The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
Product Library / Garage & Access
Research profile · last verified 2026-09-18LiftMaster 84505R Secure View Ultra-Quiet Belt Drive Smart Opener
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your platform?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
Chamberlain states it outright on the same list: Apple HomeKit is not supported, and "You cannot control your myQ devices directly from the Apple Home app or with Siri voice control." The Matter route is closed by the same page, which puts both "Matter" and "Thread" on the unsupported list — a vendor declaring in advance that the standard everyone expects to fix this will not be the fix.[4][29]
The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
Google Home appears on Chamberlain's own "not supported or have been discontinued" list. This is a removal rather than an absence — the myQ Google Assistant integration was withdrawn, and the vendor states the outcome plainly rather than leaving it to be discovered.[4][29]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
LiftMaster 84505R Secure View Ultra-Quiet Belt Drive Smart Opener
- LiftMaster 84505R Secure View Ultra-Quiet Belt Drive Smart OpenerLiftMaster 84505R Secure View Ultra-Quiet Belt Drive Smart Opener
- Wi-FiWi-Fi routerYour home network
- InternetCloud serviceInternet connection required
- Alexa skillAmazon AlexaPlatform control
What you gainReach the device through the documented cloud connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-09-18
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
"Works with Alexa" would overstate it. There is no general-purpose myQ Alexa skill; what Chamberlain's own supported-integrations list carries is Amazon Key — in-garage delivery, which links an Amazon account to the opener so a courier can open it. Useful, and genuinely not the same thing as saying "Alexa, open the garage."[4][29]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
Samsung SmartThings is named on Chamberlain's own "not supported or have been discontinued" list, alongside Hubitat and Wink.[4][29]
The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
Removed by Home Assistant itself rather than merely unsupported by the maker: Home Assistant published the removal of its myQ integration in November 2023 after Chamberlain began blocking third-party access. Chamberlain's own page states the policy in its words: 'Chamberlain blocks unauthorized or unapproved third-party integrations to protect customer safety.'[5][6]
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Apple Home · Doesn't work
Open/close
This device supports open/close.
- Control
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Chamberlain states it outright on the same list: Apple HomeKit is not supported, and "You cannot control your myQ devices directly from the Apple Home app or with Siri voice control." The Matter route is closed by the same page, which puts both "Matter" and "Thread" on the unsupported list — a vendor declaring in advance that the standard everyone expects to fix this will not be the fix.
Connection documentation: [4] [29]
Device documentation: [13] [15]
support.chamberlaingroup.com · checked 2026-09-18
ifttt.com · checked 2026-08-21
Google Home · Doesn't work
Open/close
This device supports open/close.
- Control
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Google Home appears on Chamberlain's own "not supported or have been discontinued" list. This is a removal rather than an absence — the myQ Google Assistant integration was withdrawn, and the vendor states the outcome plainly rather than leaving it to be discovered.
Connection documentation: [4] [29]
Device documentation: [13] [15]
support.chamberlaingroup.com · checked 2026-09-18
ifttt.com · checked 2026-08-21
Alexa · Partial
Open/close
This device supports open/close.
- Control
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
"Works with Alexa" would overstate it. There is no general-purpose myQ Alexa skill; what Chamberlain's own supported-integrations list carries is Amazon Key — in-garage delivery, which links an Amazon account to the opener so a courier can open it. Useful, and genuinely not the same thing as saying "Alexa, open the garage."
Connection documentation: [4] [29]
Device documentation: [13] [15]
support.chamberlaingroup.com · checked 2026-09-18
ifttt.com · checked 2026-08-21
SmartThings · Doesn't work
Open/close
This device supports open/close.
- Control
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Home Assistant · Doesn't work
Open/close
This device supports open/close.
- Control
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Removed by Home Assistant itself rather than merely unsupported by the maker: Home Assistant published the removal of its myQ integration in November 2023 after Chamberlain began blocking third-party access. Chamberlain's own page states the policy in its words: 'Chamberlain blocks unauthorized or unapproved third-party integrations to protect customer safety.'
Connection documentation: [5] [6]
Device documentation: [13] [15]
support.chamberlaingroup.com · checked 2026-08-20
ifttt.com · checked 2026-08-21
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-09-23
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- 1 documented
- Reported events
- 1 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeDoesn't work[4][29] | Google HomeDoesn't work[4][29] | AlexaPartial[4][29] | SmartThingsDoesn't work[4][29] | Home AssistantDoesn't work[5][6] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Open/closeDevice control | Control Doesn't work | Control Doesn't work | Control Not stated | Control Doesn't work | Control Doesn't work |
| Contact stateReported event | Event Doesn't work | Event Doesn't work | Event Not stated | Event Doesn't work | Event Doesn't work |
Automation availability for this model is not established.
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Chamberlain states it outright on the same list: Apple HomeKit is not supported, and "You cannot control your myQ devices directly from the Apple Home app or with Siri voice control." The Matter route is closed by the same page, which puts both "Matter" and "Thread" on the unsupported list — a vendor declaring in advance that the standard everyone expects to fix this will not be the fix.[4][29]
Google Home
Google Home appears on Chamberlain's own "not supported or have been discontinued" list. This is a removal rather than an absence — the myQ Google Assistant integration was withdrawn, and the vendor states the outcome plainly rather than leaving it to be discovered.[4][29]
Alexa
"Works with Alexa" would overstate it. There is no general-purpose myQ Alexa skill; what Chamberlain's own supported-integrations list carries is Amazon Key — in-garage delivery, which links an Amazon account to the opener so a courier can open it. Useful, and genuinely not the same thing as saying "Alexa, open the garage."[4][29]
SmartThings
Samsung SmartThings is named on Chamberlain's own "not supported or have been discontinued" list, alongside Hubitat and Wink.[4][29]
Home Assistant
Removed by Home Assistant itself rather than merely unsupported by the maker: Home Assistant published the removal of its myQ integration in November 2023 after Chamberlain began blocking third-party access. Chamberlain's own page states the policy in its words: 'Chamberlain blocks unauthorized or unapproved third-party integrations to protect customer safety.'[5][6]
Platform documentation:
support.chamberlaingroup.com · checked 2026-09-18
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-09-23
Some functions may need a paid plan. Plan requirements are shown below.
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | PartialPartial support — see the catch[4][29] | "Works with Alexa" would overstate it. There is no general-purpose myQ Alexa skill; what Chamberlain's own supported-integrations list carries is Amazon Key — in-garage delivery, which links an Amazon account to the opener so a courier can open it. Useful, and genuinely not the same thing as saying "Alexa, open the garage." |
| Google Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4][29] | Google Home appears on Chamberlain's own "not supported or have been discontinued" list. This is a removal rather than an absence — the myQ Google Assistant integration was withdrawn, and the vendor states the outcome plainly rather than leaving it to be discovered. |
| Apple Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4][29] | Chamberlain states it outright on the same list: Apple HomeKit is not supported, and "You cannot control your myQ devices directly from the Apple Home app or with Siri voice control." The Matter route is closed by the same page, which puts both "Matter" and "Thread" on the unsupported list — a vendor declaring in advance that the standard everyone expects to fix this will not be the fix. |
| SmartThings | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4][29] | Samsung SmartThings is named on Chamberlain's own "not supported or have been discontinued" list, alongside Hubitat and Wink. |
| Home Assistant | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[5][6] | Removed by Home Assistant itself rather than merely unsupported by the maker: Home Assistant published the removal of its myQ integration in November 2023 after Chamberlain began blocking third-party access. Chamberlain's own page states the policy in its words: 'Chamberlain blocks unauthorized or unapproved third-party integrations to protect customer safety.' |
Plans and ongoing costs[3][28]
◐ Works without a subscription: Yes. The maker also sells an optional paid plan.
- Free: Open and close the door from the myQ app, Door open/closed status, Access and motion notifications, and live stream — myQ lists these as features its products include without a plan, Live camera stream and two-way audio, Amazon Key in-garage delivery
- Behind a plan: Any recorded video at all — myQ's own words: "No video is recorded without a myQ Video Monitoring plan", Event history: 7 days (Basic), 14 days (Essential) or 30 days (Ultra), Smart detection events (Essential and Ultra)
- 5-year cost if you add the plan: ~$250 — price verified 2026-09-18
Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it. (established from the vendor's own setup steps, where signing in is mandatory before the device can be added)[16][30]
The door is free; the camera's memory is not. myQ's Basic tier is $49.99 a year for one Secure View garage door opener with seven days of history, and Secure View is LiftMaster's own name for its camera openers, so this model unambiguously qualifies for the cheapest tier, which is the figure recorded. There is no monthly option at Basic. The full ladder read 2026-09-18: Basic $49.99 a year (7 days, one Secure View opener), Essential $7.99 a month or $79.99 a year (14 days, any one device), Ultra $14.99 a month or $149.99 a year (30 days, unlimited devices). The Basic tier has doubled since we last read the page on 2026-07-31, when it was $24.99 a year; the two upper tiers are unchanged, so the increase falls entirely on the buyer of a single camera opener. myQ says a new camera, doorbell or video opener is enrolled in a free trial at setup.
Maintenance and offline use[1]
- Batteries: none — this model ships without battery backup
- Works without the internet: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own material and it does not answer this either way. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
- NO BATTERY BACKUP on this model, and the distinction is easy to miss because the near-identical 84504R has it: the 84505R's own parts list specifies transformer 041D0277-2, described as "TRANSFORMER, WI-FI, NON-BATTERY BACKUP", and LiftMaster's own comparison renders the battery-backup row as a dash for this SKU. In a power cut the door is a manual door. DC motor with belt drive; 1500-lumen dual LED lighting; 1080p glare-resistant camera with night vision and two-way audio; built-in Wi-Fi requiring a 2.4 GHz 802.11b/g/n signal in the garage. Cloud dependence is true for everything that makes it "smart" — the wall control and remotes are local, the app, camera and delivery integrations are not.
Security updates[11]
LiftMaster publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.
No support period is published for this product, and we looked in three places. Chamberlain's UK regulatory declaration, signed September 2024, covers only European models and defines its support period as 'ended when the product is End of Service', with no date. Chamberlain's own firmware-update article describes automatic updates and names no period. And Chamberlain's product pages carry no readable statement about it. So Chamberlain has published a support statement for its European gateways, tied even that to an unpublished end-of-service event, and published nothing for this US model. A newer version of the declaration naming US models would change this answer.
The catch
Two things a buyer should know that the product page does not lead with. First, this SKU has NO battery backup — the almost-identically-named 84504R is the one that does, and here a power cut leaves you with a manual door. Second, the smart layer is a walled garden by stated policy, not by accident: Chamberlain's own integrations page lists Google Home, SmartThings, Hubitat, Apple HomeKit, Siri, Amazon Sidewalk, ADT — and both Matter and Thread — as not supported or discontinued, and says outright that it "blocks unauthorized or unapproved third-party integrations." What survives is myQ, Amazon Key, cars, and professional monitoring channels. The camera is also memory-less until you pay: alerts and live view are free, but "No video is recorded without a myQ Video Monitoring plan."
Who it's for
Households replacing an opener who want the camera and the delivery integration and are content to live in the myQ app — and who are buying through a dealer, since LiftMaster publishes no consumer price or purchase path for it. Anyone building on Apple Home, Google Home, SmartThings or Home Assistant should read the unsupported list first; and anyone who wants the door to work in an outage should look at the 84504R instead.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
34 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] liftmaster.com product page for 84505RMC — "Secure View™ Ultra-Quiet Belt Drive Smart Opener with Camera and Dual LED Lighting"; "Ultra-quiet DC motor and strong belt drive system"; "1500 lumens of light"; camera "1080p, glare-resistant, night vision lens auto-adjusts to light levels"; "Easily connect… to a home network with built-in Wi-Fi®". The battery-backup absence is established two ways on that page: the comparison row renders as a dash for this model, and the parts specification names transformer "041D0277-2 TRANSFORMER, WI-FI, NON-BATTERY BACKUP". Also on the page: "Are you a LiftMaster Partner? Log in to purchase", which is the evidence for this record carrying no price. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Batteries, Works without the internet
- [2] LiftMaster owner's manual doc 114-5898-000, "Smart LED Garage Door Openers, Belt Drive Models - 87504-267, 84504R, 84505R; Chain Drive Models - 87802, 84602". Cover page, verbatim: "This garage door opener is ONLY compatible with myQ® and Security+ 2.0® accessories." Also from the manual: "Wi-Fi® signal in the garage (2.4 GHz, 802.11b/g/n required)". Recorded because this category's defining event is Chamberlain's November 2025 move to Security+ 3.0 encrypted-BLE accessory communication, and this currently-documented opener is explicitly a Security+ 2.0 unit. What that means for any particular third-party controller is NOT asserted here — the manual states the accessory standard, not a compatibility list, and inferring the rest would be exactly the kind of guess this catalogue does not make., verified 2026-07-31Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Product identity
- [3] myq.com/solutions/video-storage-subscription, read 2026-07-31 — Basic "$24.99 /Yr", covering "1 Secure View Garage Door Opener" with 7-day history; Essential "$79.99 /Yr $7.99 /Mo", "Any 1 Device", 14-day; Ultra "$149.99 /Yr $14.99 /Mo", unlimited devices, 30-day. Verbatim on gating: "No video is recorded without a myQ Video Monitoring plan" and "access and motion alerts are included with compatible devices and do not require a myQ Video Monitoring plan." Basic is recorded for THIS product because the 84505R is a LiftMaster Secure View opener and the tier names that product class explicitly — the ambiguity the chamberlain-b4643t record deliberately left open (whether a Chamberlain-branded camera opener qualifies) does not arise here. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Subscription
- [4] support.chamberlaingroup.com myQ integrations article, read 2026-07-31. SUPPORTED includes Amazon Key ("Amazon Key and myQ | In-Garage Delivery"), IFTTT, Ring, Apple Watch, Walmart InHome, a long vehicle list, and the professional channels Vivint, Alarm.com and Resideo Total Connect. The page then states: "The following platforms and features are not supported or have been discontinued" — listing Google Home, Samsung SmartThings, Hubitat, Wink, Amazon Sidewalk, Thread, Matter, ADT, Apple HomeKit, and "Siri voice commands and shortcuts — You cannot control your myQ devices directly from the Apple Home app or with Siri voice control." The page also carries the policy sentence "Chamberlain blocks unauthorized or unapproved third-party integrations to protect customer safety." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
- [5] Home Assistant's own announcement removing the myQ integration (home-assistant.io blog, 2023-11-06), published after Chamberlain began blocking outside software from reaching the myQ service. Recorded from Home Assistant's side because when a platform drops support for a device, the platform is the better witness to that than the device maker. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [6] Home Assistant's 'Removal of MyQ integration' post (Paulus Schoutsen, November 6, 2023), re-read in full 2026-09-23 and unchanged (the fingerprint matches the one change detection stores). Verbatim: 'The MyQ integration will be removed from Home Assistant in release 2023.12 on December 6, 2023. Chamberlain Group, the owners of MyQ, have released a public statement saying they will continue blocking access to third-party apps, like the MyQ integration.' The post addresses owners of 'a garage door opener from Chamberlain or Liftmaster' and recommends ratgdo instead. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-23Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [7] The owner's manual covers 87504-267, 84504R, 84505R, 87802 and 84602 as one family. Within the belt-drive three, LiftMaster's own comparison distinguishes them chiefly by battery backup and lighting style: 84504R has battery backup, 84505R does not, and 87504-267 pairs battery backup with LED Corner to Corner lighting. One character in the model number is the difference between a door that works in an outage and one that does not. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31
- [8] liftmaster.com product page for 84505RMC is live and carries a partner-login purchase path; the model is also one of five covered by the current owner's manual (doc 114-5898-000). No end-of-sale notice. LiftMaster publishes no launch year, so the date it first went on sale stays unrecorded., verified 2026-07-31Backs: Market availability
- [9] myQ is operating and actively sold — the video-storage subscription page listed all three live tiers on 2026-07-31, and support.chamberlaingroup.com serves current documentation for this model., verified 2026-07-31Backs: Service status
- [10] Chamberlain's support-site page for the owner's manual, https://support.chamberlaingroup.com/s/article/LiftMaster-87504-267-84505R-87802-84602-Owner-s-Manual, did not resolve when checked on 2026-08-18; myQ's video-storage page, the Home Assistant myQ-removal post and LiftMaster's product page were all re-read the same day. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
- [11] Chamberlain GmbH, UK PSTI Declaration (doc.chamberlain.de/PSTI/PSTI_Declaration_V4_2024.pdf), read in full 2026-08-20. Signed i.V. Christoph Marny, Manager Regulatory Affairs, Saarbruecken, 25.09.2024. "Defined support period: Support is ended when product is End of Service". Products named: "828EV, 828EV-xxyyzz, 830REV, 830REV-xxyyzz (Gateway)" and "LM3800W, LM3800W-2, LM3800EV-xxyyzz (RJO)" — 84505R is not among them. The About section adds: "Security updates can be provided up until the end-of-life date of the applicable products. Please visit Liftmaster Global Homepage (https://www.liftmaster.eu/en-gb/home) regarding the support period of the products." Corroborating rungs the same day: Chamberlain's own OTA firmware article states no support period, and chamberlain.com returns no readable product text at all. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Security-update support period
- [12] Capability research, 2026-08-20. The only automation-facing source located for myQ covers the whole myQ platform rather than this model: myq.com/works-with-myq/ifttt states "Once connected, use your IFTTT app to select an existing myQ Applet, or customize one of your own to trigger other smart home devices based on your garage door's activity", with worked applets — "Close the garage every night at 8PM", "When I leave my house, close my garage door", "When I leave/arrive through the garage, turn off/on my thermostat". That names both a trigger (door activity) and an action (close the door). Chamberlain's own integrations article, re-read the same day, lists Google Home, SmartThings, Hubitat, Wink, Amazon Sidewalk, Thread, Matter, ADT, Apple HomeKit and Siri as NOT supported, and names no capability detail for the platforms it does support. chamberlain.com returns no readable product text at all. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
- [13] Chamberlain's own myQ integrations article, re-read 2026-08-20: partner links without model enumeration or stated controllable functions. No LiftMaster model number appears. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilities
- [14] No source was read for this entry. It records an edit so the edit is not silent, per the freshness guard's own instruction. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-20
- [15] IFTTT myQ service page (closed entity enumeration: 4 triggers, 3 actions, 3 queries) + Chamberlain's own myQ app article on open/close commands (https://support.chamberlaingroup.com/s/article/Customize-open-close-commands-myQ-app), read browser-rendered — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Capabilities
- [16] Chamberlain Group support, "Pair the myQ App with Your Wi-Fi Garage Door Opener" — "Step 1: Sign in to the myQ App · Log in or create an account." The article frames the whole procedure as "how to connect your myQ Wi-Fi garage door opener to your home network and link it to your myQ app account for remote control." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Vendor account required
- [17] No source was read for this entry, deliberately. It records a classification so the classification is not silent: what was classified is evidence this record already carried — the integration catches and the citations already listed on this page — and none of it was altered., verified 2026-08-22
- [18] liftmaster.com — 84505R product page, read 2026-08-30 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-30Backs: Market availability
- [19] myq.com — 'myQ Partners + Integrations', read 2026-08-30 (first-party; myQ is Chamberlain Group's platform brand and LiftMaster's) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-30Backs: Service status, Research status
- [20] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was retired from this record on 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
- [21] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-05 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-05
- [22] https://www.liftmaster.com/secure-view-ultra-quiet-belt-drive-smart-opener-with-camera-and-dual-led-lighting/p/84505RMC (read 2026-09-10) returned 8,021 characters of text: accessory names such as 'TRANSFORMER, WI-FI, NON-BATTERY BACKUP' and no specification table, no band and no app platform. The owner's manual article at https://support.chamberlaingroup.com/s/article/LiftMaster-87504-267-84505R-87802-84602-Owner-s-Manual (read 2026-09-10) was permitted, and returned 54 characters — a page whose content is drawn by the browser, with nothing readable behind it. Both facts stay unrecorded; that is a page that would not display for us, not a maker that does not publish, and the manual is worth re-reading through a browser reader later. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-10
- [23] https://support.chamberlaingroup.com/s/myq-set-up/pair-app-with-garage — Chamberlain's 'Wi-Fi Garage Door Opener with the myQ App' setup guide, read in a browser with its collapsed sections opened on 2026-09-12 (3,776 characters of text a person can see; the same site's article pages had given up only 54 characters when read without a browser, which is why this route was reopened). Verbatim, under the heading '✅What You'll Need': 'A smartphone with the latest version of the myQ app installed' followed by 'Download on the App Store or Download on Google Play'. IDENTITY: the guide is scoped to openers with the radio built in — 'Powered by myQ logo or Wi‑Fi symbol: Wi‑Fi capable' — which is this model, and the guide's own Recommended Videos name 'How to Set up Your LiftMaster Secure View Belt Drive Wi-Fi Garage Door Opener in the myQ App'. The myQ app is the app this record is already sourced to for whether an account is required, from this same page. ⚠ This is NOT the open question about vendor-wide footers: the sentence sits in the guide's own requirements list, not in a footer that renders on every page of the site. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-12Backs: App platforms
- [24] Two pages previously recorded as unreadable were re-read in a browser with their collapsed sections opened on 2026-09-12, and both displayed this time. The product page https://www.liftmaster.com/secure-view-ultra-quiet-belt-drive-smart-opener-with-camera-and-dual-led-lighting/p/84505RMC returned 7,211 characters after opening 40 collapsed sections and carries no band, no 802.11 row and no specification table — its only Wi-Fi sentence is 'Easily connect to a home network with built-in Wi-Fi®'. The owner's manual article https://support.chamberlaingroup.com/s/article/LiftMaster-87504-267-84505R-87802-84602-Owner-s-Manual displayed 1,101 characters, against 54 when read without a browser, and is a download page for the PDF, nothing more. ⚖ The manual sentence this record already quotes — 'Wi-Fi® signal in the garage (2.4 GHz, 802.11b/g/n required)' — states what the BUYER'S NETWORK must provide, which our earlier passes ruled is not a statement of the device's own radio bands (the same reading applied to the Schlage Encode Plus and the Leviton Decora Smart D26HD). The Wi-Fi band therefore stays unrecorded: we looked, and LiftMaster does not print it. The old explanation that these pages would not display is retired — they display, and the maker simply does not print the radio. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-12
- [25] LiftMaster, owner's manual 114-5898-000 (PDF title 'LiftMaster Smart LED Garage Door Opener Owner's Manual - English, Spanish, French', 177 pages), whose cover names 'Belt Drive Models - 87504-267, 84504R, 84505R' and 'Chain Drive Models - 87802, 84602', downloaded 2026-09-12 from the 'Download Manual - English' link this support article publishes. Connect Power, verbatim: 'THERE ARE TWO OPTIONS FOR CONNECTING POWER: OPTION A - TYPICAL WIRING. 1. Plug in the garage door opener into a grounded outlet.' The facing column reads 'OPTION B - PERMANENT WIRING. If permanent wiring is required by your local code, refer to the following procedure.', whose step 2 is 'Remove the attached 3-prong cord.' The battery-backup section corroborates it: '4. Plug in the garage door opener. Verify the battery status LED is flashing green.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12Backs: Power source
- [26] support.chamberlaingroup.com — LiftMaster Owner's Manual for models 87504-267, 84504R, 84505R, 87802 and 84602 (document 114-5898-000), read 2026-09-16. The manual's Preparation section carries a 'Tools Needed' page illustrating a stepladder, hammer, drill with 5/32, 3/16 and 5/16 bits, hacksaw, wire stripper, pliers, a socket wrench with 1/4 to 5/8 sockets, an adjustable wrench, a 7/16 combination wrench, a level, a tape measure and screwdrivers. Verbatim: 'ALWAYS call a trained door systems technician if garage door binds, sticks, or is out of balance.'; 'ONLY operate garage door opener at 120V, 60 Hz to avoid malfunction and damage.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16Backs: Installation
- [27] LiftMaster's own product page for the 84505R, read 2026-09-17. 177,589 bytes of markup contain not one '$' followed by a digit, and no price, priceCurrency, formattedValue or msrp key anywhere. The page is unambiguously this model — its title reads '84505R | Secure View Ultra-Quiet Belt Drive Smart Opener with Camera and Dual LED Lighting | LiftMaster' and its support documents are named 'LiftMaster Model 84505R Product Guide - English'. In place of a price it offers two controls: 'DEALERS NEAR ME', linking /locate-a-dealer, and 'Are you a LiftMaster Partner? Log in to purchase', linking partner.liftmaster.com. ⊕ The control page for that read is https://www.liftmaster.com/liftmaster-3-button-remote/p/L993M, cited here because a bare link does not belong in the control field. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17Backs: Price
- [28] myq.com, "myQ Video Monitoring" plan page, read 2026-09-18. The tier table as it prints today: Basic "$49.99 /Yr", "1 Secure View Garage Door Opener", "7-Days of Access & Motion Events"; Essential "$79.99 /Yr" and "$7.99 /Mo", "Any 1 Device", 14-day; Ultra "$149.99 /Yr" and "$14.99 /Mo", unlimited devices, 30-day. On what the plan gates, verbatim: "No video is recorded without a myQ Video Monitoring plan." On what it does not, verbatim: "myQ products include features such as access and motion notifications and live stream without a plan." On the trial, verbatim: "You'll be enrolled in a free myQ Video Monitoring trial when you first set up your myQ camera, doorbell, video garage door opener or other camera device." Basic is the tier recorded for this product because the 84505R is a LiftMaster Secure View opener and that tier names the product class outright. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18Backs: Subscription
- [29] Chamberlain Group support, "myQ Integrations: Supported Partners and Platforms", re-read 2026-09-18. The supported set still carries Amazon Key and Walmart+ InHome for delivery, Ring, IFTTT, Apple Watch, Ezlo and Thumbtack for smart home, a long vehicle list (Tesla, Kia, Honda/Acura, INFINITI, Nissan, Mercedes-Benz, Volkswagen, Mitsubishi, STEER Tech) and the professional channels Vivint, Alarm.com and Resideo Total Connect, with Control4 and Crestron listed as installer-fitted. The not-supported-or-discontinued set still names Google Home, Samsung SmartThings, Hubitat, Wink, Amazon Sidewalk, Thread, Matter, ADT, Apple HomeKit and Siri voice commands and shortcuts. The policy sentence stands, verbatim: "Chamberlain blocks unauthorized or unapproved third-party integrations to protect customer safety and ensure that only trusted platforms can control garage access." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
- [30] Chamberlain Group support, "Pair the myQ App with Your Wi-Fi Garage Door Opener", re-read 2026-09-18. Requirements, verbatim: "A smartphone with the latest version of the myQ app installed", followed by "Download on the App Store" and "Download on Google Play" links to the myQ listings, and "Wi-Fi network name (SSID) and password." Step 1, verbatim: "Sign in to the myQ App — Open the myQ app. Log in or create an account." The only alternative the guide describes is for openers without a radio of their own, which it routes through a myQ Smart Garage Hub and then through the same sign-in; no route is documented that reaches setup without a myQ account. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18Backs: Vendor account required, App platforms
- [31] Two first-party surfaces read 2026-09-18. (1) liftmaster.com's product page for this model is live and its title still names it: "84505R | Secure View™ Ultra-Quiet Belt Drive Smart Opener with Camera and Dual LED Lighting | LiftMaster". Its feature copy is unchanged — "Ultra-quiet DC motor and strong belt drive system", "1500 lumens of light", a camera described as "1080p, glare-resistant, night vision lens", and "Easily connect to a home network with built-in Wi-Fi". There is no end-of-sale or discontinuation notice, and no consumer price: the action box still offers only "DEALERS NEAR ME" and "Are you a LiftMaster Partner? Log in to purchase." (2) myq.com's partner page still trades and still carries "© 2026 The Chamberlain Group LLC", with its smart-home enumeration naming Vivint, Alarm.com, Resideo, IFTTT, Control4, Crestron, Crestron Home, Ezlo, RTI, Jervis and Sensi. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18Backs: Market availability, Service status, Research status
- [32] The UK PSTI declaration this record cites still answers at its address on 2026-09-18 (198,380 bytes). Two plausible successor addresses on the same host and naming pattern, https://doc.chamberlain.de/PSTI/PSTI_Declaration_V5_2025.pdf and https://doc.chamberlain.de/PSTI/PSTI_Declaration_V5_2026.pdf, neither one has a document there. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
- [33] This record's own entries for the pages that name the route., verified 2026-09-18
- [34] No page was read. This entry records that a capability term was redefined after this record's capabilities were last set., verified 2026-10-19
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check LiftMaster 84505R Secure View Ultra-Quiet Belt Drive Smart Opener with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.