There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Product Library / Plugs & Outlets
DiscontinuedKasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40)
⚠ Similar names, different products: TP-Link sells a second outdoor plug one letter away: the EP40M. The M is the version certified to the Matter standard, and that single letter decides whether the plug can join Apple Home or a Samsung SmartThings hub directly. This record is the plain EP40, which is not Matter certified. Check the letter on the box, not the picture.
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your home?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
No hub and no bridge. What TP-Link does require is a secured wireless network on the slower 2.4 gigahertz band — the plug cannot join a 5 gigahertz network, and TP-Link states that plainly — plus the free Kasa Smart app and a Kasa account. TP-Link also states an electrical condition that is easy to skip and is about safety rather than convenience: outdoors or in a wet location the plug must go into a receptacle with ground-fault protection.[1][18][32]
Not confirmed either way. TP-Link names Alexa and Google Assistant for voice control on this plug's page and does not name Apple Home. The Matter ledger lists TP-Link's Matter version of this plug, the EP40M, and not the EP40, but the certification body's own product search no longer works as a second check, so we do not record a firm no. If Apple Home matters to you, the EP40M is the version TP-Link certified for Matter.[2]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40)
- Smart plugKasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40)
- Wi-FiWi-Fi routerYour home network
- InternetCloud serviceInternet connection required
- Account linkGoogle HomePlatform control
What you gainReach the device through the documented cloud connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-11-06
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-11-06
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-11-06
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Named by TP-Link on this model's own page alongside Alexa, and set up the same way by linking the two accounts. Same shape as Alexa: full control because on and off is all there is, and it depends on the internet because the link is made between TP-Link's service and Google's.[1][17][18][21][25][32][35][39]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40)
- Smart plugKasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40)
- Wi-FiWi-Fi routerYour home network
- InternetCloud serviceInternet connection required
- Alexa skillAmazon AlexaPlatform control
What you gainReach the device through the documented cloud connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-11-06
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-11-06
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
TP-Link names Alexa on this model's own page, reached by linking your Kasa account to the Kasa skill. On and off is the whole job this plug does, so there is nothing missing from the voice control. Two limits worth knowing: each outlet shows up separately so you can name them, and the connection runs between TP-Link's service and Amazon's rather than across your own network, so voice control stops during an internet outage even though the plug itself keeps its schedule.[1][18][20][32][34]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
TP-Link publishes no compatibility list for this plug — what its page carries is a voice-control feature blurb, 'Use simple voice commands with Alexa or Google Assistant to enjoy your hands free.' That names where voice works; it is not a statement about SmartThings in either direction, and TP-Link does name Samsung SmartThings on some other Kasa product pages. What is settled is that there is no standards route: the certification registry holds no Matter certificate for the EP40, though it does hold one for the EP40M, so any SmartThings support would have to be a connection TP-Link builds and maintains itself. Treat this as unanswered rather than as a no, and check TP-Link's current compatibility list before buying for a SmartThings home.[2][10][18][32]
Follow the documented setup. Read the equipment details and connection limits below.
Connect over your home network
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40)
- Smart plugKasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40)
- Local networkHome networkLocal network connection
- Local integrationHome AssistantPlatform app
What you gainReach the device through its documented local network integration.
Keep in mindRead the setup notes for required credentials, firmware, pairing and supported functions. Local communication does not establish every function or remote access.
Which features come through?
Check the function table and setup notes for this route. An alternative connection does not inherit every capability of the recorded primary connection. A Thread border router, a Matter controller and a platform home hub are different roles; suitable hardware may provide more than one.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-27
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-04
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
The strongest answer on this record, and it rests on the model name rather than on a guess about the device class: Home Assistant's own TP-Link documentation lists EP40 explicitly among the devices it supports. Home Assistant states the integration talks to the plug on your own network rather than through TP-Link's service, which means it keeps working when the internet does not. The catch is the sign-in: Home Assistant also states that newer Kasa devices need your TP-Link account email and password to authenticate for that local access, so a local connection still begins with a vendor account.[4][12][13][26]
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Apple Home · Inconclusive
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Not confirmed either way. TP-Link names Alexa and Google Assistant for voice control on this plug's page and does not name Apple Home. The Matter ledger lists TP-Link's Matter version of this plug, the EP40M, and not the EP40, but the certification body's own product search no longer works as a second check, so we do not record a firm no. If Apple Home matters to you, the EP40M is the version TP-Link certified for Matter.
Connection documentation: [2]
Device documentation: [1] [17] [18] [25] [32] [39]
kasasmart.com · checked 2026-11-06
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-11-06
on.dcl.csa-iot.org · checked 2026-09-12
Google Home · Works
Power state
This device reports power state.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- ✓ Documented for this model
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Named by TP-Link on this model's own page alongside Alexa, and set up the same way by linking the two accounts. Same shape as Alexa: full control because on and off is all there is, and it depends on the internet because the link is made between TP-Link's service and Google's.
Connection documentation: [1] [17] [18] [21] [25] [32] [35] [39]
Device documentation: [1] [17] [18] [25] [32] [39]
kasasmart.com · checked 2026-11-06
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-11-06
tp-link.com · checked 2026-11-06
Alexa · Works
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
On and off and scheduling only. This model has no energy monitoring, so there is no energy data for any platform to show — that gap belongs to the plug, not to the platform.
TP-Link names Alexa on this model's own page, reached by linking your Kasa account to the Kasa skill. On and off is the whole job this plug does, so there is nothing missing from the voice control. Two limits worth knowing: each outlet shows up separately so you can name them, and the connection runs between TP-Link's service and Amazon's rather than across your own network, so voice control stops during an internet outage even though the plug itself keeps its schedule.
Connection documentation: [1] [18] [20] [32] [34]
Device documentation: [1] [17] [18] [25] [32] [39]
kasasmart.com · checked 2026-11-06
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-11-06
tp-link.com · checked 2026-11-06
SmartThings · Inconclusive
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
TP-Link publishes no compatibility list for this plug — what its page carries is a voice-control feature blurb, 'Use simple voice commands with Alexa or Google Assistant to enjoy your hands free.' That names where voice works; it is not a statement about SmartThings in either direction, and TP-Link does name Samsung SmartThings on some other Kasa product pages. What is settled is that there is no standards route: the certification registry holds no Matter certificate for the EP40, though it does hold one for the EP40M, so any SmartThings support would have to be a connection TP-Link builds and maintains itself. Treat this as unanswered rather than as a no, and check TP-Link's current compatibility list before buying for a SmartThings home.
Connection documentation: [2] [10] [18] [32]
Device documentation: [1] [17] [18] [25] [32] [39]
kasasmart.com · checked 2026-11-06
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-11-06
on.dcl.csa-iot.org · checked 2026-09-12
Home Assistant · Works
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Not stated
- Automation
- ✓ Documented for this model
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
The strongest answer on this record, and it rests on the model name rather than on a guess about the device class: Home Assistant's own TP-Link documentation lists EP40 explicitly among the devices it supports. Home Assistant states the integration talks to the plug on your own network rather than through TP-Link's service, which means it keeps working when the internet does not. The catch is the sign-in: Home Assistant also states that newer Kasa devices need your TP-Link account email and password to authenticate for that local access, so a local connection still begins with a vendor account.
Connection documentation: [4] [12] [13] [26]
Device documentation: [1] [17] [18] [25] [32] [39]
kasasmart.com · checked 2026-11-06
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-11-06
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-04
api.github.com · checked 2026-10-27
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- 2 documented
- Reported events
- 1 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeInconclusive[2] | Google HomeWorks[1][17][18][21][25][32][35][39] | AlexaWorks[1][18][20][32][34] | SmartThingsInconclusive[2][10][18][32] | Home AssistantWorks[4][12][13][26] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| On/offDevice control | Control Inconclusive Automation — | Control Not stated Automation — | Control Not stated Automation — | Control Inconclusive Automation — | Control Not stated |
| SceneDevice control | Control Inconclusive Automation — | Control Not stated Automation — | Control Not stated Automation — | Control Inconclusive Automation — | Control Not stated Automation — |
| Power stateReported event | Event Inconclusive Automation — | Event Not stated | Event Not stated Automation — | Event Inconclusive Automation — | Event Not stated Automation — |
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Not confirmed either way. TP-Link names Alexa and Google Assistant for voice control on this plug's page and does not name Apple Home. The Matter ledger lists TP-Link's Matter version of this plug, the EP40M, and not the EP40, but the certification body's own product search no longer works as a second check, so we do not record a firm no. If Apple Home matters to you, the EP40M is the version TP-Link certified for Matter.[2]
Google Home
Named by TP-Link on this model's own page alongside Alexa, and set up the same way by linking the two accounts. Same shape as Alexa: full control because on and off is all there is, and it depends on the internet because the link is made between TP-Link's service and Google's.[1][17][18][21][25][32][35][39]
Alexa
TP-Link names Alexa on this model's own page, reached by linking your Kasa account to the Kasa skill. On and off is the whole job this plug does, so there is nothing missing from the voice control. Two limits worth knowing: each outlet shows up separately so you can name them, and the connection runs between TP-Link's service and Amazon's rather than across your own network, so voice control stops during an internet outage even though the plug itself keeps its schedule.[1][18][20][32][34]
On/off: On and off and scheduling only. This model has no energy monitoring, so there is no energy data for any platform to show — that gap belongs to the plug, not to the platform.
Scene: On and off and scheduling only. This model has no energy monitoring, so there is no energy data for any platform to show — that gap belongs to the plug, not to the platform.
Power state: On and off and scheduling only. This model has no energy monitoring, so there is no energy data for any platform to show — that gap belongs to the plug, not to the platform.
SmartThings
TP-Link publishes no compatibility list for this plug — what its page carries is a voice-control feature blurb, 'Use simple voice commands with Alexa or Google Assistant to enjoy your hands free.' That names where voice works; it is not a statement about SmartThings in either direction, and TP-Link does name Samsung SmartThings on some other Kasa product pages. What is settled is that there is no standards route: the certification registry holds no Matter certificate for the EP40, though it does hold one for the EP40M, so any SmartThings support would have to be a connection TP-Link builds and maintains itself. Treat this as unanswered rather than as a no, and check TP-Link's current compatibility list before buying for a SmartThings home.[2][10][18][32]
Home Assistant
The strongest answer on this record, and it rests on the model name rather than on a guess about the device class: Home Assistant's own TP-Link documentation lists EP40 explicitly among the devices it supports. Home Assistant states the integration talks to the plug on your own network rather than through TP-Link's service, which means it keeps working when the internet does not. The catch is the sign-in: Home Assistant also states that newer Kasa devices need your TP-Link account email and password to authenticate for that local access, so a local connection still begins with a vendor account.[4][12][13][26]
Platform documentation:
on.dcl.csa-iot.org · checked 2026-09-12
kasasmart.com · checked 2026-11-06
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-11-06
tp-link.com · checked 2026-11-06
tp-link.com · checked 2026-11-06
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-04
api.github.com · checked 2026-10-27
- Alexa: On and off and scheduling only. This model has no energy monitoring, so there is no energy data for any platform to show — that gap belongs to the plug, not to the platform.
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][18][20][32][34] | TP-Link names Alexa on this model's own page, reached by linking your Kasa account to the Kasa skill. On and off is the whole job this plug does, so there is nothing missing from the voice control. Two limits worth knowing: each outlet shows up separately so you can name them, and the connection runs between TP-Link's service and Amazon's rather than across your own network, so voice control stops during an internet outage even though the plug itself keeps its schedule. |
| Google Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][17][18][21][25][32][35][39] | Named by TP-Link on this model's own page alongside Alexa, and set up the same way by linking the two accounts. Same shape as Alexa: full control because on and off is all there is, and it depends on the internet because the link is made between TP-Link's service and Google's. |
| Apple Home | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2] | Not confirmed either way. TP-Link names Alexa and Google Assistant for voice control on this plug's page and does not name Apple Home. The Matter ledger lists TP-Link's Matter version of this plug, the EP40M, and not the EP40, but the certification body's own product search no longer works as a second check, so we do not record a firm no. If Apple Home matters to you, the EP40M is the version TP-Link certified for Matter. |
| SmartThings | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2][10][18][32] | TP-Link publishes no compatibility list for this plug — what its page carries is a voice-control feature blurb, 'Use simple voice commands with Alexa or Google Assistant to enjoy your hands free.' That names where voice works; it is not a statement about SmartThings in either direction, and TP-Link does name Samsung SmartThings on some other Kasa product pages. What is settled is that there is no standards route: the certification registry holds no Matter certificate for the EP40, though it does hold one for the EP40M, so any SmartThings support would have to be a connection TP-Link builds and maintains itself. Treat this as unanswered rather than as a no, and check TP-Link's current compatibility list before buying for a SmartThings home. |
| Home Assistant | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][12][13][26] | The strongest answer on this record, and it rests on the model name rather than on a guess about the device class: Home Assistant's own TP-Link documentation lists EP40 explicitly among the devices it supports. Home Assistant states the integration talks to the plug on your own network rather than through TP-Link's service, which means it keeps working when the internet does not. The catch is the sign-in: Home Assistant also states that newer Kasa devices need your TP-Link account email and password to authenticate for that local access, so a local connection still begins with a vendor account. |
? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.
Plans and ongoing costs[1][18][32]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[1][18][32]
No plan, tier or premium feature appears anywhere on TP-Link's page for this model, and the app is named as free in the system requirements. The honest limit is that this is the absence of any paywall language on one product page rather than an explicit promise never to charge — including in the scheduling and away-mode sections, which are where a vendor would normally put a gate.
Maintenance and offline use
- Works without the internet: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own material and it does not answer this either way. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
- Two independently switched outlets on one weatherproof body, with a six-inch cable so it hangs clear of the receptacle. TP-Link's stated ratings: 15 amps maximum load in total, 1,875 watts, and a 1/2 horsepower motor rating, on 802.11b/g/n wireless at 2.4 gigahertz only. Weather rating is IP64, which covers dust and splashing water rather than immersion, and the stated operating range is -4 to 122 degrees Fahrenheit at 10 to 90 percent humidity without condensation. Body measures 4.3 by 1.5 by 3.2 inches. Listed approvals are RoHS, FCC, IC, ETL and the IP64 rating. The box holds the plug with its six-inch cable, one clamp and screw, and a quick start guide. There is no energy monitoring on this model — a real difference from TP-Link's own indoor EP25, which has it.
- Security updates: Kasa states its security-update commitment for this model as a period rather than a date: ends 3 years after the product's end-of-life date (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). That is a floor measured from a starting point the manufacturer sets — a launch or a purchase — rather than a fixed end date, so it cannot be placed on a calendar here. We record the commitment as the manufacturer states it, in our words, rather than converting it into a date it did not give. This is a published commitment, not a gap in our research.[5][27][28][40][41]
Who it's for
TP-Link no longer sells this plug new in the US, so this profile mainly serves owners and anyone looking at remaining stock. A good fit for a household that wants two separately switched outdoor outlets on a timer or a voice command, already lives in Alexa or Google, and does not need to know how much power the load draws. Home Assistant owners get something the other platforms do not: Home Assistant talks to this plug on the home network rather than through TP-Link's service, so it keeps working in an internet outage. Look elsewhere if your home runs on Apple Home, where TP-Link names no route for this model and the EP40M is the version TP-Link certified for Matter; if Samsung SmartThings is the platform you need answered before you buy; if your wireless network runs only on the faster band; or if energy monitoring matters to you.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
45 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] kasasmart.com, "Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug | EP40" product page, read 2026-09-12 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Vendor account required, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Capabilities, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Market availability, Research status, Service status
- [2] The Matter certification registry at on.dcl.csa-iot.org, its list for this maker read to the end: 6 models are registered to Kasa (vendor 5009; legal name TP-Link Systems Inc.) — PID 257 KP125M, PID 513 KS205, PID 514 KS225, PID 258 EP40M, PID 515 KS240, PID 1025 KH100. EP40 absent; EP40M present as the positive control. Read 2026-09-12 — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-12Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
- [3] The ledger lookup's built-in check that the ledger answers returns another company's product (the Aqara Door and Window Sensor P2). That certificate belongs to a different product and says nothing about this one., verified 2026-09-12
- [4] home-assistant.io, TP-Link integration documentation: power strips "EP40, EP40M, HS107, HS300, KP200, KP303, KP400" · "The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud." · "If your device is a newer Kasa or Tapo device it will require your TP-Link cloud username and password to authenticate for local access." Read 2026-09-12 — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-12Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [5] kasasmart.com, "Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug | EP40" product page, read 2026-09-12 — no security-update commitment, end-of-support date or security-policy link anywhere on it — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12Backs: Security-update support period
- [6] docs/candidates/2026-09-07-outdoor-plugs.md (candidate brief, deleted on promotion; the outcome is recorded in company-os/discovery-runs.json), verified 2026-09-12
- [7] TP-Link's own FAQ 'General Questions about Kasa Smart Home Products and Devices' (last updated July 1, 2026; served in full, 8,895 characters) and TP-Link's own Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40) product page https://www.kasasmart.com/us/products/smart-plugs/kasa-smart-wi-fi-outdoor-plug (served in full, 3,494 characters), both read in a full browser with its tabs expanded on 2026-09-15. FAQ, verbatim: 'Timer and Schedule features work locally on the device and continue to function even when the Internet is down'; Q11 'Will The Timer And Schedule Features Work If The Internet Is Down?' answered 'Yes, these functions are loaded locally on the device. Even if the internet is lost they will still function.'; Q10 'Kasa integrates with voice assistants via cloud-to-cloud integration. As long as the two accounts are paired and the devices are online, they can be controlled by the voice assistants anywhere.'; Q13 'No, Kasa products only support 2.4GHz wireless connections.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15
- [8] Record-keeping entry: this record's existing "not supported" answer for Apple Home now names the platform-wide rule the reason rests on, 2026-09-15, verified 2026-09-15
- [9] Every TP-Link surface this record cites, read 2026-09-16 after the host-conduct check (kasasmart.com and tp-link.com are open on the register). Verbatim from Kasa FAQ 1390: 'Q11: Will The Timer And Schedule Features Work If The Internet Is Down? Yes, these functions are loaded locally on the device. Even if the internet is lost they will still function.'; 'Timer and Schedule features work locally on the device and continue to function even when the Internet is down.'; 'Kasa integrates with voice assistants via cloud-to-cloud integration.'; and, from a separate answer, 'Only products rated for outdoor use, such as the KP400 or KC420WS, can be used outdoors.' — the only model strings on the page, which carries no applies-to model list. Verbatim from the model's own Kasa page: 'No Hub Required — The outdoor smart plug works with a secured 2.4 GHz wireless network without needing a separate hub.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
- [10] TP-Link's own Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug product page, re-read 2026-09-17 for the shape of its platform statements. The page mentions platforms exactly twice, both times as a voice-control feature rather than a compatibility list: 'Voice Control: Use simple voice commands with Alexa or Google Assistant to enjoy your hands free.' and 'Voice Control Brings Convenience ... Just use a simple voice command with Alexa or Google Assistant to control your outdoor plug.' There is no 'Works with' row, no compatibility table and no platform list anywhere on the page. SmartThings is named nowhere. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17Backs: SmartThings compatibility
- [11] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-25 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-25
- [12] Home Assistant's own TP-Link Smart Home integration page, read 2026-09-26 at 02:59 UTC. Under its "Supported Devices" heading, the "Supported Kasa devices" list names this product's model number in its "Power Strips" group, which reads EP40, EP40M, HS107, HS300, KP200, KP303 and KP400 (a footnote marker on EP40M omitted here). The page's "Known limitations" section names no model; its "Kasa power strips" note says: "the energy monitoring state of Kasa power strip child plugs is only updated every 60 seconds"., verified 2026-09-26Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [13] Home Assistant's TP-Link Smart Home integration page (documentation 2026.9.4), read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Power Strips : EP40, EP40M 1 , HS107, HS300, KP200, KP303, KP400" · "Switch entities are added for plugs, simple wall switches and power strips. In addition to turning devices on and off, you can control the various configuration options that the device supports" · "The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud." · "Its IoT class is Local Polling." · "Categories Binary sensor Button Camera Climate Fan Hub Light Number Select Sensor Siren Switch Vacuum". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [14] The Matter certification ledger kept by the Connectivity Standards Alliance, read on 2026-10-06: TP-Link's three registrations (Kasa, TP-Link and Tapo) list 60 products between them. The Kasa list includes the EP40M, the Matter version of this outdoor plug, and none of the three lists the plain EP40. The Alliance's public product directory could not serve as the second check that day: its search showed the same list of products whatever name it was given, and a member company's page lists no products at all. With only one of the two checks working, no new 'not certified' answer is recorded. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-06
- [15] The Matter ledger, read on 2026-10-07 through tools/dcl-lookup.mjs absence 5009, with its built-in check passing (a product known to hold a certificate, the Aqara Door and Window Sensor P2, returned it). In our words: vendor 5009 has six registered models, a Kasa energy-monitoring plug (KP125M), a light switch (KS205), a dimmer switch (KS225), the Kasa Smart Outdoor Plug with part EP40M, a fan and dimmer switch (KS240) and a Kasa hub (KH100). None carries the part EP40. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-07
- [16] This record's own entries for the pages that name the route., verified 2026-09-12
- [17] Google's Automations supported-devices table lists this outdoor plug by model under the TP-Link Kasa service, as a Starter. Verbatim: "Starter · TP-Link Kasa · OUTLET · EP40(US) · onoff", verified 2026-10-12Backs: Google Home compatibility, What your assistant can automate, Capabilities
- [18] Kasa's EP40 product page, read in full on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug | EP40" · "Access and use two outdoor devices from anywhere, together or individually" · "Use simple voice commands with Alexa or Google Assistant to enjoy your hands free." · "The outdoor smart plug works with a secured 2.4 GHz wireless network without needing a separate hub." · "Output: 15A maximum load in total, 1/2 HP Motor Maximum Power: 1,875 W Weatherproof Rating: IP64" · "Existing Secured Wi-fi Network (2.4 Ghz Wi-fi Only, 802.11b/g/n) The Free Kasa Smart App And Account Required Must Plug Into Gfci Receptacles If Used Outdoor Or In Wet Locations" · "(1) Smart Outdoor Plug with 6-inch Cable (1) Clamp and Screw (1) Quick Start Guide". The page prints no price; its one buy control, "BUY NOW", links to an Amazon search. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, Vendor account required, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Capabilities, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Market availability
- [19] TP-Link FAQ 5154, 'Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products', read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services." · "we highly recommend using the Smart Action feature within the Tapo app or Kasa app" · its applies-to list: "Smart Plugs (28) EP10 EP25P2 EP40 EP40A EP40M HS103P2 HS103P3 HS103P4 HS300". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27Backs: Service status
- [20] TP-Link FAQ 944, 'How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Devices to Amazon Alexa: Two Setup Methods', read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "Tapo and Kasa devices can be linked to Amazon Alexa using two methods: through the Tapo or Kasa app under Me > Third-Party Services > Amazon Alexa, or by searching for the Tapo or Kasa skill directly in the Amazon Alexa app." · "Once the Tapo or Kasa skill is enabled and your TP-Link ID is linked, Alexa will discover and connect to your devices automatically." · its applies-to list: "Smart Plugs (28) EP10 EP25P2 EP40 EP40A EP40M HS103P2 HS103P3 HS103P4 HS300". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [21] TP-Link FAQ 1534, 'How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Smart Devices to Google Home', read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "Both Tapo and Kasa smart devices are compatible with Google Home." · "Scenario 1: For Non-Matter Devices: Link Tapo / Kasa Service with Google Home" · its applies-to list: "Smart Plugs (28) EP10 EP25P2 EP40 EP40A EP40M HS103P2 HS103P3 HS103P4 HS300". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [22] TP-Link's Kasa general FAQ (FAQ 1390), read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "Kasa products are available on Android and iOS." · "To confirm if the specific Kasa device model is compatible with Samsung SmartThings, check the support status on the SmartThings compatibility pages ." · "Kasa integrates with voice assistants via cloud-to-cloud integration." · "Yes, these functions are loaded locally on the device. Even if the internet is lost they will still function." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
- [23] TP-Link FAQ 3158, 'How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Devices to Samsung SmartThings', read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "Tapo and Kasa devices connect to SmartThings by linking your TP-Link account inside the SmartThings app." · "To confirm whether your specific model is compatible, check the support status of Tapo products and Kasa Smart products on the SmartThings compatibility pages." · its applies-to list: "Smart Plugs (4) HS300 KP200 Tapo P110 Tapo P115". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
- [24] Samsung's Works with SmartThings page for TP-Link | Kasa Smart, read rendered on 2026-10-27 (its product list draws client-side). The United States list carries "Smart Outdoor Plug KP400 Model Number KP400 Category Outlet" and "Smart WiFi Power Strip HS300 Model Number HS300 Category Outlet", and no EP40. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-27
- [25] Google's Automations supported-devices table, read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "Starter TP-Link Kasa OUTLET EP40(US) onoff". Footer: "Last updated 2025-09-19 UTC". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27Backs: Google Home compatibility, What your assistant can automate, Capabilities
- [26] Home Assistant's TP-Link Smart Home integration page, read in full on 2026-10-27 from its source file in the home-assistant/home-assistant.io repository (source/_integrations/tplink.markdown on branch current, blob f720edbe0b9e5bf032c8f42b2859162ce2fccf9f, the file the www.home-assistant.io/integrations/tplink/ page is built from), its base64 content decoded. Verbatim: "ha_iot_class: Local Polling" · "- **Power Strips**: EP40, EP40M[^1], HS107, HS300, KP200, KP303, KP400" · "Switch entities are added for plugs, simple wall switches and power strips." · "The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud." Its platforms list names binary_sensor, button, camera, climate, diagnostics, fan, light, number, select, sensor, siren, switch and vacuum; its categories line now reads plugs_switches, lighting.bulbs_lamps and security_safety.cameras. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-27Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [27] TP-Link's UK PSTI statement of compliance, read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "The defined support period will end 3 years after the product’s end-of-life date." The per-model table lists Kasa KP115 and KP105P2 and has no EP40 row. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-27Backs: Security-update support period
- [28] TP-Link's US EOL List for Smart Home (V8.1), read in full on 2026-10-27. Three EP40 rows (hardware 1.0, 1.6 and 1.8, US) each carry an 'EOS Notifacation Date' of 1/11/2024 and an 'EOS Date' of 7/11/2024. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-27Backs: Security-update support period
- [29] The Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger's model list for vendor id 5009 (Kasa, legal name TP-Link Systems Inc.), read on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs and walked by node tools/dcl-lookup.mjs absence 5009 in the same session: six models are registered, among them the Kasa Smart Outdoor Plug under part EP40M (PID 258); none carries the part EP40. The vendor ids came from node tools/dcl-lookup.mjs vendors, asked as Kasa (VID 5009) and as TP-Link (VIDs 4488, 5009 and 5010; 884 vendor records scanned), and absence 4488 (6 models) and absence 5010 (48 models) name no EP40 either. The tool's control passed on a known certified product., verified 2026-10-27
- [30] Home Assistant's TP-Link integration page, as read on 2026-10-27 and quoted on entry bq107-t14-20261027-ep40-ha-source: its Power Strips line names the EP40, and it says "Switch entities are added for plugs, simple wall switches and power strips.", verified 2026-10-27Backs: What your assistant can automate
- [31] TP-Link's US EOL List for Smart Home (V8.1) and the Kasa EP40 product page, both as read on 2026-10-27 and quoted on this record's entries bq107-t14-20261027-ep40-eol-list and bq107-t14-20261027-ep40-page., verified 2026-10-27Backs: Market availability
- [32] Kasa's EP40 product page, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug | EP40" · "Access and use two outdoor devices from anywhere, together or individually" · "Use simple voice commands with Alexa or Google Assistant to enjoy your hands free." · "The outdoor smart plug works with a secured 2.4 GHz wireless network without needing a separate hub." · "Output: 15A maximum load in total, 1/2 HP Motor Maximum Power: 1,875 W Weatherproof Rating: IP64" · "Existing Secured Wi-fi Network (2.4 Ghz Wi-fi Only, 802.11b/g/n) The Free Kasa Smart App And Account Required Must Plug Into Gfci Receptacles If Used Outdoor Or In Wet Locations" · "(1) Smart Outdoor Plug with 6-inch Cable (1) Clamp and Screw (1) Quick Start Guide". The page prints no price; its one buy control, "BUY NOW", links to an Amazon search. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, Vendor account required, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Capabilities, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Market availability
- [33] TP-Link FAQ 5154, 'Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products', read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services." · "we highly recommend using the Smart Action feature within the Tapo app or Kasa app" · its applies-to list: "Smart Plugs (28) EP10 EP25P2 EP40 EP40A EP40M HS103P2 HS103P3 HS103P4 HS300". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Service status
- [34] TP-Link FAQ 944, 'How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Devices to Amazon Alexa: Two Setup Methods', read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "Tapo and Kasa devices can be linked to Amazon Alexa using two methods: through the Tapo or Kasa app under Me > Third-Party Services > Amazon Alexa, or by searching for the Tapo or Kasa skill directly in the Amazon Alexa app." · "Once the Tapo or Kasa skill is enabled and your TP-Link ID is linked, Alexa will discover and connect to your devices automatically." · its applies-to list: "Smart Plugs (28) EP10 EP25P2 EP40 EP40A EP40M HS103P2 HS103P3 HS103P4 HS300". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [35] TP-Link FAQ 1534, 'How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Smart Devices to Google Home', read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "Both Tapo and Kasa smart devices are compatible with Google Home." · "Scenario 1: For Non-Matter Devices: Link Tapo / Kasa Service with Google Home" · its applies-to list: "Smart Plugs (28) EP10 EP25P2 EP40 EP40A EP40M HS103P2 HS103P3 HS103P4 HS300". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [36] TP-Link's Kasa general FAQ (FAQ 1390), read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "Kasa products are available on Android and iOS." · "To confirm if the specific Kasa device model is compatible with Samsung SmartThings, check the support status on the SmartThings compatibility pages ." · "Kasa integrates with voice assistants via cloud-to-cloud integration." · "Yes, these functions are loaded locally on the device. Even if the internet is lost they will still function." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06
- [37] TP-Link FAQ 3158, 'How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Devices to Samsung SmartThings', read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "Tapo and Kasa devices connect to SmartThings by linking your TP-Link account inside the SmartThings app." · "To confirm whether your specific model is compatible, check the support status of Tapo products and Kasa Smart products on the SmartThings compatibility pages." · its applies-to list: "Smart Plugs (4) HS300 KP200 Tapo P110 Tapo P115". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06
- [38] Samsung's Works with SmartThings page for TP-Link | Kasa Smart, read rendered on 2026-11-06 (its product list draws client-side). The United States list carries "Smart Outdoor Plug KP400 Model Number KP400 Category Outlet" and "Smart WiFi Power Strip HS300 Model Number HS300 Category Outlet", and no EP40. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
- [39] Google's Automations supported-devices table, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "Starter TP-Link Kasa OUTLET EP40(US) onoff". Footer: "Last updated 2025-09-19 UTC". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Google Home compatibility, What your assistant can automate, Capabilities
- [40] TP-Link's UK PSTI statement of compliance, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "The defined support period will end 3 years after the product’s end-of-life date." The per-model table lists Kasa KP115 and KP105P2 and has no EP40 row. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Security-update support period
- [41] TP-Link's US EOL List for Smart Home (V8.1), read in full on 2026-11-06. Three EP40 rows (hardware 1.0, 1.6 and 1.8, US) each carry an 'EOS Notifacation Date' of 1/11/2024 and an 'EOS Date' of 7/11/2024. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Security-update support period
- [42] The Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger's model list for vendor id 5009 (Kasa, legal name TP-Link Systems Inc.), read on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs and walked by node tools/dcl-lookup.mjs absence 5009 in the same session: six models are registered, among them the Kasa Smart Outdoor Plug under part EP40M (PID 258); none carries the part EP40. The vendor ids came from node tools/dcl-lookup.mjs vendors, asked as Kasa (VID 5009) and as TP-Link (VIDs 4488, 5009 and 5010; 884 vendor records scanned), and absence 4488 (6 models) and absence 5010 (48 models) name no EP40 either. The tool's control passed on a known certified product., verified 2026-11-06
- [43] Home Assistant's TP-Link Smart Home integration page, read in full on 2026-11-06 from its source file in the home-assistant/home-assistant.io repository (source/_integrations/tplink.markdown on branch current, blob 95eb104915b1071b1c0e3482739905cf219ceacd), its base64 content decoded. Verbatim: "- **Power Strips**: EP40, EP40M[^1], HS107, HS300, KP200, KP303, KP400" · "Switch entities are added for plugs, simple wall switches and power strips." · "The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud." In our words: the front matter now carries only the description, release and domain; the IoT class and platforms list are gone. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-06
- [44] TP-Link's US download page for the EP40, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs --links. In our words: it lists the EP40(US) V1.8 datasheet, the V1 and V1.8 user guide and the quick installation guide, a long list of Kasa app FAQs (two of them titled for iOS and Android widgets), and bare store links to Google Play and the App Store with no sentence beside them. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
- [45] TP-Link's EP40(US) V1.8 datasheet, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs --pdf, reached from the model's US download page. Verbatim, its Requirements block: "Existing secured Wi-Fi network (2.4 GHz Wi-Fi Only, 802.11 b/g/n)" · "The free Kasa Smart app and account required". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-11-06
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40) with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.