Product Library / Switches & Dimmers

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-10

IKEA BILRESA Remote Control (Dual Button)

Compiled by SmartHomeWorkflow Research · IKEA · Switches & Dimmers · ~$6.99 (at time of research — never treated as a live price)

Exactly which product this is[1][6]

Model number
Not established
Generation
Not established
Region this page covers
Not established
Also sold or listed as
Not established

“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.

Compatibility

EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][6][7]Basis is IKEA's blanket statement of compatibility with Matter systems from Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung; IKEA publishes no per-ecosystem listing of which button actions (single, double, long press) each platform exposes. IKEA's own manual confirms the variability rather than resolving it: 'functionality depends on the type of product and the system it is connected to', and 'if the product is connected to another smart system that uses the Matter standard, check with the manufacturer for available features.' An on-page customer Q&A reports Alexa surfaces only single-press per button; that report is unverified against any official document.Setup path: Thread border router required — IKEA names its DIRIGERA hub as one option · Matter controller requiredIn Amazon Alexa you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller · a Ikea hub
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][6][7]IKEA's blanket Matter-systems statement naming Google; button-action depth per platform is not documented by IKEA, whose manual sends you to the other vendor for it ('check with the manufacturer for available features'). Thread border router on the Google side required.Setup path: Thread border router required — IKEA names its DIRIGERA hub as one option · Matter controller requiredIn Google Home you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller · a Ikea hub
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][6][7]IKEA's blanket Matter-systems statement naming Apple; button-action depth per platform is not documented by IKEA, whose manual sends you to the other vendor for it ('check with the manufacturer for available features'). Thread border router on the Apple side required.Setup path: Thread border router required — IKEA names its DIRIGERA hub as one option · Matter controller requiredIn Apple Home you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller · a Ikea hub
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][6][7]IKEA's blanket Matter-systems statement naming Samsung; button-action depth per platform is not documented by IKEA, whose manual sends you to the other vendor for it ('check with the manufacturer for available features'). Thread border router on the Samsung side required.Setup path: Thread border router required — IKEA names its DIRIGERA hub as one option · Matter controller requiredIn SmartThings you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller · a Ikea hub
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[5][11]IKEA does not name Home Assistant. The path is HA's official Matter integration (local push); the CSA cert types this device as a Matter Generic Switch (0x000F), and no IKEA-specific HA listing exists.In Home Assistant you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller · a Ikea hub

Protocols: MATTER · THREAD[2][8][16]

Needs before it works: Matter controller plus a Thread border router; IKEA's stated example is its DIRIGERA hub. Per IKEA's compatibility statement it works with Matter systems from Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung through that platform's Thread border router. The 10-product limit is narrower than the product page suggests: IKEA's manual states 'a maximum of 10 smart products from IKEA can be controlled with one remote control by pairing directly' — ten IKEA products, by direct pairing, not ten devices of any brand through a hub.[1][6][7]

What it can do[15]

You can tell it to

None documented by the vendor

It reports

  • Button pressed

Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.

What it doesApple HomeGoogle HomeAlexaSmartThingsHome Assistant
Button pressed? not stated✗ app only? not stated? not stated✓ routines can use it

Platform documentation: Alexa — Matter path (2026-09-04), Apple Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Google Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Home Assistant — automation engine ceiling (2026-08-29), SmartThings — Matter path (2026-09-04)

Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.

Subscription reality[1][6]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription referenced on the IKEA US product page, IKEA's smart-product support policy, or the launch press release.

Maintenance reality[4][7][9]

The catch

It does nothing until a Thread border router is on the network, and batteries (2x AAA) are sold separately. IKEA documents blanket Matter-system compatibility but not how each ecosystem exposes the button actions, so scene depth varies by platform and is undocumented — IKEA's own manual routes that question to the other vendor rather than answering it. The 10-product figure is IKEA products paired directly, not ten devices of any brand.

Who it's for

Anyone in a Matter ecosystem with a Thread border router who wants a physical two-button controller for lights, scenes, or plugs without opening an app; pairs directly with up to 10 IKEA smart products in DIRIGERA homes.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

19 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] IKEA US product page: BILRESA remote control, white smart/dual button, art. 806.178.76 (ikea.com/us/en/p/bilresa-remote-control-white-smart-dual-button-80617876/) — price, 'Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung', 'This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router', batteries, 10-product limit — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  2. [2] CSA Matter certification CSA250F9MAT45131-24, certified 2025-02-21: Matter 1.3, Transport Interface Thread + Bluetooth, Primary Device Type 0x000F (Generic Switch), vendor 0x117C (csa-iot.org/csa_product/bilresa-dual-button-3/) — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Protocols
  3. [3] IKEA global newsroom, 2025-11-06: 'IKEA launches new smart home range with 21 Matter-compatible products' — BILRESA dual button named as the control product of the wave — Read published press coverage, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Market availability, Service status, Research status
  4. [4] IKEA US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA' (ikea.com/us/en/customer-service/privacy-security/product-support-policy-for-smart-products-from-ikea-pub0d314780/) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Maintenance
  5. [5] home-assistant.io/integrations/matter — official integration, local push, supports certified Matter devices — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  6. [6] IKEA US product page: BILRESA remote control, white smart/dual button, art. 806.178.76 — '$6.99'; 'Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung'; 'This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub'; 'You can control up to 10 smart products with one remote control'; 'Batteries are sold separately. We recommend 2 x LADDA rechargeable batteries HR03 AAA 1.2V' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Market availability, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  7. [7] IKEA US manual, BILRESA remote control white smart/dual button (AA-2664471-5), English section — 'Technical data BILRESA Type: E2489 Input: 2 x AAA/HR03 Range: 10 m in open air. Operating frequency: 2402 - 2480 MHz' and 'Type: E2622' with the same input, range and frequency; 'Battery care… 2 new LADDA AAA HR03 batteries will usually power the remote for 24 months before they need to be changed'; 'Note, a maximum of 10 smart products from IKEA can be controlled with one remote by pairing directly'; 'Please note, functionality depends on the type of product and the system it is connected to'; 'If the product is connected to another smart system that uses the Matter standard, check with the manufacturer for available features'; 'The product is only suitable for mounting at heights up to 2 m'; 'Operating temperature: 0° C to 40° C (32° F to 104° F)'; FCC Part 15 / ISED statement present, confirming this is the North American document — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Maintenance, Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  8. [8] CSA Matter certification CSA250F9MAT45131-24, certified 02/21/2025, re-read 2026-08-10: Matter 1.3, Transport Interface 'Thread, Bluetooth', Primary Device Type 0x000F (Generic Switch), Vendor ID 0x117C, Product ID 0x8001, manufacturer IKEA of Sweden — no SKU field is published on this entry — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Protocols
  9. [9] IKEA US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA', re-read 2026-08-10 — 'We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway'; 'We will offer support for a minimum of three years after purchase' for DIRIGERA hub and TRÅDFRI gateway; 'You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support… use the hub / gateway on your local network even without an internet connection' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Service status, Maintenance, Works without the internet
  10. [10] IKEA global newsroom, 2025-11-06: 'IKEA launches new smart home range with 21 Matter-compatible products' — BILRESA dual button named as the control product of the wave — Read published press coverage, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Research status
  11. [11] home-assistant.io/integrations/matter, re-read 2026-08-10 — official core integration, IoT class Local Push; 'To use Thread devices you will need a Thread network with at least one Thread border router in your network nearby the Thread device(s)'; supported entity types include Button and Switch — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  12. [12] Record wiring, 2026-08-15: attached the shared IKEA Matter rule 'ikea-matter-ecosystems' to alexa, google, apple, smartthings. The rule quotes IKEA's range-wide Matter statement verbatim from a same-session vendor read and supplies this page's setup-path line. NOTHING on this record was re-verified — no level, catch, path or protocol was re-checked, and no axis date moves, which is why this entry carries no claims., verified 2026-08-15
  13. [13] ikea.com/us, BILRESA product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Power source
  14. [14] CSA Matter certification CSA250F9MAT45131-24 (Primary Device Type 0x000F, Generic Switch; Transport Interface Thread + Bluetooth) and IKEA's US product page and manual — all already cited on this record — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: What it provides to your home
  15. [15] The CSA certified-product record for the IKEA BILRESA Dual Button, read 2026-08-20: certificate CSA250F9MAT45131-24, Matter specification version 1.3, Transport Interface "Thread, Bluetooth", **Primary Device Type ID 0x000F (Generic Switch)**, Vendor ID 0x117C / Product ID 0x8001. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  16. [16] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the settled definition of what counts as a protocol: certificate CSA250F9MAT45131 · Matter over Thread. No new outside page was opened — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  17. [17] csa-iot.org certified-product page for IKEA's BILRESA dual-button remote, read 2026-09-17. Verbatim, as the page prints it: "Product Details Firmware Version 1.8.5 Hardware Version 2 Certificate ID CSA250F9MAT45131-24 Certified Date 02/21/2025 Product ID 0x8001 Vendor ID 0x117C". The page prints ONE certificate and it is the one this record already cites., verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  18. [18] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-17 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-17
  19. [19] IKEA US, 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA' (www.ikea.com/us/en/customer-service/privacy-security/product-support-policy-for-smart-products-from-ikea-pub0d314780/), read 2026-09-18. The sentences taken off the page: 'We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway to ensure that your smart products from IKEA: Works with applicable IKEA Home smart app. Gets security updates.' The same page sets a separate floor for the hardware those products pair with: 'We will offer support for a minimum of three years after purchase, to ensure the hub / gateway: Works with the IKEA Home smart app / IKEA Home Smart 1. Gets security updates. Gets updates to ensure compatibility with Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, and Google Assistant.' Both windows are measured from the purchase date rather than from a launch date. On what happens afterwards: 'Yes! You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support. For example, you will still be able to turn your lights on and off, take your blinds up and down and use the hub / gateway on your local network even without an internet connection.' The policy defines the class it covers: products marked 'Works with IKEA Home smart' are 'smart products from IKEA that can be controlled with an applicable app if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway'. It names DIRIGERA, the TRÅDFRI gateway and SYMFONISK speakers, and it carries no last-updated date. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Security-update support period

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check it against YOUR setup →