Product Library / Garage & Access

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-13

Smart Garage Door Opener blaQ

Compiled by SmartHomeWorkflow Research · Konnected · Garage & Access · ~$89 ($89.00 on Konnected's own store (konnected.io, SKU GDOv2-Q) with an active add-to-cart control, read 2026-07-28. Price at time of research, not a live price.)

Exactly which product this is[1]

Model number
GDOv2-Q
Generation
v2 (blaQ), the Security+ signalling model alongside the dry-contact GDO White
Region this page covers
US
Also sold or listed as
GDO blaQ · Konnected GDO blaQ · KIT-GDOv2-Q

“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.

Compatibility

EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomePartialPartial support — see the catch[8][19][29]There is now a direct route, and it is still a beta. Konnected publishes a HomeKit-native alternate firmware for the GDO blaQ, described on its own support site as enabling 'direct integration with Apple Home (HomeKit) without requiring any third-party tools or bridges' — flashed from install.konnected.io over a micro-USB cable from a desktop running Chrome or Edge, then added in the Home app with the setup code Konnected prints, with an Apple Home hub (HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV) on the network. Konnected lists Siri control, automations, scenes, status notifications and away-from-home control through that hub. Two costs are the vendor's own words rather than our inference. The build is labelled 'Experimental Status: This is an experimental open-source firmware', and 'not all features and customizations available in the standard GDO blaQ firmware are available yet' — Konnected does not enumerate what is missing. And it is an ALTERNATE firmware, not an addition: Konnected's route back is to 'reflash your device with the original firmware' to regain 'full feature support and integration with the Konnected app'. Recorded as partial for that reason — Apple Home is reached natively, on firmware the vendor does not call production-ready and which the buyer installs themselves with a computer. The older Matter beta is still documented as a second way in, and it renders the door as blinds or shades.
Google HomePartialPartial support — see the catch[8][20][30]Same experimental Matter beta as before: Konnected's explicitly uncertified firmware, which renders the opener as blinds or shades in the controller app, with a Nest Hub or Nest Audio acting as the Matter controller, and Konnected states it has not tested the device against every Matter hub. Since 2026-08-22 that page also requires acceptance into Konnected's Matter early-access programme and a Konnected account enabled for Matter beta access before the device can be configured. THE VENDOR'S OWN SURFACES DO NOT AGREE ABOUT ANY NON-MATTER GOOGLE ROUTE, and the disagreement is recorded rather than resolved. Konnected's Konnected Cloud article names exactly two cloud platforms — 'cloud-based smart home platforms like SmartThings and Amazon Alexa' — and there is no Google setup guide in the GDO blaQ's Platform Integrations section, which does carry one each for SmartThings, Alexa, Home Assistant, Hubitat and Apple Home. Konnected's general FAQ says instead 'You can link to Google Home through SmartThings', which is SmartThings' Google integration rather than a Konnected one. And the GDO blaQ product page's own FAQ lists 'Alexa, SmartThings, and Google Home' as things Konnected's cloud 'may still be used for'. No first-party procedure for a Konnected-to-Google link exists on any of them, so the level stays on the route the vendor actually documents.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[24][25]Works through Konnected's free cloud service and its Alexa skill: you turn on Konnected Cloud in the device settings, enable the Konnected skill and sign in, and no Echo hub is needed. Two catches. First, this is the cloud half of the product, so the local-only setup that makes the device attractive to Home Assistant owners does not carry Alexa with it. Second, Amazon's own rules for garage doors say that after you ask Alexa to open one, 'Alexa asks What is your voice code? before opening the garage door', a step Konnected's setup page does not mention.
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[7][28]Konnected publishes a real, current setup guide for this — which distinguishes it from the advertised-but-undocumented SmartThings claims elsewhere in this category — and states that the GDO blaQ 'connects to SmartThings via the Konnected Cloud, and does not require a SmartThings hub.' The catch is what that sentence also means: no SmartThings hub is needed because nothing is local. This route depends on Konnected Cloud staying free and staying alive, which is precisely the dependency the local ESPHome path avoids. VENDOR-WORD-ONLY: the working state of this integration is sourced to Konnected's documentation; no SmartThings-published listing for the device was found, so the claim is not cross-verified from the platform side.
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[5][31]The strongest path here and the one the product is built around. The device runs ESPHome firmware and Konnected states it 'integrates natively and locally with Home Assistant', working '100% locally via ESPHome' with automatic discovery after Wi-Fi setup. Home Assistant's own documentation backs the transport rather than the vendor's word: ESPHome is a core integration at Platinum quality with IoT class Local Push, over a persistent local TCP connection with mDNS discovery. No Konnected Cloud account, no subscription and no internet are needed for this route. The cost is the usual one — you have to run and maintain a Home Assistant instance.

Protocols: WIFI[10][27]

Needs before it works: No hub for the Home Assistant path — the device runs ESPHome firmware and talks to Home Assistant directly over your home network, and Home Assistant finds it on the network by itself, so there is no bridge and no vendor cloud in that route. No SmartThings hub either: Konnected's own guide states the GDO blaQ 'connects to SmartThings via the Konnected Cloud, and does not require a SmartThings hub', and the Alexa guide says the same thing about an Echo, working through Konnected's free cloud service and Alexa skill. Apple Home and Google Home both need a firmware change first, and since 2026-08-22 they no longer need the same one. Apple Home has its own HomeKit-native alternate firmware, after which an Apple Home hub (HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV) must be on the network. Google Home is still reachable only through Konnected's experimental Matter firmware, which then needs a Matter controller in the house (a Nest Hub or Nest Audio, a SmartThings Hub or Station, or a supported Echo or eero) plus acceptance into Konnected's Matter early-access programme. Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz only and the device is powered by an included 12 V DC adapter.[16]

What it can do[17]

You can tell it to

  • Open/close

It reports

  • Contact state

Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.

What it doesApple HomeGoogle HomeAlexaSmartThingsHome Assistant
Open/close✓ routines can use it? not stated✓ routines can use it✓ routines can use it✓ routines can use it
Contact state✓ routines can use it? not stated✓ routines can use it✓ routines can use it✓ routines can use it

Platform documentation: Amazon Alexa — automation engine ceiling (eight terms observed; residue inconclusive by refusal) (2026-09-01), Apple Home — automation engine ceiling (2026-09-01), Google Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Home Assistant — automation engine ceiling (2026-08-29), SmartThings — automation engine ceiling (2026-09-01)

Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.

Subscription reality[9][32]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[9][32]

One-time hardware purchase with no subscription anywhere in the path. Konnected Cloud, the service that carries the SmartThings and Alexa integrations, is described by Konnected as 'our free, optional cloud service' and the company states that 'All Konnected devices work fully without Konnected Cloud, giving you complete local control if that's what you prefer.' Worth stating plainly because it inverts the usual pattern here: the cloud is the optional half, not the mandatory one. THE HONEST QUALIFIER is that 'free' and 'optional' are different promises. Choosing SmartThings or Alexa means accepting a cloud dependency that is free today and is a business decision tomorrow; choosing Home Assistant or Hubitat means never touching it.

Maintenance reality[9]

Security updates[18]

Konnected declares security updates for this model until December 31, 2028 (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). After that date the product keeps working; the manufacturer simply has no stated obligation to keep issuing security fixes.

Konnected's signed UK PSTI Statement of Compliance names this exact model number and gives it a defined support period: the table row reads GDOv2-Q, Smart Garage Door Opener blaQ, "4 Years (Until 31/12/2028)". The declaration adds, verbatim: "We will provide updates and patches to address any security vulnerabilities that may be identified in the product for at least the duration of the support period specified above." One qualification belongs beside the date: the same document states "This statement of compliance, including the Minimum Support Period stated herein, is only applicable to the UK." Konnected publishes no separate figure for the US unit this record describes, so 31/12/2028 is the only support-period commitment the manufacturer has published for this model on any surface reachable to us. Signed by Nathaniel Clark, CEO, Orlando, Florida, 04/30/2024. The other two rungs added nothing to it: the product page describes open-source ESPHome firmware published on GitHub and states no period, and no firmware-support policy article exists on the support portal. ⊕ REGION: UK — the declaring document is a UK PSTI Statement of Compliance, filed under the Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure Act. The scope is the filing's own: this is a promise made for the United Kingdom, and it is printed that way so a buyer elsewhere is never told a British legal commitment covers their unit (S-1b).

The catch

Check your learn button before you buy, because this product is defined by which opener you own. Konnected states the exclusion in its own words on the product page: 'NOT compatible with Security+ 3.0 openers with a white learn button (2025 and newer).' The blaQ works by speaking Chamberlain's Security+ and Security+ 2.0 protocols on the wall-button wires; Security+ 3.0 moved accessory communication to encrypted Bluetooth LE, so there is nothing on those wires to speak to and no firmware update will change that. Yellow, orange, red, blue, purple or brown and you are fine; white and you are not. Konnected's sibling GDO White is sometimes suggested as the answer for a white learn button, and it is worth being careful here: Konnected documents the White as a dry-contact device for openers 'that respond to a simple dry contact switch', and its setup guide says nothing about Security+ 3.0 either way — so treat 'get the White instead' as unresolved by the vendor's own documentation rather than as an established workaround. The second thing to know is that this product's ecosystem coverage is split down the middle. Home Assistant and Hubitat are local, free and account-free. SmartThings and Alexa run through Konnected Cloud, which is free today but is still a cloud. Apple Home and Google Home exist only through beta firmware that Konnected itself labels experimental and not Matter certified, and which makes your garage door show up as blinds. Third, and to the product's credit, the install guide documents a safety behaviour most of this category does not: 'An audible & visual warning will activate for 5 seconds before the Konnected device triggers the garage door to close. This is a required safety feature and cannot be disabled.'

Who it's for

Home Assistant or Hubitat households with a Security+ or Security+ 2.0 Chamberlain, LiftMaster, Craftsman or Merlin opener — yellow, orange, red, blue, purple or brown learn button — who want local control, full door status, and the opener's light and lock exposed, without a vendor cloud or an account. It also suits SmartThings and Alexa households who are willing to use Konnected's free cloud, and who want a vendor that actually publishes setup documentation for those platforms rather than just listing the logos. Installation is two wires into a terminal block, no soldering, one screwdriver — realistically intermediate DIY rather than enthusiast, and unlike some open-source alternatives the firmware arrives already flashed. It is the wrong buy for anyone with a white learn button, since Security+ 3.0 is a hardware lockout rather than a gap someone will patch; for Apple Home or Google Home households who want a supported, certified integration today, because the only route is beta firmware that presents the door as window blinds; for anyone whose opener predates 1993 or has a non-functional obstruction beam, which the vendor's own guide excludes; and for owners of non-Chamberlain-family openers, where the dry-contact GDO White is the product Konnected points at instead.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

33 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] konnected.io/products/smart-garage-door-opener-blaq-myq-alternative, read 2026-07-28: product name 'Smart Garage Door Opener blaQ', SKU GDOv2-Q. The company is Konnected Inc. of Orlando, FL per its own terms of service. RECORDED EXPLICITLY: this is NOT ratgdo, and ratgdo is not a Konnected product — the GDO blaQ is Konnected's own adaptation of ratgdo's open-source code into Konnected's gdolib library, described by Konnected's founder in the company forum as independent and amicable (community.konnected.io/t/how-konnected-re-wrote-ratgdo-to-secure-the-future-of-the-open-garage-door/36571). See src/data/products/ratgdo32.json for the mirror of this correction. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-28
    Backs: Product identity
  2. [2] konnected.io/products/smart-garage-door-opener-blaq-myq-alternative, first read 2026-07-28 and RE-READ 2026-08-22 through the store's own structured product listing, which served the store's purchase state in full: title 'Smart Garage Door Opener blaQ', variant SKU KIT-GDOv2-Q, price 8900 cents, available true. $89.00 and the active purchase path are therefore unchanged across 25 days. Availability is taken from the purchase state rather than from a rendered price, which is our standing discipline for stores that display a price whether or not the product can actually be bought. NOTE ON SOURCE CONDUCT: on the first request of the 2026-07-28 session konnected.io asked us to wait 60 seconds before it would answer, and it answered normally after that stated wait; on 2026-08-22 it answered first time with no such signal at all. The host slows automated readers down rather than turning them away. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  3. [3] Konnected's own product page states it directly: 'NOT compatible with Security+ 3.0 openers with a white learn button (2025 and newer)', and lists yellow, orange, red, blue, purple and brown as the supported learn-button colours. THIS RESOLVES AN OPEN DISCREPANCY: an earlier research pass reached only Konnected's compatibility article (support.konnected.io/what-garage-doors-does-your-garage-door-opener-work-with), which enumerates Security+ 1.0 and 2.0 learn-button colours and says nothing at all about Security+ 3.0 or the white button, while secondary sources asserted the exclusion. Because learn-button colour is this category's signature question, the posture was held open rather than inferred from silence. It is now sourced to a vendor page that states it. The compatibility article remains silent on 3.0 as of this reading, and the GDO White setup guide (support.konnected.io/konnected-smart-garage-door-opener-white-v2-setup-and-installation-guide) describes the White only as a dry-contact device for openers 'that respond to a simple dry contact switch' with no Security+ 3.0 statement either way — so 'buy the White instead' is NOT established by Konnected's documentation and is recorded as unresolved. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-28
  4. [4] Konnected's own install guide, 'GDO blaQ Install Guide (web) 2025-10', at support.konnected.io/hubfs/. Quoted verbatim: 'An audible & visual warning will activate for 5 seconds before the Konnected device triggers the garage door to close. This is a required safety feature and cannot be disabled.' Also from the same guide: 'Do not disable the built-in audible and visual pre-closing warning'; 'Use only with garage door openers manufactured after 1993 with a functional obstruction sensor (beam)'; 'Only install this product on a sectional garage door'; an included warning wall sticker to be affixed 'at eye-level near the garage opener wall button'; an Internal Sounder shown as a labelled component; wiring of one red/white pair into terminals labelled WALL BTN and TO GDO with existing wiring left in place; a mini screwdriver as the listed tool; power adapter included; and Improv Wi-Fi Bluetooth LE provisioning via Chrome or Edge at install.konnected.io/wifi. The guide also carries the automation caution quoted in maintenance.notes. THIS IS A CATEGORY-LEVEL FINDING: doc 02 §16 records that across all seven launch records only Aladdin Connect documented the 16 CFR 1211 §1211.14 audible-and-visual pre-close warning. The GDO blaQ documents it AND states it cannot be disabled, which is a stronger statement than the disableable beeper Meross documents. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-28
  5. [5] Konnected's own guide (support.konnected.io/connect-gdo-blaq-to-home-assistant) states the GDO blaQ 'is made with ESPHome firmware which integrates natively and locally with Home Assistant', works '100% locally via ESPHome', and is discovered automatically after Wi-Fi setup. Per 09 §3 the platform-side claim is sourced to the platform: home-assistant.io/integrations/esphome/ classifies ESPHome as a core integration at Platinum quality with IoT class Local Push, over a persistent local TCP connection with mDNS discovery, introduced in 0.85. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-28
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  6. [6] support.konnected.io/using-the-garage-door-opener-with-alexa documents the integration and its commands — 'Alexa, is the garage door open?', 'Alexa, close the garage door.', 'Alexa, open the garage door.' — states that 'The Garage Door Opener connects to your home WiFi and communicates with Alexa via Konnected's free-to-use cloud service and Alexa skill', and notes the skill 'is currently only available in countries with English as the primary language'. THE OPENING CONSTRAINT IS SOURCED TO AMAZON, because Konnected's page does not mention it: developer.amazon.com/en-US/docs/alexa/device-apis/alexa-modecontroller.html states that for a garage door, 'After the user asks to open the garage door, Alexa asks What is your voice code? before opening the garage door', and that a garage-door add-on must use Alexa.ModeController with the GARAGE_DOOR display category or it 'won't be certified'. Amazon's page does not state whether closing also requires a code, so no claim is made about closing. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-28
  7. [7] support.konnected.io/connect-gdo-blaq-to-smartthings states that the GDO blaQ 'connects to SmartThings via the Konnected Cloud, and does not require a SmartThings hub', and documents the linking flow (enable Konnected Cloud in device settings, then add a partner device in SmartThings and link the Konnected Cloud account). RECORDED AS VENDOR-WORD-ONLY per the cross-party rule: no SmartThings-published device listing or partner page for the GDO blaQ was found, so the working state of this integration rests on Konnected's documentation alone. What the same source establishes negatively is that this path is cloud-brokered, not local. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-28
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  8. [8] support.konnected.io/matter-support-experimental-for-the-gdo-blaq, read 2026-07-28 and RE-READ 2026-08-22. It still opens with 'Matter support is experimental!', still describes the build as development firmware for public beta testing that is 'NOT Matter certified and may not work on all Matter controllers', and still states that because Matter lacked a garage-door device type, 'the GDO blaQ will appear in your Matter controller app as blinds or shades!' with a separate light bulb device for the opener light. It names Apple Home (with an Apple Home Hub), Google Home (with a Nest Hub or Nest Audio), SmartThings (with a Hub or Station) and Alexa (with a supported Echo or eero) as controllers, and cautions that Konnected has not tested every Matter hub. ONE THING IS NEW SINCE THE FIRST READ and it is a gate on the route rather than a detail: the configuration section now states 'You need to be accepted into Konnected's Matter EAP program, and your Konnected account enabled for Matter (beta) access', with a link to apply. Flashing is still via install.konnected.io using Chrome or Edge, with rollback to stock firmware offered. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  9. [9] support.konnected.io/introduction-to-konnected-cloud describes Konnected Cloud as 'our free, optional cloud service that extends the power of your Konnected devices by connecting them to cloud-based smart home platforms', built 'on Amazon Web Services (AWS) and leveraging AWS IoT', and states affirmatively that 'All Konnected devices work fully without Konnected Cloud, giving you complete local control if that's what you prefer.' This is an affirmative statement of optionality rather than an argument from absence. The qualifier recorded in subscription.notes — that the SmartThings and Alexa integrations are the part that depends on this free service continuing — follows from Konnected's own setup guides for those two platforms. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-28
    Backs: Subscription, Maintenance, Works without the internet, Vendor account required
  10. [10] The install guide documents 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi as the control transport and Improv Wi-Fi Bluetooth LE purely as a provisioning method, so Bluetooth is not recorded as a protocol. MATTER IS DELIBERATELY NOT LISTED: Konnected's own Matter page states the firmware is 'NOT Matter certified', which is an affirmative vendor denial rather than an unverified absence. A csa-iot.org certified-products search for 'konnected' returned no usable result that day — the search page rendered its default empty state rather than the results of a search that had actually run, so it is recorded as INCONCLUSIVE, not as a confirmed negative. The vendor's own statement is what settles this, and it settles it in the same direction., verified 2026-07-28
    Backs: Protocols
  11. [11] Every load-bearing claim here rests on konnected.io, support.konnected.io, home-assistant.io or developer.amazon.com. Search-result summaries were used only to locate vendor URLs and were not treated as evidence for any claim. HOST CONDUCT, per the reading policy ratified 2026-07-28: konnected.io asked us to wait 60 seconds at the first request and answered on a single honoured retry; support.konnected.io answered every request without complaint, which is why several claims here are cited to the support subdomain rather than the store — the policy's rule 5 preference, borne out again. No user-agent, proxy or header manipulation was used anywhere in this research. NO FABRICATED CERTIFICATION CLAIM was encountered for this product, unusual for this category — the vendor's own Matter page states the uncertified status plainly, which is the opposite of the failure mode we watch for in this category., verified 2026-07-28
  12. [12] Re-read 2026-08-22 across every Konnected surface this record cites, replacing a 2026-08-11 migration stamp whose prose had been truncated mid-sentence at migration. Nothing has been withdrawn and something has been added: the storefront still sells the model (SKU KIT-GDOv2-Q, available, $89.00), the Konnected Cloud article still describes a maintained AWS-hosted free service with firmware updates and device customisation, the SmartThings, Alexa and Home Assistant setup articles all still stand unchanged, and a NEW first-party article — 'Connect the GDO blaQ with Apple Home (HomeKit)' — publishes a HomeKit-native firmware for this model that did not exist at the last check. No sunset, withdrawal or capability-removal notice appears on any surface read. The two qualifiers on this record's own service note are unchanged and are not vendor-side: the SmartThings and Alexa routes still run through Konnected Cloud and would end with it, and Security+ 3.0 remains a hardware lockout imposed by Chamberlain — Konnected's product page still states plainly that Security+ 3.0 openers 'are not compatible with current Konnected GDO products'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Service status
  13. [13] Scheduled re-verification, 2026-08-22. The primary source re-read for this stamp is Konnected's own GDO blaQ product page at konnected.io/products/smart-garage-door-opener-blaq-myq-alternative, together with the store's own structured product listing, and the record's facts were confirmed against it line by line: 'Works with Chamberlain/LiftMaster garage door openers with yellow, red, orange, blue, purple, or brown learn button, including those with myQ built-in. NOT compatible with Security+ 3.0 openers with a white learn button (2025 and newer)'; 'Works locally with Home Assistant, Hubitat, HomeSeer, Control4* and via Konnected Cloud with SmartThings & Alexa'; 'This product ships with ESPHome-based firmware pre-loaded for local, secure, and open-source integration with Home Assistant and Hubitat'; and 'No subscriptions, no locked ecosystems.' Identity, price, availability, protocols, subscription and the local-first architecture all reconciled. The pass also found two things the record did not carry — a HomeKit-native firmware article and an early-access gate on the Matter beta — and both are corrected in this same edit rather than stamped over. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Research status
  14. [14] Amazon's own reference for what an Alexa smart-home skill can control (the Alexa.ModeController interface) — read against the claim it is cited for, verified 2026-08-15
  15. [15] Konnected GDO blaQ Install Guide (web, 2025-10) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Power source
  16. [16] Konnected's own support documentation — the Home Assistant, SmartThings and Matter-support articles — all already cited on this record — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: What it provides to your home, Required hub or bridge
  17. [17] konnected.io product page for the GDO blaQ, read 2026-08-20: "Open/close the garage fully or partially and detect partially open states", with obstruction detection and door-position monitoring, and platform scope given as local control on "Home Assistant, Hubitat, HomeSeer, and Control4 (via paid driver)" with cloud access for SmartThings and Alexa. The device is built on ESPHome and described as "local-first control", "cloud-optional". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  18. [18] Konnected Inc., UK PSTI Statement of Compliance (support.konnected.io/hubfs/Konnected_UK_PSTI-20240430.pdf), read in full 2026-08-22. Model table, verbatim row: "GDOv2-Q | Smart Garage Door Opener blaQ | 4 Years (Until 31/12/2028)". Also verbatim: "We will provide updates and patches to address any security vulnerabilities that may be identified in the product for at least the duration of the support period specified above" and "This statement of compliance, including the Minimum Support Period stated herein, is only applicable to the UK." Signed: Nathaniel Clark, CEO, Orlando, Florida, dated 04/30/2024. Corroborating rungs the same day: konnected.io's GDO blaQ product page documents open-source firmware on GitHub and states no support period. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Security-update support period
  19. [19] support.konnected.io/connecting-the-gdo-blaq-with-apple-home-homekit, 'Connect the GDO blaQ with Apple Home (HomeKit)', read 2026-08-22. Verbatim: 'The HomeKit native firmware is an experimental alternate firmware for the Konnected GDO blaQ that enables direct integration with Apple Home (HomeKit) without requiring any third-party tools or bridges. Once flashed with this firmware, your GDO blaQ will be discoverable natively in Apple's Home app and can communicate directly with HomeKit, giving you access to your garage door opener through the Apple Home ecosystem, including Siri voice control.' Requirements listed: an iOS device with the Home app, an Apple Home hub (HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV) on the network, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and 'Computer and micro-USB cable to flash the HomeKit firmware' from install.konnected.io using Chrome or Edge. The device then joins Apple Home with a printed setup code. The vendor's own limits, quoted rather than summarised: 'Experimental Status: This is an experimental open-source firmware. Since this is an alternate firmware, not all features and customizations available in the standard GDO blaQ firmware are available yet. Features may be added or changed as development continues.' And on reversal: 'If you want to return to the standard GDO blaQ firmware with full feature support and integration with the Konnected app, you can reflash your device with the original firmware at any time.' This article did not exist in the surfaces read on 2026-07-28, when the only documented Apple route was the Matter beta; the level stays partial because the route is a vendor-labelled experimental firmware the buyer must flash, not because the ecosystem is now poorly served. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  20. [20] Three Konnected surfaces read 2026-08-22 and they do not say the same thing. (1) support.konnected.io/introduction-to-konnected-cloud: 'Konnected Cloud is our free, optional cloud service that extends the power of your Konnected devices by connecting them to cloud-based smart home platforms like SmartThings and Amazon Alexa' — two platforms named, Google absent, and the article's own bullet reads 'Cloud-enabled option: Seamlessly integrate with Alexa and SmartThings.' (2) support.konnected.io/is-konnected-compatible-with-google-home-or-matter, the general FAQ: 'You can link to Google Home through SmartThings.' That is SmartThings' Google integration, reached after the Konnected Cloud link, not a Konnected-to-Google path; the rest of that article's Matter discussion is about the Alarm Panel Pro rather than this model. (3) The GDO blaQ product page's FAQ: 'Konnected's own cloud service may still be used for integrations such as Alexa, SmartThings, and Google Home.' No setup procedure for a Konnected-to-Google link exists on any of the three, and the GDO blaQ's Platform Integrations section carries articles for SmartThings, Alexa, Home Assistant, Hubitat and Apple Home — and none for Google. Recorded as a disagreement inside one vendor's own documentation, not adjudicated: the level stays on the Matter route Konnected actually documents step by step. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  21. [21] support.konnected.io/connecting-the-gdo-blaq-with-apple-home-homekit, read 2026-08-22, lists what the device needs and names the band outright: 'WiFi network (2.4GHz)'. That matches what this record's install-guide entry already reports as the control transport, and no 5 GHz or 6 GHz capability is claimed on the product page, the install guide or any Platform Integrations article. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
  22. [22] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance — a catalogue-wide pass that filled in where each maker's security-update promise applies, verified 2026-08-27
  23. [23] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
  24. [24] Konnected, 'Connect the GDO blaQ to Alexa' (read 2026-09-13): 'The GDO blaQ connects to Alexa via the Konnected Cloud, and does not require an Echo hub. After you've installed the GDO blaQ in your garage, connect it to Konnected Cloud, and then link your Konnected Cloud account to Konnected's Alexa Skill.' Steps: 'Enable Konnected Cloud in your GDO blaQ device settings.' · 'Install the Konnected skill for Alexa from the Alexa Skills store.' · 'Tap Enable to Use and then sign in to your Konnected Cloud account to link it to Alexa.', verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  25. [25] Amazon Alexa developer documentation, Alexa.ModeController interface (read 2026-09-13; the en-US address now redirects to developer.amazon.com/docs/alexaplus/device-apis/alexa-modecontroller.html). Verbatim: 'If your device is a garage door opener, you must use both the Alexa.ModeController interface and the GARAGE_DOOR display category.' · 'Important: If you use a different controller, or a different display category, your garage door add-on won't be certified.' · 'For a garage door device, after the user asks to open the garage door, Alexa asks "What is your voice code?" before opening the garage door.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  26. [26] Konnected's own store listing data (read 2026-09-13): title 'Smart Garage Door Opener blaQ', in stock, with one version — SKU 'KIT-GDOv2-Q', priced at $89.00 — and that version in stock too. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  27. [27] Konnected, 'GDO blaQ Technical Specs' (read 2026-09-13): SKU 'KIT-GDOv2-Q'; Wireless '802.11 b/g/n 2.4GHz Wi-Fi' · 'Bluetooth LE: Bluetooth 5, Bluetooth mesh' · 'Frequency Range: 2412 ~ 2484MHz'; Power 'Included Power Adapter: 12VDC 1A (2A in some countries)' · 'DC Power Only!'; USB 'Micro-USB Type B' 'provided for firmware servicing'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source
  28. [28] Konnected, 'Connect the GDO blaQ to SmartThings' (read 2026-09-13): 'The GDO blaQ connects to SmartThings via the Konnected Cloud, and does not require a SmartThings hub.' Steps: 'In the SmartThings app, tap the + icon and Add device > Partner device > By brand > Konnected'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  29. [29] Konnected, 'Connect the GDO blaQ with Apple Home (HomeKit)' (read 2026-09-13): 'The HomeKit native firmware is an experimental alternate firmware for the Konnected GDO blaQ that enables direct integration with Apple Home (HomeKit) without requiring any third-party tools or bridges.' · 'Experimental Status : This is an experimental open-source firmware. Since this is an alternate firmware, not all features and customizations available in the standard GDO blaQ firmware are available yet.' · needs 'Apple Home hub (HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV)' and 'Computer and micro-USB cable to flash the HomeKit firmware'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  30. [30] Konnected, 'Matter Support (Experimental) for the GDO blaQ' (read 2026-09-13): 'The GDO blaQ is NOT Matter certified and may not work on all Matter controllers.' · 'Google Home (with a Nest Hub or Nest Audio)' · 'the GDO blaQ will appear in your Matter controller app as blinds or shades!' · 'You need to be accepted into Konnected's Matter EAP program, and your Konnected account enabled for Matter (beta) access.' Cross-read the same day, Konnected's 'Introduction to Konnected Cloud' still names only 'SmartThings and Amazon Alexa' as its cloud platforms. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  31. [31] Home Assistant, ESPHome integration documentation (read 2026-09-13): 'Its IoT class is Local Push.' · '🏆 Platinum quality'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  32. [32] Konnected, 'Introduction to Konnected Cloud' (read 2026-09-13): 'Konnected Cloud is our free, optional cloud service that extends the power of your Konnected devices by connecting them to cloud-based smart home platforms like SmartThings and Amazon Alexa.' · 'All Konnected devices work fully without Konnected Cloud, giving you complete local control if that's what you prefer. Your devices do not connect to Konnected Cloud until you explicitly opt in by enabling Konnected Cloud using the Konnected App.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Subscription, Works without the internet, Vendor account required, Research status, Service status
  33. [33] support.konnected.io — 'Installation Guide | GDOv2-Q' for the GDO blaQ (revised 2025-10), read 2026-09-16. Verbatim: 'What's Included 1. GDO blaQ 2. Power adapter 3. Hook-up wire 4. Mounting accessories 5. Warning wall sticker 6. Mini screwdriver'; 'Leave all existing wires in-place and insert one end of the red and white wire into red and white terminals on back of the garage opener motor.'; 'Secure the wire out of the way of the path of the moving garage door and mount the device using the included mounting screws or command strips.'; 'Cut out and tape to the ceiling or beams for mounting with screws. Or use 3M Command Strips for damage-free mounting on your garage opener.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Installation

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check it against YOUR setup →