opens for us, was searched through its own index of 72 pages and its best-matching pages were read, including the page on what the Smart Hub adds; it says the hub unlocks "control via app or voice" but nothing about an account. The Lutron app's own Google Play listing was then read: it says the app lets you "control lights, shades and other smart devices from anywhere in the world" and "requires a Lutron system and compatible Lutron smart lighting products", and nothing about an account. Apple's App Store is on record as limiting our reader and was not asked. Eight requests were spent. No page saying whether the app needs an account was found, so the answer keeps the date it was read on., verified 2026-09-23
  21. [21] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-23
  22. [22] Lutron's own specification submittal for the Caséta Wireless In-Wall Switch (369831, revision 369831e), read as text on 2026-09-23. For the PD-5WS-DV it lists 'Simple two-wire installation (no neutral wire required)' and 'Requires a 1-gang U.S. wallbox', and its 'Wiring Diagrams', 'Single Location Installation', draw the PD-5WS-DV with 'Line/Hot', 'Load' and 'Ground' connections. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: Installation
  23. [23] casetawireless.com/us/en/smart-things, Lutron's own Caséta page for Samsung SmartThings, read in full 2026-09-24. Verbatim, from its FAQ block: 'What Lutron hardware is required to work with SmartThings? You’ll need a Lutron smart hub or smart hub PRO (any generation), and at least one Lutron dimmer or Lutron shade.' · 'What SmartThings hardware is required to work with Caséta? You’ll need a SmartThings hub (any generation).' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  24. [24] Google's Automations supported-devices table lists this switch by model under the Lutron service. Verbatim: "Action · Lutron · LIGHT · PD-5WS-DV-XX · brightness, onoff" · "Action · Lutron · SWITCH · PD-5WS-DV-XX · onoff", verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, What your assistant can automate
  25. [25] This record's own entries, which already name the Caséta Smart Hub: Lutron support's article already quoted on this record, 'The Caséta Smart Hub controls Lutron's Caséta Wireless family of products', and Home Assistant's supported-bridge list naming the Caséta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH)., verified 2026-10-12

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Lutron Caséta Wireless In-Wall Switch (PD-5WS-DV) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker