Product Library / Security Systems & Alarms
Research profile · last verified 2026-09-19Kidde Smoke + Carbon Monoxide Alarm with smart features (P4010ACSCO-WF)
Exactly which product this is[1][23]
- Model number
- P4010ACSCO-WF
- Generation
- Kidde HomeSafe
- Region this page covers
- US
- Also sold or listed as
- Kidde P4010ACSCO-WF · Kidde 2-in-1 Wi-Fi Alarm with App · Kidde Smart Smoke and CO Alarm
“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.
Compatibility
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | PartialPartial support — see the catch[3] | Partial, and the limit is the important part for a life-safety device. Kidde's own data sheet scopes it exactly: "Compatible with Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa: Use voice commands to check alarm status and connection." That is a status query — Kidde does not claim anywhere that a smoke or CO ALARM EVENT reaches Alexa. If you want to be told about a fire by an Echo, nothing Kidde publishes says this alarm will do it. |
| Google Home | PartialPartial support — see the catch[3] | Same scope and the same limit as Alexa, from the same sentence — status and connection checks only, with no published claim that alarm events reach Google Home. Kidde's smart-home page words it as "Compatible with Google Home and Amazon Alexa", the data sheet as "Google Assistant"; the capability described is identical in both. |
| Apple Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4] | No Apple Home support is claimed by Kidde on the product page, the data sheet or the user guide, and the Matter route is closed as well — a CSA certified-products search for Kidde returns "No Entries Found", so there is no certified Kidde end product of any kind. |
| SmartThings | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4] | Not supported, from both sides. Samsung publishes no Kidde partner page at all — the address where one would live does not exist — and Kidde names no SmartThings integration anywhere on its own pages. |
| Home Assistant | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4] | Home Assistant ships no official Kidde integration — its integrations index contains no Kidde entry. Unofficial community components exist and are not covered by this claim. |
What it can do[11][23]
You can tell it to
None documented by the vendor
It reports
- Smoke alarm
- CO alarm
Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.
| What it does | Google Home | Alexa |
|---|---|---|
| Smoke alarm | ✓ routines can use it | ? not stated |
| CO alarm | ✓ routines can use it | ? not stated |
Platform documentation: Amazon Alexa — automation engine ceiling (eight terms observed; residue inconclusive by refusal) (2026-09-01), Google Home — automation engine ceiling (2026-09-01)
- Alexa: Status queries only, in Kidde's own words: "Compatible with Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa: Use voice commands to check alarm status and connection." Kidde names no path by which an alarm event reaches Alexa, so an Alexa routine cannot react to smoke or CO from this device — you can ask it whether the alarm is well, not be told by it that it is not.
- Google Home: Status queries only, in Kidde's own words: "Compatible with Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa: Use voice commands to check alarm status and connection." Kidde names no path by which an alarm event reaches Google Home, so a Google automation cannot react to smoke or CO from this device.
Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.
Subscription reality[22]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.
Nothing on this alarm is paywalled and no subscription is offered for it. One nearby fact recorded so it is not mistaken for this product: Kidde does sell an "Advanced Home Health" subscription, at $1.99 a month or $19.99 a year, and Kidde's own page lists what it buys — indoor air quality notifications, mould and thermal-comfort alerts, a weekly air quality report and a 10% store discount. Every one of those is generated by an indoor-air-quality sensor, which the models that carry one have (the P4010ACSCOAQ-WF and the plug-in CO/IAQ monitor) and this alarm does not. No paid tier touches the smoke or CO function of this alarm, its siren, its interconnect or the phone alert it sends.
Maintenance reality[1][2]
- Batteries: 3 V sealed lithium backup battery, not user-replaceable — it lasts the life of the alarm — expect roughly 120 months per set
- Works without the internet: Not established — we have not sourced this yet. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
- Hard 10-year end of life, and it is the alarm rather than the battery that expires: after 10 years of operation the unit chirps and says "Replace alarm, press button to temporarily silence", and the user guide instructs the owner to write a "Replace by" date 10 years out at install. Photoelectric smoke sensor plus electrochemical CO sensor; 85 dB at 10 ft. Powered by 120 VAC 60 Hz (53 mA max) with the sealed lithium cell as backup. Interconnects with up to 24 Kidde devices, but only over hardwired AC interconnect and, in Kidde's words, "not designed to be interconnected with other manufacturer's products." Cloud dependence is recorded false because detection and sounding are wholly local — but note the inverse, from the user guide: "Wi-Fi features do not function without AC power", so in a mains outage the alarm still protects the house and the app goes quiet.
Security updates[13]
Kidde publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.
Kidde publishes no security-support period for its connected alarms. Its own firmware article for smart products says only, verbatim, that "When a firmware update is available for your device, we will prompt you to install it", and adds that keeping the device updated matters for detection and protection - how updates arrive, never for how long they will come. The product page for this alarm states a 10-year limited warranty on the alarm, which is a hardware warranty and not a patching commitment, and says nothing about security updates. No regulatory declaration was found: these Wi-Fi alarms are sold through Kidde's US and Canada storefronts, so the UK PSTI regime that produces per-model support-period declarations elsewhere in this catalogue does not attach to them, and Kidde publishes no equivalent voluntary statement.
The catch
Kidde is unusually blunt about the limits of its own smart features, and the warning is worth reading before the marketing: "Mobile alert services are ancillary to the product and for informational purposes only. They are not intended or suitable for life safety or critical purposes nor do these services take the place of third-party life safety monitoring services." Three practical consequences. The voice integration is a status check, not an alarm relay — nothing Kidde publishes says a fire or CO event reaches Alexa or Google. Wi-Fi features stop entirely without mains power, so in an outage the alarm still sounds in the house but your phone hears nothing. And the interconnect that makes every alarm sound together is hardwired and Kidde-only, so it will not bridge to another brand's alarms.
Who it's for
Households replacing hardwired Kidde alarms who want phone notification and a remote hush without adding a hub or a subscription, and who accept that the smart layer is a convenience rather than a monitoring service. Not a fit for anyone wanting alarm events to drive smart-home automations, or expecting the alarm in Apple Home, SmartThings or Home Assistant.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
26 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] Kidde product data sheet PDS-KL-P4010ACSCO-WF-0522 (first-party, brand.kidde.com) — "Smoke + Carbon Monoxide Alarm with smart features, 2-in-1 Wi-Fi Alarm with App, Model P4010ACSCO-WF"; Technical Specifications table: Power Source "120VAC 60Hz, 53mA max / 3V sealed lithium battery backup", Sensor(s) "Smoke: Photoelectric / CO: Electrochemical", Audio Alarm "85dB at 10ft", Wi-Fi "802.11b/g/n (2.4GHz) Wi-Fi (Wi-Fi features only work with AC power connected)"; Interconnect "Up to 24 Kidde devices"; End of Unit Life "After 10 years of operation, chirps and voice 'Replace alarm, press button to temporarily silence'"; UPC 047871310425. hubRequired is false — the sheet states "No additional hub is needed to set up your Kidde smart devices." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Maintenance, Required hub or bridgeChecked 2026-07-31. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
- [2] Kidde user guide P4010ACSCO-WF_UG (first-party, brand.kidde.com) — "The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and the manufacturer recommend replacing this alarm ten years from" the install date, with the guide instructing the owner to write the "Replace by" date on the unit at install; "Wi-Fi COMPATIBILITY: This model requires a home Wi-Fi router… Requires 802.11b/g/n (2.4GHz) Wi-Fi" and "NOTE: Wi-Fi features do not function without AC power." Section 11.4: "Your WiFi alarm is compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Maintenance, Service statusChecked 2026-07-31. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
- [3] Kidde data sheet PDS-KL-P4010ACSCO-WF-0522, verbatim: "Compatible with Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa: Use voice commands to check alarm status and connection." kidde.com/smart-home states the same capability as "Compatible with Google Home and Amazon Alexa. Use voice commands to check alarm status and connection." The user guide's section 11.4 confirms compatibility but adds no further function. Both assistants are recorded as partial support rather than full because every Kidde surface describes a status query and none claims that alarm events are delivered to either assistant — for a smoke and CO alarm that distinction is the whole point, so it is recorded rather than smoothed over. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
- [4] Sources outside Kidde, read for what Kidde itself does not say: the Matter certification registry at csa-iot.org returns "No Entries Found" for a Kidde search — no Matter certification of any kind, which closes the Matter route into Apple Home (as a control, the same search finds 12 products for eufy, so the search itself works); Samsung publishes no Kidde partner page at partners.smartthings.com/partners/kidde, while the equivalent eufy page is live; and Home Assistant's index of integrations carries no Kidde integration, though the same index carries two for eufy. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
- [5] The US Consumer Product Safety Commission's own recall database at saferproducts.gov, searched on product name for Kidde: 11 results. The nearest in scope is "Kidde Recalls TruSense Smoke and Combination Smoke/Carbon Monoxide Alarms Due to Risk of Failure to Alert Consumers to a Fire" (2021-05-06), whose description names the affected units as "Model Series 2040, 2050, 2060 and 2070" — specifically 2040-DSR, 2050-DS10, 2060-ASR, 2070-VDSCR, 2070-VASCR, 2070-VDSR and 2070-VASR, and only those bearing the TruSense logo or "AMBER=FAULT". P4010ACSCO-WF appears in no recall in the set. Recorded because a smoke-alarm record should state this outright, and because the model-number families are close enough that a headline-level reading would have been wrong in either direction. — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-07-31
- [6] Kidde data sheet PDS-KL-P4010ACSCO-WF-0522, verbatim: "WARNING: Mobile alert services are ancillary to the product and for informational purposes only. They are not intended or suitable for life safety or critical purposes nor do these services take the place of third-party life safety monitoring services. This product's smartphone and tablet notifications require a stable Wi-Fi connection, and are only as reliable as your home Wi-Fi network." The sheet also footnotes that the HomeSafe features are "only available on devices with the Kidde HomeSafe feature, not other interconnected alarms, when you are connected to the same Wi-Fi network as the alarm" — recorded verbatim rather than paraphrased, because the scope of that condition is genuinely ambiguous on the page and we will not resolve it by guessing. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31
- [7] kidde.com/products/smart/smoke-and-carbon-monoxide-alarm-with-smart-features — listed as a current product on Kidde's smart-alarm line-up with a live data sheet and user guide. The data sheet's revision code (PDS-KL-P4010ACSCO-WF-0522) and its "©2022 Carrier" line show the model existed by May 2022, but a document revision date is not a launch date, so the year it first went on sale is left unknown rather than inferred., verified 2026-07-31Backs: Market availability
- [8] Kidde product data sheet PDS_KL_P4010ACSCO-WF, corroborated by the P4010ACSCO-WF user guide cover ('120V Hardwire') — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17Backs: Power sourceChecked 2026-08-17. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
- [9] Kidde P4010ACSCO-WF user guide — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
- [10] brand.kidde.com P4010ACSCO-WF user guide PDF (partial text extraction) plus the cited data sheet, product page and CSA search, re-read 2026-08-18 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
- [11] Kidde's own product data sheet for model P4010ACSCO-WF (PDS-KL-P4010ACSCO-WF-0522, © 2022 Carrier), read in full 2026-08-20. Detection: "Alerts you to both smoke & carbon monoxide in just one device", with sensors listed as "Smoke: Photoelectric / CO: Electrochemical" and CO alarm response times "70ppm: 60-240min, 150ppm: 10-50min, 400ppm: 4-15min". Remote reporting: "Remote alarm notifications: Real-time mobile alerts through the Kidde app" and "Use the Kidde app to receive notifications if hazards are detected, know when the device needs to be replaced and test alarms." Platforms: "Compatible with Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa: Use voice commands to check alarm status and connection." Interconnect: "Whole-home alarm activation: Interconnected alarms activate together — when one alarm sounds, they all sound, and an alert is sent to your phone", footnoted "Alarms only connect with other Kidde alarms that have hardwired AC interconnect capability." Wi-Fi caveat: "802.11b/g/n (2.4GHz) Wi-Fi (Wi-Fi features only work with AC power connected)." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilities
- [12] No source was read for this entry. It records an edit so the edit is not silent, per the freshness guard's own instruction. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-20
- [13] Kidde first-party surfaces read 2026-08-22. Support article "How do I update the firmware for my device?" (kidde.com/support/connected-home/update-device-firmware), verbatim: "When a firmware update is available for your device, we will prompt you to install it" and "It is important to keep your device updated with the latest firmware to ensure proper detection and protection" - no period, no end date, no duration. Product page for the Smoke + Carbon Monoxide Alarm with smart features (kidde.com/products/smart/smoke-and-carbon-monoxide-alarm-with-smart-features), verbatim: "10-year limited warranty on alarm. Not a battery performance claim." - a hardware warranty, with no security-update statement anywhere on the page. The storefront serves US and CA regions only and no UK PSTI statement or equivalent declaration for these models was located. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-22Backs: Security-update support period
- [14] kidde.com/support/ (live, read 2026-08-30) and kidde.com/support/connected-home/ (no longer a working page, and the address this record re-checks) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-30Backs: Research status, Service status
- [15] kidde.com — Smart Products surfaces, read 2026-08-30 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-30Backs: Market availability
- [16] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was retired from this record on 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
- [17] Record-keeping entry: this record's not-supported answers were sorted under the five-way absence classification, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
- [18] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
- [19] Kidde's own open pages, read 2026-09-12 looking for a permitted replacement for three facts that rest on brand.kidde.com reads: https://kidde.com/products/smart/smoke-and-carbon-monoxide-alarm-with-smart-features (live; no power source, no radio band, no voice-assistant statement), https://www.kidde.com/products/smart (live; none of the three), https://www.kidde.com/support/faqs (live; the 2.4 GHz question is listed and its answer is not in what we receive), https://www.kidde.com/support/smart-products/update-wifi-settings (live; states 2.4 GHz for Kidde smart devices as a class, naming no model), https://www.kidde.com/support/smart-products/smart-device-installation-setup (live; no power or radio specification), https://www.kidde.com/support/connected-home/ (the index page is gone; the article this record already cites under it still answers). — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12
- [20] Record-keeping entry: this record's existing not-supported answer for Apple Home now names the platform rule the reason rests on, 2026-09-15, verified 2026-09-15
- [21] Kidde's own product page for the P4010ACSCO-WF, read 2026-09-17. 96,965 bytes of markup contain not one '$' followed by a digit. Where a price would sit the page prints 'Find this product near you' above a 'WHERE TO BUY' button, and that button is a third-party PriceSpider widget — 'ps-widget" ps-sku="P4010ACSCO-WF"' — so even the figures behind it belong to retailers rather than to Kidde. Kidde's own store at shopkidde.com does not sell the model: its sitemap carries 98 URLs, the only 'p4010' among them is the empty tag page /p4010dcsco-w, and the string 'p4010acsco' does not occur in it at all. ⚠ Not to be confused with the P4010ACS-W the store DOES sell at $61.34 — that is the smoke-only alarm, a different product. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17Backs: Price
- [22] Kidde's own Advanced Home Health subscription pages, which name what the plan costs and exactly which features it buys — none of them this alarm's smoke, CO or alert functions — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17Backs: Subscription
- [23] Kidde's own product page for this model on kidde.com, read 2026-09-19 — the open-host replacement for four facts that until today rested only on brand.kidde.com PDFs, which refuse our requests in robots.txt, verified 2026-09-19Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Research status, Market availability
- [24] Kidde's own smart-product support article "Device is saying 'Wi-Fi not connected'. What should I do?", read 2026-09-19 — the open-host replacement for a band that until today rested on the brand.kidde.com user-guide PDF, verified 2026-09-19Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
- [25] Kidde's own open pages (product page, smart-products support index, the install/setup article and the Wi-Fi article), read 2026-09-19, verified 2026-09-19
- [26] Kidde's own support index at kidde.com/support/, re-read 2026-09-19 — the page this record's service answer already rests on, verified 2026-09-19Backs: Service status
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.