Compiled by SmartHomeWorkflow Research · GE Cync · Plugs & Outlets
⚠ Similar names, different products: GE sells two outdoor Cync plugs with nearly the same name, and only one of them speaks Matter. This record is the Matter one, part number CPLGOD2BLMS. The other is the GE Cync Smart Outdoor Plug, part number CPLGOD2BLG1, catalogue number 93128846 — Bluetooth and wireless only, no Matter, and so no route into Apple Home or Samsung SmartThings. GE's own storefront blurs the two: the store address for its outdoor plug contains the words "matter compatible" while the listing itself shows the non-Matter catalogue number. Match on the part number or the barcode, not the title.
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your platform?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.
No hub for the Cync app itself — GE describes this plug as connecting directly over your wireless network. But reaching it from Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home or Samsung SmartThings goes through Matter, and Matter needs a controller for that ecosystem in the house: an iPhone on iOS 18 or later for Apple Home (a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV for control away from home and automations), a Matter-capable Echo for Amazon, a Nest hub or Google TV Streamer for Google, a SmartThings hub for Samsung. GE says as much on its own page by marking those platforms sold separately. One gap worth knowing before you buy: GE does not publish which wireless band this plug needs, and its sibling model is limited to the slower 2.4 gigahertz band.[1][12][13]
Apple Home · Works
Two ways to use it with Apple Home
Both use Matter over your home Wi-Fi. Choose the setup that fits how you want to control it.
No home hub
Control it while you’re home
Use your existing Wi-Fi and iPhone.
Smart plugMatter over Wi-Fi
→Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi routerYour home network
→Wi-Fi
Apple HomeiPhone · iOS 18 or later
What you gainControl it in the Home app without adding a HomePod or Apple TV.
Keep in mindYour iPhone needs to be on the home network for this path.
Home hub added
Control it when you’re away, too
Add a home hub that stays connected at home.
Smart plugMatter over Wi-Fi
→Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi routerYour home network
→Local network
Apple home hubHomePod or Apple TV
→Internet
Apple HomeYour phone, away
What you gainThe home hub adds remote access and shared control.
Keep in mindA home hub provides Apple Home’s automation support. The functions a routine can use still depend on this device and connection; check the function table below.
Do I need a Thread border router?
No, for this connection. This device uses Wi-Fi. A HomePod or Apple TV here serves as an Apple home hub; Thread support is a separate role used by Thread devices.
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Apple Home is reached through Matter, and GE names it on its own page. This is the difference between the two outdoor Cync plugs: the Matter part number gets into the Home app, the other one does not, and only the barcode or the part number tells them apart. On Apple Home, an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub; a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control. GE's own wording calls the platform devices sold separately.[1]
Google Home · Works
How it connects to Google Home
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
Google Home Matter controllera hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV)
→Control
Google HomePlatform control
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Named by GE in the same sentence as Alexa, through the same Matter route. Google's Matter list marks plug-in units as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display, so on and off works all three ways. It needs a Matter-capable Google device, such as a Nest hub or Google TV Streamer, rather than the phone app alone, which GE signals by marking the platform sold separately.[1][9][10][11]
Amazon Alexa · Works
How it connects to Amazon Alexa
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
Matter-capable Echo or eeroa Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device
→Control
Amazon AlexaPlatform control
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
GE names Amazon Alexa directly and says the route is Matter. On and off is the whole job this plug does, so nothing is lost in translation. What to budget for: Matter needs a Matter-capable Echo in the house, not just the Alexa app on a phone, and GE marks those platform devices sold separately on its own page.[1][8]
SmartThings · Works
How it connects to SmartThings
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
GE names Samsung SmartThings and the route is the same Matter commissioning flow. It needs a SmartThings hub acting as a Matter controller; the SmartThings phone app on its own will not do it. Again this is the Matter part number only — the non-Matter sibling has no SmartThings route at all.[1]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
Home Assistant · Works
How it connects to Home Assistant
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
Home Assistant Matter ServerHome Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy)
→Control
Home AssistantPlatform control
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
GE does not name Home Assistant anywhere, and it does not need to: this cell rests on Home Assistant's own documentation, which says Home Assistant acts as a Matter controller and that Matter products run locally and allow local control without any internet connection or cloud service. This plug holds a current Matter certificate, so the route is the standard rather than anything GE builds. What it costs you: Home Assistant's Matter server, which its own documentation says is supported only on Home Assistant's own operating system, and a phone with the Home Assistant app to do the commissioning. No Cync account is involved in the Matter path.[4]
Equipment that adds features
Check which features need it
Matter controller
Not needed for control from the Cync app over your own wireless network, but required for every ecosystem route. GE's page names Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Samsung SmartThings and Apple Home as reachable through Matter and marks them sold separately; each of those needs a Matter controller of its own ecosystem, which for Apple Home means an iPhone on iOS 18 or later (a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV for control away from home and automations).[1][12][13]
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Research, not hands-on testing
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
↔Device control
Documented device function
On/off
The device supports this control.
