Product Library / Plugs & Outlets

Research profile · verified 2026-09-17 · sources re-checked 2026-11-02, unchanged

Leviton Decora Smart Wi-Fi Tamper-Resistant Outlet, 2nd Gen (D215R)

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your home?

[3][5][13][28][30][40][45]
[3][26][30][33][40][46]
[3][30][40]
[7][31][48]

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH[1][2][4][5][13][17][28][29][41][45]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Apple hub or bridge

A HomePod or Apple TV as an Apple Home hub, needed for HomeKit automations and control from outside the house — a platform requirement of Apple Home, not of this outlet. Basic on/off from an iPhone on the same network, and all My Leviton app control, work without one.[4][27][39]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [30] [40]

Documented device function

Scene

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [30] [40]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[3][30][40]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[3][5][13][28][30][40][45]Google HomeWorks[3][26][30][33][40][46]AlexaWorks[3][30][40]SmartThingsWorks[3][17][23][24][25][30][32][40][47]Home AssistantInconclusive[7][31][48]
On/offDevice control
Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

✓ Documented for this model[26][33][46]

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

SceneDevice control
Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Native HomeKit, which on this generation is a genuine advantage over Leviton's newer Matter-only hardware: the product-data sheet carries a 'Works with Apple HomeKit' badge and says to 'Add to an Apple HomeKit network and control with the native Apple Home app on your iOS device, providing compatibility with Siri for voice control'. No Matter needed and no HomePod needed for basic local control — though HomeKit automations and away-from-home access do need a HomePod or Apple TV, which is Apple's rule rather than Leviton's. The hazard to know about before you accept a firmware update: Leviton states that updating a 2nd Gen device to Matter firmware 'will remove your Decora Smart Wi-Fi device's current connection to Apple HomeKit', after which it must be re-added using a Matter pairing code. Leviton's newest setup guide sends Siri users to Matter, and moving to Matter removes the HomeKit connection, so if you use Apple Home, stay on HomeKit until Leviton's Matter help page lists this outlet.[3][5][13][28][30][40][45]

On/off: On/off of the switched (top) outlet only — the bottom outlet is always on and is not an addressable accessory in any ecosystem.

Scene: On/off of the switched (top) outlet only — the bottom outlet is always on and is not an addressable accessory in any ecosystem.

Google Home

Documented by Leviton with its own section — 'Use your voice to control connected lighting and loads with Google Assistant or from the Google Home app' — and a 'works with Hey Google' badge. Same dependency as Alexa: the link runs through the My Leviton cloud, so an internet or service outage takes it with it.[3][26][30][33][40][46]

Alexa

First-party and documented with a mechanism, not just a badge: Leviton's product-data sheet describes controlling 'connected lighting and loads from compatible Alexa built-in devices such as an Amazon Echo, Echo Show, the Alexa app, or even the Decora Smart Voice Dimmer'. The route is the My Leviton cloud link, so voice and remote control depend on Leviton's service and your internet connection — unlike the HomeKit path, which is local.[3][30][40]

SmartThings

Samsung's Works with SmartThings directory lists this outlet by its model number, D215R, as an outlet, so turning it on and off works in SmartThings. Leviton's product sheet also names SmartThings. Neither says how the outlet connects to SmartThings.[3][17][23][24][25][30][32][40][47]

Home Assistant

Leviton names no Home Assistant support for this model. On the Home Assistant side a route plausibly exists but does not name this device: there is an integration for the Decora Smart Wi-Fi line that works through your My Leviton account, and Home Assistant's own page marks it a 'Legacy integration', community-maintained, that asks Leviton's servers for updates at intervals. Its documented device list names six models — DW6HD1-BZ, DW15P-1BW, DW15S-1BZ, D215S-2RW, DN15S-1BW and D2MSD-1BW — and this outlet is not one of them. Since it signs into a My Leviton account rather than a specific device, it may well pick this outlet up; that is our inference, not a documented claim, so we leave the question open with the reasoning attached rather than borrowing confidence from a sibling model.[7][31][48]

Device documentation: [3] [30] [40]

  • Apple Home: On/off of the switched (top) outlet only — the bottom outlet is always on and is not an addressable accessory in any ecosystem.

