Product Library / Thermostats

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-03

ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[11][26][34][36][48][52][53]
[9][11][22][26][36][46][48][53]
[11][19][30][41][50]
[12][23][29][40][51]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[1][11][32]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub for the thermostat itself — it joins your Wi-Fi directly and every ecosystem below reaches it through ecobee's cloud or as a native HomeKit accessory. ONE ECOSYSTEM-SPECIFIC EXCEPTION, and it is easy to misread: the thermostat has Alexa built in, but Siri is not on the device. ecobee's own page states that enabling Siri means pairing with an Apple HomePod or HomePod mini, and that 'Accessing Siri on this accessory requires iOS 15 or iPadOS 15 or later and a HomePod or HomePod mini with software version 15 or later.' So an Apple household that wants voice control at the thermostat is buying a HomePod on top; an Alexa household is not.[7][22][26][36][37][38][53]

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Apple hub or bridge

An Apple home hub (a HomePod or HomePod mini), for Apple Home households only. ecobee says you need one to use Siri on the thermostat. Apple says a home hub is what lets you control accessories while you're away from home, share them with others and automate them.[7][22][26][36][37][38][53]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Target temperature

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [15] [22] [26] [36] [45] [53]

Documented device function

HVAC mode

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [15] [22] [26] [36] [45] [53]

Documented device function

Temperature reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [15] [22] [26] [36] [45] [53]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[15][22][26][36][45][53]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
3 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[9][11][22][25][26][31][36][42][49][53]Google HomeWorks; HVAC mode unconfirmed[11][26][34][36][48][52][53]AlexaWorks; HVAC mode unconfirmed[9][11][22][26][36][46][48][53]SmartThingsWorks[11][19][30][41][50]Home AssistantWorks[12][23][29][40][51]
Target temperatureDevice control
Control

Works

Control

Works

Control

Works

Control

Works

Control

Works

HVAC modeDevice control
Control

Works

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Works

Control

Works

Temperature readingReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Humidity readingReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Presence detectedReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

HomeKit is native — ecobee lists 'Apple HomeKit' among the platforms the thermostat works with directly, and Apple lists it among its thermostats, so setting the temperature and changing the heating or cooling mode both work in Apple Home. THE ASYMMETRY WORTH KNOWING BEFORE YOU BUY: Alexa is built INTO this thermostat, with a microphone, speaker and two-way talk; Siri is not. ecobee's own page says enabling Siri means pairing an Apple HomePod or HomePod mini, and that 'Accessing Siri on this accessory requires iOS 15 or iPadOS 15 or later and a HomePod or HomePod mini with software version 15 or later.' So the voice assistant you get in the hallway for $259.99 is Amazon's; an Apple household that wants the same thing at the thermostat pays for a HomePod as well.[9][11][22][25][26][31][36][42][49][53]

Google Home

ecobee connects this thermostat to Google Home when you link your ecobee account through Works with Google in the Google Home app, and says you can ask your voice assistant to adjust the temperature. ecobee doesn't say whether Google can switch between heating and cooling, so HVAC mode is unconfirmed there.[11][26][34][36][48][52][53]

Alexa

Alexa is built into the thermostat itself — microphone, speaker, two-way talk, and music streaming via Spotify Connect and Amazon Music, so it doubles as an Echo in the hallway. It can also send intercom announcements to a HomePod mini or an Alexa device elsewhere in the house. ecobee says you can ask Alexa to change the temperature on this model, even in Auto mode. ecobee's list of Alexa commands does include switching between heat, cool, auto and off, but that list covers ecobee devices in general and doesn't name this model, so changing the HVAC mode with Alexa is unconfirmed here.[9][11][22][26][36][46][48][53]

SmartThings

Samsung lists this thermostat by its model number, as a thermostat, in its SmartThings partner directory, so setting the temperature and changing the heating or cooling mode both work in SmartThings.[11][19][30][41][50]

Home Assistant

Official, but it goes through ecobee's servers rather than talking to the thermostat on your own network — so when ecobee has an outage, Home Assistant loses the thermostat with it. Setup got easier: since Home Assistant 2026.3 an ecobee.com login is enough, and the developer key you used to have to register first is now optional rather than mandatory. Coverage is broad once it is connected — setting the temperature and switching between heat, cool, auto and off, the remote room sensors, the humidifier, switches, numeric settings, on-off sensors, notifications and weather. One limit on that login: if your ecobee account uses two-step sign-in, Home Assistant accepts the code from an authenticator app or the code ecobee sends you by text message, but not push or email codes. If you want it local only, pair it through Home Assistant's HomeKit Device integration instead.[12][23][29][40][51]

Device documentation: [15] [22] [26] [36] [45] [53]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks; HVAC mode unconfirmedWorks; HVAC mode unconfirmed — see the catch[9][11][22][26][36][46][48][53]Alexa is built into the thermostat itself — microphone, speaker, two-way talk, and music streaming via Spotify Connect and Amazon Music, so it doubles as an Echo in the hallway. It can also send intercom announcements to a HomePod mini or an Alexa device elsewhere in the house. ecobee says you can ask Alexa to change the temperature on this model, even in Auto mode. ecobee's list of Alexa commands does include switching between heat, cool, auto and off, but that list covers ecobee devices in general and doesn't name this model, so changing the HVAC mode with Alexa is unconfirmed here.
Google HomeWorks; HVAC mode unconfirmedWorks; HVAC mode unconfirmed — see the catch[11][26][34][36][48][52][53]ecobee connects this thermostat to Google Home when you link your ecobee account through Works with Google in the Google Home app, and says you can ask your voice assistant to adjust the temperature. ecobee doesn't say whether Google can switch between heating and cooling, so HVAC mode is unconfirmed there.
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[9][11][22][25][26][31][36][42][49][53]HomeKit is native — ecobee lists 'Apple HomeKit' among the platforms the thermostat works with directly, and Apple lists it among its thermostats, so setting the temperature and changing the heating or cooling mode both work in Apple Home. THE ASYMMETRY WORTH KNOWING BEFORE YOU BUY: Alexa is built INTO this thermostat, with a microphone, speaker and two-way talk; Siri is not. ecobee's own page says enabling Siri means pairing an Apple HomePod or HomePod mini, and that 'Accessing Siri on this accessory requires iOS 15 or iPadOS 15 or later and a HomePod or HomePod mini with software version 15 or later.' So the voice assistant you get in the hallway for $259.99 is Amazon's; an Apple household that wants the same thing at the thermostat pays for a HomePod as well.
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[11][19][30][41][50]Samsung lists this thermostat by its model number, as a thermostat, in its SmartThings partner directory, so setting the temperature and changing the heating or cooling mode both work in SmartThings.
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[12][23][29][40][51]Official, but it goes through ecobee's servers rather than talking to the thermostat on your own network — so when ecobee has an outage, Home Assistant loses the thermostat with it. Setup got easier: since Home Assistant 2026.3 an ecobee.com login is enough, and the developer key you used to have to register first is now optional rather than mandatory. Coverage is broad once it is connected — setting the temperature and switching between heat, cool, auto and off, the remote room sensors, the humidifier, switches, numeric settings, on-off sensors, notifications and weather. One limit on that login: if your ecobee account uses two-step sign-in, Home Assistant accepts the code from an authenticator app or the code ecobee sends you by text message, but not push or email codes. If you want it local only, pair it through Home Assistant's HomeKit Device integration instead.

Plans and ongoing costs[4][8][28][36][39][53]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No plan is required for anything this record claims. Thermostat control, scheduling, the bundled SmartSensor and remote app access are all unpaid, and ecobee's energy-optimisation layer eco+ 'comes automatically enabled' at no cost, covering Schedule Assistant, Smart Home & Away, Adjust Temperature for Humidity, Time of Use and Community Energy Savings. One eco+ feature is the exception: Pause when Open, which pauses heating or cooling when a door or window is left open, needs ecobee's door and window SmartSensor and a Smart Security subscription. The paid ladder is ecobee Smart Security and it is about SECURITY DEVICES, not this thermostat: Core is free with security devices, Plus is $5/month or $50/year, Advanced is $10/month or $100/year, and what the money buys is camera package detection, 30-day camera event history, smoke-alarm listening and professional-monitoring compatibility. Named so nobody has to guess later: a bundle purchase may include one year of Smart Security Advanced, and ecobee also sells an optional air-filter subscription — neither is a condition of the thermostat working.

Maintenance and offline use[7]

The catch

Install needs a C-wire, or the Power Extender Kit that ships in the box — either way, budget 20 extra minutes at the furnace.

Who it's for

A good fit for a home that wants room sensors, air-quality readings and support in all five ecosystems.

Check availability at ecobee

This opens ecobee's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

53 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's Matter device ledger at on.dcl.csa-iot.org, read 2026-09-23. Every vendor the ledger holds was listed to exhaustion — 856 of them — and exactly one is ecobee: vendor number 4224, legal name ecobee Technologies ULC. Asked for the products registered under that number, the ledger answers that it holds none. No Matter certificate exists under ecobee's vendor number, so no ecobee product — this thermostat included — is a certified Matter device. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: Protocols
  2. [2] The ledger lookup's built-in check that the ledger answers returns another company's product (the Aqara Door and Window Sensor P2). That certificate belongs to a different product and says nothing about this one., verified 2026-09-23
  3. [3] csa-iot.org/member/ecobee-inc/, read in full 2026-09-21 through the one sanctioned page-reading route. The page's entire body copy about this member is the company name, ecobee Inc., one sentence saying it makes smart home products, smart thermostats and smart lighting among them, and a link to its website. Everything else on the address is the Alliance's site navigation, language picker and footer. The words 'Matter', 'certified' and 'certificate' appear only inside that navigation, never about ecobee. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
  4. [4] www.ecobee.com/en-us/smart-security/, read in full 2026-09-21. The plan ladder is unchanged word for word: Core 'Free with security devices' with 'Motion & Person Detection' and the line 'Does not support paid features or Professional Monitoring add-ons'; Plus '$5/month or $50/year' adding 'Package Detection for 1 camera', '30-day event history for 1 camera', 'Listens for smoke alarms and alerts you to sirens', 'Enhanced energy savings' and 'Works with Professional Monitoring add-ons'; Advanced '$10/month or $100/year' with the same list at 'unlimited cameras'. Professional Monitoring is sold separately on top — 'Smoke Alarm Detection + $5/month or $50/ year' and 'Total Protection + $10/month or $100/year'. The page's own framing is still that this ladder is about security hardware: 'ecobee Smart Security is a home security system that connects your thermostat, cameras, and sensors in one app.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Subscription
  5. [5] ecobee.com/en-us/smart-thermostats/ (read 2026-08-07): Smart Thermostat Premium $259.99, Smart Thermostat Enhanced $199.99, Smart Thermostat Essential $139.99 — and ecobee.com/en-us/smart-thermostats/smart-thermostat-premium/ (read the same day): $259.99, 'In stock with free shipping (3-7 business days)' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  6. [6] This record's own 2026-07-15 audit provenance entry, which cites ecobee.com Smart Thermostat Premium as 'EB-STATE6-01, $259.99'; the 2026-08-07 product page corroborates the name and price but publishes no model number — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-07-15
    Backs: Product identity
  7. [7] ecobee.com/en-us/smart-thermostats/smart-thermostat-premium/ (read 2026-08-07): box contents 'Smart Thermostat Premium unit, Thermostat mounting plate, SmartSensor with detachable stand and adhesive wall-mount, Quick-start guide, Wire labels, Screws and drywall anchors, Power Extender Kit (PEK), Trim plate'; '24VAC wired power required'; 'Power Extender Kit enables you to reliably power your thermostat without having to run a fifth wire' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Works without the internet, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge
  8. [8] ecobee.com/en-us/smart-security/ (read 2026-08-07): Core 'Free with security devices'; Plus '$5/month or $50/year'; Advanced '$10/month or $100/year', the paid tiers adding camera package detection, 30-day camera event history, smoke alarm/siren listening, enhanced energy savings and professional-monitoring compatibility. Plus ecobee.com/en-us/smart-thermostats/smart-thermostat-premium/: 'eco+ comes automatically enabled to unlock additional energy savings', covering Schedule Assistant, Smart Home & Away, Adjust Temperature for Humidity, Time of Use, Community Energy Savings and Pause when Open — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Subscription
  9. [9] ecobee.com/en-us/smart-thermostats/smart-thermostat-premium/ (read 2026-08-07): 'Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings, IFTTT, and more.'; 'Smart Thermostat Premium has Alexa Built-in and can also be enabled with Siri. To enable Siri, simply pair with an Apple HomePod or HomePod mini'; 'Accessing Siri on this accessory requires iOS 15 or iPadOS 15 or later and a HomePod or HomePod mini with software version 15 or later.'; 'You can use your Smart Thermostat to send intercom messages to a HomePod mini or Alexa device in another room' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility
  10. [10] ecobee's lineup and product pages (read 2026-08-07) and Home Assistant's ecobee integration page (read 2026-08-07): Home Assistant reaches the thermostat through ecobee's cloud; since version 2026.3 it signs in with an ecobee.com username and password, with the developer key optional; it covers binary sensor, climate, humidifier, notifications, number, sensor, switch and weather — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Service status, Research status
  11. [11] ecobee.com Smart Thermostat Premium (EB-STATE6-01, $259.99) + CSA-IOT registry csa-iot.org/member/ecobee-inc/ (ZERO ecobee Matter certs — the 'Smart Thermostat X' belongs to tado GmbH) — Apple/Alexa/Google/SmartThings native; NO Matter; NO Thread on any ecobee primary source — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-15
    Backs: Product identity, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Research status, Protocols
  12. [12] Home Assistant's official ecobee documentation (home-assistant.io/integrations/ecobee: it polls ecobee's cloud; broad coverage — climate, sensors, humidifier, switches, vacations, ventilator; 'Since version 2026.3, it is no longer required to get a developer API key to use this integration' — setup now uses ecobee.com credentials, so the old developer-key hurdle for new users is gone) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  13. [13] ecobee.com, Smart Thermostat Premium product page, re-read 2026-08-18 — Wi-Fi, app control and cloud energy reports are described; offline behaviour, local schedule execution and internet requirements are not addressed. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  14. [14] This record's own answer on whether a hub is required, and the source entry already behind that answer (unnamed entry), re-read 2026-08-19., verified 2026-08-19
  15. [15] ecobee.com/en-us/smart-thermostats/smart-thermostat-premium/, read 2026-08-20: "Change the temperature with ease. Control the temperature with a flick of the wrist" (app / Apple Watch); built-in sensors listed as "Temperature" and "Humidity" (humidity display range 20% to 90%, ±5%); and "Uses Smart Thermostat's built-in occupancy sensor to automatically adjust the temperature for energy savings when you leave home and restore your comfort settings when you return." Works with "Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings, IFTTT, and more". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  16. [16] https://www.ecobee.com/en-us/smart-thermostats/smart-thermostat-premium/ (read 2026-09-09) — 'Connectivity & security: Dual-band Wi-Fi: 802.11 b/g/n @ 2.4GHz, 802.11 a/n/ac @ 5GHz, Bluetooth 5.0, WPA, WPA2, WPA3 encryption methods'. An enumeration of the radio's bands with the 802.11 modes for each, not a network requirement. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
  17. [17] ecobee's own site, read 2026-09-09: the product page and https://www.ecobee.com/en-us/smart-security/ both link https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ecobee/id916985674 and https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ecobee.athenamobile, and the copy reads 'Download the ecobee app on the App Store or Google Play'. The product page separately cites a rating '4.7 out of 5 by 232,000 users on the Apple App Store and Google Play'. No third mobile platform is named. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: App platforms
  18. [18] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-12 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-12
  19. [19] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner catalogue, ecobee page (breadcrumb 'Works with SmartThings › Supported Devices › ecobee'), read browser-rendered 2026-09-16 — the page answered and 2,363 characters of it were visible on screen and a further 6,816 were present in the page but not shown. Under the heading 'ecobee Products', region selector 'United States', the grid prints one row per supported device, verbatim: 'Smart Light Switch | EB-SMSWV-01 | Switch/dimmer' · 'Smart Light Switch+ | EB-SMSWV-02 | Switch/dimmer' · 'Smart Thermostat with Voice Control | EB-STATE5 | Thermostat' · 'Ecobee 4 Thermostat | ECB501 | Thermostat' · 'Ecobee 3 Lite Thermostat | EB-STATE3LT01 | Thermostat' · 'Ecobee 3 Thermostat | EB-STATZE3-02 | Thermostat' · 'Smart Thermostat | EB-STAT-02 | Thermostat' · 'Ecobee Smart Si Thermostat | EB-SMARTSI-01 | Thermostat' · 'Smart Room Sensor | EBERS41 | Motion Sensors' · 'Smart Thermostat Enhanced | EB-STATE6L-01 | Thermostat' · 'Smart Thermostat Premium | EB-STATE6-01 | Thermostat'. The same address read without a browser serves the grid as an empty shell reading 'No products available in your region'. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  20. [20] Platform-side check made 2026-09-16 while grading this product's ecosystem answers: neither Amazon nor Google publishes a device list a shopper could look this model up in. Google's works-with address no longer exists, and its live compatible-devices page tells shoppers to look for the badge rather than naming models. Amazon's customer catalogue is closed to us by that site's own policy, and its developer site carries no works-with listing on any of the three addresses tried., verified 2026-09-16
  21. [21] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-17 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-17
  22. [22] www.ecobee.com/en-us/smart-thermostats/smart-thermostat-premium/, read in full 2026-09-21. Price "$259.99" beside "Free shipping" and "Add to cart", with no struck-through price and no sold-out or backorder state anywhere on the page; model EB-STATE6-01 appears in the page source. Detailed specs, verbatim: "Dual-band Wi-Fi: 802.11 b/g/n @ 2.4GHz, 802.11 a/n/ac @ 5GHz", "Bluetooth 5.0", "915MHz radio"; Thermostat sensors "Temperature / Humidity / Occupancy (Radar) / Proximity (Radar)"; "Powering methods: Wired 24VAC through terminals C and Rc. Power Extender Kit enables you to reliably power your thermostat without having to run a fifth wire."; What's in the box "Smart Thermostat Premium / Thermostat mounting plate / SmartSensor with detachable stand and adhesive wall-mount / Quick-start guide / Wire labels / Screws and drywall anchors / Power Extender Kit (PEK) / Trim plate"; "Wired in — No batteries needed"; Works with "Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings, IFTTT, and more"; "3-year limited warranty". Alexa and Siri: "Smart Thermostat Premium has Alexa Built-in and can also be enabled with Siri. To enable Siri, simply pair with an Apple HomePod or HomePod mini", footnoted "Accessing Siri on this accessory requires iOS 15 or iPadOS 15 or later and a HomePod or HomePod mini with software version 15 or later." Apps: "With the ecobee app for Smartphone, Tablet, or Apple Watch" and "rated 4.7 out of 5 by 232,000 users on the Apple App Store and Google Play". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Product identity, Batteries, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Wi-Fi bands it can use, App platforms, Capabilities, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Research status
  23. [23] www.home-assistant.io/integrations/ecobee, read in full 2026-09-21. "The ecobee hub was introduced in Home Assistant 0.9, and it's used by 1.6% of the active installations. Its IoT class is Cloud Polling." "This integration is community maintained." Prerequisites are still "Username and password for ecobee.com", and the note still reads "Since version 2026.3, it is no longer required to get a developer API key to use this integration. Existing API keys will continue to function." Supported categories enumerated as Binary sensor, Climate, Humidifier, Notifications, Number, Sensor, Switch, Weather. No integration-alert banner appears on the page. NEW SINCE THE 2026-08-07 READ: a Multi-factor authentication section — "if your ecobee account has multi-factor authentication (MFA) enabled with a time-based one-time password (TOTP) from an authenticator app, Home Assistant will prompt you for the 6-digit code after you submit your credentials", and "Other MFA methods (push, SMS, email) are not currently supported." — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Service status, Home Assistant compatibility
  24. [24] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-25 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-25
  25. [25] Apple's Home app accessory directory, read 2026-10-02. Apple lists this product by name: "ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium"., verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  26. [26] ecobee's own page for the Smart Thermostat Premium, read in full on 2026-10-03 (39,039 characters). It reads "Price discounted to $209.99 from a regular price of $259.99" beside "Free shipping" and "Add to bag". Specification rows: "Thermostat sensors Temperature Humidity Occupancy (Radar) Proximity (Radar)", "Dual-band Wi-Fi: 802.11 b/g/n @ 2.4GHz, 802.11 a/n/ac @ 5GHz Bluetooth 5.0", "915MHz radio", "Works with Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings, IFTTT, and more.", "Wired 24VAC through terminals C and Rc. Power Extender Kit enables you to reliably power your thermostat without having to run a fifth wire.", "Warranty 3-year limited warranty", and in the box "Smart Thermostat Premium Thermostat mounting plate SmartSensor with detachable stand and adhesive wall-mount Quick-start guide Wire labels Screws and drywall anchors Power Extender Kit (PEK) Trim plate". "No batteries needed". Voice: "Smart Thermostat Premium has Alexa Built-in and can also be enabled with Siri. To enable Siri, simply pair with an Apple HomePod or HomePod mini", footnoted "Accessing Siri on this accessory requires iOS 15 or iPadOS 15 or later and a HomePod or HomePod mini with software version 15 or later." Presence: "Uses Smart Thermostat’s built-in occupancy sensor to automatically adjust the temperature for energy savings when you leave home and restore your comfort settings when you return." Free software: "eco+ comes automatically enabled to unlock additional energy savings". The app: "The ecobee app is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 232,000 users on the Apple App Store and Google Play." The platform row names "Amazon Alexa Google Assistant Apple Home⁴ Samsung SmartThings". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Batteries, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Wi-Fi bands it can use, App platforms, Capabilities, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Research status
  27. [27] ecobee's smart thermostats lineup page, read in full on 2026-10-03 (15,216 characters). It lists "Smart Thermostat Premium Price discounted to $209.99 from a regular price of $259.99" beside the Enhanced and the Essential, and footnotes "Compatible Apple home hub required to enable Siri on Smart Thermostat Premium. Apple HomePod and HomePod mini are compatible home hubs." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  28. [28] ecobee's Smart Security page, read in full on 2026-10-03 (15,888 characters): "ecobee Smart Security is a home security system that connects your thermostat, cameras, and sensors in one app." Core is "Free with security devices" and "Does not support paid features or Professional Monitoring add-ons"; Plus is "$5/month or $50/year"; Advanced is "$10/month or $100/year"; Professional Monitoring adds "Smoke Alarm Detection + $5/month or $50/ year" and "Total Protection + $10/month or $100/year." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Subscription
  29. [29] Home Assistant's ecobee integration page, read in full on 2026-10-03 (12,103 characters): "The ecobee hub was introduced in Home Assistant 0.9, and it's used by 1.6% of the active installations. Its IoT class is Cloud Polling." · "This integration is community maintained." · categories "Binary sensor Climate Humidifier Notifications Number Sensor Switch Weather" · "Username and password for ecobee.com" · "Since version 2026.3, it is no longer required to get a developer API key to use this integration. Existing API keys will continue to function." · "Other MFA methods (push, SMS, email) are not currently supported." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Service status, Home Assistant compatibility
  30. [30] Samsung's SmartThings partner page for ecobee, read in a browser on 2026-10-03 (2,321 characters shown). The 'ecobee Products' grid for the United States lists "Smart Thermostat Premium Model Number EB-STATE6-01 Category Thermostat". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  31. [31] Apple's Home app accessory directory, read in a browser on 2026-10-03 (29,037 characters). Under Thermostats it lists "ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  32. [32] The Matter ledger kept by the Connectivity Standards Alliance, read on 2026-10-03. A walk of all 861 vendor records finds exactly one ecobee entry, vendor number 4224, legal name ecobee Technologies ULC. Asked for the products registered under that number, the ledger answers that it holds none. In the same sitting the ledger listed another maker's door sensor as certified, so it was answering. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Protocols
  33. [33] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's member page for ecobee, read in full on 2026-10-03 (3,002 characters): "ecobee manufactures smart home products including smart thermostat and smart lighting products." and a link to ecobee's site, with no list of certified products. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
  34. [34] ecobee's page for the Smart Thermostat Premium, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Smart Thermostat Premium also works with the platforms you already use, including Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings. Ask your voice assistant to adjust the temperature without lifting a finger and create automations to save energy when you leave and restore comfort when you return." · "Amazon Alexa Google Assistant Apple Home⁴ Samsung SmartThings". No sentence says how it connects to Google or whether Google can change the heating or cooling mode. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  35. [35] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's member page for ecobee, read in full on 2026-10-07. In our words: it describes ecobee as a maker of smart thermostats and smart lighting and lists no certified product. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-07
  36. [36] ecobee's own page for the Smart Thermostat Premium, read in full on 2026-10-09 (38,713 characters). The buy box reads "$259.99 Free shipping Add to bag" with no discount wording. Voice: "Smart Thermostat Premium has Alexa Built-in and can also be enabled with Siri. To enable Siri, simply pair with an Apple HomePod or HomePod mini", footnoted "Accessing Siri on this accessory requires iOS 15 or iPadOS 15 or later and a HomePod or HomePod mini with software version 15 or later." eco+: "eco+ comes automatically enabled to unlock additional energy savings", and under Pause when Open: "SmartSensor for doors and windows and an ecobee Smart Security subscription required to access this feature". Platforms: "Smart Thermostat Premium also works with the platforms you already use, including Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings. Ask your voice assistant to adjust the temperature without lifting a finger". Specification rows: "Thermostat sensors Temperature Humidity Occupancy (Radar) Proximity (Radar)", "Dual-band Wi-Fi: 802.11 b/g/n @ 2.4GHz, 802.11 a/n/ac @ 5GHz Bluetooth 5.0", "Wired 24VAC through terminals C and Rc. Power Extender Kit enables you to reliably power your thermostat without having to run a fifth wire.", "Warranty 3-year limited warranty", "No batteries needed". The app: "The ecobee app is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 232,000 users on the Apple App Store and Google Play." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Batteries, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Wi-Fi bands it can use, App platforms, Capabilities, Subscription, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  37. [37] ecobee's smart thermostats lineup page, read in full on 2026-10-09 (15,180 characters). It lists "Smart Thermostat Premium $259.99 Add to bag" beside "Smart Thermostat Enhanced $199.99" and "Smart Thermostat Essential $139.99", and footnotes "Compatible Apple home hub required to enable Siri on Smart Thermostat Premium. Apple HomePod and HomePod mini are compatible home hubs. All Siri capabilities are available on the thermostat except voice calling." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Required hub or bridge
  38. [38] Apple's support article on setting up a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV as a home hub, read in full on 2026-10-09: "Set up a home hub to control your smart home accessories while you're away from home, share control of your accessories with others, and automate your accessories to do what you want, when you want." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  39. [39] ecobee's Smart Security page, read in full on 2026-10-09 (15,951 characters): Core "Free with security devices" and "Does not support paid features or Professional Monitoring add-ons"; Plus "$5/month or $50/year"; Advanced "$10/month or $100/year"; add-ons "Smoke Alarm Detection + $5/month or $50/ year" and "Total Protection + $10/month or $100/year." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Subscription
  40. [40] Home Assistant's ecobee integration page (2026.10.0 documentation), read in full on 2026-10-09 (12,181 characters): "The ecobee hub was introduced in Home Assistant 0.9, and it's used by 1.6% of the active installations. Its IoT class is Cloud Polling." · "This integration is community maintained." · "Since version 2026.3, it is no longer required to get a developer API key to use this integration." · "The integration supports the following methods: Authenticator app: Enter the current six-digit time-based one-time password (TOTP) from your authenticator app. SMS: Enter the code ecobee sends to the phone number registered for MFA on your account." · "Push notifications and email codes are not supported." · categories "Binary sensor Climate Humidifier Notifications Number Sensor Switch Weather". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Service status
  41. [41] Samsung's SmartThings partner page for ecobee, read in a browser on 2026-10-09 (2,321 characters shown). The grid lists "Smart Thermostat Premium Model Number EB-STATE6-01 Category Thermostat". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  42. [42] Apple's Home app accessory directory, read in a browser on 2026-10-09 (29,037 characters). Under Thermostats it lists "ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  43. [43] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's member page for ecobee, read in full on 2026-10-09 (3,002 characters). It describes ecobee as a maker of smart thermostats and smart lighting and lists no certified product. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
  44. [44] The Matter ledger kept by the Connectivity Standards Alliance, read on 2026-10-09 with tools/dcl-lookup.mjs. Two name searches ('ecobee' and 'ecobee Technologies') over all 867 vendor records each find one vendor, number 4224 (legal name ecobee Technologies ULC). Asked for its products, the ledger answers that it holds none; in the same session it returned another maker's door sensor as certified, so it was answering. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-09
  45. [45] ecobee's support article "Get to know your Smart Thermostat", read rendered in full on 2026-10-11 (3,203 characters). Verbatim, under The home screen: "Current Mode Change between heating, cooling, auto, and other custom modes." Footnote: "* Available on Smart Thermostat Premium only." Under Thermostat features: "(One sensor included with Smart Thermostat Premium, otherwise sold separately.)" — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Capabilities
  46. [46] ecobee's support article "Setting up and using Alexa with your ecobee thermostat", read rendered in full on 2026-10-11 (2,567 characters). Verbatim: "Smart Thermostat Premium, SmartThermostat with voice control, and ecobee4 all have Alexa Built-in. Once you connect them to Alexa, you will be able to talk to Alexa directly through your thermostat." · "If you use Auto mode, you can still ask Alexa to change the temperature by saying, “Alexa, set [Thermostat Name] to [number] degrees”." The article says nothing about switching between heat, cool, auto and off. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  47. [47] ecobee's support article "What Alexa voice commands can I use with my ecobee devices?", read rendered in full on 2026-10-11 (4,673 characters). Verbatim: "With Amazon Alexa Voice Service, you can control your ecobee devices with your voice using any Alexa-enabled device, including ecobee devices with Alexa Built-in, Amazon Echo, and Amazon Echo Dot, among others." · under the ecobee plus skill, "Changing System Mode" "Alexa, ask ecobee to switch to Heat/Cool/Auto/OFF mode". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-11
  48. [48] ecobee's own page for the Smart Thermostat Premium, read in full on 2026-10-11 (38,713 characters). Verbatim: "Smart Thermostat Premium also works with the platforms you already use, including Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings. Ask your voice assistant to adjust the temperature without lifting a finger". The page never says the thermostat switches between heat, cool, auto and off by voice or from another platform. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  49. [49] Apple's Home app accessory directory, read rendered on 2026-10-11 (29,037 characters). Under the Thermostats heading Apple lists "ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  50. [50] Samsung's SmartThings partner page for ecobee, read rendered on 2026-10-11 (2,321 characters). The grid lists "Smart Thermostat Premium Model Number EB-STATE6-01 Category Thermostat". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  51. [51] Home Assistant's ecobee integration page, read in full on 2026-10-11 (12,181 characters). Verbatim: "lets you control and view sensor data from ecobee thermostats." · "When the thermostat is not in auto mode, there is a single target temperature." · "The HVAC mode of the device is the currently active operational modes that the ecobee thermostat provides: heat, cool, auto, and off." · "Categories Binary sensor Climate Humidifier Notifications Number Sensor Switch Weather". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  52. [52] ecobee's support article 'ecobee Google Assistant Setup', read in full on 2026-10-12 (readHash e61563f061ad…). Verbatim: "You can control your ecobee devices with The Google Assistant by connecting through the Google Home app (if you own a Google Home speaker) or the Google Assistant app (if you don't own a Google Home Speaker)." · "Open the Google Home app. Tap Add. Select Set Up Device. Choose Works With Google. On the Manage accounts screen, search for "ecobee." Tap ecobee. Log in with your ecobee credentials to link your accounts." · "After linking, Google Assistant can control supported ecobee devices:" followed by a model list that names "Smart Thermostat Premium"., verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  53. [53] ecobee's US product page for the Smart Thermostat Premium, read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "Smart Thermostat Premium has Alexa Built-in and can also be enabled with Siri. To enable Siri, simply pair with an Apple HomePod or HomePod mini" · "Smart Thermostat Premium also works with the platforms you already use, including Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings." · "eco+ comes automatically enabled to unlock additional energy savings" · "SmartSensor for doors and windows and an ecobee Smart Security subscription required to access this feature" · "Thermostat sensors Temperature Humidity Occupancy (Radar) Proximity (Radar)" · "Dual-band Wi-Fi: 802.11 b/g/n @ 2.4GHz, 802.11 a/n/ac @ 5GHz Bluetooth 5.0" · "Wired 24VAC through terminals C and Rc. Power Extender Kit enables you to reliably power your thermostat without having to run a fifth wire." · "No batteries needed" · "The ecobee app is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 232,000 users on the Apple App Store and Google Play." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-19
    Backs: Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Capabilities, Wi-Fi bands it can use, App platforms, Subscription

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker