Product Library / Smart Lighting

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-20

Govee 21-Inch Smart Ceiling Light Ultra

Compiled by SmartHomeWorkflow Research · Govee · Smart Lighting · ~$249.99 (at time of research (us.govee.com structured product data) — never treated as a live price)

Exactly which product this is[3]

Model number
H1270
Generation
Not established
Region this page covers
Not established
Also sold or listed as
Not established

“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.

Compatibility

EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[5]Named directly on Govee's product page.
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[5]Named directly on Govee's product page.
Apple HomePartialPartial support — see the catch[6]Reachable through Matter only — Govee does not name Apple Home on either the US or EU product page. Requires a HomePod mini, HomePod 2nd gen or Apple TV 4K as controller plus iOS 16.2 or later. Govee's Matter FAQ caps Matter control at switching on/off, brightness, colour temperature and colour changing. A Matter controller and IPv6 are required, and commissioning needs 2.4 GHz.In Apple Home you also need: an Apple home hub (a HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV) — Apple Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-06)
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[5]Explicitly named by Govee on this product page, unlike the Floor Lamp 3. Reached via Matter, so the same feature ceiling applies. Govee's Matter FAQ caps Matter control at switching on/off, brightness, colour temperature and colour changing. A Matter controller and IPv6 are required, and commissioning needs 2.4 GHz.
Home AssistantPartialPartial support — see the catch[6]Via Home Assistant's Matter integration; Govee names Home Assistant nowhere. Basic light controls only. Govee's Matter FAQ caps Matter control at switching on/off, brightness, colour temperature and colour changing. A Matter controller and IPv6 are required, and commissioning needs 2.4 GHz.In Home Assistant you also need: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)

Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH · MATTER[2][4][15]

Needs before it works: No Govee hub. A third-party Matter controller is required for Matter or Apple Home use, along with IPv6; commissioning needs 2.4 GHz.[6]

What it can do[14]

You can tell it to

  • On/off
  • Brightness
  • Color
  • Color temperature

It reports

Not established — we could not confirm this from vendor documentation

Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.

What it doesApple HomeGoogle HomeAlexaSmartThingsHome Assistant
On/off? not stated✓ routines can use it? not stated? not stated✓ routines can use it
Brightness? not stated✓ routines can use it✓ routines can use it? not stated✓ routines can use it
Color? not stated✓ routines can use it? not stated? not stated✓ routines can use it
Color temperature? not stated✓ routines can use it? not stated? not stated✓ routines can use it

Platform documentation: Amazon Alexa — automation engine ceiling (eight terms observed; residue inconclusive by refusal) (2026-09-01), Apple Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Google Home — automation engine ceiling (2026-09-01), Home Assistant — automation engine ceiling (2026-08-29), SmartThings — Matter path (2026-09-04)

Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.

Subscription reality[20]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription appears on the US product page, the EU product page, or Govee's Matter FAQ.

Maintenance reality

The catch

The entire premise of the product is the 616-pixel matrix and its figurative lighting effects, and none of that is reachable over Matter. In Apple Home or SmartThings a $249.99 pixel-art ceiling panel behaves like a plain dimmable colour light; the effects live in the Govee app.

Who it's for

Households that will use the Govee app as the primary control surface and want the pixel matrix, with Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings for basic voice control. Not a fit for anyone who wants the effects surfaced in Apple Home, or who needs published installation specifications before buying.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

20 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] FCC equipment authorization 2A7VD-H1270, grantee Shenzhen Qianyan Technology LTD, grant Notes naming this product (filing read 2026-08-09 via fccid.io; the FCC's own attachment server at apps.fcc.gov refuses our automated reads, and that refusal was respected rather than circumvented). Authorised ranges: 2402-2480 MHz (BLE) and 2412-2462 MHz (Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz), with 'Test Report_BLE' and 'BLE Appendix Test Data' exhibits dated 2026-04-03. Control documents compared in the same pass: user-manual exhibit of 2A7VD-H61F2 (Govee Strip Light 2 Pro, the model whose own page does answer this question) and of 2A7VD-H61E6 (Govee COB Strip Light Pro), which are the same document with the model string swapped; both give 'Control Methods: Govee Home App, Voice Control' and name Bluetooth only in pairing, Matter-commissioning and troubleshooting steps. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-09Seller's spec sheet, checked 2026-08-09This fact comes from a retailer or review specification listing rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-09.
  2. [2] us.govee.com product page for Govee 21-Inch Smart Ceiling Light Ultra (read 2026-08-09, both as the site first delivers it AND in a full browser): the product's own description and the product data the page carries contain zero occurrences of 'Bluetooth'; the rendered 'Specifications' section carries no connectivity table. · A control page that does answer the question, read the same way: us.govee.com/products/govee-led-strip-light-2-pro renders a FAQs section reading 'Do these require Wi-Fi or just Bluetooth? They can be used with both Wi-Fi and/or Bluetooth.' · Dead-path control: govee.com/support/product/ZZZZNOTREAL returns the same ~3.15 MB shell as a real model page, neither containing its own model string. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  3. [3] us.govee.com/products/govee-21-inch-smart-ceiling-light-ultra structured product data; eu.govee.com equivalent listing — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Price, Product identity
  4. [4] CSA certified-products database entry for Govee Ceiling Light Ultra (csa-iot.org) — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Protocols
  5. [5] us.govee.com product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  6. [6] us.govee.com/pages/matter-faq — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Required hub or bridge
  7. [7] us.govee.com/pages/matter-faq versus CSA certified-products database — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
  8. [8] us.govee.com product page reporting InStock with active purchase controls; listed in the ceiling-lights collection, verified 2026-07-26
    Backs: Market availability
  9. [9] Scheduled re-verification, 2026-08-20. Market re-read at us.govee.com/products/govee-21-inch-smart-ceiling-light-ultra: $249.99, no strike-through or sale price — unchanged from what this record publishes. The page still states the light is "Matter-certified and compatible with Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings for a truly connected smart home ecosystem" and still does not name Apple Home anywhere, which is exactly what this record's Apple cell says. Home Assistant re-checked from its own side: home-assistant.io/integrations/govee_light_local lists over 200 Govee model numbers and H1270 — this model — is NOT among them, so the Matter route this record records remains the only documented path. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Research status
  10. [10] fccid.io, FCC ID 2A7VD-H1270 — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-08-17Seller's spec sheet, checked 2026-08-17This fact comes from a retailer or review specification listing rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-17.
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
  11. [11] us.govee.com, Ceiling Light Ultra product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  12. [12] home-assistant.io Govee lights local supported-model list, plus the record's own cited Govee product page, Matter FAQ, FCC and CSA entries, all re-read 2026-08-18 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  13. [13] us.govee.com product page for the 21-Inch Smart Ceiling Light Ultra, re-read 2026-08-20 during scheduled re-verification: $249.99, no strike-through or sale price shown. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  14. [14] CSA certified-products entry for the Govee Ceiling Light Ultra, read 2026-08-20: certificate CSA25F7FMAT48849-24, certified 12/09/2025, Matter specification 1.3, transport "Wi-Fi, Bluetooth", Vendor ID 0x1387, Product ID 0x1270, manufacturer Guangdong Qianyan Technology Co., Ltd. — Primary Device Type ID 0x010D, the Matter Extended Color Light. Bounded by Govee's own Matter FAQ, read the same day: Matter carries "Switching on/off, brightness adjustment, color temperature adjustment, and color changing", with "More features TBD". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  15. [15] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against our settled definition of which radios count as the device's own: certificate CSA25F7FMAT48849. No outside page was read for this entry — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  16. [16] https://us.govee.com/products/govee-21-inch-smart-ceiling-light-ultra and https://us.govee.com/pages/matter-faq (read 2026-09-09) link no app store and name no platform for the Govee Home app; the Matter FAQ's 'Minimum OS required: iOS 16' is a requirement on the Apple HOME controller, not a statement about Govee's own app, and reading it as one would be the same class of error as reading a 2.4 GHz network requirement as a band limit. The app's platforms stay unanswered, recorded as checked and not published. The route that would answer them is the Govee Home listing on each app store, which was not opened here because no Govee page names it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
  17. [17] https://eu.govee.com/pages/easy-faqs (read 2026-09-09), Govee's own support FAQ: 'How to register/sign up for a new Govee Home app account? Download the Govee Home app in the App Store (iOS devices) or Google Play (Android devices)', with the same instruction repeated in a second answer. The Govee Home app is one app across Govee's range, which is why the citation is a range-wide page and not this product's. No third mobile platform is named. ⊕ SUPERSEDES this record's dated note from earlier the same day, which recorded the app's platforms as checked and not published — that note was true about the pages then cited, and is kept rather than deleted so the record of what was checked and when survives. Found through a fifth Govee record in the same sweep. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: App platforms
  18. [18] csa-iot.org certified-product page, read 2026-09-15. Verbatim, from the served HTML: "Govee Ceiling Light Ultra By Guangdong Qianyan Technology Co., Ltd. ... Certificate ID CSA25F7FMAT48849-24 Certified Date 12/09/2025 Product ID 0x1270 Vendor ID 0x1387", verified 2026-09-15
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  19. [19] fccid.io mirror of FCC equipment authorization 2A7VD-H1270, read 2026-09-15. Verbatim: "FCC ID 2A7VD-H1270 Govee Ceiling Light Ultra by Shenzhen Qianyan Technology LTD Grantee Code: 2A7VD Product Code: H1270", verified 2026-09-15Seller's spec sheet, checked 2026-09-15This fact comes from a retailer or review specification listing rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-09-15.
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  20. [20] Govee's US store listing for the 21-inch Smart Ceiling Light Ultra, showing $249.99 and a buy flow with no plan, tier or recurring fee on it — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Subscription

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check it against YOUR setup →