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][5][13][28][30][40][45]Native HomeKit, which on this generation is a genuine advantage over Leviton's newer Matter-only hardware: the product-data sheet carries a 'Works with Apple HomeKit' badge and says to 'Add to an Apple HomeKit network and control with the native Apple Home app on your iOS device, providing compatibility with Siri for voice control'. No Matter needed and no HomePod needed for basic local control — though HomeKit automations and away-from-home access do need a HomePod or Apple TV, which is Apple's rule rather than Leviton's. The hazard to know about before you accept a firmware update: Leviton states that updating a 2nd Gen device to Matter firmware 'will remove your Decora Smart Wi-Fi device's current connection to Apple HomeKit', after which it must be re-added using a Matter pairing code. Leviton's newest setup guide sends Siri users to Matter, and moving to Matter removes the HomeKit connection, so if you use Apple Home, stay on HomeKit until Leviton's Matter help page lists this outlet.
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][30][40]First-party and documented with a mechanism, not just a badge: Leviton's product-data sheet describes controlling 'connected lighting and loads from compatible Alexa built-in devices such as an Amazon Echo, Echo Show, the Alexa app, or even the Decora Smart Voice Dimmer'. The route is the My Leviton cloud link, so voice and remote control depend on Leviton's service and your internet connection — unlike the HomeKit path, which is local.
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][26][30][33][40][46]Documented by Leviton with its own section — 'Use your voice to control connected lighting and loads with Google Assistant or from the Google Home app' — and a 'works with Hey Google' badge. Same dependency as Alexa: the link runs through the My Leviton cloud, so an internet or service outage takes it with it.
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][17][23][24][25][30][32][40][47]Samsung's Works with SmartThings directory lists this outlet by its model number, D215R, as an outlet, so turning it on and off works in SmartThings. Leviton's product sheet also names SmartThings. Neither says how the outlet connects to SmartThings.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[7][31][48]Leviton names no Home Assistant support for this model. On the Home Assistant side a route plausibly exists but does not name this device: there is an integration for the Decora Smart Wi-Fi line that works through your My Leviton account, and Home Assistant's own page marks it a 'Legacy integration', community-maintained, that asks Leviton's servers for updates at intervals. Its documented device list names six models — DW6HD1-BZ, DW15P-1BW, DW15S-1BZ, D215S-2RW, DN15S-1BW and D2MSD-1BW — and this outlet is not one of them. Since it signs into a My Leviton account rather than a specific device, it may well pick this outlet up; that is our inference, not a documented claim, so we leave the question open with the reasoning attached rather than borrowing confidence from a sibling model.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[3][4][17][20][29][30][40][41]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[4][14]

No plan or paid tier appears anywhere in Leviton's product-data sheet or instruction sheet, including around scheduling, scenes, Away mode and auto-shutoff — the features a maker would normally put behind a fee. We record no subscription on that basis. The distinction that matters to a buyer: a free My Leviton account is required for SOME households and not for all. Leviton's sheet does list it among what you need to make the outlet work — but the same sheet's setup section says the outlet 'can be connected to the My Leviton service, Apple HomeKit, or both', and its HomeKit procedure sets the device up by scanning a code without naming a Leviton account at any step. So: a HomeKit-only household needs no Leviton account, while Alexa and Google households do, because Leviton states 'For voice control with Amazon Alexa or Google Assistant, you will need to set up the device with My Leviton'. Either way this needs an account at most, never a subscription — the account section above carries the detail. Leviton's published per-account ceilings are generous rather than restrictive: up to 99 devices, 50 rooms, 50 activities and 50 schedules per home, and up to 20 homes per account.

Maintenance and offline use[3][4]

Who it's for

A fit for a household that wants one smart, tamper-resistant receptacle in a shallow box, controlled from Apple Home natively without any Matter project — plus Alexa or Google if wanted — and that is comfortable wiring a receptacle or hiring it out. The always-on bottom outlet suits a spot that also charges phones, and the 3/4 HP motor rating covers loads a plug-in module usually cannot. Look elsewhere if you need Matter today, if both outlets need to be switchable, if you want control that does not depend on a vendor account, or if the box has aluminum wiring. Home Assistant users should treat support as unverified for this specific model.

Check availability at Leviton

This opens Leviton's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

49 numbered sources, including 1 where sources disagree· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Leviton D215R instruction sheet DI-000-D215R-02A-W.pdf (leviton.com, read and its text extracted 2026-08-09): NETWORK section 'Wi-Fi | 802.11 b/g/n networks - 2.4GHz only · Security | WPA, WPA2, or WPA3 security, or open · Bluetooth | v5.0'; 'What you need to make it work: A 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network with high-speed internet. An iOS (version 12.0 or later) or Android (version 8.0 or later) mobile device. NOTE: Make sure that Wi-Fi and Bluetooth are enabled on your mobile device. A My Leviton cloud account (set up through the My Leviton app).' Corroborated by decorasmartsupport.leviton.com 'Why does Decora Smart Wi-Fi Require Internet Access?' — devices require internet to communicate with the My Leviton Cloud for control, remote access and configuration — and by its companion article stating that without internet a device can still be controlled manually and will run schedules already stored on it. No Leviton document read describes control over Bluetooth. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  2. [2] leviton.com product specification 'D215R-1BW Decora Smart Wi-Fi 2nd Gen Tamper-Resistant Outlet' (PDF, read 2026-08-09), NETWORK section: 'Wi-Fi - 802.11 g/n @ 2.4GHz' · 'Security - WPA, WPA2 or WPA3, or Open' · 'Bluetooth - v5.0'. APPLICATION section: 'Decora Smart Wi-Fi 2nd Generation devices connect to a Wi-Fi network and the My Leviton app.' The document contains no statement of what the Bluetooth radio does. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  3. [3] Leviton D215R-1BW product data sheet (PDF on leviton.com, rev JAN 2022), read 2026-07-29 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-29
    Backs: Product identity, Batteries, Works without the internet, Subscription, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Capabilities, Market availability
  4. [4] Leviton D215R getting-started guide / instruction sheet (PDF on leviton.com, © 2021), read 2026-07-29 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-29
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Batteries, Works without the internet, Service status, Subscription, Vendor account required
  5. [5] leviton.com Decora Smart Wi-Fi 2nd Gen Matter Support article (first-party support documentation), read 2026-07-29 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-29
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, Works without the internet
  6. [6] leviton.com/products/d215r-1bw (first-party product page), read 2026-07-29 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-29
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  7. [7] home-assistant.io/integrations/decora_wifi (Home Assistant integration documentation), read 2026-07-29 — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-07-29
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  8. [8] Leviton's Decora Smart Wi-Fi 2nd Gen Matter support article and Leviton's own storefront product payload, both re-read 2026-08-28 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28
    Backs: Research status
  9. [9] Leviton instruction sheet DI-000-D215R-02A-W (Decora Smart Wi-Fi Tamper-Resistant Outlet, D215R) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Power source
  10. [10] Leviton instruction sheet DI-000-D215R-02A-W, corroborated by the D215R product specification sheet — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
  11. [11] This catalogue's own hub-edge data, swept 2026-08-19 against the 111 manufacturer records in src/data/manufacturers/., verified 2026-08-19
  12. [12] store.leviton.com structured product payload for the Decora Smart Wi-Fi Tamper-Resistant Outlet (2nd Gen) — handle names D215R-1BW, title and sku name D215R-1RW / D215R-R02-1RW — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28
    Backs: Price, Market availability
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  13. [13] Leviton 'Decora Smart Wi-Fi 2nd Gen Matter Support' article, re-read 2026-08-28 — four-model list unchanged and still excludes the D215R — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility
  14. [14] Leviton D215R getting-started/instruction sheet (Cat. No. D215R, DI-000-D215R-02A) — 'What you need to make it work', 'Device setup', and §11 'Add your device to Apple HomeKit (optional)', re-read and text-extracted in full 2026-08-28 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28
    Backs: Vendor account required, Service status
  15. [15] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-06 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-06
  16. [16] leviton.com — 'Getting Started Guide, Wi-Fi Tamper-Resistant Outlet 2nd Gen' (instruction sheet DI-000-D215R-02A, Cat. No. D215R), read 2026-09-16. Verbatim: 'Installation requires electrical knowledge. If you are unsure of any steps, consult an electrician.'; 'WARNING: TO AVOID FIRE, SHOCK, OR DEATH, turn off power at the circuit breaker.'; 'Verify that you have a Line (Black) wire, Neutral (White) wire, and a Ground (Bare Copper) wire.'; 'Gently push wires into wall box. Screw outlet to box.'; 'If your back box looks different, consult an electrician.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Installation
  17. [17] Leviton's own two documents for this outlet, both downloaded and read in full on 2026-09-17: the D215R product-data sheet (revision January 2022, unchanged) and the D215R getting-started guide. SUBSCRIPTION: the product-data sheet describes every automation feature under one heading and attaches no fee to any of them — scheduling to times or sunrise/sunset, lighting scenes and activities, the auto-shutoff countdown and Away mode — and calls the app itself free, verbatim: 'Control lights and plug loads from anywhere using the free My Leviton app for iOS and Android, no hub required'. It likewise calls the IFTTT link 'the free IFTTT service'. No plan, tier or paid feature appears in either document. The per-home ceilings are unchanged: 'Using My Leviton app,control up to 99 devices, 50 rooms, 50 activities, and 50 schedules per residence and up to 20 residences per account'. THE ACCOUNT QUESTION, both sides still present in the guide and quoted together: its requirements panel lists 'A My Leviton cloud account (set up through the My Leviton app).' while its setup section states 'Decora Smart Wi-Fi 2nd Gen devices can be connected to the My Leviton service, Apple HomeKit, or both.' and 'For voice control with Amazon Alexa or Google Assistant, you will need to set up the device with My Leviton.' POWER AND RATINGS: 'General Use 15A-120VAC, 60Hz', 'LED/CFL/Electronic Ballast 5A', 'Incandescent/Halogen 1500W', 'Magnetic Ballast 15A', 'Motor 3/4 HP', and 'Provides two Tamper Resistant 15A, 120 VAC NEMA 5-15R grounding outlets (top controlled, bottom always on)'. INSTALLATION AND ENVIRONMENT: 'Requires an available interior wall box with Line, Neutral, and Ground wires', 'Operating Temperature 0°C - 40°C (32°F - 104°F)', 'Operating Humidity 10% - 90% non-condensing', 'Wire size #14-12 AWG is needed for Hot and Neutral terminals', 'Tighten screws to 14 in.-lbs. (1.6 N-m)', 'Terminals are suitable for copper or copper-clad conductors only', 'Installation requires electrical knowledge. If you are unsure of any steps, consult an electrician.' The three cautions the record quotes are all still there: do not use with aluminum wire, 'Installation in metal wall boxes or with metal wallplates may result in poor RF performance', and 'For indoor use only'. RADIOS, AND THE TWO DOCUMENTS DO NOT SAY THE SAME THING: the guide reads 'Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n networks - 2.4GHz only' while the later data sheet (revision January 2022) reads 'Wi-Fi - 802.11 g/n @ 2.4GHz' — they agree the radio is 2.4 GHz and nothing else, and they disagree about legacy 802.11b. Both are recorded with the document each came from, and the buyer-facing prose was corrected to say so by the parallel pass cited below. 'Bluetooth v5.0' is listed under a heading called NETWORK in both documents, with no statement anywhere of what that radio is for. APP: 'iOS version 12.0 or later', 'Android version 8.0 or later'. STANDARDS AND WARRANTY: UL 60730-1 and CSA E60730-1, UL Listed for USA and Canada, NOM Certified, Wi-Fi CERTIFIED, FCC Part 15 Class B, 'Two-Year Limited Warranty'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Subscription, Batteries, Wi-Fi bands it can use, App platforms, Protocols, SmartThings compatibility, Service status
  18. [18] Leviton's own store listing for this outlet, read 2026-09-17 through the store's machine-readable product route rather than the rendered page — the route this catalogue reads first on a storefront of this kind, because it is written by the seller and contains no customer-review text by construction. It reports the same listing as before: handle 'decora-smart-wi-fi-tamper-resistant-outlet-2nd-gen-d215r-1bw', title 'Decora Smart Wi-Fi Tamper-Resistant Outlet (2nd Gen), D215R-1RW', vendor Leviton, available true, and exactly ONE variant — 'D215R-R02-1RW' at 3499 cents, available true. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Price, Market availability
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  19. [19] Our own re-verification of this record on 2026-09-17. Leviton's product-data sheet and getting-started guide were both re-downloaded and read in full, and the subscription answer, the account distinction, the electrical ratings, the wiring and environment limits, the radios, the app versions, the agency standards and the warranty were each checked against them; Leviton's own store listing was re-read the same day for the price and for whether the outlet is still sold. Outcome: every answer checked against them held, one previously unestablished field was filled from the same documents, and one published fact turned out to be wrong — the Wi-Fi standard — which a second batch reading the same two documents the same night is what caught. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Research status
  20. [20] Leviton's own D215R product-data sheet (REV JAN 2022) and its D215R getting-started/instruction sheet (DI-000-D215R-02A-W), both re-read in full 2026-09-17 from the PDFs this record already cites. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Subscription, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Works without the internet
  21. [21] Leviton's D215R instruction sheet and product-data sheet, both re-read 2026-09-17 — the sources re-read on 2026-09-17. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Research status
  22. [22] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-18 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-18
  23. [23] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner directory, Leviton's page, read 2026-09-22. SmartThings lists this product on its own row and names the model number this record carries: "Decora Smart Wi-Fi (2nd Gen) Tamper Resistant Outlet", "Model Number" "D215R", "Category" "Outlet". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  24. [24] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner directory, Leviton's page, read on 2026-10-04. The rendered product table lists "Decora Smart Wi-Fi (2nd Gen) Tamper Resistant Outlet Model Number D215R Category Outlet". The page does not say how the outlet connects. The plain read (fingerprint 0543bab9fe8f) printed "No products available in your region." because the table is drawn client-side. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  25. [25] Leviton's D215R product data sheet, read in full on 2026-10-04 (revision JAN 2022). Verbatim: "Works with My Leviton, Amazon Alexa, Hey Google, HomeKit/Siri, IFTTT, SmartThings, Schlage". The sheet gives Alexa, Hey Google, Apple HomeKit, IFTTT and Schlage sections of their own and none for SmartThings, and names no way of connecting to SmartThings. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  26. [26] Google's Automations supported-devices table lists this outlet by model under the Leviton service. Verbatim: "Action · Leviton · OUTLET · D215R · onoff", verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, What your assistant can automate
  27. [27] Leviton's product page for the D215R-1BW, read in full on 2026-10-23. Verbatim: "Decora Smart Outlet, Tamper-Resistant 15A, Wi-Fi D215R-1BW" · "UPC : 078477471463" · "Hub Required : No" · "The bottom outlet is always on, ideal for plugging in smart phone chargers or other devices that do not need to be controlled." · "THE MOST CONNECTED – Works with Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home, SmartThings, and Matter" · "MATTER: Firmware update available via the My Leviton app to enable Matter connectivity" · "Warranty : Two-Year Limited". The page prints no price. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-23
    Backs: Certification and product IDs, Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Market availability
  28. [28] Leviton's Decora Smart Wi-Fi 2nd Gen Matter Support article, read in full on 2026-10-23. Verbatim: "The Decora Smart Wi-Fi 2nd Gen D26HD Dimmer, D215S Switch, D215P Mini Plug-In Switch, and D23LP Mini Plug-In Dimmer can now be firmware updated to enable Matter compatibility." · "Additional Wi-Fi 2nd Gen devices are planned for future updates." · "Please note, for Apple HomeKit users, updating to Matter will remove your Decora Smart Wi-Fi device’s current connection to Apple HomeKit." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-23
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility
  29. [29] Leviton's D215R instruction sheet, read in full on 2026-10-23 (the sheet prints its code as DI-000-D215R-02A). Verbatim: "Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n networks - 2.4GHz only" · "Bluetooth v5.0" · "iOS version 12.0 or later" · "Android version 8.0 or later" · "Installation requires electrical knowledge." · "For indoor use only." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-23
    Backs: Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Service status, Subscription
  30. [30] Leviton's D215R product-data sheet, read in full on 2026-10-23 (the sheet's footer reads REV JAN 2022). Verbatim: "Wi-Fi - 802.11 g/n @ 2.4GHz" · "Bluetooth - v5.0 Certified" · "works with Google Assistant or from the Google Home app." · "native Apple Home app on your iOS device, providing" · "HomeKit/Siri, IFTTT, SmartThings, Schlage" · "Two-Year Limited Warranty". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-23
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Wi-Fi bands it can use, App platforms, Subscription, Batteries, Capabilities
  31. [31] Home Assistant's Leviton Decora Wi-Fi integration page, read in full on 2026-10-23 through the documentation repository. Verbatim: "ha_iot_class: Cloud Polling" · "ha_quality_scale: legacy" · "The following devices are known to work with this integration:", followed by six models, DW6HD1-BZ, DW15P-1BW, DW15S-1BZ, D215S-2RW, DN15S-1BW and D2MSD-1BW. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-23
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  32. [32] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner page for Leviton, read in full on 2026-10-23. Verbatim row: "Decora Smart Wi-Fi (2nd Gen) Tamper Resistant Outlet Model Number D215R Category Outlet". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-23
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  33. [33] Google's Automations supported-devices table, read in full on 2026-10-23. Verbatim row: "Leviton OUTLET D215R onoff Action"; footer "Last updated 2025-09-19 UTC"., verified 2026-10-23
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, What your assistant can automate
  34. [34] Leviton's product page for the D215R-1BW, read in full on 2026-10-24, re-opened for its document links. Its Documents list now offers "View DI-000-D215R-02B-W" and "View Getting Started Guide - Decora Smart | Wi-Fi Dimmer 2nd Gen (Matter) | D215R | FR", beside English, French and Spanish instruction sheets. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-24
  35. [35] Leviton's D215R Getting Started Guide, read in full on 2026-10-24 (the guide prints its code as DI-000-D215R-02B-W). Verbatim: "Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n networks - 2.4GHz only" · "Bluetooth v5.0" · "iOS version 12.0 or later" · "Installation requires electrical knowledge." · "Supports Matter – works with other Matter enabled smart" · "A Matter controller or hub if connecting using Matter." · "Locate and scan the Matter setup code on the device" · "For voice control with Siri, use Matter to set up your device" · "For use with Samsung SmartThings, use Matter to set up your". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-24
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use, App platforms, Installation
  36. [36] Leviton's English instruction sheet for the D215R as linked from the product page, read in full on 2026-10-24 (the sheet prints its code as DI-000-D215R-00B-W). Verbatim: "Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n networks - 2.4GHz only" · "Bluetooth v5.0" · "iOS version 12.0 or later". Its setup section offers the My Leviton service, Apple HomeKit, or both. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-24
  37. [37] Leviton's French Getting Started Guide for the D215R ('Guide de démarrage rapide'), read in full on 2026-10-24 (the guide prints its code as DI-000-D215R-52B-W). It carries the same Matter setup instructions as the English 02B guide. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-24
  38. [38] Record-keeping entry: Leviton's D215R Getting Started Guide and its Decora Smart Wi-Fi 2nd Gen Matter Support article, as quoted on this record's own entries., verified 2026-10-23
  39. [39] Leviton's product page for the D215R-1BW, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "Decora Smart Outlet, Tamper-Resistant 15A, Wi-Fi D215R-1BW" · "UPC : 078477471463" · "Hub Required : No" · "The bottom outlet is always on, ideal for plugging in smart phone chargers or other devices that do not need to be controlled." · "THE MOST CONNECTED – Works with Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home, SmartThings, and Matter" · "MATTER: Firmware update available via the My Leviton app to enable Matter connectivity" · "Warranty : Two-Year Limited". The page prints no price. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Certification and product IDs, Product identity, Required hub or bridge
  40. [40] Leviton's D215R product-data sheet, read in full on 2026-11-06 (the sheet's footer reads REV JAN 2022). Verbatim: "Wi-Fi - 802.11 g/n @ 2.4GHz" · "Bluetooth - v5.0 Certified" · "works with Google Assistant or from the Google Home app." · "native Apple Home app on your iOS device, providing" · "HomeKit/Siri, IFTTT, SmartThings, Schlage" · "Two-Year Limited Warranty". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Wi-Fi bands it can use, App platforms, Subscription, Batteries, Capabilities
  41. [41] Leviton's D215R instruction sheet, read in full on 2026-11-06 (the sheet prints its code as DI-000-D215R-02A). Verbatim: "Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n networks - 2.4GHz only" · "Bluetooth v5.0" · "iOS version 12.0 or later" · "Android version 8.0 or later" · "Installation requires electrical knowledge." · "For indoor use only." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Service status, Subscription
  42. [42] Leviton's D215R Getting Started Guide, read in full on 2026-11-06 (the guide prints its code as DI-000-D215R-02B-W). Verbatim: "Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n networks - 2.4GHz only" · "Bluetooth v5.0" · "iOS version 12.0 or later" · "Installation requires electrical knowledge." · "Supports Matter – works with other Matter enabled smart" · "A Matter controller or hub if connecting using Matter." · "Locate and scan the Matter setup code on the device" · "For voice control with Siri, use Matter to set up your device" · "For use with Samsung SmartThings, use Matter to set up your". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use, App platforms, Installation
  43. [43] Leviton's French Getting Started Guide for the D215R ('Guide de démarrage rapide'), read in full on 2026-11-06 (the guide prints its code as DI-000-D215R-52B-W). It carries the same Matter setup instructions as the English 02B guide. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-11-06
  44. [44] Leviton's English instruction sheet for the D215R as linked from the product page, read in full on 2026-11-06 (the sheet prints its code as DI-000-D215R-00B-W). Verbatim: "Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n networks - 2.4GHz only" · "Bluetooth v5.0" · "iOS version 12.0 or later". Its setup section offers the My Leviton service, Apple HomeKit, or both. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-11-06
  45. [45] Leviton's Decora Smart Wi-Fi 2nd Gen Matter Support article, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "The Decora Smart Wi-Fi 2nd Gen D26HD Dimmer, D215S Switch, D215P Mini Plug-In Switch, and D23LP Mini Plug-In Dimmer can now be firmware updated to enable Matter compatibility." · "Additional Wi-Fi 2nd Gen devices are planned for future updates." · "Please note, for Apple HomeKit users, updating to Matter will remove your Decora Smart Wi-Fi device’s current connection to Apple HomeKit." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility
  46. [46] Google's Automations supported-devices table, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim row: "Leviton OUTLET D215R onoff Action"; footer "Last updated 2025-09-19 UTC"., verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, What your assistant can automate
  47. [47] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner page for Leviton, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim row: "Decora Smart Wi-Fi (2nd Gen) Tamper Resistant Outlet Model Number D215R Category Outlet". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  48. [48] Home Assistant's Leviton Decora Wi-Fi integration documentation source file (blob c957e1e144eb), read in full on 2026-11-06 through the documentation repository. Verbatim: "connects your Leviton Decora Smart Wi-Fi dimmers and switches to Home Assistant via the MyLeviton API" · "The following devices are known to work with this integration:", followed by six models, DW6HD1-BZ, DW15P-1BW, DW15S-1BZ, D215S-2RW, DN15S-1BW and D2MSD-1BW. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  49. [49] Record-keeping entry: Home Assistant's core manifest for the Leviton Decora Wi-Fi integration (blob cea79da7088a), read in full on 2026-11-06 through GitHub's copy of the source. In our words: its iot_class is cloud_polling, its connectivity list names cloud, and its codeowners list is empty. It graded no claim. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-06

Where sources disagree

Where two sources we consider reliable say different things, we publish both positions and what we recorded, rather than quietly picking one.

Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, Works without the internet

We publish: protocols: wifi, bluetooth (matter absent)

Leviton's own documents disagree. Its newest setup guide for this outlet explains Matter setup, and its product page offers a Matter firmware update, while its Matter help page still names four other 2nd Gen models and says more are planned. Until Leviton's documents agree, this record does not list Matter.

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Leviton Decora Smart Wi-Fi Tamper-Resistant Outlet, 2nd Gen (D215R) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker