Product Library / Smart Lighting

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-10

IKEA KAJPLATS LED Bulb E26 Color + White Spectrum

Compiled by SmartHomeWorkflow Research · IKEA · Smart Lighting · ~$12.99 (at time of research — never treated as a live price)

Exactly which product this is[1][8]

Model number
LED2405G8NA
Generation
Not established
Region this page covers
Not established
Also sold or listed as
Not established

“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.

Compatibility

EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][6]No Alexa-specific listing exists; coverage rests on IKEA's blanket statement of compatibility with smart systems from Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung, via standard Matter with a Thread border router on that platform.Setup path: Thread border router required — IKEA names its DIRIGERA hub as one option · Matter controller requiredIn Amazon Alexa you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller · a Ikea hub
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][6]Same basis: IKEA's blanket Matter-systems statement naming Google; no Google-specific listing. Thread border router on the Google side required.Setup path: Thread border router required — IKEA names its DIRIGERA hub as one option · Matter controller requiredIn Google Home you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller · a Ikea hub
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][6]Same basis: IKEA's blanket Matter-systems statement naming Apple; no Apple-specific listing. Thread border router on the Apple side required.Setup path: Thread border router required — IKEA names its DIRIGERA hub as one option · Matter controller requiredIn Apple Home you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller · a Ikea hub
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][6]Same basis: IKEA's blanket Matter-systems statement naming Samsung; no SmartThings-specific listing. Thread border router on the Samsung side required.Setup path: Thread border router required — IKEA names its DIRIGERA hub as one option · Matter controller requiredIn SmartThings you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller · a Ikea hub
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[5][11]IKEA does not name Home Assistant. The path is HA's official Matter integration (local push), which supports certified Matter devices generically; there is no KAJPLATS-specific listing on either side. A community Zigbee2MQTT path also exists via the bulb's IKEA-undocumented Zigbee fallback mode.In Home Assistant you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller · a Ikea hub

Protocols: MATTER · THREAD[2][8][15]

Needs before it works: Matter controller plus a Thread border router before phone or app control works — IKEA's page states you need a Thread Border Router, its DIRIGERA hub the stated example, and IKEA support names any Matter-compatible hub (DIRIGERA, Google Home, Alexa, Apple Home and more). Two no-hub paths exist, and IKEA's manual documents both: as a stand-alone device ('insert the bulb to a socket. The bulb is ready to use as is'), and paired directly to a BILRESA remote for physical control; starter kits ship pre-paired.[1][7]

What it can do[14]

You can tell it to

  • On/off
  • Brightness
  • Color
  • Color temperature

It reports

Not established — we could not confirm this from vendor documentation

Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.

What it doesApple HomeGoogle HomeAlexaSmartThingsHome Assistant
On/off? not stated? not stated? not stated? not stated✓ routines can use it
Brightness? not stated? not stated? not stated? not stated✓ routines can use it
Color? not stated? not stated? not stated? not stated✓ routines can use it
Color temperature? not stated? not stated? not stated? not stated✓ routines can use it

Platform documentation: Alexa — Matter path (2026-09-04), Apple Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Google Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Home Assistant — automation engine ceiling (2026-08-29), SmartThings — Matter path (2026-09-04)

Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.

Subscription reality[1][6]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription referenced on the IKEA US product pages, IKEA's smart-product support policy, or the launch press release.

Maintenance reality[4][7][9]

The catch

Without a Thread border router no phone or ecosystem can reach it — but the bulb is not dead without one: IKEA's manual says to use it as a stand-alone device you just screw it into a socket and it works, and a directly-paired BILRESA remote adds physical control. The built-in dimming means it must not go on a wall dimmer. The one to know before you buy into two ecosystems: the Matter setup code printed on the bulb only works for the FIRST system you add it to — sharing it with a second requires opening the first system's app to generate a new code. The color version costs a third more than the white-spectrum bulb in the same 1100 lm globe.

Who it's for

Thread-equipped Matter households that want full-color bulbs at a fraction of premium-brand prices, and DIRIGERA homes replacing or extending the discontinued TRADFRI line.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

18 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] IKEA US product page: KAJPLATS LED bulb E26 1100 lumen, smart color and white spectrum globe opal, art. 306.114.62 (ikea.com/us/en/p/kajplats-led-bulb-e26-1100-lumen-smart-color-and-white-spectrum-globe-opal-30611462/) — price, Matter over Thread statement, Thread-border-router requirement, ecosystem statement ('for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung'), dimming and color specs; sibling ikea.com/us KAJPLATS pages for the ten-SKU variant range and prices — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  2. [2] CSA Matter certifications CSA25448MAT45978-24 (2025-07-01, firmware 1.1.0) + CSA25G22MAT49052-24 (2025-12-16, firmware 1.2.0): Matter 1.4, Transport Interface Thread + Bluetooth, device type 0x010D (extended color light), vendor 0x117C, SKU LED2405G8/LED2405G8NA (csa-iot.org/csa_product/kajplats-e26-cws-globe-1100lm/); Zigbee 3.0 family certs exist for EU variants but no IKEA-documented Zigbee pairing path — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Protocols
  3. [3] IKEA global newsroom, 2025-11-06: 'IKEA launches new smart home range with 21 Matter-compatible products' — KAJPLATS bulb line named, with the statement that each bulb has more functionality than the previous TRADFRI range — Read published press coverage, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Market availability, Service status, Research status
  4. [4] IKEA US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA' (ikea.com/us/en/customer-service/privacy-security/product-support-policy-for-smart-products-from-ikea-pub0d314780/) — 5-year device support if paired with DIRIGERA/TRADFRI, post-support local operation; IKEA SE support KB on KAJPLATS pairing, the directly-paired remote path, and built-in dimming not working with wall/dimmer switches; matteralpha.com (2026-06-02) + zigbee2mqtt.io/devices/LED2405G8 for the IKEA-undocumented Zigbee fallback mode — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Maintenance
  5. [5] home-assistant.io/integrations/matter — official integration, local push, supports certified Matter devices; Thread devices need a Thread border router — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  6. [6] IKEA US product page: KAJPLATS LED bulb E26 1100 lumen, smart color and white spectrum/globe opal, art. 306.114.62 — '$12.99/pack'; 'Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung'; 'This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub'; 1100 lumen; 2700 K default with 2200/4000/6500 K selectable; 25,000 hour lifespan — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Market availability, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  7. [7] IKEA US manual, KAJPLATS LED bulb E26 1100 lumen (AA-2672138-1), English section — 'USE THE PRODUCT AS STAND ALONE DEVICE: To use the product without connecting it to the IKEA Home smart system, insert the bulb to a socket. The bulb is ready to use as is.'; 'Good to know — The Matter setup code can only be used to add the product to the first system. If you want to add the product to a second system, you will need to open the app of the first system to generate a new setup code to use.'; 'A matter hub and smart home app of the same system are required.'; 'USE THE PRODUCT WITH AN IKEA REMOTE CONTROL (without adding it to the IKEA Home smart system)'; 'Reset: To reset the bulb, turn on and off the light switch 6 times.'; TECHNICAL DATA: operating frequency bands 2402–2480 MHz and 2405–2480 MHz, MAX output power 10 dBm (EIRP) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Maintenance
  8. [8] CSA Matter certification CSA25G22MAT49052-24, certified 12/16/2025, re-read 2026-08-10: Matter 1.4, Transport Interface 'Thread, Bluetooth', Primary Device Type 0x010D, Vendor ID 0x117C, Product ID 0x9016, Family SKU LED2405G8, Family Variant SKU LED2405G8NA, Family ID FAM226300, manufacturer IKEA of Sweden — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Protocols, Product identity
  9. [9] IKEA US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA', re-read 2026-08-10 — 'We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway'; 'You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support… use the hub / gateway on your local network even without an internet connection' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Service status, Maintenance, Works without the internet
  10. [10] IKEA global newsroom, 2025-11-06: 'IKEA launches new smart home range with 21 Matter-compatible products' — Read published press coverage, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Research status
  11. [11] home-assistant.io/integrations/matter, re-read 2026-08-10 — official core integration, IoT class Local Push; 'To use Thread devices you will need a Thread network with at least one Thread border router in your network nearby the Thread device(s)'; HA's own caveat that Matter 'might not have the nitty-gritty features that come with a product-specific protocol' — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  12. [12] Record wiring, 2026-08-15: attached the shared IKEA Matter rule 'ikea-matter-ecosystems' to alexa, google, apple, smartthings. The rule quotes IKEA's range-wide Matter statement verbatim from a same-session vendor read and supplies this page's setup-path line. NOTHING on this record was re-verified — no level, catch, path or protocol was re-checked, and no axis date moves, which is why this entry carries no claims., verified 2026-08-15
  13. [13] ikea.com/us, KAJPLATS color+white spectrum product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Power source
  14. [14] CSA certified-products entry for IKEA of Sweden's KAJPLATS E26 CWS globe 1100lm, read 2026-08-20: certificate CSA25G22MAT49052-24, certified 12/16/2025, Matter specification 1.4, transport "Thread, Bluetooth", Family SKU LED2405G8 / Variant SKU LED2405G8NA, Vendor ID 0x117C, Product ID 0x9016 — Primary Device Type ID 0x010D, the Matter Extended Color Light. IKEA's own page for the bulb, read the same day, describes choosing colours, changing from warm to cold light, dimming, and on/off, and states "This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  15. [15] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the settled definition of what counts as a protocol: certificate CSA25448MAT45978 · Matter over Thread. No new outside page was opened — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  16. [16] csa-iot.org certified-product page for IKEA of Sweden AB's KAJPLATS E26 CWS globe 1100lm, read 2026-09-16. Verbatim, as the page prints it: "Product Details Family SKU LED2405G8 Family Variant SKU LED2405G8NA Firmware Version 1.2.0 Hardware Version 1 Certificate ID CSA25G22MAT49052-24 Certified Date 12/16/2025 Family ID FAM226300 Product ID 0x9016 Vendor ID 0x117C". The Vendor ID and Product ID in that block are what this entry records; the Family Variant SKU the page prints, LED2405G8NA, is this record's own model number, which is what ties these numbers to this bulb rather than to a sibling. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  17. [17] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-17 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-17
  18. [18] IKEA US, 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA' (www.ikea.com/us/en/customer-service/privacy-security/product-support-policy-for-smart-products-from-ikea-pub0d314780/), read 2026-09-18. The sentences taken off the page: 'We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway to ensure that your smart products from IKEA: Works with applicable IKEA Home smart app. Gets security updates.' The same page sets a separate floor for the hardware those products pair with: 'We will offer support for a minimum of three years after purchase, to ensure the hub / gateway: Works with the IKEA Home smart app / IKEA Home Smart 1. Gets security updates. Gets updates to ensure compatibility with Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, and Google Assistant.' Both windows are measured from the purchase date rather than from a launch date. On what happens afterwards: 'Yes! You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support. For example, you will still be able to turn your lights on and off, take your blinds up and down and use the hub / gateway on your local network even without an internet connection.' The policy defines the class it covers: products marked 'Works with IKEA Home smart' are 'smart products from IKEA that can be controlled with an applicable app if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway'. It names DIRIGERA, the TRÅDFRI gateway and SYMFONISK speakers, and it carries no last-updated date. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Security-update support period

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check it against YOUR setup →