Product Library / Switches & Dimmers

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-28

Leviton Decora Smart Wi-Fi Switch, 15A (D315S)

Compiled by SmartHomeWorkflow Research · Leviton · Switches & Dimmers

⚠ Similar names, different products: Leviton's D315S and D215S are different products despite near-identical names and near-identical listings. This page covers the D315S. Leviton publishes no '3rd Gen' label, so a listing that only says 'Decora Smart Wi-Fi switch' does not tell you which one you are buying.

Exactly which product this is[6]

Model number
D315S
Generation
Not established
Region this page covers
Not established
Also sold or listed as
D315S-1BW · D315S-1RW

“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.

Compatibility

EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaPartialPartial support — see the catch[2][17]Leviton documents two ways in, and the one recorded here is the one that costs you nothing extra. Its own instruction sheet says you can 'set up your device with My Leviton and link your Amazon account, or you can use Matter to set it up directly in the Amazon Alexa app if you have a compatible Matter-enabled Amazon device'. The account-linked route needs only the free app, which is why it is the one recorded; the Matter route keeps the traffic on your own network, but only if you already own an Echo that speaks Matter, and buying one to get there is a real cost rather than a detail. This is still recorded as partial, and the reason has changed — worth knowing if you read this page before. It is no longer that we could not tell how the switch reaches Alexa; Leviton now says, in its own instructions. What is missing is the other half of the evidence this catalogue wants before calling a platform claim settled: a statement from Amazon's own side that this specific model works, and Amazon publishes no product list we are able to read.
Google HomePartialPartial support — see the catch[2][17]The same two routes as Alexa, and it stops at partial for the same reason. Leviton's instruction sheet: 'you can set up your device with My Leviton and link your Google account, or you can use Matter to set it up directly in the Google Home app if you have a compatible Matter-enabled Google device.' The account-linked route is the one recorded, because it needs no hardware you do not already have; the Matter route needs a Google speaker or display that speaks Matter. Google publishes no product directory we can check for this model, so as with Alexa the maker's half of the evidence is now documented and the platform's half still is not.
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][5]Coded differently from Alexa/Google deliberately, and the asymmetry is reasoned rather than arbitrary: Apple Home speaks only HomeKit or Matter, and Leviton documents NO native-HomeKit path for this model — unlike the 2nd-Gen line, which advertised HomeKit prominently. The instruction sheet carries no HomeKit branding at all and its single controller step is 'Connect to a Matter controller (optional)', while the product page says 'Matter ready out of the box'. Matter is therefore the only remaining path, not a guess. Full because on/off is this device's entire function and its certified Matter device type is On/Off Light (0x0100). Platform requirement, not a D315S spec: Leviton states that controlling Matter accessories from the Apple Home app and Siri 'requires an Apple Home hub such as a HomePod or Apple TV running the latest software', and that the Matter pairing code lives in the My Leviton app under Device Settings.In Apple Home you also need: an Apple home hub (a HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV) — Apple Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-06)
SmartThingsPartialPartial support — see the catch[2][3][17]Matter is the only route Leviton documents here, and it needs a hub you may not own. The instruction sheet is specific: 'For use with Samsung SmartThings, use Matter to set up your device in the SmartThings app and connect to a compatible Matter-enabled SmartThings Hub.' That makes SmartThings different from Alexa and Google on this switch — for those two Leviton offers an account-linking route that needs no extra hardware, and for SmartThings it offers none at all. So if you do not already have a Matter-capable SmartThings hub, there is no documented way in without buying one. That is a platform requirement rather than something this switch lacks, the same way Apple Home needs a HomePod or Apple TV here. Recorded as partial because Samsung's own side has not been checked for this model: the route Leviton publishes is clear, and confirmation from Samsung is the half still missing.
Home AssistantPartialPartial support — see the catch[3][17]Worth a note because makers rarely do this: Leviton lists Home Assistant by name on the product page ('Works with Matter, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, Smart Things, Home Assistant, Sonos, Resideo and more'). But it is the weakest of the five claims on this record: Home Assistant appears only on that marketing page and is absent from the installation instructions' own list, and no mechanism is documented. Home Assistant's existing community Leviton integration works through Leviton's cloud, is flagged as legacy, and predates this model entirely, so it cannot be assumed to cover it. Matter is the plausible route but is not stated for this pairing.

Protocols: WIFI · MATTER · BLUETOOTH[1][2][4][11]

What it can do[10]

You can tell it to

  • On/off

It reports

Not established — we could not confirm this from vendor documentation

Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.

What it doesApple HomeGoogle HomeAlexaSmartThingsHome Assistant
On/off? not stated✓ routines can use it? not stated? not stated✓ routines can use it

Platform documentation: Amazon Alexa — automation engine ceiling (eight terms observed; residue inconclusive by refusal) (2026-09-01), Apple Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Google Home — automation engine ceiling (2026-09-01), Home Assistant — automation engine ceiling (2026-08-29), SmartThings — Matter path (2026-09-04)

Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.

Subscription reality[2][18]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[12]

No subscription, paid tier or premium feature is mentioned anywhere in Leviton's specification page or installation instructions, including the sections on scheduling, auto-shutoff and remote control, which are the features a maker would normally gate. Recorded as none on that basis; note this rests on the absence of any paywall language in two Leviton documents rather than an explicit 'no subscription' statement.

Maintenance reality[2]

The catch

Matter works out of the box here — which is the whole point of the model, and the opposite of the Decora Smart Wi-Fi 2nd Gen line, where Matter arrived only through an opt-in Early Access firmware update that broke an existing HomeKit pairing. The trade is that Leviton has stopped documenting a native HomeKit path, so Apple Home households now need a HomePod or Apple TV acting as a Matter controller rather than pairing the switch directly. It also needs a neutral wire, runs on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only, and every multi-location setup costs extra: 3-way control requires a separate companion switch (wired DD0SR or wire-free DAWSC), because a second ordinary switch will not do. One naming trap worth knowing before you shop: this is NOT the 2nd Gen switch. Leviton's own generations page names the 2nd Gen line as 'the D26HD Dimmer, D215S Switch, D23LP Mini Plug-in Dimmer and D215P Mini Plug-in Switch' — D315S is not among them, and the Matter registry files it under family SKU D36HD, the model Leviton lists as the D26HD's replacement. Leviton publishes no '3rd Gen' label for it, so this record does not invent one; treat D315S and D215S as different products despite the near-identical names.

Who it's for

A fit for a household that has a neutral wire in the box, wants a plain on/off smart switch that joins Matter without a firmware project, and controls it from Apple Home with a HomePod or Apple TV already in place. It suits loads beyond lighting too — Leviton rates it for ceiling and exhaust fans, motors and pumps up to 15A and 1/3 HP. Look elsewhere if you have no neutral wire, if your network is 5 GHz-only, or if you want three-way control without buying a matching companion switch. Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings owners now have a documented setup route from Leviton itself — account linking for the first two, Matter for SmartThings — so this is no longer a switch you have to research your way into. Two caveats remain. None of the three is confirmed from the platform's own side, and the SmartThings route needs a Matter-capable SmartThings hub, with no account-linking alternative offered. Home Assistant is the one of the four where Leviton still claims support and documents nothing at all.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

20 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Leviton D315S mobile instruction sheet d315s-mobile-instruction-sheet-enfrsp.pdf (leviton.com, read and its text extracted 2026-08-09 — this closes the earlier note that the D315S sheet's text layer would not extract): NETWORK table 'Wi-Fi® | 802.11 b/g/n networks - 2.4 GHz only · Security | WPA, WPA2, or WPA3 security, or open · Bluetooth | v5.0 · My Leviton App | Supports iOS and Android'; section 8 'What you need to make it work — A 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network with high-speed internet. An iOS or Android mobile device. NOTE: Make sure Wi-Fi and Bluetooth are enabled on your mobile device. A My Leviton account, if connecting using the My Leviton app. A Matter controller or hub, if connecting using Matter.' The French and Spanish sections of the same sheet carry the identical structure. No Leviton document read states what the Bluetooth radio is for. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  2. [2] leviton.com/content/dam/leviton/residential/product_documents/instruction_sheet/d315s-mobile-instruction-sheet-enfrsp.pdf — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-29
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Maintenance, Subscription, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  3. [3] leviton.com/products/d315s-1bw — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-29
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Market availability, Price, Power source
  4. [4] csa-iot.org/csa_product/d315s/ — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Protocols
  5. [5] leviton.com/support/resources/product-support/decora-smart-support/articles/17734341251227-How-Do-I-Add-a-Decora-Smart-Matter-Device-to-the-Apple-Home-App — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-29
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  6. [6] leviton.com/support/resources/product-support/decora-smart-support/decora-smart-wi-fi/leviton-has-released-decora-smart-wi-fi-2nd-gen-switches-and-dimmers-what-is-different-from-leviton-wi-fi-1st-gen-devices — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-29
    Backs: Product identity
  7. [7] Leviton D315S installation instructions (Cat. No. D315S), re-read and its text extracted in full; leviton.com/products/d315s-1bw and store.leviton.com's structured product listing were read the same day — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28
    Backs: Research status
  8. [8] leviton.com Decora Smart Wi-Fi support hub and the cited Apple-Home Matter article, CSA listing, product page and instruction-sheet PDF, re-read 2026-08-18 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  9. [9] What this record already answers about whether a hub is needed, and the entry already claiming it (unnamed entry), re-read 2026-08-19., verified 2026-08-19
  10. [10] leviton.com/products/d315s-1bw, read 2026-08-20: an on/off switch that "supports loads up to 15A and 1/3 HP for control of lights, ceiling fans, exhaust fans, motors, pumps, and more", controlled from "the free My Leviton app for iOS and Android" with "Use your voice for control without lifting a finger—works with Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa, and Apple Siri" and "Works with Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home, SmartThings, Home Assistant, Sonos, Resideo, and is Matter ready out of the box". App-side features listed separately: scheduling and "create scenes to activate multiple lights at once". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  11. [11] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against our settled definition of which radios count as the device's own: certificate CSA25943MAT47253. No outside page was read for this entry — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  12. [12] Leviton D315S installation instructions (Cat. No. D315S, mobile version), §8 'What you need to make it work', §13 'Device setup', §17 'Connect to a Matter controller (optional)', and the ratings/specification block — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use, Vendor account required
  13. [13] Leviton D315S installation instructions, §8 'What you need to make it work' and the full setup flow — read for offline behaviour, which is not addressed — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28
    Backs: Works without the internet
  14. [14] store.leviton.com structured product payload for the Decora Smart Wi-Fi Switch (D315S-1RW, White) and the Leviton D315S installation instructions, both read 2026-08-28 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28
    Backs: Market availability, Service status
  15. [15] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-05 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-05
  16. [16] csa-iot.org certified-product page for Leviton Manufacturing Co., Inc.'s D315S Decora Smart Wi-Fi Switch, read 2026-09-16. Verbatim, as the page prints it: "Product Details Family SKU D36HD Family Variant SKU D315S Firmware Version 0.1.10 Hardware Version 1.0 Certificate ID CSA25943MAT47253-24 Certified Date 09/29/2025 Family ID FAM226347 Product ID 0x1011 Vendor ID 0x109B". The Vendor ID and Product ID in that block are what this entry records; the Family Variant SKU the page prints, D315S, is this record's own model number, and the certificate it prints is the one this record already cites. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  17. [17] Leviton's own D315S installation instructions (PDF, revision DI-000-D315S-20A-M), re-read in full 2026-09-17 — §2 'Wi-Fi Switch' platform list, §8 'What you need to make it work', §13 'Device setup' per-platform routes, and §17 'Connect to a Matter controller (optional)'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  18. [18] Leviton's own D315S installation instructions (PDF, revision DI-000-D315S-20A-M), re-read in full 2026-09-17: the RATINGS and NETWORK specification tables, §3 'Your switch works with', §8 'What you need to make it work', the multi-location companion section, §16's app feature list, and the warranty section. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Subscription, App platforms, Wi-Fi bands it can use
  19. [19] leviton.com/products/d315s-1bw (re-read 2026-09-17, no price shown) and the Leviton store's structured product data for the D315S-1RW listing (read 2026-09-17: price 3499, available true, one variant, code D315S-R02-1RW). — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  20. [20] Leviton's D315S installation instructions, its D315S-1BW product page, and its store's structured product data, all read 2026-09-17. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Research status

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check it against YOUR setup →