Product Library / Smart Lighting

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-19

Eve Flare

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[2][14][18][19][20][23][24]
[2][15]
[2][15]
[2][15]
[3][16][20][21][22]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: BLUETOOTH · THREAD[1][2][14][15]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Not to use it, but very much to get the features people buy a smart lamp for — and Eve is unusually clear about the split. For basic control the answer is no: 'This device does not require a hub for control right from your iPhone or iPad.' For anything beyond that, Eve says 'Depending on what you want to do, a hub will unlock more advanced functionality: Remote Access, Automation, Notifications, Thread, Ready for Matter.' The qualifying hardware is named: 'HomePod (2nd gen), HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K (2nd gen/3rd gen 128 GB) will unlock all of these benefits.' Read that list carefully, because it is the real cost of this lamp for a household that owns none of them. Without an Apple home hub you have a Bluetooth lamp controlled from a phone in the same room, with no automations, no away-from-home control and no Thread. There is also a hard platform floor: 'iPhone or iPad with the latest version of iOS/iPadOS'. An Android household cannot use this product at all today.[2][14]

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Thread border router

Eve names the qualifying hardware directly: 'HomePod (2nd gen), HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K (2nd gen/3rd gen 128 GB) will unlock all of these benefits.' These devices serve two roles at once here — Apple home hub for remote access, automations and notifications, and Thread border router for the Thread radio Eve advertises. Without one, the lamp falls back to direct Bluetooth from an iPhone or iPad in range and loses automation, notifications and remote control.[2][14]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [2] [14]

Documented device function

Brightness

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [2] [14]

Documented device function

Color

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [2] [14]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[2][14]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
3 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks; color temperature unconfirmed[2][14][18][19][20][23][24]Google HomeDoesn't work[2][15]AlexaDoesn't work[2][15]SmartThingsDoesn't work[2][15]Home AssistantWorks; color temperature unconfirmed[3][16][20][21][22]
On/offDevice control
Control

Works

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

BrightnessDevice control
Control

Works

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

ColorDevice control
Control

Works

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

Color temperatureFunction
Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Eve Flare works natively with Apple Home: Apple lists it among its lights, and Eve says you set its color and brightness from the app or with Siri, with no bridge. Color temperature is unconfirmed in Apple Home: neither Eve nor Apple says whether you can pick white tones. You need an iPhone or iPad on the latest iOS, and remote control and automations need an Apple home hub such as a HomePod mini or an Apple TV; without one you control the lamp over Bluetooth from the same room.[2][14][18][19][20][23][24]

Google Home

Recorded 'none' for exactly the same architectural reason as Alexa: Google is named nowhere on Eve's page, and a Bluetooth-and-Thread HomeKit accessory with no Wi-Fi, no cloud account and no Matter has no route a Google Home integration could take. The promised Matter firmware — 'Eve Flare will receive a free firmware update to Matter at a later date' — is the single thing that would change this, and Eve attaches no date to it. Anyone in a Google household should treat this lamp as incompatible today rather than as compatible soon.[2][15]

Alexa

Recorded 'none' on architecture and not merely on vendor silence, which is the stronger of the two reasons and worth separating. Alexa is not mentioned anywhere on Eve's page — but more decisively, this lamp's only radios are Bluetooth Low Energy and Thread and its only protocol is HomeKit, so there is no transport an Alexa integration could use: no Wi-Fi, no cloud account, no bridge, and no Matter yet. ⏳ 'Yet' is the operative word and it is Eve's own: 'Eve Flare will receive a free firmware update to Matter at a later date.' When that firmware ships, Matter over Thread would make the lamp reachable by Alexa and this cell should change. Until it does, the honest state today is none — and a buyer should not pay for the promise, because Eve publishes no date for it.[2][15]

SmartThings

Recorded 'none' on the same architecture as the other two non-Apple cells — no Wi-Fi, no cloud, no bridge, no Matter, and no mention of SmartThings anywhere on Eve's page. Worth one extra note for SmartThings specifically: a SmartThings hub that is also a Thread border router still cannot reach this lamp today, because the barrier is the application protocol rather than the radio. HomeKit-over-Thread and Matter-over-Thread both run on Thread and are not interchangeable. The promised Matter update is what would close that gap.[2][15]

Home Assistant

Home Assistant's own HomeKit Device integration controls this lamp locally, with no Apple account, and it supports HomeKit lights, so on/off, brightness and color come across. Color temperature is unconfirmed: neither Home Assistant nor Eve says whether white tones carry over. The catch is that a HomeKit accessory pairs with one controller at a time, so adding the lamp to Home Assistant takes it out of Apple Home, and it has to be reset first.[3][16][20][21][22]

Device documentation: [2] [14]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeWorks; color temperature unconfirmedWorks; color temperature unconfirmed — see the catch[2][14][18][19][20][23][24]Eve Flare works natively with Apple Home: Apple lists it among its lights, and Eve says you set its color and brightness from the app or with Siri, with no bridge. Color temperature is unconfirmed in Apple Home: neither Eve nor Apple says whether you can pick white tones. You need an iPhone or iPad on the latest iOS, and remote control and automations need an Apple home hub such as a HomePod mini or an Apple TV; without one you control the lamp over Bluetooth from the same room.
Amazon AlexaDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2][15]Recorded 'none' on architecture and not merely on vendor silence, which is the stronger of the two reasons and worth separating. Alexa is not mentioned anywhere on Eve's page — but more decisively, this lamp's only radios are Bluetooth Low Energy and Thread and its only protocol is HomeKit, so there is no transport an Alexa integration could use: no Wi-Fi, no cloud account, no bridge, and no Matter yet. ⏳ 'Yet' is the operative word and it is Eve's own: 'Eve Flare will receive a free firmware update to Matter at a later date.' When that firmware ships, Matter over Thread would make the lamp reachable by Alexa and this cell should change. Until it does, the honest state today is none — and a buyer should not pay for the promise, because Eve publishes no date for it.
Google HomeDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2][15]Recorded 'none' for exactly the same architectural reason as Alexa: Google is named nowhere on Eve's page, and a Bluetooth-and-Thread HomeKit accessory with no Wi-Fi, no cloud account and no Matter has no route a Google Home integration could take. The promised Matter firmware — 'Eve Flare will receive a free firmware update to Matter at a later date' — is the single thing that would change this, and Eve attaches no date to it. Anyone in a Google household should treat this lamp as incompatible today rather than as compatible soon.
SmartThingsDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2][15]Recorded 'none' on the same architecture as the other two non-Apple cells — no Wi-Fi, no cloud, no bridge, no Matter, and no mention of SmartThings anywhere on Eve's page. Worth one extra note for SmartThings specifically: a SmartThings hub that is also a Thread border router still cannot reach this lamp today, because the barrier is the application protocol rather than the radio. HomeKit-over-Thread and Matter-over-Thread both run on Thread and are not interchangeable. The promised Matter update is what would close that gap.
Home AssistantWorks; color temperature unconfirmedWorks; color temperature unconfirmed — see the catch[3][16][20][21][22]Home Assistant's own HomeKit Device integration controls this lamp locally, with no Apple account, and it supports HomeKit lights, so on/off, brightness and color come across. Color temperature is unconfirmed: neither Home Assistant nor Eve says whether white tones carry over. The catch is that a HomeKit accessory pairs with one controller at a time, so adding the lamp to Home Assistant takes it out of Apple Home, and it has to be reset first.

Plans and ongoing costs[2][3][14][16][22]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: No — no vendor account is involved.[2][14]

No subscription, plan, tier or fee appears anywhere on the product page, and the architecture makes one hard to imagine: HomeKit is a local protocol, Eve operates no account service the lamp depends on, and Home Assistant's documentation states of HomeKit accessories generally that 'the HomeKit protocol is a local and offline protocol that does not rely on the Apple ecosystem to function' and that 'You do not need an Apple online account to use a Works with HomeKit device'. Recorded 'none' on both the absence of fee language and the absence of a service that could be gated. The promised Matter update is also stated as free: 'Eve Flare will receive a free firmware update to Matter at a later date.'

Maintenance and offline use[2]

The catch

First and most important, because the internet routinely gets it wrong: this lamp does not do Matter today. Eve's own page says so twice — 'Eve Flare will receive a free firmware update to Matter at a later date' and 'Ready for Matter: With a future software update'. Ready-for is not is. No date is published. Everything that follows depends on that. Second, and directly downstream of it: this is an Apple-only product right now. Apple Home and Siri are the only ecosystem Eve names anywhere on the page, and Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings appear nowhere — not as omissions from a list, but because a lamp whose only radios are Bluetooth Low Energy and Thread, with no Wi-Fi and no cloud account, has no route those platforms could take. There is even a hard floor on the Apple side: 'iPhone or iPad with the latest version of iOS/iPadOS'. An Android household cannot use this lamp at all. Third, the hub question, where Eve is commendably clear and the answer costs money. Basic control needs nothing — 'This device does not require a hub for control right from your iPhone or iPad' — but 'Remote Access, Automation, Notifications, Thread, Ready for Matter' all require an Apple home hub, and Eve names which ones: 'HomePod (2nd gen), HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K (2nd gen/3rd gen 128 GB)'. Without one you have a Bluetooth lamp you control from the same room. Fourth, the brightness, which is easy to miss in a specification list: 90 lumens. That is a mood light, not a lamp to read by, and it is a fraction of what comparable portable smart lamps put out. What you get for it is IP65 water resistance, a 6+ hour battery, wireless charging and a 25 cm globe you can carry outside. Fifth, for Home Assistant users, a route with a painful string attached: the official HomeKit Device integration is local push and needs no Apple account at all — but 'HomeKit devices can only be paired to a single controller at once', so pairing it to Home Assistant removes it from Apple Home. One or the other. Finally, the price: Eve asks $109.95 on its own page, and that figure is new — the same page showed no US price at all when this record was first built. Eve ships it free in the US on orders over $99.

Who it's for

An Apple household — and it has to be an Apple household — that already owns a HomePod or Apple TV and wants a portable, weather-resistant accent light for a table, a balcony or a garden path. The combination of native HomeKit over Thread, IP65, wireless charging and a 6+ hour battery is a specific and well-executed thing, and the local-only architecture means it works with no account, no cloud and no subscription. It is also a good fit for a Home Assistant user who wants a genuinely local Thread lamp and is willing to give up Apple Home to get it, since the two cannot share the device. Think twice if you are on Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings, where the answer today is simply no and Eve's Matter firmware has no published date. Think twice if anyone in the house is on Android, since the app requires iOS. Think twice if you do not own an Apple home hub, because remote access, automations and Thread all depend on one. And think twice if you want usable light — at 90 lumens this sets a mood and does not illuminate a room.

Check availability at Eve Systems

This opens Eve Systems's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

25 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] evehome.com/en-us/eve-flare (read 2026-08-09): 'This device does not require a hub for control right from your iPhone or iPad.' · wireless connection listed verbatim as 'Bluetooth Low Energy, Thread'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  2. [2] Eve Systems, Eve Flare product page (US) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-05
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Required hub or bridge, Batteries, Works without the internet, Capabilities, Subscription, Price, Market availability, Apple Home compatibility, Vendor account required, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  3. [3] Home Assistant, HomeKit Device integration documentation — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-05
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Subscription
  4. [4] evehome.com, eve-flare product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Role in a Thread network
  5. [5] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: a correction pass over how this record marks facts its sources do not state, verified 2026-08-27
  6. [6] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was replaced by the read that actually established this record, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
  7. [7] This record's own answers that a platform is not supported, and the entries behind them, re-read against the claim-basis rulings of 2026-09-09., verified 2026-09-09
  8. [8] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13
  9. [9] the record's own customer-facing prose as it stood before 2026-09-15 (no external read), verified 2026-09-15
  10. [10] Record-keeping entry: this record's existing answers that Google Home and SmartThings are not supported now name the platform rule their reason rests on, 2026-09-15, verified 2026-09-15
  11. [11] Runs on batteries — nothing to wire., verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Installation
  12. [12] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-17 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-17
  13. [13] Eve's own US product page for Eve Flare, read 2026-08-05 — the same page this record already cites for the two cells this entry reasons from: that the lamp keeps working when the internet is down, and that it needs no Eve account., verified 2026-08-05
    Backs: Service status
  14. [14] Eve Systems, Eve Flare product page (US), re-read in full on 2026-09-19 for the scheduled re-verification of this record. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Price, Protocols, App platforms, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Apple Home compatibility, Works without the internet, Vendor account required, Role in a Thread network, Research status, Batteries
  15. [15] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, models registered to VID 4874 (Eve), read 2026-09-19: 32 models enumerated to pagination exhaustion. Eve Flare is not among them., verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Protocols, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  16. [16] Home Assistant, HomeKit Device integration documentation, re-read 2026-09-19. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Subscription
  17. [17] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-23
  18. [18] Apple's Home app accessory directory, read 2026-10-02. Apple lists this product by name: "Eve Flare - Portable Smart LED Lamp"., verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  19. [19] Eve's own US product page for Eve Flare, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Portable Siri voice control" · "Just use the app or talk to Siri whenever the mood strikes." · "With the entire color spectrum at your fingertips, you hone the perfect hue for every occasion. And a quick swipe or voice command gets the brightness just right." · "Controlling this HomeKit-enabled accessory automatically and away from home requires a HomePod or an Apple TV (4th generation or later) as a home hub". The page names no white tones and no colour temperature. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  20. [20] Apple's Home app accessory directory, read rendered on 2026-10-07. Apple lists "Eve Flare - Portable Smart LED Lamp" under the Lighting heading's Lights list. The directory prints marketing names and no model numbers. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  21. [21] Home Assistant's HomeKit Device integration page, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "allows you to connect accessories with the “Works with HomeKit” logo to Home Assistant." · "There is currently support for the following device types (also called domains ) within Home Assistant." · "Light (HomeKit lights)" · "HomeKit devices can only be paired to a single controller at once." · "You do not need an Apple online account to use a “Works with HomeKit” device." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  22. [22] Home Assistant's own HomeKit Device integration page, read in full on 2026-10-20 from its source file in the home-assistant/home-assistant.io repository (source/_integrations/homekit_controller.markdown on branch current, blob 1950b8860db71df0f8e09909bd3c9ba00e885f23, the file the www.home-assistant.io/integrations/homekit_controller/ page is built from). Verbatim: "allows you to connect accessories with the “Works with HomeKit” logo to Home Assistant" · "Light (HomeKit lights)" · "HomeKit devices can only be paired to a single controller at once." · "You do not need an Apple online account to use a “Works with HomeKit” device.". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-20
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Subscription
  23. [23] Eve's US product page for Eve Flare, read in full on 2026-10-21. Verbatim: "Portable Siri voice control" · "Just use the app or talk to Siri whenever the mood strikes." · "With the entire color spectrum at your fingertips, you hone the perfect hue for every occasion. And a quick swipe or voice command gets the brightness just right." · "Controlling this HomeKit-enabled accessory automatically and away from home requires a HomePod or an Apple TV (4th generation or later) as a home hub". The page names no white tones and no colour temperature. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-21
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  24. [24] Apple's Home app accessory directory, read rendered on 2026-10-21. Apple lists "Eve Flare - Portable Smart LED Lamp" under the Lighting heading's Lights list. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-21
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  25. [25] Apple's Home app accessory directory, read plain on 2026-10-21. The plain text carries the page's introduction and not the accessory lists, so it was read again rendered (entry beside this one). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-21

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Eve Flare with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker