Product Library / Cameras & Doorbells
Research profile · last verified 2026-08-12eufy SoloCam S340
Exactly which product this is[1]†Seller's spec sheet, checked 2026-08-21This fact comes from a retailer or review specification listing rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-21.
- Model number
- T81701W1
- Generation
- Not established
- Region this page covers
- US
- Also sold or listed as
- SoloCam S340
“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.
Compatibility
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][10] | Live streaming to Echo Show devices; eufy lists Alexa as supported. |
| Google Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][10] | Chromecast and Google Assistant streaming; eufy lists Google Assistant as supported, while noting on the same page that the integration is 'still undergoing development'. |
| Apple Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[17] | eufy states 'HomeKit — Not supported'. Its HomeKit article lists only the eufyCam 2 family and Indoor Cam 2K models on HomeBase 2, and no S-series camera appears; HomeKit Secure Video is confined to that older generation. A January 2026 secondary report of 'expanded HomeKit support' was checked and is NOT corroborated by any eufy primary source. |
| SmartThings | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[4][10][24] | Not established. eufy answers the smart-home question on this camera's own page in one short row, and both names on it are voice assistants: Alexa and Google Assistant. SmartThings is not on that row and appears nowhere else on the page. A row naming which voices can talk to the camera is not a statement about which home platforms it joins, so what eufy publishes leaves SmartThings unanswered rather than ruled out. The eufy support table that does say SmartThings is not supported is written for eufy's doorbells, names no camera, and cannot speak for this one — which is why it was never the answer here. Community projects for eufy cameras exist, are unofficial and are unsupported by eufy, so they settle nothing either. If SmartThings control is what you need, ask eufy before you buy. |
| Home Assistant | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[4][10][24][25] | Not established, and it is worth seeing both sides. eufy names two smart-home services for this camera and both are voice assistants — Alexa and Google Assistant — so eufy says nothing about Home Assistant in either direction. From Home Assistant's side there is a eufy integration, but it is built for the EufyHome line of lights and switches and covers no camera of any kind. A platform's own directory coming up empty is half an answer; without the maker addressing it too, the question stays open. Community projects for eufy cameras exist, are unofficial and unsupported by eufy. Treat Home Assistant support as unproven here, and ask eufy before you buy if it matters. |
? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.
Protocols: WIFI[6]
What it can do[14]
You can tell it to
- Camera stream
- Two-way audio
- Pan/tilt
It reports
Not established — we could not confirm this from vendor documentation
Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.
| What it does | Google Home | Alexa |
|---|---|---|
| Camera stream | ✗ app only | ? not stated |
| Two-way audio | ✗ app only | ? not stated |
| Pan/tilt | ✗ app only | ? not stated |
Platform documentation: Amazon Alexa — automation engine ceiling (eight terms observed; residue inconclusive by refusal) (2026-09-01), Google Home — automation engine ceiling (2026-09-01)
Some of these may need a paid plan — see Subscription reality below.
Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.
Subscription reality[2][23]
◐ Works without a subscription: Yes. The maker also sells an optional paid plan.
- Free: All local recording to 8GB onboard storage, Live view, On-device AI detection, Offline recording that auto-syncs when the network returns
- Behind a plan: Off-site cloud video backup only (from $15/mo)
- 5-year cost if you add the plan: ~$900 at $15/mo — price verified 2026-09-13
Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.
Recording, live view and person and vehicle detection all work with no plan, and clips are kept on the camera's own 8 GB of storage. eufy also sells an optional Plus membership, $15 a month or $135 a year when we checked in September 2026, that adds 30 days of cloud backup for all eufy devices along with store perks such as faster shipping and rewards.
Maintenance reality[3]
- Batteries: built-in rechargeable with integrated solar panel
- Works without the internet: Partly — some of it keeps working and some of it does not. See the detail below.[12]
- Genuinely hub-free — eufy states it 'can work alone. No hubs, bridges, or companion devices required.' A HomeBase S380 is optional and sold separately (bundles from roughly $399.99), adding up to 16TB expandable storage and face recognition.
Security updates[13]
eufy publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.
VERIFIED ABSENCE, earned by walking all three source rungs rather than defaulted, and the walk was split across two runs: rungs (a) and (b) on the seventh grind, rung (c) here. (a) NO per-product regulatory declaration for any eufy model was found by two differently-constructed searches — the bar this catalogue requires before recording any negative — and eufy links none from its own compliance surface. (b) eufy's privacy-commitment page carries a Compliance and Certifications section that names "PSTI Compliance Attestation" and says it "demonstrates that eufy meets stringent cybersecurity requirements outlined in the Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure (Security Requirements for Relevant Connectable Products) Regulations 2023" — and it links no statement of compliance and names no support period, on a page that details ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27701, ETSI EN 303 645, NISTIR 8425, CSA STAR and ioXt at length. (c) THIS product's own page carries no security-update, end-of-support or patching statement of any kind. ⚠ Said precisely, because the distinction matters: this records that eufy has published no support period we can find for this model. It is NOT a finding about eufy's compliance with any regulation, and nothing here asserts one. ⚠ And it has a shelf life. The UK PSTI regime requires manufacturers to publish a defined support period for products sold there, so vendor silence on this axis is the kind of fact that changes without notice — which is why this record carries a dated recheck rather than being treated as settled. ⊕ Checked on the same page that already backs this record's storage and power facts, so the absence is an absence on a surface eufy uses to answer detailed questions — not on a thin marketing landing page.
The catch
The no-subscription claim holds up better here than in most of the category, because the camera genuinely needs no base station and records to 8GB of onboard storage. The trade is closed ecosystems and a trust history: in early 2023 Anker admitted to press that eufy cameras had sent video streams to its web portal without end-to-end encryption, contradicting earlier marketing. Anker states it has since encrypted portal streams, moved to WebRTC, commissioned third-party audits and launched a HackerOne bug bounty — but it does not claim end-to-end encryption across the board today.
Who it's for
Households that want outdoor coverage with no recurring fee and no hub purchase, are content inside Alexa or Google, and have read the encryption history and accepted it.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
25 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] https://www.eufy.com/products/t81701w1 + https://www.eufy.com/solocam-s340 — $199.99 list, 8GB built-in eMMC, 3K wide (2880x1620) plus 2K telephoto (2304x1296) dual lens, 360 degree pan / 70 degree tilt, integrated solar; 'Can work alone. No hubs, bridges, or companion devices required' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19Backs: Product identity, Price, Required hub or bridge
- [2] https://www.eufy.com/products/t81701w1 — 'Local Storage, No Monthly Fee: One-time purchase. No monthly fee or hidden costs.'; https://www.eufy.com/solocam-s340 — cloud is opt-in with a free 3-month trial, 'after which continued use will have associated charges' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19Backs: Subscription
- [3] https://service.eufy.com/article-description/What-storage-and-recording-methods-are-supported-by-eufy-Solo-Outdoor-Cams — Solo cams 'can record offline and the recordings will auto-sync when connected to a network' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19Backs: Maintenance
- [4] https://service.eufy.com/article-description/Does-the-doorbell-work-with-3rd-party-smart-platforms (states HomeKit / SmartThings / Home Assistant 'Not supported'; Alexa and Google 'Supported') + https://service.eufy.com/article-description/Which-eufy-cameras-work-with-HomeKit (HomeKit limited to eufyCam 2 generation). CAVEAT: the platform matrix is titled for the doorbell, not the SoloCam. It is an affirmative vendor statement and is consistent with the S340 page naming only Alexa and Google, but the scope mismatch is recorded rather than hidden. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-19Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
- [5] Anker told The Verge (reported 2023-01-31/02-01 by macrumors.com and 9to5mac.com) that eufy cameras had sent non end-to-end-encrypted video streams to the eufy web portal, which 'was not designed to support P2P encryption for viewing live streams'. Late 2022 research had shown event thumbnails uploading to cloud servers with cloud storage disabled, which eufy acknowledged. Stated remedies: end-to-end encryption on portal stream requests, migration to WebRTC, third-party audits, and a bug bounty subsequently launched at https://hackerone.com/eufy_security. — Read published press coverage, verified 2026-07-19
- [6] No eufy primary source found stating Matter camera support for the S340 or any current model. Recorded as absent from the protocol list rather than asserted either way., verified 2026-07-19Backs: Protocols
- [7] https://www.eufy.com/products/t81701w1 + https://www.eufy.com/collections/security-camera — listed on eufy's current US standalone-camera collection, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Market availability
- [8] https://www.eufy.com/products/t81701w1, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Service status
- [9] eufy.com/products/t81701w1 on 2026-08-12 lists the SoloCam S340 at $199.99, purchasable, with an $8.00 Plus-member saving shown against that figure. Unchanged from the 2026-07-19 list price, and the promotional $139.99 seen on the collection page that day is not showing today — which is the reason the list figure rather than the promotional one is the recorded convention. A limit worth stating: eufy.com publishes no machine-readable product data at this address, so this rests on the page as a shopper sees it. Specs re-confirmed on the same read: 3K (2880×1620) wide lens, 2K (2304×1296) telephoto, 8× hybrid zoom, 355° horizontal / 70° vertical pan-tilt, built-in 8 GB eMMC, 2.2 W removable solar panel. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-12Backs: Price, Market availability
- [10] service.eufy.com/article-description/Does-the-doorbell-work-with-3rd-party-smart-platforms, re-read 2026-08-12, still states Amazon Alexa 'Supported' and Google Assistant 'Supported', and HomeKit, Home Assistant, SmartThings, SmartLife, Wink, Nest, Blue Iris, IP-cam viewer and IFTTT all 'Not supported'. Every answer on this record is unchanged. The caveat this record carries was checked again rather than simply repeated: the table is still titled for eufy's doorbells, not the SoloCam, and still references a Video Doorbell manual — so it remains a table read across to this camera, corroborated by the S340 product page naming only Alexa and Google. ⊕ New detail from this read, no answer affected: IFTTT is explicitly on the not-supported list, which this record had not previously stated in either direction. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-12Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Service status
- [11] Our own re-check of this record on 2026-08-12. Price, availability and specifications re-read from eufy's own product page; all five platform answers re-read from eufy's third-party-platform support article. Outcome: nothing moved — same list price, same five answers, same caveat that the table is titled for eufy's doorbells, which is recorded as a caveat checked again rather than one simply repeated. One detail gained (IFTTT explicitly not supported) and one limit recorded (eufy.com publishes no machine-readable product data at this address, so the price rests on the page as a shopper sees it). — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-12Backs: Research status
- [12] service.eufy.com, 'What storage and recording methods are supported by eufy Solo Outdoor Cams' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Works without the internet
- [13] eufy (Anker Innovations), eufy SoloCam S340 product page (eufy.com/products/t81701w1), read 2026-08-19 — no security-update, end-of-support or patching commitment appears anywhere on the page. Rung (b) read the same day at eufy.com/privacy-commitment, whose Compliance and Certifications section names a "PSTI Compliance Attestation" and links no statement of compliance and no support period. Rung (a): no per-product regulatory declaration located by two differently-constructed searches. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19Backs: Security-update support period
- [14] eufy.com/products/t81701w1 (the SKU this record carries), read 2026-08-20: "Two-Way Audio: Communicate with family and guests remotely." · "Pan and Tilt: Horizon 355°, Vertical 60°" · "Automatic Motion Tracking: Pans and tilts to follow the action." · "Built-In Light and Siren: Deter potential threats at night." · "On-Device AI: Motion Detection, Human Detection, Vehicle Detection", extended when paired with HomeBase S380 to "familiar faces, human recognition, vehicle detection, and pet detection". Ecosystem scope, verbatim from the same page: "Is SoloCam S340 compatible with voice assistants? Yes, it supports streaming to Alexa Echo Show and Google Chromecast." The page names no Apple HomeKit, SmartThings or Home Assistant support. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilities
- [15] FCC grant 2AOKB-T8170 (Anker Innovations Limited, product code T8170), Equipment Class "eufy SoloCam S340, eufy SoloCam S3n". Operating Frequencies lists 2412-2462 MHz on every application row — Original Equipment 2023-07-26 and three Class II permissive changes (2025-11-18, 2026-02-09, 2026-08-06). No 5 GHz or 6 GHz range appears on any row. Exhibits include "ReportFCC15.247 Wi-Fi2.4G" and "FCC-WLAN Appendix Data". — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-21Seller's spec sheet, checked 2026-08-21This fact comes from a retailer or review specification listing rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-21.Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
- [16] the sources already cited on this record: service.eufy.com's third-party-platforms matrix (doorbell-titled), service.eufy.com's 'Which eufy cameras work with HomeKit' article, and the eufy.com S340 product page. Nothing was read again., verified 2026-08-22
- [17] service.eufy.com/article-description/Which-eufy-cameras-work-with-HomeKit ('Which eufy cameras work with HomeKit?'), read 2026-08-27 — HomeKit is enumerated for six models, all Indoor Cam or eufyCam 2 generation on HomeBase 2, and no SoloCam or S-series camera appears — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-27Backs: Apple Home compatibility
- [18] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was retired from this record on 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
- [19] FCC grant 2AOKB-T8170, grantee Anker Innovations Limited, product code T8170, Equipment Class 'eufy SoloCam S340, eufy SoloCam S3n'. Read into this record on 2026-08-21 by the entry recording which Wi-Fi bands the camera uses, whose own note records that the mapping needed no inference because the Equipment Class names this product outright. — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-21Seller's spec sheet, checked 2026-08-21This fact comes from a retailer or review specification listing rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-21.Backs: Certification and product IDs
- [20] https://www.eufy.com/products/t81701w1 (read 2026-09-09), specification block: 'Compatibility: Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz Only' — an enumeration with the exclusion stated in the value itself — and 'Power: Battery Life 3 Months Standalone, A Lifetime with Forever* Power' beside 'Solar Power: Adjustable and Removable 2.2W Solar Panel'. ⚠ The power source is recorded as battery, and the reason is a limit in our vocabulary, not in the reading: the camera runs from a cell that a removable panel recharges, there is no mains option, and our list of power types has no term for solar. The solar path is stated here so the value is not mistaken for a bare battery. Platforms from eufy's own app row, which links eufy Security on both stores: https://apps.apple.com/app/id1424956516 and https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.oceanwing.battery.cam. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, App platforms
- [21] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
- [22] Record-keeping entry: a provenance sentence naming the wrong read date was corrected on 2026-09-12, verified 2026-09-12
- [23] eufy's membership page https://www.eufy.com/eufy-plus-membership, read 2026-09-13 under our reading rules for this site and served normally: 'eufy Plus Member Benefits 30-Day Cloud Backup History (All Devices)'; 'Monthly Plus Member You can unsubscribe at any time. $15.00/month'; 'Annually Plus Member You can unsubscribe at any time. $135/year'; 'eufy Plus Membership operates on an auto-renewal subscription model.' The SoloCam S340 product page https://www.eufy.com/products/t81701w1, read the same day and served normally, membership panel: 'eufy SoloCam S340 $199.99 Save $7.00 Extra as Plus Member Includes Free Cloud Backup History (All Devices) Plus Member $15.00 /month'; feature tile 'Local Storage**, No Monthly Fee : One-time purchase. No monthly fee or hidden costs.'; spec row 'Monthly Fee No Local Storage** Built-In 8 GB EMMC On-Device** AI Motion Detection, Human Detection, Vehicle Detection'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13Backs: Subscription
- [24] eufy, SoloCam S340 product page, read 2026-09-18. The specification table's Compatibility section carries a 'Smart Integrations' row reading, in full, 'Alexa, Google Assistant'. The page's own question 'Is SoloCam S340 compatible with voice assistants?' is answered 'Yes, it supports streaming to Alexa Echo Show and Google Chromecast.' Neither SmartThings nor Home Assistant appears anywhere on the page. Unlike the doorbell support table this record cites elsewhere, this row is scoped to this camera. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
- [25] Home Assistant, EufyHome integration documentation, read 2026-09-18. Verbatim: 'The EufyHome integration is the main integration to integrate eufy devices sold under the EufyHome product line with Home Assistant. There is currently support for the following device types within Home Assistant: Light, Switch.' The example configuration names a smart light and a smart switch. No camera, no security device and no SoloCam appears on the page. A search of the same documentation for a eufy security integration returns no page, while a control address on the same host in the same read, the Wallbox integration, returns full documentation. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-18Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.