Compare its platform availability in the table below.
Apple Home is reached through Matter, and GE names it on its own page. This is the difference between the two outdoor Cync plugs: the Matter part number gets into the Home app, the other one does not, and only the barcode or the part number tells them apart. On Apple Home, an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub; a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control. GE's own wording calls the platform devices sold separately.
Setup: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV)
Setup and sources
a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV).Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Named by GE in the same sentence as Alexa, through the same Matter route. Google's Matter list marks plug-in units as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display, so on and off works all three ways. It needs a Matter-capable Google device, such as a Nest hub or Google TV Streamer, rather than the phone app alone, which GE signals by marking the platform sold separately.
Setup: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device
Setup and sources
On and off and scheduling only. GE publishes no energy monitoring for this plug, so there is no consumption data for any platform to display.
a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device.Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
GE names Amazon Alexa directly and says the route is Matter. On and off is the whole job this plug does, so nothing is lost in translation. What to budget for: Matter needs a Matter-capable Echo in the house, not just the Alexa app on a phone, and GE marks those platform devices sold separately on its own page.
GE names Samsung SmartThings and the route is the same Matter commissioning flow. It needs a SmartThings hub acting as a Matter controller; the SmartThings phone app on its own will not do it. Again this is the Matter part number only — the non-Matter sibling has no SmartThings route at all.
Setup: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy)
Setup and sources
Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy).Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
GE does not name Home Assistant anywhere, and it does not need to: this cell rests on Home Assistant's own documentation, which says Home Assistant acts as a Matter controller and that Matter products run locally and allow local control without any internet connection or cloud service. This plug holds a current Matter certificate, so the route is the standard rather than anything GE builds. What it costs you: Home Assistant's Matter server, which its own documentation says is supported only on Home Assistant's own operating system, and a phone with the Home Assistant app to do the commissioning. No Cync account is involved in the Matter path.
Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.
Control
✗Not supported for this Matter device type
Automation
—
Google Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.
Control
✗Not supported for this Matter device type
Automation
—
Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.
Control
?Not stated
Automation
? not stated
Control
?Not stated
Automation
—
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Apple Home is reached through Matter, and GE names it on its own page. This is the difference between the two outdoor Cync plugs: the Matter part number gets into the Home app, the other one does not, and only the barcode or the part number tells them apart. On Apple Home, an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub; a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control. GE's own wording calls the platform devices sold separately.[1]
Scene automation: Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.
Google Home
Named by GE in the same sentence as Alexa, through the same Matter route. Google's Matter list marks plug-in units as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display, so on and off works all three ways. It needs a Matter-capable Google device, such as a Nest hub or Google TV Streamer, rather than the phone app alone, which GE signals by marking the platform sold separately.[1][9][10][11]
Scene automation: Google Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.
Alexa
GE names Amazon Alexa directly and says the route is Matter. On and off is the whole job this plug does, so nothing is lost in translation. What to budget for: Matter needs a Matter-capable Echo in the house, not just the Alexa app on a phone, and GE marks those platform devices sold separately on its own page.[1][8]
On/off: On and off and scheduling only. GE publishes no energy monitoring for this plug, so there is no consumption data for any platform to display.
Scene: On and off and scheduling only. GE publishes no energy monitoring for this plug, so there is no consumption data for any platform to display.
Scene automation: Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.
SmartThings
GE names Samsung SmartThings and the route is the same Matter commissioning flow. It needs a SmartThings hub acting as a Matter controller; the SmartThings phone app on its own will not do it. Again this is the Matter part number only — the non-Matter sibling has no SmartThings route at all.[1]
Home Assistant
GE does not name Home Assistant anywhere, and it does not need to: this cell rests on Home Assistant's own documentation, which says Home Assistant acts as a Matter controller and that Matter products run locally and allow local control without any internet connection or cloud service. This plug holds a current Matter certificate, so the route is the standard rather than anything GE builds. What it costs you: Home Assistant's Matter server, which its own documentation says is supported only on Home Assistant's own operating system, and a phone with the Home Assistant app to do the commissioning. No Cync account is involved in the Matter path.[4]
GE names Amazon Alexa directly and says the route is Matter. On and off is the whole job this plug does, so nothing is lost in translation. What to budget for: Matter needs a Matter-capable Echo in the house, not just the Alexa app on a phone, and GE marks those platform devices sold separately on its own page.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Named by GE in the same sentence as Alexa, through the same Matter route. Google's Matter list marks plug-in units as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display, so on and off works all three ways. It needs a Matter-capable Google device, such as a Nest hub or Google TV Streamer, rather than the phone app alone, which GE signals by marking the platform sold separately.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Apple Home is reached through Matter, and GE names it on its own page. This is the difference between the two outdoor Cync plugs: the Matter part number gets into the Home app, the other one does not, and only the barcode or the part number tells them apart. On Apple Home, an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub; a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control. GE's own wording calls the platform devices sold separately.
GE names Samsung SmartThings and the route is the same Matter commissioning flow. It needs a SmartThings hub acting as a Matter controller; the SmartThings phone app on its own will not do it. Again this is the Matter part number only — the non-Matter sibling has no SmartThings route at all.
GE does not name Home Assistant anywhere, and it does not need to: this cell rests on Home Assistant's own documentation, which says Home Assistant acts as a Matter controller and that Matter products run locally and allow local control without any internet connection or cloud service. This plug holds a current Matter certificate, so the route is the standard rather than anything GE builds. What it costs you: Home Assistant's Matter server, which its own documentation says is supported only on Home Assistant's own operating system, and a phone with the Home Assistant app to do the commissioning. No Cync account is involved in the Matter path.In Home Assistant you also need: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.
No plan, tier, trial or premium feature appears anywhere on GE's catalogue page for this product, including in the scheduling section, which is where a vendor would normally put a gate. Recorded on that basis, with the honest limit that this is the absence of paywall language on one page rather than an explicit statement from GE that nothing will ever be charged.
Maintenance and offline use
Works without the internet: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own material and it does not answer this either way. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.[4]
🔴 GE'S OWN SPECIFICATION BLOCK CONTRADICTS ITSELF ON WHAT THIS PLUG CAN CARRY, and it is recorded rather than averaged. The same block gives 120 volts and a maximum load of 15.0, and then prints a wattage of 180 — a figure a 15 amp outlet at 120 volts cannot square with, and a tenth of what those two numbers imply. Design around the lower figure until GE reconciles them, and do not plan a heavy load on this plug on the strength of the amperage alone. The rest of what GE publishes: outdoor rated, not dimmable, one unit per pack, an estimated running cost of $21.68 a year, wireless connectivity listed as Bluetooth low energy, wireless, Savant's own audio-video protocol and Matter, and a two-year warranty. GE gives one dimension only, a length of 2.50 inches, and does not state how many outlets this version has — its non-Matter sibling has two, which is a reasonable expectation and not a fact about this model. The app is the Cync app, powered by Savant.
Security updates: GE Cync publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.[2]
The catch
Two outdoor plugs, almost the same name, and only one of them gets into Apple Home. This is the Matter version, part number CPLGOD2BLMS, and its Matter certificate was checked against the certifying body's own registry — the other one, part number CPLGOD2BLG1 and catalogue number 93128846, is not certified and reaches Alexa and Google only. GE's own storefront does not make this easy: the store address for its outdoor plug contains the words "matter compatible" while the listing shown under it carries the non-Matter catalogue number. Buy by part number or barcode. The second thing to know is that GE's own specification for this plug does not add up: it prints 120 volts and a maximum load of 15 alongside a wattage of 180, which is a tenth of what those numbers imply, so treat the lower figure as the one to design around until GE fixes it. Smaller gaps, all of them GE's silence rather than ours: no price anywhere for this version, no statement of how many outlets it has, no wireless band published, and no security-update commitment — though the maker did certify a new firmware version in March 2026.
Who it's for
The outdoor plug to pick if your household runs on Apple Home or Samsung SmartThings, since Matter is what gets it there and the cheaper-looking sibling will not. It suits someone switching outdoor lights, decorations or a fountain on a schedule or by voice, with no monthly fee and no bridge to buy — provided you already own a hub for your ecosystem, which Matter requires. Look elsewhere if you want to know exactly what you are buying before you order: GE publishes no price for this version, does not say how many outlets it has, and prints a wattage that contradicts its own amperage. Also look elsewhere for a heavy load until that contradiction is resolved, and for energy monitoring, which this plug does not have.
This opens GE Cync's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
13 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Protocols, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Capabilities, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Service status, Research status
Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Works without the internet
[5] docs/candidates/2026-09-07-outdoor-plugs.md (candidate brief, deleted on promotion; the outcome is recorded in company-os/discovery-runs.json), verified 2026-09-12
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check GE Cync Outdoor Smart Plug, Matter (CPLGOD2BLMS) with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.