The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
Product Library / Smart Lighting
Research profile · last verified 2026-09-18GE Cync Full Color PAR38 Smart LED Light Bulbs, 2-Pack (93129693)
⚠ Similar names, different products: 🔴 THREE CYNC PAR38 SKUs SHARE THIS MARKETING NAME AND THEY ARE NOT THE SAME PRODUCT. This record is 93129693, the 2-pack: Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, Alexa and Google only. GE also lists 93129692 (1-pack, BLE + Wi-Fi, no wet designation published on its page) and 93131637 (1-pack, whose spec table adds 'Matter, Savant AVDL' and names Apple HomeKit and SmartThings — but which publishes NO wet or damp designation at all, only 'Indoor / Outdoor: Outdoor'). The wet rating on this record belongs to 93129693 and is NOT transferable to the other two; the Matter and Apple support on 93131637 is likewise not transferable to this one. Check the SKU, because the two things a buyer most wants here — a wet rating and Apple Home — are on different bulbs.
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your platform?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH[1][7]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
No hub and no bridge. GE states it plainly: these 'WiFi smart bulbs connect directly to a 2.4 GHz WiFi connection via the Cync app, no additional hardware needed.'[1][7]
🔴 NOT SUPPORTED ON THIS SKU, and the URL will tell you otherwise. GE's own product URL for this bulb contains the words 'matter-compatible', yet nothing GE says about this bulb on the page mentions Matter, HomeKit or Apple Home. The specification row states the radios as 'Bluetooth, WiFi' and the voice row names Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa only. ⚠ The Cync PAR38 that DOES carry Matter and name Apple HomeKit is a different SKU, 93131637, and it publishes no wet rating. An Apple household wanting an outdoor-rated bulb should not buy this one on the strength of that URL.[4]
Compatibility is named, but the connection method is not documented here. A working path cannot be drawn yet.
GE lists Google Assistant and Google Home devices for voice control of these bulbs. It doesn't say how they connect to Google Home or what Google can control, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature from Google Home are unconfirmed.[1][6][7]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
GE Cync Full Color PAR38 Smart LED Light Bulbs, 2-Pack (93129693)
- LightGE Cync Full Color PAR38 Smart LED Light Bulbs, 2-Pack (93129693)
- Wi-FiWi-Fi routerYour home network
- InternetCloud serviceInternet connection required
- Alexa skillAmazon AlexaPlatform control
What you gainReach the device through the documented cloud connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-08
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-12
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
GE connects Cync lights to Alexa through the Cync skill: set the bulbs up in the Cync app, enable the Cync skill in the Alexa app and sign in with your Cync account. GE says at least one Cync Wi-Fi device must be in your account for Alexa control, and it sells these as Wi-Fi bulbs. It runs through GE's cloud, so it stops working when your internet does. GE doesn't say what Alexa can control on these bulbs, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature with Alexa are unconfirmed.[1][6][7][9]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Not established. SmartThings is not named anywhere on this SKU's page. Recorded as unknown rather than none, and the row is the reason: the page's one compatibility statement is a specification row labelled 'Voice Assistant Compatibility', answered 'Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa', which enumerates voice assistants rather than smart-home platforms and so rules nothing out. ⚠ Deliberately NOT inherited from sibling SKU 93131637, whose page does name SmartThings — that is a different bulb with a different radio stack.[1][7]
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Not established. GE does not name Home Assistant on this bulb's page, and no Home Assistant documentation naming this particular model was found. The page's only compatibility statement is a specification row labelled 'Voice Assistant Compatibility', answered 'Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa' — a row about voice assistants, which Home Assistant is not, so it rules nothing out.[1][7]
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Documented device function
On/off
The device supports this control.
Compare its platform availability in the table below.
Setup and sources
Device documentation: [1]
Documented device function
Brightness
The device supports this control.
Compare its platform availability in the table below.
Setup and sources
Device documentation: [1]
Documented device function
Color
The device supports this control.
Compare its platform availability in the table below.
Setup and sources
Device documentation: [1]
Apple Home · Doesn't work
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
🔴 NOT SUPPORTED ON THIS SKU, and the URL will tell you otherwise. GE's own product URL for this bulb contains the words 'matter-compatible', yet nothing GE says about this bulb on the page mentions Matter, HomeKit or Apple Home. The specification row states the radios as 'Bluetooth, WiFi' and the voice row names Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa only. ⚠ The Cync PAR38 that DOES carry Matter and name Apple HomeKit is a different SKU, 93131637, and it publishes no wet rating. An Apple household wanting an outdoor-rated bulb should not buy this one on the strength of that URL.
Connection documentation: [4]
Device documentation: [1]
shop.gelighting.com · checked 2026-10-08
Google Home · Works per the maker; details unconfirmed
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
GE lists Google Assistant and Google Home devices for voice control of these bulbs. It doesn't say how they connect to Google Home or what Google can control, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature from Google Home are unconfirmed.
Connection documentation: [1] [6] [7]
Device documentation: [1]
shop.gelighting.com · checked 2026-10-08
Alexa · Works; four functions unconfirmed (see the note)
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
GE connects Cync lights to Alexa through the Cync skill: set the bulbs up in the Cync app, enable the Cync skill in the Alexa app and sign in with your Cync account. GE says at least one Cync Wi-Fi device must be in your account for Alexa control, and it sells these as Wi-Fi bulbs. It runs through GE's cloud, so it stops working when your internet does. GE doesn't say what Alexa can control on these bulbs, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature with Alexa are unconfirmed.
Connection documentation: [1] [6] [7] [9]
Device documentation: [1]
shop.gelighting.com · checked 2026-10-08
gelighting.com · checked 2026-10-12
SmartThings · Inconclusive
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Not established. SmartThings is not named anywhere on this SKU's page. Recorded as unknown rather than none, and the row is the reason: the page's one compatibility statement is a specification row labelled 'Voice Assistant Compatibility', answered 'Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa', which enumerates voice assistants rather than smart-home platforms and so rules nothing out. ⚠ Deliberately NOT inherited from sibling SKU 93131637, whose page does name SmartThings — that is a different bulb with a different radio stack.
Connection documentation: [1] [7]
Device documentation: [1]
shop.gelighting.com · checked 2026-10-08
Home Assistant · Inconclusive
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Not established. GE does not name Home Assistant on this bulb's page, and no Home Assistant documentation naming this particular model was found. The page's only compatibility statement is a specification row labelled 'Voice Assistant Compatibility', answered 'Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa' — a row about voice assistants, which Home Assistant is not, so it rules nothing out.
Connection documentation: [1] [7]
Device documentation: [1]
shop.gelighting.com · checked 2026-10-08
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
The functions, side by side
What can you use, and where?[1]
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- 4 documented
- Reported events
- None documented by the vendor
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeDoesn't work[4] | Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][6][7] | AlexaWorks; four functions unconfirmed (see the note)[1][6][7][9] | SmartThingsInconclusive[1][7] | Home AssistantInconclusive[1][7] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| On/offDevice control | Control Doesn't work | Control Not stated | Control Not stated | Control Inconclusive | Control Inconclusive |
| BrightnessDevice control | Control Doesn't work | Control Not stated | Control Not stated | Control Inconclusive | Control Inconclusive |
| ColorDevice control | Control Doesn't work | Control Not stated | Control Not stated | Control Inconclusive | Control Inconclusive |
| Color temperatureDevice control | Control Doesn't work | Control Not stated | Control Not stated | Control Inconclusive | Control Inconclusive |
Automation availability for this model is not established.
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
🔴 NOT SUPPORTED ON THIS SKU, and the URL will tell you otherwise. GE's own product URL for this bulb contains the words 'matter-compatible', yet nothing GE says about this bulb on the page mentions Matter, HomeKit or Apple Home. The specification row states the radios as 'Bluetooth, WiFi' and the voice row names Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa only. ⚠ The Cync PAR38 that DOES carry Matter and name Apple HomeKit is a different SKU, 93131637, and it publishes no wet rating. An Apple household wanting an outdoor-rated bulb should not buy this one on the strength of that URL.[4]
Google Home
GE lists Google Assistant and Google Home devices for voice control of these bulbs. It doesn't say how they connect to Google Home or what Google can control, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature from Google Home are unconfirmed.[1][6][7]
Alexa
GE connects Cync lights to Alexa through the Cync skill: set the bulbs up in the Cync app, enable the Cync skill in the Alexa app and sign in with your Cync account. GE says at least one Cync Wi-Fi device must be in your account for Alexa control, and it sells these as Wi-Fi bulbs. It runs through GE's cloud, so it stops working when your internet does. GE doesn't say what Alexa can control on these bulbs, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature with Alexa are unconfirmed.[1][6][7][9]
SmartThings
Not established. SmartThings is not named anywhere on this SKU's page. Recorded as unknown rather than none, and the row is the reason: the page's one compatibility statement is a specification row labelled 'Voice Assistant Compatibility', answered 'Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa', which enumerates voice assistants rather than smart-home platforms and so rules nothing out. ⚠ Deliberately NOT inherited from sibling SKU 93131637, whose page does name SmartThings — that is a different bulb with a different radio stack.[1][7]
Home Assistant
Not established. GE does not name Home Assistant on this bulb's page, and no Home Assistant documentation naming this particular model was found. The page's only compatibility statement is a specification row labelled 'Voice Assistant Compatibility', answered 'Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa' — a row about voice assistants, which Home Assistant is not, so it rules nothing out.[1][7]
Device documentation: [1]
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | Works; four functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; four functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[1][6][7][9] | GE connects Cync lights to Alexa through the Cync skill: set the bulbs up in the Cync app, enable the Cync skill in the Alexa app and sign in with your Cync account. GE says at least one Cync Wi-Fi device must be in your account for Alexa control, and it sells these as Wi-Fi bulbs. It runs through GE's cloud, so it stops working when your internet does. GE doesn't say what Alexa can control on these bulbs, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature with Alexa are unconfirmed. |
| Google Home | Works per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][6][7] | GE lists Google Assistant and Google Home devices for voice control of these bulbs. It doesn't say how they connect to Google Home or what Google can control, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature from Google Home are unconfirmed. |
| Apple Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4] | 🔴 NOT SUPPORTED ON THIS SKU, and the URL will tell you otherwise. GE's own product URL for this bulb contains the words 'matter-compatible', yet nothing GE says about this bulb on the page mentions Matter, HomeKit or Apple Home. The specification row states the radios as 'Bluetooth, WiFi' and the voice row names Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa only. ⚠ The Cync PAR38 that DOES carry Matter and name Apple HomeKit is a different SKU, 93131637, and it publishes no wet rating. An Apple household wanting an outdoor-rated bulb should not buy this one on the strength of that URL. |
| SmartThings | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][7] | Not established. SmartThings is not named anywhere on this SKU's page. Recorded as unknown rather than none, and the row is the reason: the page's one compatibility statement is a specification row labelled 'Voice Assistant Compatibility', answered 'Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa', which enumerates voice assistants rather than smart-home platforms and so rules nothing out. ⚠ Deliberately NOT inherited from sibling SKU 93131637, whose page does name SmartThings — that is a different bulb with a different radio stack. |
| Home Assistant | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][7] | Not established. GE does not name Home Assistant on this bulb's page, and no Home Assistant documentation naming this particular model was found. The page's only compatibility statement is a specification row labelled 'Voice Assistant Compatibility', answered 'Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa' — a row about voice assistants, which Home Assistant is not, so it rules nothing out. |
? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.
Plans and ongoing costs[1]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.
No subscription, plan, tier or trial appears anywhere on the product page — the word does not occur on it. Recorded as "none" on the strength of a plainly commercial page (live price, add-to-cart, structured offer data) carrying no plan.
Maintenance and offline use
- Works without the internet: Not established — we have not sourced this yet. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
- A 15W E26 medium-base PAR38 flood at 1300 lumens, full colour, dimmable through the app, with a stated rated life of '22.8 Years' and a '3 year Cync Warranty'. ⚠ THE ONE INSTALLATION CONSTRAINT WORTH READING TWICE, because it is the opposite of what buyers assume about an outdoor-rated bulb: GE says 'Enclosed Rated: No' and its own FAQ adds 'We do not recommend using Cync Smart Light Bulbs in enclosed fixtures. The electronic components could fail early due to overheating.' Plenty of outdoor fixtures — porch lanterns, sealed flood housings — are enclosed. Wet-rated and enclosed-rated are different questions and this bulb answers them differently.
- Security updates: No security-update support date is on record for this model yet. We haven't yet checked whether GE Cync publishes one, so this is a gap in our research — not a statement about the manufacturer.
The catch
The URL says 'matter-compatible' and the bulb is not. GE's description and specifications for this SKU never use the word Matter, name only Alexa and Google, and lists its radios as Bluetooth and Wi-Fi — the Cync PAR38 that speaks Matter and works with Apple Home is a different SKU (93131637), and that one publishes no wet rating. So the two things people shop this bulb for, weatherproofing and Apple Home, are split across two products with nearly the same name. ⚠ Second catch, and it is the one that shortens a bulb's life: GE says 'Enclosed Rated: No' and warns against enclosed fixtures, which describes a great many outdoor lanterns.
Who it's for
An Alexa or Google household putting colour into an open outdoor flood fixture — a soffit can, an exposed floodlight housing, a covered porch socket — where the bulb is exposed to weather but not sealed inside glass. GE publishes the wet rating and the no-hub Wi-Fi path, which is exactly the pair most smart bulbs cannot claim outdoors. It is the wrong buy for an Apple Home setup, and the wrong buy for an enclosed fixture.
This opens GE Cync's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
10 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] shop.gelighting.com, 'GE Cync Full Color PAR38 Smart LED Light Bulbs (2-Pack)', SKU 93129693 (read 2026-08-31): Product Specs block giving SKU, UPC, wattage, lumens, base, dimming, outdoor/enclosed/humidity ratings, rated life, warranty, voice-assistant compatibility, wireless protocols and pack size; description giving the 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and no-additional-hardware statement; FAQ accordion giving the outdoor-use answer and the enclosed-fixture warning; price $44.99; structured product data reporting InStock. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Subscription
- [2] gelighting.com specification tables for the sibling SKUs 93129692 and 93131637, noted 2026-08-31: differing 'Wireless Connectivity' rows and, on 93131637, a 'Compatible Systems' row naming Apple Homekit and SmartThings; neither page publishes a wet or damp humidity designation. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-31Backs: Product identity
- [3] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-12 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-12
- [4] GE's Cync store page for this bulb, re-read in full on 2026-10-08. The voice row reads "Voice Assistant Compatibility: Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa" and the radio row "Wireless Communication Protocol: Bluetooth, WiFi". Across the page text, HomeKit, Apple Home and Siri each appear zero times. 'Apple' appears four times, all in the footer's trademark notice ("Apple and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc."), which is about the app download and not about this bulb. 'Matter' appears six times, all in the 'Recommended Products' tiles for GE smart shades, never in this bulb's description, features or Product Specs; for this bulb the word survives only in the page's own web address. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08Backs: Apple Home compatibility
- [5] GE's own Cync store page for SKU 93129693, read 2026-10-06. Page text, verbatim: "GE Cync Full Color PAR38 Smart LED Light Bulbs (2-Pack) . Original price: . Final price: $44.99", and in the Product Specs block "GE SKU: 93129693" and "Number of Pieces: 2 Bulbs". The page offers no other quantity: no single-bulb option appears in its text. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-06Backs: Price
- [6] GE Lighting's store page for the Cync PAR38 outdoor full-color floodlight (GE SKU 93129693), read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "The smart WiFi floodlight bulbs also allow voice control with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant smart home devices (sold separately) when your hands are full." · "Voice Control Smart Light: Take advantage of hands-free control with home automation by connecting the Cync smart light bulb to Amazon Alexa or Google Home devices (sold separately)" · "Voice Assistant Compatibility: Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa". No sentence names a way of connecting or a function either assistant controls. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
- [7] GE's own Cync store page for SKU 93129693, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "GE Cync Full Color PAR38 Smart LED Light Bulbs (2-Pack) . Original price: . Final price: $44.99" · "These WiFi smart bulbs connect directly to a 2.4 GHz WiFi connection via the Cync app, no additional hardware needed." · "GE SKU: 93129693" · "UPC: 43168539630" · "Bulb Base: Medium Base (E26/24)" · "Humidity Rating: Wet" · "Rated Life: 22.8 Years" · "Warranty : 3 year Cync Warranty" · "Voice Assistant Compatibility: Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa" · "Wireless Communication Protocol: Bluetooth, WiFi" · "Number of Pieces: 2 Bulbs". SmartThings and Home Assistant are named nowhere on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Service status, Research status
- [8] GE Lighting's specification page for the Cync PAR38 outdoor floodlight, read in full on 2026-10-08. It now describes one SKU only: "GEL SKU 93131637", with "Wireless Connectivity BLE, WIFI, Matter, Savant AVDL", "Compatible Systems Works With Alexa, Hey Google, Savant, Apple Homekit, SmartThings" and "Indoor / Outdoor Outdoor", and no wet or damp rating. SKU 93129692 does not appear on it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
- [9] GE Lighting's own guide 'How to Connect CYNC Devices to Amazon Alexa', read in full on 2026-10-12. Verbatim: "Important: One of your connected Cync devices must be a Cync Wi-Fi device in order to enable Alexa control." · "Step 4: Select “Skills & Games” Step 5: Tap the search icon and type in “Cync” Step 6: Select the Cync skill and tap “Enable to use” Step 7: Enter your Cync account login information". The guide names no bulb and lists no command., verified 2026-10-12Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [10] GE Lighting's own page 'CYNC Devices and Google Home', read in full on 2026-10-12. Verbatim: "By pairing your Cync or C by GE products with a Google Home device, you can enjoy easy set up, voice control, and all other benefits with no hub needed." · "Google Home App Finally, add your smart devices to your Google Home App. No additional apps needed." The page names no Works with Google account link and no Cync account sign-in., verified 2026-10-12
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check GE Cync Full Color PAR38 Smart LED Light Bulbs, 2-Pack (93129693) with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.