Product Library / Indoor Air & Comfort

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-21

Hunter Aerodyne Indoor Smart Fan with LED Light, 52 inch (51314)

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][2][13]
[1][2][13]
[1][2][13]
[1][11]
[4][19]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[1][2]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub, and Hunter is unusually explicit about why: 'We build the HunterSMART technology into our smart home fans, so you don't need to install or wire extra accessories to utilize the smart home fan capabilities.' The Wi-Fi module and remote receiver are inside the fan, so there is no bridge, no separate receiver to fit in the canopy and no controller to buy. One requirement replaces the hub, though, and it applies to every route including Apple's: you must create a HunterSMART app account and register the fan in the app before connecting it to any ecosystem. Hunter notes this account is separate from the hunterfan.com shopping account. The Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz — Hunter states its fans 'operate on 2.4G' and attributes most pairing failures to a phone sitting on a 5 GHz network.[2]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [2]

Documented device function

Fan mode

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [2]

Documented device function

Brightness

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [2]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[1][2]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
3 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[1][2][13]Google HomeWorks[1][2][13]AlexaWorks[1][2][13]SmartThingsInconclusive[1][11]Home AssistantWorks[4][19]
On/offDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Fan modeDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

BrightnessDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

The most fully evidenced cell on this record, and the mechanism is documented rather than implied. Hunter states its fans 'were the first to HomeKit Certified by Apple', and — far more usefully — publishes the actual pairing flow: in the Home app, tap the plus sign, choose 'Add Accessory', then 'scan the HomeKit setup code on the inside of the remote or in your HunterSMART fan's manual'. A HomeKit setup code is how a certified HomeKit accessory pairs, so this is a native accessory rather than a cloud bridge dressed up as one, and control is local on your own network. Hunter names what arrives: 'Through HomeKit, you can control your fan's speed, light, and direction', plus scenes and geo-triggered automations alongside other HomeKit devices. THREE LIMITS RECORDED PLAINLY. First, the HunterSMART app comes first even here — step one of Hunter's own Apple instructions is 'Register and pair your HunterSMART fan through our app', so an account is unavoidable. Second, the setup code lives inside the remote: if the remote is lost before pairing, the manual is the only other copy. Third, unlike a Matter claim, there is no public registry in which a buyer can independently confirm an Apple certification — this cell rests on a first-party claim backed by a first-party mechanism, which is strong evidence but not third-party evidence.[1][2][13]

Google Home

Documented on the same footing as Alexa and with the same account-linking shape: register and set up the fan in the HunterSMART app first, then 'Under Settings, select Connect with Google' and follow the Google Assistant flow. Hunter's specification table lists Google Home in the same 'Works With' line as Alexa and Apple HomeKit. Recorded full because the route and its mechanism are both published first-party. ⚠ THE ASYMMETRY IS WORTH NAMING THOUGH: Hunter illustrates what Alexa can do with example commands and never does the same for Google, so what the Google route carries is inferred from the fan having the same capabilities on the other side rather than stated. If Google is your household's assistant and setting a specific speed by voice is the point, that specific behaviour is undocumented. Hunter's marketing also uses 'Google Assistant' and 'Google Home' interchangeably across the two product descriptions read for this record.[1][2][13]

Alexa

A real, documented integration rather than a logo. Hunter publishes the steps — register the fan in the HunterSMART app, then under Settings choose 'Connect with Alexa' and follow Amazon's account-linking flow — and, unusually for this catalogue, publishes what it does: 'Alexa, set the office fan to high' and 'Alexa, turn on the office light' are Hunter's own examples, so speed and light both reach the fan by voice. ⚠ ONE GOTCHA HUNTER DOCUMENTS AND MOST VENDORS WOULD NOT, worth knowing before you rename anything: 'If you add a new HunterSMART fan, change your existing HunterSMART fan's name through our app, or update your HunterSMART password, you will need to reset the skill. Do this by disabling the skill in Alexa and then enable it again.' Renaming a fan silently breaking its voice control is exactly the kind of thing that gets blamed on the fan. Transport is cloud: this route runs through Hunter's servers and Amazon's, unlike the Apple one.[1][2][13]

SmartThings

Hunter names three platforms for this fan and frames them as examples rather than as a complete list. The page says the fan 'offers Wi-Fi capabilities, seamlessly integrating with smart home systems like Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and Amazon Alexa', and its specification row reads 'HunterSMART Works With: Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home'. A list introduced with 'like' or 'including' does not rule SmartThings out, and Hunter publishes no statement about it either way. A cloud-to-cloud route could exist unadvertised, or could not exist at all — check Hunter's current compatibility page before buying for a SmartThings home.[1][11]

Home Assistant

There is an official route to Home Assistant and it comes entirely from Home Assistant's side, because Hunter never mentions Home Assistant at all. This fan is a certified Apple Home accessory, so Home Assistant's built-in integration for Apple Home accessories pairs with it directly, and that integration supports both fans and lights, so you can switch the fan on and off, change its speed and dim its light. Control stays on your own network, with no maker's cloud in the path. Hunter ships nothing of its own: Home Assistant has no Hunter integration and no SimpleConnect integration, checked on 6 August 2026 against a page we knew existed in the same directory, so we could tell an empty result from a broken check. One setup step matters: Home Assistant can only find accessories that are not already paired, so a fan already added to the Apple Home app has to be removed from that app first, without resetting the fan, and the two apps cannot both hold it. Getting the fan onto your network is the easy part: the HunterSMART app does that before Home Assistant is involved.[4][19]

Device documentation: [1] [2]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][2][13]The most fully evidenced cell on this record, and the mechanism is documented rather than implied. Hunter states its fans 'were the first to HomeKit Certified by Apple', and — far more usefully — publishes the actual pairing flow: in the Home app, tap the plus sign, choose 'Add Accessory', then 'scan the HomeKit setup code on the inside of the remote or in your HunterSMART fan's manual'. A HomeKit setup code is how a certified HomeKit accessory pairs, so this is a native accessory rather than a cloud bridge dressed up as one, and control is local on your own network. Hunter names what arrives: 'Through HomeKit, you can control your fan's speed, light, and direction', plus scenes and geo-triggered automations alongside other HomeKit devices. THREE LIMITS RECORDED PLAINLY. First, the HunterSMART app comes first even here — step one of Hunter's own Apple instructions is 'Register and pair your HunterSMART fan through our app', so an account is unavoidable. Second, the setup code lives inside the remote: if the remote is lost before pairing, the manual is the only other copy. Third, unlike a Matter claim, there is no public registry in which a buyer can independently confirm an Apple certification — this cell rests on a first-party claim backed by a first-party mechanism, which is strong evidence but not third-party evidence.
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][2][13]A real, documented integration rather than a logo. Hunter publishes the steps — register the fan in the HunterSMART app, then under Settings choose 'Connect with Alexa' and follow Amazon's account-linking flow — and, unusually for this catalogue, publishes what it does: 'Alexa, set the office fan to high' and 'Alexa, turn on the office light' are Hunter's own examples, so speed and light both reach the fan by voice. ⚠ ONE GOTCHA HUNTER DOCUMENTS AND MOST VENDORS WOULD NOT, worth knowing before you rename anything: 'If you add a new HunterSMART fan, change your existing HunterSMART fan's name through our app, or update your HunterSMART password, you will need to reset the skill. Do this by disabling the skill in Alexa and then enable it again.' Renaming a fan silently breaking its voice control is exactly the kind of thing that gets blamed on the fan. Transport is cloud: this route runs through Hunter's servers and Amazon's, unlike the Apple one.
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][2][13]Documented on the same footing as Alexa and with the same account-linking shape: register and set up the fan in the HunterSMART app first, then 'Under Settings, select Connect with Google' and follow the Google Assistant flow. Hunter's specification table lists Google Home in the same 'Works With' line as Alexa and Apple HomeKit. Recorded full because the route and its mechanism are both published first-party. ⚠ THE ASYMMETRY IS WORTH NAMING THOUGH: Hunter illustrates what Alexa can do with example commands and never does the same for Google, so what the Google route carries is inferred from the fan having the same capabilities on the other side rather than stated. If Google is your household's assistant and setting a specific speed by voice is the point, that specific behaviour is undocumented. Hunter's marketing also uses 'Google Assistant' and 'Google Home' interchangeably across the two product descriptions read for this record.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][11]Hunter names three platforms for this fan and frames them as examples rather than as a complete list. The page says the fan 'offers Wi-Fi capabilities, seamlessly integrating with smart home systems like Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and Amazon Alexa', and its specification row reads 'HunterSMART Works With: Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home'. A list introduced with 'like' or 'including' does not rule SmartThings out, and Hunter publishes no statement about it either way. A cloud-to-cloud route could exist unadvertised, or could not exist at all — check Hunter's current compatibility page before buying for a SmartThings home.
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][19]There is an official route to Home Assistant and it comes entirely from Home Assistant's side, because Hunter never mentions Home Assistant at all. This fan is a certified Apple Home accessory, so Home Assistant's built-in integration for Apple Home accessories pairs with it directly, and that integration supports both fans and lights, so you can switch the fan on and off, change its speed and dim its light. Control stays on your own network, with no maker's cloud in the path. Hunter ships nothing of its own: Home Assistant has no Hunter integration and no SimpleConnect integration, checked on 6 August 2026 against a page we knew existed in the same directory, so we could tell an empty result from a broken check. One setup step matters: Home Assistant can only find accessories that are not already paired, so a fan already added to the Apple Home app has to be removed from that app first, without resetting the fan, and the two apps cannot both hold it. Getting the fan onto your network is the easy part: the HunterSMART app does that before Home Assistant is involved.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[1][2][13]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription. The HunterSMART app requires an account but no payment, and no plan, tier or paywall gates any published function — app control, voice control, scheduling, light dimming and direction reversal are all described without a fee. There is no consumable. Recorded as an absence rather than a promise: Hunter never mentions a charge, and equally never makes a written commitment that it will not introduce one.

Maintenance and offline use[1][2][4]

The catch

The catch here is not whether it works but what each route costs you. All three major platforms are supported with published setup instructions, which is rare in this category — but only Apple's is local. HomeKit pairing uses a setup code printed inside the remote and gives you speed, light and direction; Alexa and Google both run through Hunter's cloud after linking accounts. And every route, Apple's included, starts by creating a HunterSMART app account and registering the fan there first. That account is separate from the hunterfan.com account you shop with, which Hunter flags itself. Second, one documented gotcha will look like a hardware fault when it happens: renaming a fan in the HunterSMART app, adding a new fan, or changing your HunterSMART password breaks the Alexa skill until you disable and re-enable it. Third, the Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz only, and Hunter attributes most failed pairings to a phone sitting on the 5 GHz half of a dual-band network — worth sorting before you are up a ladder. Fourth, this is a hardwired 24.1 lb fixture on a 3-inch downrod, rated indoor-only, and its light is integrated and cannot be removed. Budget for an electrician and for the fact that you are choosing this light, not just this fan: two 9W LEDs at 3000K, dimmable, 800 lumens each. Fifth, a correction worth carrying to any Hunter page you read yourself — the site's product pages appear to show 'Sale' and 'Out of Stock' badges on items that are neither. Those badges are in the page markup for every product and hidden when they do not apply. The store's own data shows this fan available at full price. Finally, the efficiency figures: 5,218 CFM on high at 48 watts is 71 CFM per watt, with a limited lifetime motor warranty behind it, though the light kit is covered for only one year.

Who it's for

The strongest fit is an Apple Home household, and that is not a sentence this catalogue gets to write often about a ceiling fan. HomeKit here is native and certified rather than bridged, it pairs with a setup code like any other Apple accessory, control is local, and Hunter documents speed, light and direction all arriving in the Home app. It works just as well for Alexa or Google homes — the setup paths are published for both, and Hunter's own example commands show voice setting fan speed and light — with the trade that those routes run through the cloud and depend on a linked account staying linked. Home Assistant users have a genuine option too, via the HomeKit Device integration, as long as they accept it is either Home Assistant or Apple Home and not both. At $269.99 with 5,218 CFM, a limited lifetime motor warranty and no subscription anywhere, it is a lot of specified fan for the price. Look elsewhere if you run SmartThings, which is addressed nowhere; if you want a fan without a light, since this one's LEDs are integrated and Hunter states it cannot be used without them; or if you are unwilling to create a manufacturer app account, because every path to every ecosystem starts there.

Check availability at Hunter Fan

This opens Hunter Fan's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

19 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Hunter Fan Company, Aerodyne 52 inch smart fan product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-06
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Batteries, Works without the internet, Power source, Installation, Capabilities, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Service status, Subscription
  2. [2] Hunter Fan Company, HunterSMART platform and setup documentation — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-06
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Required hub or bridge, Protocols, Capabilities, Subscription, Batteries, Works without the internet
  3. [3] Hunter Fan Company storefront product data, Aerodyne 52 inch — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-06
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability
  4. [4] Home Assistant, HomeKit Device (homekit_controller) integration documentation and integration directory — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-06
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Batteries, Works without the internet
  5. [5] Hunter's own storefront product data — product "Aerodyne Indoor Smart Fan with LED Light 52 inch with Remote", available=true; all four finishes $269.99, with Dove Grey, Fresh White and Matte Silver unavailable and Matte Black available. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Research status, Price
  6. [6] https://www.hunterfan.com/pages/huntersmart (read 2026-09-09) — the page's own table of contents reads '3. Using HunterSMART with iOS and Android', with a section under that heading. Hunter names no third mobile platform for the app anywhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: App platforms
  7. [7] https://www.hunterfan.com/pages/huntersmart (read 2026-09-09) says 'If your home WiFi has two networks, please be sure to use the 2.4 GHz network', 'Once you have verified your home network is on 2.4 GHz, please proceed with provisioning your fan' and 'Make sure you are on 2.4 GHz network on your mobile phone'. Every one of those is a commissioning instruction about the PHONE and the network, which this catalogue does not treat as evidence that the radio cannot reach 5 GHz; the fan's own product page carries no connectivity specification. The Wi-Fi band is left unrecorded because Hunter does not publish it, not because nobody looked. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
  8. [8] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
  9. [9] the record's own customer-facing prose as it stood before 2026-09-15 (no external read), verified 2026-09-15
  10. [10] Hunter's own pages, read in a browser with every tab opened, on 2026-09-15: this model's product page https://www.hunterfan.com/products/ceiling-fans-aerodyne-indoor-smart-fan-with-led-light-52-inch-with-remote-1001161 (10,457 characters: specifications including 'Control Type Included Handheld Remote', 'HunterSMART (WiFi) Smart Home Enabled' and 'HunterSMART Works With Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home'); the HunterSMART platform page https://www.hunterfan.com/pages/huntersmart (14,443 characters: account, pairing, Apple, Alexa, Google and troubleshooting sections, including 'you can use it to control your ceiling fan on/off functions and speed as well as the fan's light on/off functions and dimming while you're home or away'); and two Hunter support articles, 'HunterSMART Technology' https://support.hunterfan.com/hc/en-us/articles/29730884237719-HunterSMART-Technology (4,279 characters) and 'HunterSMART Network Compatibility' https://support.hunterfan.com/hc/en-us/articles/360038777934-HunterSMART-Network-Compatibility (3,574 characters). None of these pages says what the fan, its app or its remote does when the internet is down. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15
  11. [11] Hunter's own product page for the Aerodyne Indoor Smart Fan (52 inch), re-read 2026-09-17 for the shape of its platform list. The page publishes the same three platforms in several places and frames them as examples every time: 'HunterSMART (formerly SIMPLEconnect) Wi-Fi capabilities, seamlessly integrating with smart home systems like Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and Amazon Alexa'; 'Wi-Fi fan compatible with smart home devices including Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and Amazon Alexa'; 'HunterSMART - Smart fan control designed to work with Alexa, HomeKit, and Google Home'; and a specification row 'HunterSMART Works With | Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home'. SmartThings is named nowhere on the page. ⚠ The 'big three' marketing sentence quoted by the previous read is NOT on the page today. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  12. [12] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-17 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-17
  13. [13] Hunter Fan Company: Aerodyne Indoor Smart Fan 52 inch product page, its structured storefront product record, and the HunterSMART platform documentation page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Price, Product identity, App platforms, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  14. [14] Hunter's own store listing for the 52-inch Aerodyne smart fan, read 2026-09-22. The listing publishes an item number and a retail barcode for each finish it sells. The Matte Black finish carries item number 51314 — the same number this record already names as the model — and the retail barcode 049694513144. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  15. [15] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-23
  16. [16] Hunter's own product page for the Aerodyne 52 inch smart fan, read in full on 2026-09-30. On installation it says only "Installation made easy with Hunter's 3D InterActive Guide—just scan the QR code for quick setup." and "PRE-INSTALLED RECEIVER: Control receiver built into the fan. One less step for installation." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
  17. [17] Home Assistant's HomeKit Device integration documentation, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Its IoT class is Local Push." · the Categories line names Alarm, Binary sensor, Climate, Cover, Fan, Health, Hub, Humidifier, Light, Lock, Number, Sensor and Switch · "Home Assistant can only find accessories that aren’t already paired. Even if you reset your Home Assistant configuration, the accessory will still think it is paired and you won’t be able to use it with Home Assistant. You should reset the accessory according to the manufacturer’s instructions." · "If an accessory is Wi-Fi based and has no user interface for joining it to your Wi-Fi network, you will need an Apple HomeKit controller device (an iPhone or iPad)." The sentence "Remove the HomeKit device from the Apple Home app. Don’t reset the device." now sits under the heading for adding a device through an Apple Thread border router. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-04
  18. [18] Looked on 4 October 2026 for a Hunter page that says whether this fan's installation should go to an electrician, which is what keeps the install answer at 'a professional is recommended'. Hunter's store and HunterSMART pages, the only Hunter pages this record cites, turn our reader away (a refusal on every request since 2 October 2026, with no automated route left), and the same holds for Hunter's bare domain. The re-source tool found no other Hunter host to walk, and Home Assistant's page is a platform's documentation, not Hunter's. No page was read for this fact, so the install answer keeps the date it was read on., verified 2026-10-04
  19. [19] Home Assistant's HomeKit Device integration documentation (2026.10.1), read in full on 2026-10-10 (24,074 characters). Verbatim: "There is currently support for the following device types (also called domains ) within Home Assistant. They are listed with their default types." The list that follows includes "Light (HomeKit lights)" and "Fan", and the Categories line names Fan and Light. The page names no brand or model., verified 2026-10-10
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Hunter Aerodyne Indoor Smart Fan with LED Light, 52 inch (51314) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker