Product Library / Plugs & Outlets

Research profile · verified 2026-08-16 · sources re-checked 2026-11-02

Govee Smart Plug Outlet Extender with Night Light (H5089)

⚠ Similar names, different products: Govee's smart-power range is a wall of near-identical names and the model numbers are the only reliable way through it — the Smart Plug Pro (B5083) and Smart Plug Pro with Energy Monitoring are plug-in adapters, and the Outdoor Smart Plug (H5160) is a different product this catalogue has already recorded as unavailable new from Govee. This record covers H5089, the wall-mounted 8-in-1 outlet extender with the night light, and it is the model string printed on the first page of Govee's own user manual.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your home?

[36]
[1][14][15][19][20][36]
[1][14][15][19][20][36]
[1][36]
[36]

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · MATTER[3][36]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [7] [15] [19] [22]

Documented device function

Color

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [7] [15] [19] [22]

Documented device function

Scene

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [7] [15] [19] [22]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[7][15][19][22]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
3 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks; color unconfirmed[36]Google HomeWorks; color unconfirmed[1][14][15][19][20][36]AlexaWorks; color unconfirmed[1][14][15][19][20][36]SmartThingsWorks; color unconfirmed[1][36]Home AssistantWorks; color unconfirmed[36]
On/offDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

? Not stated

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

ColorDevice control
Control

Not stated

Automation

? Not stated

Control

Not stated

Automation

? Not stated

Control

Not stated

Automation

? Not stated

Control

Not stated

Automation

? Not stated

Control

Not stated

Automation

? Not stated

SceneDevice control
Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Google Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

Control

Not stated

Automation

? Not stated

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

A device-type listing describes the platform’s general support; it does not confirm this exact model.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Works in Apple Home over Matter: this model is Matter certified as a plug, and Apple Home takes Matter accessories, so switching it on and off works. Govee doesn't mention Apple Home, and the plug type it is certified as has no color control, so whether Apple Home can change the night light's color is unconfirmed.[36]

Scene automation: Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

Google Home

Works in Google Home over Matter: this model is Matter certified as a plug, and Google Home's list of Matter device types gives a plug on/off control, so switching it works. That list gives a plug no color control and Govee doesn't say otherwise, so whether Google Home can change the night light's color is unconfirmed. Govee also lists Google Assistant for voice control of the sockets and the night light without saying how it connects.[1][14][15][19][20][36]

Scene automation: Google Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

Alexa

Works in Alexa over Matter: this model is Matter certified as a plug, and Alexa turns Matter plugs on and off, so switching it works. Whether Alexa can change the night light's color is unconfirmed, because the plug type it is certified as has no color control and Govee doesn't say. Govee also lists Alexa for voice control of the sockets and the night light without saying how it connects.[1][14][15][19][20][36]

Scene automation: Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

SmartThings

Works in SmartThings over Matter: this model is Matter certified as a plug, and SmartThings controls Matter plugs, so switching it on and off works. Neither Govee nor SmartThings names this model, so the Matter certification is the route. The plug type it is certified as has no color control, so whether SmartThings can change the night light's color is unconfirmed.[1][36]

Home Assistant

Works in Home Assistant through its Matter support: this model is Matter certified as a plug, so switching it on and off works. Home Assistant's two Govee integrations don't reach it, since one is for Govee lights and the other lists sensors and thermometers by model, without the H5089. The plug type it is certified as has no color control, so whether Home Assistant can change the night light's color is unconfirmed.[36]

Device documentation: [7] [15] [19] [22]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks; color unconfirmedWorks; color unconfirmed — see the catch[1][14][15][19][20][36]Works in Alexa over Matter: this model is Matter certified as a plug, and Alexa turns Matter plugs on and off, so switching it works. Whether Alexa can change the night light's color is unconfirmed, because the plug type it is certified as has no color control and Govee doesn't say. Govee also lists Alexa for voice control of the sockets and the night light without saying how it connects.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Google HomeWorks; color unconfirmedWorks; color unconfirmed — see the catch[1][14][15][19][20][36]Works in Google Home over Matter: this model is Matter certified as a plug, and Google Home's list of Matter device types gives a plug on/off control, so switching it works. That list gives a plug no color control and Govee doesn't say otherwise, so whether Google Home can change the night light's color is unconfirmed. Govee also lists Google Assistant for voice control of the sockets and the night light without saying how it connects.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Apple HomeWorks; color unconfirmedWorks; color unconfirmed — see the catch[36]Works in Apple Home over Matter: this model is Matter certified as a plug, and Apple Home takes Matter accessories, so switching it on and off works. Govee doesn't mention Apple Home, and the plug type it is certified as has no color control, so whether Apple Home can change the night light's color is unconfirmed.
SmartThingsWorks; color unconfirmedWorks; color unconfirmed — see the catch[1][36]Works in SmartThings over Matter: this model is Matter certified as a plug, and SmartThings controls Matter plugs, so switching it on and off works. Neither Govee nor SmartThings names this model, so the Matter certification is the route. The plug type it is certified as has no color control, so whether SmartThings can change the night light's color is unconfirmed.In SmartThings you also need: a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub — SmartThings’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-10-14)
Home AssistantWorks; color unconfirmedWorks; color unconfirmed — see the catch[36]Works in Home Assistant through its Matter support: this model is Matter certified as a plug, so switching it on and off works. Home Assistant's two Govee integrations don't reach it, since one is for Govee lights and the other lists sensors and thermometers by model, without the H5089. The plug type it is certified as has no color control, so whether Home Assistant can change the night light's color is unconfirmed.In Home Assistant you also need: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)

Plans and ongoing costs[1][15][22]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No plan, paid tier or recurring charge is named on Govee's product page or anywhere in its H5089 user manual, including around the timer, schedule and lighting-effect features that would be the obvious candidates. We record no subscription on that basis; the honest limit is the absence of paywall language across two of the maker's own documents rather than an explicit 'no subscription' statement.

Maintenance and offline use[3]

Who it's for

A crowded outlet behind a desk or a nightstand where the real problem is not enough sockets, one or two of them want a schedule, and a soft light at floor level is welcome — in an Alexa or Google household. The mounting screw and 52 mm spacing make it a better fit than a cord strip where the outlet is visible and plugs keep working loose. Look elsewhere if you need more than two controllable sockets or any control over the USB ports, if you want to set the night light's color from a smart home app rather than Govee's own app, if the receptacle is GFCI or has an indicator light, if the wiring run to the panel is short, or if the total load will approach 1800 W.

Check availability at Govee

This opens Govee's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

36 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] us.govee.com product page 'Govee Smart Plug Outlet Extender With Night Light' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-16
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Subscription, Market availability, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  2. [2] us.govee.com product page 'Govee Smart Plug Outlet Extender With Night Light', read 2026-08-16 — cited here for its silence on Apple, corroborated by the H5089 user manual cited separately on this record — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-16
  3. [3] Govee, H5089 Smart Outlet Extender User Manual (first-party PDF linked from the product page) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-16
    Backs: Protocols, Works without the internet, Installation, App platforms, Required hub or bridge
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  4. [4] home-assistant.io/integrations/govee_ble and /govee_light_local (both read), plus the absent /integrations/govee/ and the parsed integration index — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-08-16
  5. [5] Record created 2026-08-16 from us.govee.com (product page, read in a browser) and Govee's own H5089 user manual PDF, with the Home Assistant side checked on Home Assistant's own pages — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-16
    Backs: Research status
  6. [6] home-assistant.io govee_ble supported-device list and govee_light_local model list, plus Govee's own product page and H5089 PDF, all re-read 2026-08-18 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  7. [7] Govee US product page, Smart Plug Outlet Extender (H5089) — "Night Light Mode 15+ Lighting Effects: This smart outlet supports voice control and switching white/color lighting effects, preventing users from tripping over obstacles when getting up at night" and "Timer Schedule Features: Set the start time of the outlet and night light, making life hassle-free." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-29
    Backs: Capabilities
  8. [8] No page was read for this entry. It records WHY Apple Home is listed as unsupported, from the product-page and user-manual citations that answer already rests on., verified 2026-08-22
  9. [9] Govee, H5089 Smart Outlet Extender User Manual (first-party PDF linked from the product page) — Safety Instructions, page 01 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-07
    Backs: Power source
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  10. [10] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-05 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-05
  11. [11] Record-keeping entry: this record's existing answer that Apple Home is unsupported now names the platform-wide rule the reason rests on, 2026-09-15, verified 2026-09-15
  12. [12] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-23
  13. [13] Govee's own H5089 user manual, requested 2026-10-01 through the document rung of the sanctioned reader. The host answered and served a PDF. The document has no text layer: the reader returned 24 form-feed characters and no words, so no table or sentence in it could be read., verified 2026-10-01
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  14. [14] Govee's product page for the Smart Plug Outlet Extender with Night Light, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Supports Alexa/Google: Experience a smart ecosystem designed for seamless connectivity across your devices. Enjoy hands-free convenience with full voice control support." · "Supports Alexa/Google Rich smart ecosystem integration, supporting voice control of sockets and night light switches." The page names no way of connecting to either assistant and does not say whether voice can change the night light's color. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  15. [15] Govee's own US store page for the outlet extender, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Model: H5089" · "8-in-1 Smart Outlet Extender & 3-Sided Power Supply: 2 smart sockets, 4 always-on sockets, and 2 USB sockets can simultaneously power multiple devices such as mobile phones, routers, computers, etc." · "This smart outlet supports voice control and switching white/color lighting effects" · "Supports Alexa/Google Rich smart ecosystem integration, supporting voice control of sockets and night light switches." · "Timer & Schedule Features: Set the start time of the outlet and night light, making life hassle-free." · "Fixed Screw Installation In scenarios where frequent plugging and unplugging are required, the expansion socket is firmly fixed to the wall socket and is not easy to loosen." · "Included Components Detachable Pin, Plug Outlet Extender, Retaining Screws, User Manual" · "Batteries Required No". The page offers 'Add to Cart' and shows $39.99 beside a struck-through $49.99 under a 'Prime Big Deal Days' banner. No plan, fee or subscription is named; the only 'subscribe' is the newsletter sign-up. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Product identity, Installation, Power source, Capabilities, Subscription, Market availability, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  16. [16] Govee's H5089 user manual PDF, linked from the product page as 'Product Guides and User Manual (PDF)', read on 2026-10-08: the document still has no text layer, so the reader returned 24 characters and no words., verified 2026-10-08
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  17. [17] Govee's 'Govee Home App' page, linked from the store footer, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Download Govee Home App from the Apple App Store or Google Play to fully control all your smart lights and appliances." The page names no product or model. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
  18. [18] Home Assistant's Govee Bluetooth integration page, read in full on 2026-10-08. Its Supported devices list runs from "H5051 Hygrometer Thermometer" to "5198 Meat Thermometer" (hygrometers, thermometers, motion, window, vibration, presence and pressure sensors and buttons) and does not contain H5089. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-08
  19. [19] Govee's own US store page for the outlet extender, read in full on 2026-10-15 (5,222 characters; the same text change detection holds). Verbatim: "Model: H5089" · "8-in-1 Smart Outlet Extender & 3-Sided Power Supply: 2 smart sockets, 4 always-on sockets, and 2 USB sockets can simultaneously power multiple devices" · "Night Light Mode & 15+ Lighting Effects: This smart outlet supports voice control and switching white/color lighting effects" · "Supports Alexa/Google: Experience a smart ecosystem designed for seamless connectivity across your devices. Enjoy hands-free convenience with full voice control support." · "Supports Alexa/Google Rich smart ecosystem integration, supporting voice control of sockets and night light switches." · Specs: "Included Components Detachable Pin, Plug Outlet Extender, Retaining Screws, User Manual" · "Batteries Required No" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Capabilities, Power source
  20. [20] Govee's Smart Plug Outlet Extender With Night Light (H5089) product page, read in full on 2026-10-24. Verbatim: "Supports Alexa/Google Rich smart ecosystem integration, supporting voice control of sockets and night light switches." · "This smart outlet supports voice control and switching white/color lighting effects". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-24
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  21. [21] Govee's own US product page for the Smart Plug Outlet Extender With Night Light, read 2026-10-24. Verbatim: "Govee Smart Plug Outlet Extender With Night Light $39.99 $49.99 Best Seller Limited Stock Remaining! Quantity 1 Pack 2-Pack($34.99/Pack)" · "Description Model: H5089" · "Fast & Free Shipping $39.99 $49.99 Add to Cart Buy Now". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-24
    Backs: Price
  22. [22] Govee's own US store page for the outlet extender, read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "Description Model: H5089" · "8-in-1 Smart Outlet Extender & 3-Sided Power Supply: 2 smart sockets, 4 always-on sockets, and 2 USB sockets can simultaneously power multiple devices such as mobile phones, routers, computers, etc." · "Night Light Mode & 15+ Lighting Effects: This smart outlet supports voice control and switching white/color lighting effects" · "Intelligent Timer/Schedule Mode Supports scheduled switching of sockets and night lights, making life worry-free." · "Supports Alexa/Google Rich smart ecosystem integration, supporting voice control of sockets and night light switches." · "Fixed Screw Installation In scenarios where frequent plugging and unplugging are required, the expansion socket is firmly fixed to the wall socket and is not easy to loosen." · "Fast & Free Shipping $69.98 $99.99 Add to Cart Buy Now". The page names no plan, fee or subscription, names no platform other than Alexa and Google, and does not mention Matter., verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Product identity, Installation, Capabilities, Subscription, Market availability
  23. [23] Govee's own US store page for the outlet extender, read in full on 2026-10-27 by a rendered read with the page's tabs expanded (6 of 7 controls opened). Verbatim: "Quantity 2-Pack($34.99/Pack) 1 Pack" · "Fast & Free Shipping 1-Year Warranty $69.98 $99.99 Add to Cart Buy Now". The Specifications tab delivered no specification text, in the visible text or in the full DOM, and no price for the 1-pack option is shown. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-27
  24. [24] Govee's H5089 user manual PDF, linked from the product page as 'Product Guides and User Manual (PDF)', read on 2026-10-27: the document still has no text layer, so the reader returned 24 characters and no words., verified 2026-10-27
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  25. [25] Govee's 'Govee Home App' page, linked from the store footer, read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "Download the Govee Home App from the Apple App Store or Google Play to fully control all smart lights and appliances." The page names no product or model. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-27
  26. [26] Home Assistant's documentation source for the Govee Bluetooth integration (source/_integrations/govee_ble.markdown on the current branch, blob b0a221d5), read in full on 2026-10-27 from the documentation repository on GitHub. Its Supported devices list runs from "H5051 Hygrometer Thermometer" to "5198 Meat Thermometer" and does not contain H5089; its platforms are binary_sensor, event and sensor. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-27
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  27. [27] Home Assistant's documentation source for the Govee lights local integration (source/_integrations/govee_light_local.markdown on the current branch, blob bf2b5cea), read in full on 2026-10-27 from the documentation repository on GitHub. Its description reads "Instructions on how to integrate Govee lights with Govee local API", its only platform is light, and its Supported devices list (H1232 to H8841) does not contain H5089. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-27
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  28. [28] The Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger's model record for vendor 4999, product 20617, read on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs. In our words: the ledger registers this product to Govee's vendor number as a smart outlet extender with part number H5089 and device type 266, the On/Off Plug-in Unit type (0x010A). Vendor 4999 is 0x1387 and product 20617 is 0x5089. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  29. [29] The Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger's compliance record for vendor 4999, product 20617, software version 0, read on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs (certificate CSA257FDMAT46927-24). In our words: the version with software string 1.00.02 is certified as a fully tested end product, dated 18 September 2025, on Matter specification 1.2, with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth recorded as its transport. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-27
  30. [30] The Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger's software-version address for vendor 4999, product 20617, read on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs. In our words: the ledger lists one software version, 0. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-27
  31. [31] The Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger's model list for vendor 4999, read on 2026-10-27 through tools/dcl-lookup.mjs. In our words: 269 models are registered to the vendor, and product 20617 (part H5089) is among them. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-27
  32. [32] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certified-product page for the Smart Outlet Extender (certificate CSA257FDMAT46927-24), read in full on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs. In our words: it lists the product under Guangdong Qianyan Technology Co., Ltd. as a Matter-certified end product, certified on 18 September 2025 at firmware 1.00.02 and hardware 4.01.00 on Matter specification 1.2, over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, with vendor ID 0x1387, product ID 0x5089 and primary device type 0x010A. Its description calls it a multi-outlet that extends a wall socket, switches non-smart products and also serves as an ambient light. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  33. [33] The certification website's keyword search for Govee Outlet Extender, read on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs. In our words: it returned unrelated products from other makers, among them window-covering motors, lamps and switch modules, and did not return this product. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-27
  34. [34] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' for Matter, read in full on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "Device types other than the ones listed here are not officially supported in the Google Home ecosystem." The table's On/Off Plug-in Unit row lists the Level Control and On/Off clusters, Matter 1.0 and the Home ecosystem type Outlet, and lists no Color Control. The page names no brand or model. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-27
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  35. [35] Amazon's 'Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters' page, read in full on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim from its lighting and plugs table: "On/Off light or plug Turn on power, turn off power On/Off Alexa.PowerController". The same table maps the Color Control cluster to Alexa.ColorController for lights. The page names no brand or model. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-27
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  36. [36] This record's own 2026-10-27 reads of the certification website (csa-iot.org) and the Matter ledger (on.dcl.csa-iot.org): certificate CSA257FDMAT46927-24, vendor 0x1387, product 0x5089, Matter 1.2, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, primary device type On/Off Plug-in Unit (0x010A), bound to part H5089 by the ledger's model record; read beside Google's and Amazon's Matter device-type tables of the same day. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Protocols, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Govee Smart Plug Outlet Extender with Night Light (H5089) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker