Product Library / Robot Vacuums & Mops

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-03

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Vac

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[4][13]
[4][13]
[4][13]
[4][13]
[4][12][13]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: not yet established — no source we have read names the radios this device uses.[2][14]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub, and no hub route either. Everything runs through the Roomba Home app and iRobot's cloud — 3D multi-floor maps, room naming, Smart Clean prioritisation, scheduling — and the three voice services iRobot names are cloud links to that same account. There is no Matter certificate for this robot, so there is no local Matter path to a controller you own, and no bridge or hub of any brand changes that.[4][13]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Start/stop

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [8] [13]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[8][13]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomePartial[4][13]Google HomePartial[4][13]AlexaPartial[4][13]SmartThingsInconclusive[4][13]Home AssistantInconclusive[4][12][13]
Start/stopDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Siri only, and not the Apple Home app. Apple's robot-vacuum support in Home requires a Matter-certified robot vacuum, and CSA's ledger holds no certificate for this model (see the catch), so it will not appear in the Home app at all. iRobot's footnote reads 'Works with Alexa, Siri, and Google Assistant-enabled devices' — voice, through iRobot's cloud.[4][13]

Google Home

Same sentence, same footnote, same unstated scope as the Alexa cell — and one wording detail carried accurately: iRobot names 'Google Assistant', the voice service, not 'Google Home', the platform.[4][13]

Alexa

Voice through iRobot's cloud account link, and the scope is unstated in writing. iRobot's example is a scheduling command — 'Vacuum the kitchen at 10:00am' — and its footnote clarifies only that this means 'Alexa-enabled devices'. Nowhere does iRobot enumerate which commands work. Maps, room naming and Smart Clean stay in the Roomba Home app.[4][13]

SmartThings

Neither party has published anything about this model. iRobot's page enumerates exactly three voice services and SmartThings is not among them, which is a silence rather than a denial, and no Samsung documentation names it.[4][13]

Home Assistant

Not established, and the two sides of the question read differently. iRobot's product page names voice assistants and only voice assistants — 'Works with Alexa, Siri, and Google Assistant-enabled devices.' — and Home Assistant is not one of those: a list of the assistants you can speak to says nothing about a platform you run yourself. Home Assistant's side does document an iRobot integration, and reading it is what keeps this at unknown rather than moving it up, because its supported list names older Roomba models and not this one. Nothing primary establishes this machine, in either direction.[4][12][13]

Device documentation: [8] [13]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaPartialPartial support — see the catch[4][13]Voice through iRobot's cloud account link, and the scope is unstated in writing. iRobot's example is a scheduling command — 'Vacuum the kitchen at 10:00am' — and its footnote clarifies only that this means 'Alexa-enabled devices'. Nowhere does iRobot enumerate which commands work. Maps, room naming and Smart Clean stay in the Roomba Home app.
Google HomePartialPartial support — see the catch[4][13]Same sentence, same footnote, same unstated scope as the Alexa cell — and one wording detail carried accurately: iRobot names 'Google Assistant', the voice service, not 'Google Home', the platform.
Apple HomePartialPartial support — see the catch[4][13]Siri only, and not the Apple Home app. Apple's robot-vacuum support in Home requires a Matter-certified robot vacuum, and CSA's ledger holds no certificate for this model (see the catch), so it will not appear in the Home app at all. iRobot's footnote reads 'Works with Alexa, Siri, and Google Assistant-enabled devices' — voice, through iRobot's cloud.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[4][13]Neither party has published anything about this model. iRobot's page enumerates exactly three voice services and SmartThings is not among them, which is a silence rather than a denial, and no Samsung documentation names it.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[4][12][13]Not established, and the two sides of the question read differently. iRobot's product page names voice assistants and only voice assistants — 'Works with Alexa, Siri, and Google Assistant-enabled devices.' — and Home Assistant is not one of those: a list of the assistants you can speak to says nothing about a platform you run yourself. Home Assistant's side does document an iRobot integration, and reading it is what keeps this at unknown rather than moving it up, because its supported list names older Roomba models and not this one. Nothing primary establishes this machine, in either direction.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[5][13]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription is required and none is offered on this product page — no plan, membership or recurring fee appears, and no advertised feature is gated behind one. Worth stating explicitly rather than by omission, because iRobot is the one brand in this category that runs a recurring-fee programme at all: iRobot Select is a separate robot-plus-service membership and is not a condition of using this robot.

Maintenance and offline use[5]

The catch

🔴 No Matter certificate — checked by enumerating iRobot's entire registration in CSA's ledger rather than by searching for an absence. iRobot has three models registered under its vendor ID, the Roomba Combo 10 Max, one listed simply as Roomba, and the Roomba Mini, and none is the Max 715; a known-certified control returned normally in the same check. For an Apple household that is decisive, because Apple's Home app requires a Matter-certified robot vacuum, so this robot cannot appear there at all. Second catch, cheaper but more everyday: this is a vacuum only. The dock empties it and does not wash anything.

Who it's for

A busy, carpeted, pet-heavy home that wants strong suction and genuine anti-tangle hardware without paying for a mop it will not use — and that is happy living in the Roomba Home app with voice as a convenience. It is the wrong pick for an Apple Home household, for anyone wanting local control that survives iRobot's cloud, or for anyone who actually wants mopping, where iRobot's own Combo models sit $100–$300 above it.

Check availability at iRobot

This opens iRobot's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

15 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] irobot.com/en_US/roomba-max-715-vac-robot-plus-autoempty-dock/W255020.html (browser-rendered 2026-08-09): 'Roomba® Max 715 Vac Robot + AutoEmpty™ Dock' · 'Item # w255020' · '$699.99' · 'Availability: Will ship in 1-2 weeks.' · '60-day home trial' · 'Free shipping & returns on all robots' · sibling listings 'Roomba® Plus 575 Combo Robot + AutoWash™ dock $799.99' and 'Roomba® Max 775 Combo Robot + AutoWash™ Dock $999.99' · footnote '1 As compared to Roomba® Max 705 Vac Robot'. ⚠ The URL pattern matters: irobot.com/en_US/roomba-max-715-robot-vacuum/R715020.html returns iRobot's 'We cannot find the page you are looking for!' error, so the W255020 page above is the canonical one. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Market availability, Service status, Power source, Installation
  2. [2] CSA Distributed Compliance Ledger, read 2026-08-09 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: on.dcl.csa-iot.org/dcl/vendorinfo/vendors resolves 'iRobot Corporation' to VID 5398 after scanning 458 vendor records to exhaustion; on.dcl.csa-iot.org/dcl/model/models/5398 returns exactly 2 registered models — PID 4 'Roomba Combo 10 Max' and PID 16 'Roomba' — walked to pagination exhaustion. Control in the same session: Aqara Door and Window Sensor P2 returns its certificate, dated 2022-11-03 (its vendor ID, product ID and certificate number are recorded on the context entry bq435-b9-irobot-roomba-max-715-vac-dcl-control-2026-08-09). Vendor side: irobot.com/en_US/roomba-max-715-vac-robot-plus-autoempty-dock/W255020.html (2026-08-09) names no protocol and makes no Matter claim anywhere. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  3. [3] A ledger lookup check used another maker's certified product (Aqara's Door and Window Sensor P2) to test that the ledger answers. That certificate belongs to a different product and says nothing about this one., verified 2026-08-09
  4. [4] irobot.com/en_US/roomba-max-715-vac-robot-plus-autoempty-dock/W255020.html (browser-rendered 2026-08-09): 'Clean by voice with Alexa, Siri & Google Assistant⁴' and 'Simply ask your preferred voice assistant⁴ to start cleaning now, or to schedule a future cleaning'; footnote '4 Works with Alexa, Siri, and Google Assistant-enabled devices. Alexa and all related logos are trademarks of Amazon.com or its affiliates. Google and Google Home are trademarks of Google LLC. Siri is a registered trademark of Apple Inc.' App-side features named on the page: 'Roomba® Home app', 3D multi-floor mapping with automatically named rooms, 'Smart Clean' room prioritisation. No SmartThings, Matter or Home Assistant mention anywhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Required hub or bridge
  5. [5] irobot.com/en_US/roomba-max-715-vac-robot-plus-autoempty-dock/W255020.html (browser-rendered 2026-08-09): 'up to 90 days of hands-free maintenance' with 'carbon odor-control AllergenLock™ bags'; consumables sold on the same page — 'Replacement Dirt Disposal Bags for select AutoEmpty™ and AutoWash™ Docks, 3-Pack $19.99' and 'Replenishment Kit for Roomba® Max 705 and Plus 504 Vac Robots $49.99'; 'anti-tangle Dual Rubber Brushes', 'anti-tangle Edge-Sweeping Brush', 'Dirt Detect™', 'Carpet Boost', 'PrecisionVision™ AI Technology + ClearView™ Pro LiDAR'; footnotes '2 As compared to Roomba® 105' for the 4X suction claim and '3 Compared to Roomba® 600 series robots sold prior to 2026' for the 20% edge claim. No subscription, plan, membership or fee appears on the page; no battery, runtime, coverage, dimension or weight figures appear either. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Subscription, Works without the internet, Research status
  6. [6] iRobot's own product and press surfaces plus the cited CSA/DCL and ecosystem Matter-category pages, re-read 2026-08-18 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  7. [7] What this record already answers about whether a hub is needed, and the entry already claiming it (unnamed entry), re-read 2026-08-19., verified 2026-08-19
  8. [8] iRobot's own Roomba Max 715 Vac product page, previously read browser-rendered for this record — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Capabilities
  9. [9] Internal re-spelling of this record's protocol wording. No page was read for this entry and no source was consulted; the evidence behind this record's protocol position is unchanged and lives in its existing protocol-claiming entries., verified 2026-08-22
  10. [10] The plan this record's notes name, the iRobot Select membership, was weighed against our standing test for what makes a subscription material to a buyer. The owner's settled expectation for robot vacuums, set 2026-09-15, is that nothing in this category turns on a plan, so no plan feature counts here and the subscription status stays none on the source already cited on this record. No page was re-read: the decision is about the category, not about the plan's contents., verified 2026-09-15
  11. [11] Plugs into a wall outlet — nothing to wire or mount., verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Installation
  12. [12] iRobot's product page for the Roomba Max 715 Vac, www.irobot.com/en_US/roomba-max-715-vac-robot-plus-autoempty-dock/W255020.html, re-read 2026-09-19. Verbatim: 'Works with Alexa, Siri, and Google Assistant-enabled devices.', followed by the Amazon, Google and Apple trademark lines. Neither Home Assistant nor Matter appears anywhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  13. [13] iRobot's US product page for the Roomba Max 715 Vac Robot + AutoEmpty Dock, read in full on 2026-10-03, rendered with tabs expanded. Verbatim: "Item # w255020 $699.99 As low as $64/mo with Affirm." · "Availability: In Stock" · "Roomba® Plus 575 Combo Robot + AutoWash™ dock $699.99 Price reduced from $799.99 to Shop now Roomba® Max 715 Vac Robot + AutoEmpty™ Dock $699.99 Currently viewing Roomba® Max 775 Combo Robot + AutoWash™ Dock $999.99" · "Get a fresher clean with odor-control AllergenLock™ bags and up to 90 days of hands-free maintenance." · "Robot Weight (lbs): 7.496 Robot Dimensions (in): 8.4 (L) x 6.8 (W) x 11.4 (H) AutoEmpty™ Dock Dimensions (in): 8.4 (L) x 6.8 (W) x 11.4 (H) AutoWash™ Dock Weight (lbs) 4.85 Battery Type: 6000 mAH, LFP" · "Choose from 3 easy ways to control: just press the button on the robot, tap your Roomba® Home App, or simply ask your preferred voice assistant⁴ to get a cleaning routine going anytime." · "change the filter, debris bag, and brushes every 3-6 months, as needed." · "Works with Alexa, Siri, and Google Assistant-enabled devices." No subscription, plan or membership, and no Matter, SmartThings or Home Assistant, appears anywhere on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Market availability, Service status, Power source, Subscription, Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities, Research status
  14. [14] The CSA Distributed Compliance Ledger's model list for iRobot's vendor number 5398, read in full on 2026-10-03 through tools/page-read.mjs and enumerated with tools/dcl-lookup.mjs absence 5398. Stated here in our own words: the ledger lists three products for the vendor, product 4 named Roomba Combo 10 Max, product 16 named Roomba and product 8193 named Roomba Mini, and none is the Max 715. A control lookup of a product the ledger is known to list answered in the same check. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Protocols
  15. [15] This record's own entries for the pages that name the route., verified 2026-10-03

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check iRobot Roomba Max 715 Vac with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker