Product Library / Smart Lighting

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-15

Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2

⚠ Similar names, different products: ⚠ Govee sells at least three permanent outdoor lines whose names differ by one word or one digit, and we now hold three of them. This is the Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 (H705D), which Govee's page lists by length as H705D (50 ft), H705E (100 ft) and H705F (150 ft). It is NOT the Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro, which Govee's page lists as H706A (100 ft), H706B (150 ft) and H706C (200 ft), RGBICWW. Govee's own page compares this product with the first-generation Permanent Outdoor Lights (H705A/B/C), a product we do not hold, and says the two are not compatible. It is also NOT the Permanent Outdoor Lights Prism (H707B/H707C), which we added on 2026-08-18. ⊕ Length is a purchase option rather than a different product: 50 ft, 100 ft and 150 ft are selectable, alongside 16.4 ft extensions, a Control Box and an Adapter sold separately. The lengths do not change which ecosystems it reaches — same control box, same radios — so this page covers the model rather than one length.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][2][4][15][16][26][35]
[1][13][24][31][33][34][35][44]
[1][13][24][31][34][35]
[1][2][4][15][16][28][35]
[1][4][16][19][26][27][35][38]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH · MATTER[1][2][4][5][13][15][16][17][34][35][36]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Color

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [23] [34]

Documented device function

Scene

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [23] [34]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[23][34]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
Not established from vendor documentation

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmed[1][2][4][15][16][26][35]Google HomeWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmed[1][13][24][31][33][34][35][44]AlexaWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmed[1][13][24][31][34][35]SmartThingsWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmed[1][2][4][15][16][28][35]Home AssistantWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmed[1][4][16][19][26][27][35][38]
ColorDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

? not stated

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

SceneDevice control
Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Google Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

Control

Not stated

Automation

? not stated

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Works in Apple Home over Matter: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Apple Home controls color on Matter lights. Brightness and color temperature are unconfirmed in Apple Home: Govee does not say this light offers either over Matter. The scenes, effects and music sync stay in the Govee Home app.[1][2][4][15][16][26][35]

Scene automation: Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

Google Home

Works in Google Home over Matter: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Google Home controls color on Matter lights. Brightness and color temperature are unconfirmed in Google Home: Govee does not say this light offers either over Matter. Govee also lists Google Assistant for voice control without saying how it connects. The scenes, effects and music sync stay in the Govee Home app.[1][13][24][31][33][34][35][44]

Scene automation: Google Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

Alexa

Works in Alexa over Matter: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Alexa controls color on Matter lights. Brightness and color temperature are unconfirmed in Alexa: Govee does not say this light offers either over Matter. Govee also lists Alexa for voice control without saying how it connects. The scenes, effects and music sync stay in the Govee Home app.[1][13][24][31][34][35]

Scene automation: Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

SmartThings

Works in SmartThings over Matter: this model carries a Matter certificate, and SmartThings controls color on Matter lights. Brightness and color temperature are unconfirmed in SmartThings: Govee does not say this light offers either over Matter. Neither Govee nor SmartThings names this model for SmartThings, so the certificate is the route. The scenes, effects and music sync stay in the Govee Home app.[1][2][4][15][16][28][35]

Home Assistant

Two routes. Home Assistant's own local Govee integration lists this product's model numbers (H705D, H705E and H705F) and runs on your home network once local control is switched on following Govee's instructions; Home Assistant notes that some scenes may not work on every device. The lights also pair through Home Assistant's Matter support. Either way color comes across; brightness and color temperature are unconfirmed, because Govee does not say this light offers them outside its app. The effects stay in Govee's app.[1][4][16][19][26][27][35][38]

Device documentation: [23] [34]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmedWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmed — see the catch[1][13][24][31][34][35]Works in Alexa over Matter: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Alexa controls color on Matter lights. Brightness and color temperature are unconfirmed in Alexa: Govee does not say this light offers either over Matter. Govee also lists Alexa for voice control without saying how it connects. The scenes, effects and music sync stay in the Govee Home app.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Google HomeWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmedWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmed — see the catch[1][13][24][31][33][34][35][44]Works in Google Home over Matter: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Google Home controls color on Matter lights. Brightness and color temperature are unconfirmed in Google Home: Govee does not say this light offers either over Matter. Govee also lists Google Assistant for voice control without saying how it connects. The scenes, effects and music sync stay in the Govee Home app.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Apple HomeWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmedWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmed — see the catch[1][2][4][15][16][26][35]Works in Apple Home over Matter: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Apple Home controls color on Matter lights. Brightness and color temperature are unconfirmed in Apple Home: Govee does not say this light offers either over Matter. The scenes, effects and music sync stay in the Govee Home app.
SmartThingsWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmedWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmed — see the catch[1][2][4][15][16][28][35]Works in SmartThings over Matter: this model carries a Matter certificate, and SmartThings controls color on Matter lights. Brightness and color temperature are unconfirmed in SmartThings: Govee does not say this light offers either over Matter. Neither Govee nor SmartThings names this model for SmartThings, so the certificate is the route. The scenes, effects and music sync stay in the Govee Home app.In SmartThings you also need: a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub — SmartThings’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-10-14)
Home AssistantWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmedWorks; brightness and color temperature unconfirmed — see the catch[1][4][16][19][26][27][35][38]Two routes. Home Assistant's own local Govee integration lists this product's model numbers (H705D, H705E and H705F) and runs on your home network once local control is switched on following Govee's instructions; Home Assistant notes that some scenes may not work on every device. The lights also pair through Home Assistant's Matter support. Either way color comes across; brightness and color temperature are unconfirmed, because Govee does not say this light offers them outside its app. The effects stay in Govee's app.In Home Assistant you also need: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)

Plans and ongoing costs[1][14][34]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription is named anywhere on this product's page — control runs through the Govee Home app at no stated cost. We record no subscription on the strength of a page carrying no plan, no tier and no gated feature; if Govee later puts effects or scenes behind a fee, that is a change rather than something we missed here.

Maintenance and offline use

The catch

🔴 Matter IS certified here, and this record said otherwise for four days — corrected 2026-08-22. The product page's FAQ says this model 'supports Matter'; Govee's own Matter FAQ names only the M1 strip light and was treated as the deciding surface on 2026-08-18. It is not: CSA certified this exact variant SKU (H705D) on 2024-03-06 under certificate CSA24133MAT42982-24, and the certificate is published on Matter's Distributed Compliance Ledger too — both instruments agree, and both predate this record by well over a year. Govee's Matter FAQ is simply stale, and a stale vendor FAQ does not un-certify a product. Apple Home, SmartThings and Home Assistant are all reachable over Matter as a result. ⊕ The certificate also answers a radio question the product page never did: Transport Interface reads 'Wi-Fi, Bluetooth', so Bluetooth is present rather than merely unasserted. The remaining thing to check before ordering: the page shows one price without telling you which length it buys, and the control box and adapter are sold as separate items.

Who it's for

Any of the major ecosystems, now that the certificate is on the record: Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings and Home Assistant all get light control over Matter, with scenes and effects living in the Govee app whichever way you connect. It is the volume answer for year-round roofline colour without Hue money — the newer, cheaper line beside the Pro — and it suits a soffit run where the control box has somewhere sheltered to live. Home Assistant households also get Home Assistant's own local Govee integration, which names this model as it does the Pro.

Check availability at Govee

This opens Govee's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

44 numbered sources, including 1 where sources disagree· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] us.govee.com, Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Market availability, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Subscription
  2. [2] us.govee.com, Govee Matter FAQ — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  3. [3] Govee's product page, read 2026-08-20: "16 million accurate colors", "100 scene modes", "One-tap to create a light show with music mode", DIY lighting, and the ecosystem sentence "Connect and control from anywhere with Govee Home App, Alexa, and Google Assistant for versatile lighting". Neither brightness nor on/off is stated explicitly, and no Matter, Apple Home or SmartThings claim appears on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
  4. [4] csa-iot.org certified-products registry, 'Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2' (read 2026-08-22). The page gives the filing company as Guangdong Qianyan Technology Co., Ltd., certificate CSA24133MAT42982-24, certified 2024-03-06, family SKU H705F with variant SKU H705D, product ID 0x705D, vendor ID 0x1387, primary device type 0x010d, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth as its transports, Matter specification 1.0, firmware 27.0 and hardware 1.0. ⚠ THE VARIANT SKU IS THE BINDING AND IT WAS CHECKED RATHER THAN ASSUMED: the family's first certificate page (CSA24132MAT42981-24) carries variant SKU H705E, not H705D, and a third (CSA24134MAT42983-24) exists — this record's model is H705D, so this is its certificate. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  5. [5] The Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, the industry register of certified Matter products, read 2026-08-22. This product's entry returns software version 27 (27.0) CERTIFIED, certificate CSA24133MAT42982-24, dated 2024-03-06T00:00:00.000Z. Govee's full list on the register, all 263 models read to the end, names product 28765 as 'Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2' [part H705D]. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Protocols
  6. [6] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-06 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-06
  7. [7] https://eu.govee.com/pages/easy-faqs (read 2026-09-10): 'Download the Govee Home app in the App Store (iOS devices) or Google Play (Android devices)', repeated later as 'Download Govee Home app in App Store (iOS devices), or Google Play (Android devices).' Govee Home is the single app every Govee record's own page directs the buyer to, which is why the Govee Strip Light 2 Pro record cites this same page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-10
    Backs: App platforms
  8. [8] https://eu.govee.com/pages/easy-faqs (read 2026-09-10) states 'All our Wi-Fi strip lights work with 2.4G internet only.' This record is a permanent outdoor light string, not a strip light, and the sentence names the class it covers. Applying it here would be exactly the borrowing that citing a source for each fact is meant to prevent. The product page https://us.govee.com/products/govee-permanent-outdoor-lights-2 (read 2026-09-10) returned 4,417 characters of marketing copy with no specification table and no band, so the Wi-Fi band is left unrecorded. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-10
  9. [9] https://us.govee.com/products/govee-permanent-outdoor-lights-2 read in a browser 2026-09-12 with every tab opened: 8,266 characters of text a reader can see after opening 4 tabs (2 skipped as privacy controls, never clicked), and 28,840 further characters carried in the page but never shown. No band, no 802.11 designation and no frequency anywhere in either — twice the readable copy an earlier, simpler read returned, and none of it a specification. The FAQ sentence about strip lights, refused on that earlier read ('All our Wi-Fi strip lights work with 2.4G internet only'), is unchanged and still does not cover a light string. The Wi-Fi band is left unrecorded because Govee does not publish it, not because nobody looked. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-12
  10. [10] csa-iot.org certified-product page, read 2026-09-15 from the served HTML. The page names the product Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2, filed by Guangdong Qianyan Technology Co., Ltd., and gives family SKU H705F, variant SKU H705D, certificate CSA24133MAT42982-24, certified 2024-03-06, family FAM226147, product ID 0x705D and vendor ID 0x1387., verified 2026-09-15
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  11. [11] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-17 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-17
  12. [12] us.govee.com, Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 product page, Installation Guide block — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Installation
  13. [13] Govee's own US product page for the Permanent Outdoor Lights 2, read in full 2026-09-30 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 $279.99 Best Seller Limited Stock Remaining! color White Black Length 100ft 150ft 50ft 16.4ft Extension Lights 50ft + 16.4ft Extension Lights 100ft + 16.4ft Extension Lights Control Box Adapter" · "Model: H705D(50ft) & H705E(100ft) & H705F(150ft)" · "Incompatible with the first generation of Permanent Outdoor Lights(H705A/B/C)." · "Easy Installation: Simply use the provided VHB glue and clips for a hassle-free experience. Note: These permanent outdoor lights 2 are not cuttable." · "Smart Home Integration: Connect and control from anywhere with Govee Home App, Alexa, and Google Assistant for versatile lighting." · "*The Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Elite version sold at Costco and the Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 (H705F) refer to the same product." · "*Outdoor Lights: IP67; Control Box: IP65, Control Box: Outdoor Use." · "Specs Product Name Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 Model H705E Colors RGBWIC Length 100ft ... Number of lights 72 Lumens 40 lumens per light Scene Mode 100 Adapter 36V 2A" · "Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 offers higher brightness, with 40lm/per light and supports Matter." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Installation, Market availability, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  14. [14] Govee's own US product page for the Permanent Outdoor Lights 2, read in full 2026-09-30 through tools/page-read.mjs: no plan, tier, membership or recurring fee appears anywhere on it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Subscription
  15. [15] Govee's Matter FAQ, read in full 2026-09-30 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Which Govee products will be Matter-enabled in the future? ● Current Matter Support Plan: ○ M1 Strip Light: M1 (2m) and M1 (5m, which requires a Matter-enabled control box)" · "What technology is Govee's Matter based on, Thread or Wi-FI? Wi-Fi" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  16. [16] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certified-product page, read in full 2026-09-30 through tools/page-read.mjs. The page lists Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 under Guangdong Qianyan Technology Co., Ltd. and describes it as colour (RGBW) string lighting for mounting along outdoor eaves. It gives family SKU H705F, variant SKU H705D, firmware 27.0, hardware 1.0, certificate CSA24133MAT42982-24, certified 2024-03-06, family FAM226147, product ID 0x705D and vendor ID 0x1387, with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth as the transports. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  17. [17] The Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger's certified software-version address for vendor 4999, product 28765, read 2026-09-30 through tools/page-read.mjs: the ledger lists one software version, 27, for vendor 4999 and product 28765. The model list for vendor 4999 read the same day registers PID 28765 as 'Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2' (part H705D). — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Protocols
  18. [18] Govee's FAQ hub, read in full 2026-09-30 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Download the Govee Home app in the App Store (iOS devices) or Google Play (Android devices." and "Download Govee Home app in App Store (iOS devices), or Google Play (Android devices)." The page's one Wi-Fi band sentence reads "All our Wi-Fi strip lights work with 2.4G internet only." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: App platforms
  19. [19] Home Assistant's 'Govee lights local' integration page, read in full 2026-09-30 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Integrates Govee lights into Home Assistant using Local API control. To enable local control on your Govee device, refer to the instructions available here ." · the Supported devices list, which includes "H705A, H705B, H705C, H705D, H705E, H705F" and "H706A, H706B, H706C" and no H707 model · "Note Some scenes may not be supported from all devices." · "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  20. [20] Govee's own US product page for the Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro, read in full 2026-09-30 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro $599.99 $759.99 Best Seller Limited Stock Remaining! color White Black Length 200ft 150ft 100ft 16.4ft Extension" · "Model: H706A(100ft) & H706B (150ft) & H706C(200ft)" · "RGBICWW Luminblend™" · "Specs Model H706C ... Length 200ft/60m". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Product identity
  21. [21] Govee's 'Govee & Matter' page, read 2026-09-30 through tools/page-read.mjs --rendered (the plain read returns only the page title, a client-rendered shell). Its 'Recommended Products' block lists four products: "Govee Floor Lamp 2", "Govee Strip Light 2 Pro", "Govee COB Strip Light Pro" and "Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 $279.99". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
  22. [22] The Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger's model list for Govee's vendor number 4999, read 2026-09-30 through tools/page-read.mjs and node tools/dcl-lookup.mjs (absence control passed on Aqara's Door and Window Sensor P2, CSA22085MAT40085-24): 269 models registered, among them PID 28765 'Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2' (part H705D), PID 28766 (H705E) and PID 28767 (H705F), and four separately registered 'Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Elite' models (parts H805A, H805B, H805C and H805D). The fingerprint is of the first page of the list. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-30
  23. [23] Govee's own US product page for Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2, model H705E, read in full 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "With 100 scene modes and 16 million colors, your home will shine with captivating and unique displays." · "An upgraded design, Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 shows a smooth lighting effect from 16 million accurate colors. It also enhances security with its 40lm white light." · "Model H705E Colors RGBWIC Length 100ft" · "Scene Mode 100". The page does not say the lights can be dimmed, switched on and off, or set to a colour temperature. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Capabilities
  24. [24] Govee's own US product page for Permanent Outdoor Lights 2, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Model: H705D(50ft) & H705E(100ft) & H705F(150ft)" · "Smart Home Integration: Connect and control from anywhere with Govee Home App, Alexa, and Google Assistant for versatile lighting." · "Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 offers higher brightness, with 40lm/per light and supports Matter." The page names no way of connecting to Alexa or Google and no control either platform gets. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  25. [25] Govee's Matter FAQ, read in full on 2026-10-07: "Currently supported features include switching on/off, brightness adjustment, color temperature adjustment, and color changing." The page names no permanent outdoor light. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
  26. [26] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certified-product page for Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2, read in full on 2026-10-07 (certificate CSA24133MAT42982-24). In our words: it lists the product under Guangdong Qianyan Technology Co., Ltd. as a Matter-certified end product with family SKU H705F and variant SKU H705D, certified on 6 March 2024 on Matter specification 1.0, over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, with an extended colour light as its primary device type (0x010D). — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  27. [27] Home Assistant's 'Govee lights local' integration page, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Integrates Govee lights into Home Assistant using Local API control." · the Supported devices list, which includes "H705D, H705E, H705F" · "Some scenes may not be supported from all devices." · "Its IoT class is Local Push." · "Categories light". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  28. [28] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certified-product page for Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2, read in full on 2026-10-08 (certificate CSA24133MAT42982-24). In our words: it lists the product under Guangdong Qianyan Technology Co., Ltd. as a Matter-certified end product with family SKU H705F and variant SKU H705D, certified on 6 March 2024 on Matter specification 1.0, over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, with an extended colour light as its primary device type (0x010D). — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  29. [29] Govee's US product page for the Permanent Outdoor Lights 2, now titled "Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 (Elite)", read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Smart Home Integration: Connect and control from anywhere with Govee Home App, Alexa, and Google Assistant for versatile lighting." · "Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 offers higher brightness, with 40lm/per light and supports Matter." · "*The Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Elite version sold at Costco and the Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 (H705F) refer to the same product." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
  30. [30] Govee's Matter FAQ, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Current Matter Support Plan: ○ M1 Strip Light: M1 (2m) and M1 (5m, which requires a Matter-enabled control box)" · "Currently supported features include switching on/off, brightness adjustment, color temperature adjustment, and color changing." · "Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings are committed to supporting Matter." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
  31. [31] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certified-product page for Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2, read in full on 2026-10-11 (certificate CSA24133MAT42982-24). In our words: it lists the product under Guangdong Qianyan Technology Co., Ltd. as a Matter-certified end product with family SKU H705F and variant SKU H705D, certified on 6 March 2024 on Matter specification 1.0, over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, with vendor ID 0x1387, product ID 0x705D and an extended colour light as its primary device type (0x010D)., verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  32. [32] Amazon's 'Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters' page, read in full on 2026-10-11 ("Last updated: Apr 08, 2026"). Its lighting table pairs the On/Off cluster with Alexa.PowerController, Level Control with Alexa.BrightnessController, and Color Control with Alexa.ColorController and Alexa.ColorTemperatureController., verified 2026-10-11
  33. [33] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' for Matter, read in full on 2026-10-11 (18,225 characters). Verbatim: "Device types other than the ones listed here are not officially supported in the Google Home ecosystem." The table's Extended Color Light row (Color Control, Level Control and On/Off clusters, Matter 1.0, Home ecosystem type Light) is marked available in all three control columns, Google Assistant, Google Home app and Smart Display. The page names no brand or model., verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  34. [34] Govee's own US product page for the Permanent Outdoor Lights 2, read in full on 2026-10-15 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 $279.99 Best Seller Limited Stock Remaining!" · "Model: H705D(50ft) & H705E(100ft) & H705F(150ft)" · "With 100 scene modes and 16 million colors" · "It also enhances security with its 40lm white light." · "Easy Installation: Simply use the provided VHB glue and clips for a hassle-free experience." · "Smart Home Integration: Connect and control from anywhere with Govee Home App, Alexa, and Google Assistant for versatile lighting." · "Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 offers higher brightness, with 40lm/per light and supports Matter.". The Specs table gives 'Adapter 36V 2A' and a Matter row. The page shows no plan or recurring fee, and no sentence about turning the lights on and off, dimming them or setting a white colour temperature. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Market availability, Subscription, Capabilities, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Research status
  35. [35] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certified-product page for Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 (certificate CSA24133MAT42982-24), read in full on 2026-10-15 through tools/page-read.mjs. In our words: Guangdong Qianyan Technology's outdoor RGBW string light, family SKU H705F with variant H705D, certified on 6 March 2024 for Matter 1.0 under vendor ID 0x1387 and product ID 0x705D, firmware 27.0, over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, primary device type 0x010d. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  36. [36] The Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger's software-version address for vendor 4999, product 28765, read on 2026-10-15 through tools/page-read.mjs. In our words: the ledger still lists one software version, 27. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Protocols
  37. [37] The Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger's model list for vendor 4999, read on 2026-10-15 through tools/page-read.mjs. In our words: product 28765 is still on the list. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-15
  38. [38] Home Assistant's 'Govee lights local' integration page, read in full on 2026-10-15 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Integrates Govee lights into Home Assistant using Local API control". The Supported devices list still carries H705D, H705E and H705F, and the IoT class is 'Local Push'. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  39. [39] Govee's Matter FAQ, read in full on 2026-10-15 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Currently supported features include switching on/off, brightness adjustment, color temperature adjustment, and color changing.". The support plan still names the M1 Strip Light and no permanent outdoor light. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-15
  40. [40] Govee's EU support FAQ, read in full on 2026-10-15 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Download the Govee Home app in the App Store (iOS devices) or Google Play (Android devices". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: App platforms
  41. [41] Govee's own US product page for the Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro, read in full on 2026-10-15 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Model: H706A(100ft) & H706B (150ft) & H706C(200ft)". Its comparison table sets the Pro's RGBWWIC against this product's H705F RGBWIC. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Product identity
  42. [42] Govee's 'Govee & Matter' page, read rendered on 2026-10-15 through tools/page-read.mjs --rendered --expand (method: first-party rendered read, tabs expanded); the plain read (readHash 36da805b2632) returns only the page title. Its 'Recommended Products' block still lists 'Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2' at $279.99 beside three other products. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-15
  43. [43] Amazon's 'Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters' page, read in full on 2026-10-15 through tools/page-read.mjs. Its lighting table still pairs Level Control with 'Alexa.BrightnessController' and Color Control with 'Alexa.ColorController' and 'Alexa.ColorTemperatureController'. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-15
  44. [44] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' for Matter, read in full on 2026-10-15 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Device types other than the ones listed here are not officially supported in the Google Home ecosystem.". The table still carries the Extended Color Light row. The page names no brand or model. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Google Home compatibility

Where sources disagree

Where two sources we consider reliable say different things, we publish both positions and what we recorded, rather than quietly picking one.

Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility

  • csa-iot.org certified-products registry, certificate CSA24133MAT42982-24 (as of 2026-08-22): Matter 1.0 certified 03/06/2024, family variant SKU H705D, Transport Interface 'Wi-Fi, Bluetooth'
  • Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, VID 4999 PID 28765 (0x705D) via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs (as of 2026-08-22): CERTIFIED CSA24133MAT42982-24 dated 2024-03-06 — the same certificate, independently retrieved
  • us.govee.com Matter FAQ, section 'Which Govee products will be Matter-enabled in the future?' (as of 2026-08-22): Lists only 'M1 Strip Light: M1 (2m) and M1 (5m, which requires a Matter-enabled control box)'; no permanent outdoor light appears

We publish: matter included in protocols; Apple/SmartThings/Home Assistant recorded as Matter paths

Both certification instruments agree and both name the model's own variant SKU; the only dissenting surface is a vendor FAQ that enumerates one product under a heading about FUTURE Matter support. Under the 2026-08-22 ruling (registry negatives need both instruments, either positive is a certificate) two agreeing positives settle it outright, and a stale FAQ does not un-certify a product. Unlike the Prism, this model IS on the DCL, so no pairing-time certification caveat is recorded.

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker