Product Library / Cameras & Doorbells

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-01

Lorex 2K Video Doorbell

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[2][6][12][20]
[2][6][16][19][24]
[2][6][16][20]
[3][6][20]
[4][23][30][31]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[15][19]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Camera stream

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [8] [15] [19]

Documented device function

Two-way audio

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [8] [15] [19]

Documented device function

Siren

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [8] [15] [19]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[8][15][19]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
4 documented
Reported events
3 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeInconclusive[2][6][12][20]Google HomePartial[2][6][16][19][24]AlexaDoesn't work[2][6][16][20]SmartThingsInconclusive[3][6][20]Home AssistantInconclusive[4][23][30][31]
Camera streamDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Two-way audioDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

SirenDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

SpotlightDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Doorbell pressedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Person detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Not established. The third-party compatibility row Lorex publishes for this doorbell names voice assistants and nothing else, and the words Apple, HomeKit and Siri appear nowhere on the product page. A row naming which voices can pull the camera up on a screen is not a statement about which home platforms the doorbell joins, so Lorex leaves Apple Home unanswered rather than denied. Nothing Lorex publishes says it works either, so do not plan around it: if Apple Home is where this doorbell has to live, ask Lorex before you buy.[2][6][12][20]

Google Home

The one platform Lorex names for this specific doorbell: its own comparison chart gives this model Google Assistant in the third-party compatibility row. Lorex's list of Google Assistant voice commands gives doorbell cameras two, showing the doorbell's video on a screen and stopping it. Nothing Lorex publishes describes doorbell press announcements, event history or two-way talk through Google, so this is live view by voice rather than a full doorbell experience in the Google app.[2][6][16][19][24]

Alexa

Lorex's own doorbell comparison chart, on this product's page, fills in a third-party compatibility row for four doorbells and gives this one Google Assistant alone. The three others in the same row get Alexa and Google Assistant. Lorex's Alexa setup article says only that select products using the Lorex app work with Alexa voice commands and names no model, so the chart is the model-specific answer and our record follows it. If you want this doorbell on an Echo Show, treat that as unsupported until Lorex says otherwise on this page.[2][6][16][20]

SmartThings

Not established. What Lorex publishes about other platforms is about voice: the third-party row of its doorbell comparison chart and its smart-home support articles name Alexa and Google Assistant and nothing else. SmartThings appears on none of them. Pages about voice control are not a list of the home platforms this doorbell joins, so SmartThings is unanswered rather than ruled out. Nothing Lorex publishes says it works either, so ask before you buy if you need it.[3][6][20]

Home Assistant

Not established. Lorex's article on streaming to third-party software covers certain recorders and IP cameras and names no doorbell, and nothing Lorex publishes describes a way to bring this doorbell into Home Assistant. People report pulling a local video stream from it into Home Assistant or Frigate, depending on firmware; that is a report, not something Lorex documents, so do not plan a setup around it.[4][23][30][31]

Device documentation: [8] [15] [19]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2][6][16][20]Lorex's own doorbell comparison chart, on this product's page, fills in a third-party compatibility row for four doorbells and gives this one Google Assistant alone. The three others in the same row get Alexa and Google Assistant. Lorex's Alexa setup article says only that select products using the Lorex app work with Alexa voice commands and names no model, so the chart is the model-specific answer and our record follows it. If you want this doorbell on an Echo Show, treat that as unsupported until Lorex says otherwise on this page.
Google HomePartialPartial support — see the catch[2][6][16][19][24]The one platform Lorex names for this specific doorbell: its own comparison chart gives this model Google Assistant in the third-party compatibility row. Lorex's list of Google Assistant voice commands gives doorbell cameras two, showing the doorbell's video on a screen and stopping it. Nothing Lorex publishes describes doorbell press announcements, event history or two-way talk through Google, so this is live view by voice rather than a full doorbell experience in the Google app.
Apple HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2][6][12][20]Not established. The third-party compatibility row Lorex publishes for this doorbell names voice assistants and nothing else, and the words Apple, HomeKit and Siri appear nowhere on the product page. A row naming which voices can pull the camera up on a screen is not a statement about which home platforms the doorbell joins, so Lorex leaves Apple Home unanswered rather than denied. Nothing Lorex publishes says it works either, so do not plan around it: if Apple Home is where this doorbell has to live, ask Lorex before you buy.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][6][20]Not established. What Lorex publishes about other platforms is about voice: the third-party row of its doorbell comparison chart and its smart-home support articles name Alexa and Google Assistant and nothing else. SmartThings appears on none of them. Pages about voice control are not a list of the home platforms this doorbell joins, so SmartThings is unanswered rather than ruled out. Nothing Lorex publishes says it works either, so ask before you buy if you need it.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[4][23][30][31]Not established. Lorex's article on streaming to third-party software covers certain recorders and IP cameras and names no doorbell, and nothing Lorex publishes describes a way to bring this doorbell into Home Assistant. People report pulling a local video stream from it into Home Assistant or Frigate, depending on firmware; that is a report, not something Lorex documents, so do not plan a setup around it.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[2][5][15][19]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription required, in Lorex's words. Recordings go to the included 32GB microSD card.

Maintenance and offline use[5]

Security updates[10][28][32]

Lorex publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.

Lorex publishes a hard support-end date for this doorbell family, and it does not name the SKU sold in the US. Two Lorex documents agree on December 31, 2027 for the row "B451AJ-Z, B451AJDB-EG, B451AJD-EG, B451AJDB-EU, B451AJD-EU": the signed UK PSTI Statement of Compliance for Video Doorbells (Lorex Technology Inc., Markham Ontario, signed by Niles Kanapathipillai, Director of Quality Assurance, May 29 2024), which titles that column "Service & Support End Date", and Lorex's PSTI Product End-of-Life Policy, which repeats the same figure in its Milestone List. The US storefront sells this doorbell under SKUs B451AJD-E and B451AJDB-E, and neither appears in either document, whose SKUs carry the EG and EU regional suffixes. A declaration that names a regional sibling does not transfer, so no date is recorded here. What the End-of-Life policy says about products generally is a floor rather than a date: "Lorex will maintain the security updates for at least 2 (TWO) years after the first shipment for sale of certain Lorex Products" - qualified to certain products, and counted from a shipment date Lorex does not publish. Worth knowing for anyone reading the December 2027 figure: Lorex's US compliance page links to that same End-of-Life policy as one of its own resources.

The catch

Ecosystem integrations are shallow — this is a local-storage appliance, not a platform citizen.

Who it's for

Subscription-free local recording with sharp 2K video for households that live in the Lorex app.

Check availability at Lorex

This opens Lorex's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

33 numbered sources, including 1 where sources disagree· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] 2026-07 web research sweep (docs/02 catalog; primary sources cited there) — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-12
  2. [2] lorex.com official 2K Video Doorbell pages (wired + battery) — 2K, pre-installed 32GB microSD, no monthly fees, Alexa/Google chime-cast; no HomeKit/Matter — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-15
    Backs: Product identity, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Research status, Subscription
  3. [3] smartthings: https://www.lorex.com/pages/compatibility — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  4. [4] Lorex official RTSP help article (lorex.com/blogs/help: 'You can access a Third Party RTSP streaming with certain models of DVR / NVR's and IP cameras' — no doorbell named) + the B463AJ 2K doorbell FAQ page (zero RTSP/ONVIF/Home Assistant mentions in the FAQ body; platforms named are Alexa and Google), checked 2026-07-21 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  5. [5] lorex.com product page, 2K Wi-Fi Video Doorbell with Person Detection (wired), read 2026-08-10 — model B451AJD (a B451AJDB black variant is also listed); 'This product is only available for purchase by contacting our team directly'; NO price displayed; 32 GB microSD included, upgradeable to 256 GB maximum; 'No Monthly Fees' with local microSD storage; on-device person detection via the Lorex Classic App; 2K 2560×1920, 164° field of view, colour night vision, two-way talk — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability, Service status, Works without the internet, Subscription, Research status
  6. [6] lorex.com/pages/compatibility, read 2026-08-10 — Alexa: 'Use voice commands to display live camera feeds on Alexa-enabled devices like Echo Show or Fire TV'; Google: 'View your security camera's footage on Google Nest Hub or Chromecast-enabled devices with simple voice prompts'; qualification: 'Compatibility may vary by camera model, so be sure to check product specifications'; no mention of Apple Home/HomeKit, SmartThings or Home Assistant — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  7. [7] lorex.com 2K Wi-Fi Video Doorbell product page and the cited lorex.com compatibility page, re-read 2026-08-18 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  8. [8] Lorex, 2K Wired Video Doorbell with Person Detection product page, read 2026-08-19. Specification rows: "Audio: Full Duplex 2-Way audio", "Speaker/Siren: Yes", "Quick Responses: Yes", "Nightlight / Warning Light: Yes". Motion and press: "Receive a Lorex Classic App notification message the moment someone enters the doorbell's customizable motion detection range" and "Use 1 of 3 quick responses to greet visitors who ring your doorbell." Person detection is in the product's own name and in the comparison table's Detection row. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Capabilities
  9. [9] lorex.com's 2K Wired Video Doorbell product page, read 2026-08-20: Wi-Fi "2.4/5Ghz 802.11b/g/n/ac"; power "16V ~ 24V AC / 12 ~ 24V DC" from existing doorbell wiring; an in-box list including "Chime Kit" and a "Pre-inserted microSD Card"; and storage described as "No Monthly Fees. Local storage means No Monthly Fees. With the included microSD card, you will have ample storage and your video recordings remain safe and secure." Its compatibility line reads "Lorex Compatibility: Fusion, Lorex Smart Home Security Center, ACCHM2 Wi-Fi Chimebox". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  10. [10] Lorex Technology Inc., UK PSTI Statement of Compliance for Video Doorbells (cdn.lorex.com/downloads/psti/R2/SoC_PSTI_VideoDoorbells_R2.pdf), read in full 2026-08-22, signed Niles Kanapathipillai, Director Quality Assurance, Markham ON, May 29 2024. Its "Service & Support End Date" column gives December 31, 2027 for "B451AJ-Z, B451AJDB-EG, B451AJD-EG, B451AJDB-EU, B451AJD-EU". Lorex's PSTI Product End-of-Life Policy (lorextechnology.co.uk/pages/product-use-policy, linked from Lorex USA's own compliance page) repeats December 31, 2027 for the same row and states the general rule verbatim: "Lorex will maintain the security updates for at least 2 (TWO) years after the first shipment for sale of certain Lorex Products." The US product page (lorex.com/products/2k-wi-fi-video-doorbell-with-person-detection-wired) carries variant SKUs B451AJD-E and B451AJDB-E, which are named in neither document, and states no support period of its own. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Security-update support period
  11. [11] Record-keeping entry: this record's not-supported answers were sorted under the five-way absence classification, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
  12. [12] Lorex's own product page for the 2K Wi-Fi Video Doorbell with Person Detection (wired), re-read 2026-08-30 for this claim specifically. Product title 'Lorex 2K Wi-Fi Video Doorbell (Wired, 32GB)', models B451AJD / B451AJDB. The 'Third-Party Compatibility' specification row reads, in full: 'Alexa, Google Assistant' — an enumeration, which is what makes the omission evidence rather than mere silence. The words 'Apple', 'HomeKit', 'Siri' and 'Matter' appear nowhere on the page: not in the specification table, not in the comparison chart, not in the FAQ. Corroborated the same day on lorex.com/pages/compatibility, Lorex's blanket compatibility page, which names Alexa ('Use voice commands to display live camera feeds on Alexa-enabled devices like Echo Show or Fire TV') and Google Assistant ('View your security camera's footage on Google Nest Hub or Chromecast-enabled devices with simple voice prompts'), qualifies itself with 'Compatibility may vary by camera model, so be sure to check product specifications', and likewise names Apple, HomeKit, Siri, SmartThings, Home Assistant and Matter nowhere. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-30
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  13. [13] https://www.lorex.com/products/2k-wi-fi-video-doorbell-with-person-detection-wired (read 2026-09-09), SPECIFICATIONS: 'Network Connectivity: 2.4/5Ghz 802.11b/g/n/ac' and 'Power Requirements: 16V ~ 24V AC / 12 ~ 24V DC'. The band row names both with the 802.11 modes, so it is an enumeration of the radio; the power row is the doorbell-transformer range, which is what this record's low-voltage power answer states. ⊕ The same page carries a MODEL COMPARISON table further down in which one column reads '2.4GHz Wi-Fi' alone — that column is a different Lorex doorbell, and the value here is taken from this product's own SPECIFICATIONS block, not from the comparison grid. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source
  14. [14] https://www.lorex.com/products/2k-wi-fi-video-doorbell-with-person-detection-wired, https://www.lorex.com/pages/compatibility and Lorex's PSTI statement PDF (read 2026-09-09) name the Lorex Classic App but link no app store and name no phone platform. The platforms the app runs on stay unrecorded: we looked, and Lorex does not publish them. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
  15. [15] Lorex's own product page for the 2K Wi-Fi Video Doorbell with Person Detection (wired), read 2026-09-15 two ways. The store's own structured product data for www.lorex.com/products/2k-wi-fi-video-doorbell-with-person-detection-wired gives: {"title":"Lorex 2K Wi-Fi Video Doorbell (Wired, 32GB)","available":true,"price":16999,"variants":[{"sku":"B451AJD-E","title":"White","price":16999,"available":true},{"sku":"B451AJDB-E","title":"Black","price":16999,"available":false}]}. The page as a shopper sees it, for what the structured data does not carry: 'This product is only available for purchase by contacting our team directly.' beside 'White Variant sold out or unavailable' and 'Black Variant sold out or unavailable', with a sales number (1.888.425.6739) and staffed chat hours; 'No Monthly Fees — Own it. No subscriptions required.' and 'Local storage means No Monthly Fees. With the included microSD card, you will have ample storage and your video recordings remain safe and secure.'; Product Specifications: 'Max Video Resolution 2K (2560 × 1920)', 'Max Lens Field of View 164º diagonal', 'Indoor/Outdoor Outdoor, IP65 rated', 'Speaker/Siren Yes', 'Audio Full Duplex 2-Way audio', 'Network Connectivity 2.4/5Ghz 802.11b/g/n/ac', 'Operating Temperature -4°F to 122°F / -20°C to 50°C', 'Power Requirements 16V ~ 24V AC / 12 ~ 24V DC'; storage '32 GB' with 'Maximum capacity 256GB microSD card'; package contents including the doorbell, mounting and angled brackets, a pre-inserted microSD card, a chime kit, a wire harness and a drill bit; 'standard 1-year limited warranty' and a '30-day money-back guarantee'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Market availability, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Subscription, Capabilities, Service status, Research status
  16. [16] The 'Doorbell Comparison Chart' on Lorex's own product page for this doorbell, read 2026-09-15. Its four columns are, in order, 'B241AJD 1080p Wired Video Doorbell', 'B451AJD, B451AJDB 2K Wired Video Doorbell' (this record's model), 'B463AJD, B463AJDB 2K Battery Video Doorbell' and 'B862AJD, B862AJDB 4K Wired Video Doorbell'. The 'Third-Party Compatibility' row reads, column by column: 'Alexa, Google Assistant' · 'Google Assistant' · 'Alexa, Google Assistant' · 'Alexa, Google Assistant'. Column alignment is fixed by two other rows on the same chart: 'Network Connectivity' reads '2.4GHz Wi-Fi' in column one and '2.4GHz / 5GHz Wi-Fi*' in column two, matching this model's own specification row of '2.4/5Ghz 802.11b/g/n/ac'; and 'Chime Kit' reads 'Not Included' in column one and 'Included' in column two, matching the chime kit in this product's own package contents. Read alongside lorex.com/pages/compatibility (re-read the same day), which describes Alexa live view 'on Alexa-enabled devices like Echo Show or Fire TV' and Google footage 'on Google Nest Hub or Chromecast-enabled devices' for Lorex cameras generally, and then states: 'Compatibility may vary by camera model, so be sure to check product specifications.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  17. [17] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-18 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-18
  18. [18] Lorex's own storefront data for this product, read in full 2026-10-01. Title "Lorex 2K Wi-Fi Video Doorbell (Wired, 32GB)". Two variants: White, sku "B451AJD-E", barcode "695529027821", price 16999, available true; Black, sku "B451AJDB-E", barcode "695529040004", price 16999, available false. No compare-at price is set on the product or on either variant. Published 2021-11-04. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Market availability
  19. [19] Lorex's own product page for the 2K Wi-Fi Video Doorbell (wired), read in full 2026-10-01, customer reviews and the question-and-answer region left out. "SKU: B451AJD-E"; "White Variant sold out or unavailable Black Variant sold out or unavailable This product is only available for purchase by contacting our team directly." "No Monthly Fees Own it. No subscriptions required." "Local storage means No Monthly Fees. With the included microSD card, you will have ample storage and your video recordings remain safe and secure." "With the nightlight feature, you can program the LED light to turn on at a selected time. For added security, the LED light can be activated when motion is detected to deter unwanted guests." "Receive a Lorex Classic App notification message the moment someone enters the doorbell's customizable motion detection range." "The Lorex Classic App will automatically send you a notification telling you that there is someone at the door." Product Specifications: "Speaker/Siren Yes", "Audio Full Duplex 2-Way audio", "Network Connectivity 2.4/5Ghz 802.11b/g/n/ac", "Power Requirements 16V ~ 24V AC / 12 ~ 24V DC". Doorbell Comparison Chart, second column "B451AJD, B451AJDB 2K Wired Video Doorbell": Detection "Person", Lorex Compatibility "Fusion, Lorex Smart Home Security Center, ACCHM2 Wi-Fi Chimebox", Third-Party Compatibility "Google Assistant", while the first, third and fourth columns read "Alexa, Google Assistant". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Subscription, Capabilities, Required hub or bridge, Service status, Research status, Google Home compatibility
  20. [20] The Doorbell Comparison Chart on Lorex's own product page for this doorbell, read in full 2026-10-01. Its second column is headed "B451AJD, B451AJDB 2K Wired Video Doorbell" and its Third-Party Compatibility row reads "Alexa, Google Assistant Google Assistant Alexa, Google Assistant Alexa, Google Assistant" across the four columns. The whole page was read for Apple, HomeKit, Siri, SmartThings and Matter: none of the five words appears outside the customer-review region, and none appears inside it either. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  21. [21] Lorex's Product Compatibility page, read in full 2026-10-01, plain and then rendered. It is now a model-number lookup for Lorex's own systems: "Lorex offers multiple app experiences and recorder platforms. Cameras, recorders, accessories, and apps are not always interchangeable. Use this page to confirm which products work with your existing system before purchasing." The rendered page adds a list of product groups, among them "Wi-Fi Video Doorbell See 6 products". The words Alexa, Google, voice and Chromecast appear nowhere on it, read either way. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
  22. [22] Lorex's help index, read in full 2026-10-01 at the www host. It lists support articles by product and by topic. Its product list includes "Wired Video Doorbells B451AJ Series - 2K Wired Video Doorbell Models: B451AJDU-K8, B451AJD-F, B451AJD-EG, B451AJD-E, B451AJDB-EG, B451AJDB-E, B451AJDBC-F". Its smart-home articles are titled for Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Google Assistant and Google Chromecast only. One article is titled "IP Cameras: Using Real Time Streaming Protocol (RTSP) with your DVR / NVR". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
  23. [23] Lorex's help article on using RTSP with a DVR or NVR, read in full 2026-10-01; modified November 03, 2025 by its own line. "You can access a Third Party RTSP streaming with certain models of DVR / NVR's and IP cameras ." Its steps use the recorder's address, port 554 and a channel number. No doorbell and no model of this series is named. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  24. [24] Lorex's help article listing voice commands for Google Assistant, read in full 2026-10-01; modified June 21, 2026 by its own line. "Voice commands for doorbell camera: Hey Google, show me [doorbell name] . Hey Google, stop / go back." It points to a separate check of whether a given Lorex device is compatible and names no model. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  25. [25] Lorex's help article on connecting Lorex App devices to Google Home, read in full 2026-10-01; modified November 03, 2025. "Select products using the Lorex App are compatible with voice commands through Google Home." Prerequisites include "Ensure your Lorex device is powered on and connected to the Internet." The steps link a Lorex App account inside the Google Home app under Works with Google. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
  26. [26] Lorex's help article on connecting Lorex App devices to Amazon Alexa, read in full 2026-10-01; modified May 04, 2026. "Select products using the Lorex App are compatible with voice commands through Amazon Alexa." It names no model. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
  27. [27] Lorex's help notice titled Alexa/Google Compatibility Support, read in full 2026-10-01; modified November 03, 2025. It announces a provider change taking effect August 16, 2023 that "will only affect Lorex Cirrus App customers" and lists recorder systems that lose Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
  28. [28] Lorex's PSTI Product End-of-Life Policy on its UK site, read in full 2026-10-01. "Lorex will maintain the security updates for at least 2 (TWO) years after the first shipment for sale of certain Lorex Products." Milestone List row: "Video Doorbell B451AJ-Z, B451AJDB-EG, B451AJD-EG, B451AJDB-EU, B451AJD-EU December 31, 2027". Neither B451AJD-E nor B451AJDB-E appears on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Security-update support period
  29. [29] Carried from this unit's reads of Lorex's storefront data and Lorex's product page, both read 2026-10-01., verified 2026-10-01
  30. [30] Lorex's help article on using RTSP with a DVR or NVR, read in full on 2026-10-04 ("Modified on November 03, 2025"). Verbatim: "You can access a Third Party RTSP streaming with certain models of DVR / NVR's and IP cameras". No doorbell, no model of the B451AJ series and no Home Assistant is named. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  31. [31] Lorex's help knowledgebase index, read in full on 2026-10-04. It lists the "B451AJ Series - 2K Wired Video Doorbell" and its troubleshooting article, and smart-home articles titled "Smart Home: Connect Lorex Cirrus devices to Google Home" and "Smart Home: Connect Lorex Cirrus devices to Amazon Alexa". Home Assistant appears nowhere on the page. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  32. [32] Lorex Technology Inc.'s UK PSTI Statement of Compliance for video doorbells (revision R2, as the file name prints), read in full 2026-10-08 as PDF text. Verbatim: "B451AJ-Z, B451AJDB-EG, B451AJD-EG, Video Doorbell December 31, 2027 B451AJDB-EU, B451AJD-EU" · "Printed Name: Niles Kanapathipillai" · "Place and date of issue: Markham, ON, May 29, 2024" · "Position within Company: Director, Quality Assurance". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Security-update support period
  33. [33] Record-keeping entry: each maker disagreement on this page now says what is at stake for a buyer (the 2026-10-21 split into shown findings and research notes)., verified 2026-10-21

Where sources disagree

Where two sources we consider reliable say different things, we publish both positions and what we recorded, rather than quietly picking one.

Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility

  • Lorex's blanket compatibility page (as of 2026-09-15): Names Amazon Alexa as a supported smart-home platform for Lorex cameras — 'Use voice commands to display live camera feeds on Alexa-enabled devices like Echo Show or Fire TV' — without naming any model, then qualifies itself: 'Compatibility may vary by camera model, so be sure to check product specifications.'
  • Lorex's doorbell comparison chart, on this model's own product page (as of 2026-09-15): Gives the B451AJD / B451AJDB column 'Google Assistant' alone in its Third-Party Compatibility row, while the B241AJD, B463AJD and B862AJD columns each read 'Alexa, Google Assistant'.

We publish: none

Both pages are Lorex's own, so neither wins on authorship — but one of them tells you which to believe. The blanket page says in as many words that compatibility varies by model and to check the product specifications; the comparison chart IS the per-model specification it points at, and it distinguishes this doorbell from three siblings in the same row rather than staying silent. A filled-in enumeration that names Google and omits Alexa for one model, beside three that name both, is a statement about this model. The same reading of the same row is already what establishes this record's Apple cell as a sourced absence, so ranking it below the blanket page here would mean using one row two ways.

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Lorex 2K Video Doorbell with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker