Product Library / Garage & Access

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-12

Craftsman 1/2 HP Smart Chain Drive Garage Door Opener (CMXC1220)

Compiled by SmartHomeWorkflow Research · Craftsman · Garage & Access

⚠ Similar names, different products: Craftsman sells two generations of smart opener under model numbers that look nothing alike. The older line runs CMXEOCG572, CMXEOCG772, CMXEOCG981 and CMXEOCG982, and Craftsman titles those openers as working with myQ. This one is a CMXC number and its page names a Craftsman-branded app instead. Whether the two lines share the same connected platform is not stated anywhere Craftsman publishes, so do not assume an accessory, an app account or an integration carries across the two.

Exactly which product this is[1]

Model number
CMXC1220
Generation
Not established
Region this page covers
US
Also sold or listed as
Craftsman CMXC1220 · CRAFTSMAN 1/2 HP Smart Chain Drive Garage Door Opener

“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.

Compatibility

EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2]Not established. Craftsman's page for this opener names no voice assistant and no smart-home platform — not Alexa, not anyone. The app it does name shares its name with myQ, the connected platform run by Chamberlain Group, and myQ's own integrations page names Amazon Key in-garage delivery among its supported partners while offering no general Alexa voice control. Alexa is on neither of myQ's lists, the supported one or the not-supported one. But that page never mentions Craftsman, and Craftsman never mentions Chamberlain, so nothing here establishes that the two are the same system. Ask Craftsman before you buy on the strength of a voice assistant.
Google HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2]Not established, and the reason to be careful is specific. Craftsman names no platform for this opener. The platform whose name its app shares publishes Google Home on a list of integrations that are not supported or have been discontinued. If the two are the same system, a Google household gets nothing; if they are not, nobody has said what a Google household gets. Neither maker connects the two in writing, so this stays unanswered rather than recorded as a no.
Apple HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2]Not established. Craftsman names no Apple support for this opener, and no Matter or Thread capability either. The platform whose name its app shares states in its own words that 'You cannot control your myQ devices directly from the Apple Home app or with Siri voice control', and lists Apple HomeKit, Matter and Thread among things that 'are not supported or have been discontinued'. That is a strong warning for an Apple household and it is not a fact about this product, because nothing Craftsman publishes says the two systems are the same. Treat Apple Home as unanswered and confirm before buying.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2]Not established. Craftsman names no Samsung SmartThings support for this opener. The platform whose name its app shares lists Samsung SmartThings under a heading for platforms that 'are not supported or have been discontinued', beside Google Home, Hubitat, Wink and Apple HomeKit — again a warning rather than a finding, since neither maker links the two in writing.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2]Not established, and Home Assistant does not answer it either. Home Assistant carries no integration under the Craftsman name, and the one it used to carry for the myQ platform was removed in December 2023 after that platform's owner said it would keep blocking third-party apps. What replaced it for those openers is a community-built local controller that bypasses the maker's service entirely. Whether any of that applies to this opener is unknown, because Craftsman never names the service its app talks to.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Protocols: WIFI[1]

Needs before it works: No hub and no bridge — Craftsman states the wireless radio is built into the opener and that the door is controlled from anywhere through the Craftsman app. What Craftsman does not state is which wireless band the opener needs, whether an account is required, or whether the connection runs through a service or across your own network. Those are the questions to put to Craftsman before you buy if the answer matters to you.[1]

What it can do[1]

You can tell it to

  • Open/close

It reports

None documented by the vendor

Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.

Subscription reality[2]

? Works without a subscription: Not established — no source we accept has addressed fees for this product in either direction.

Vendor account required: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own setup material and it does not say either way. Treat it as unanswered rather than as a no.[2]

Not established, and this is a gap rather than a clean bill. Craftsman's page for this opener mentions no plan, tier or fee — and it also never says the app is free, never names the service behind it, and never sets out what the app does without an account. On this shelf that silence matters more than usual, because a competing maker charges a monthly fee for video history on its openers and another routes one popular integration through a paid third-party subscription. Absence of a price on a page that does not discuss the subject at all is not the same as a maker saying there is nothing to pay.

Maintenance reality

Security updates[2]

Craftsman publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.

No support period is published. Craftsman's own page for this opener carries no security-update commitment, no end-of-support date and no link to a security policy, and no Craftsman product-security page could be found. The same silence covers the connected service behind the app, which is not named. Recheck condition: a Craftsman product-security or end-of-life page, or a manual for this model that names the service and its update policy.

The catch

Craftsman tells you this opener has wireless built in and an app, and then stops. Its product page names no voice assistant, no smart-home platform, no subscription, no wireless band, no rail length and no door size limit — so the one question this site exists to answer has no published answer for this model. The app Craftsman names shares its name with myQ, the connected platform run by Chamberlain Group, and that platform's own page says plainly that Apple Home, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings, Matter and Thread are not supported or have been discontinued. If the two are the same system, this is an opener for a household that wants an app and nothing more. But Chamberlain's page never mentions Craftsman and Craftsman never mentions Chamberlain, so that connection is a caution rather than a finding. One more unstated item worth asking about: Craftsman publishes no battery backup for this model, and an opener without one does not move when the power is out.

Who it's for

A reasonable pick for a household replacing a dead opener that wants app control and alerts and does not care whether the door appears in Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home or SmartThings. The kit is complete on day one — two remotes, a wall button and the safety sensors — and the chain drive with a direct-current motor is the quieter end of chain openers. Look elsewhere if you want the door in a smart-home platform, because Craftsman publishes no answer for any of the five and the platform its app is named after publishes a long list of ones it dropped. Also look elsewhere if you need the door to work in a power cut, or if you need to know the ongoing cost before you buy — neither is stated.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

4 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] craftsman.com, "1/2 HP Smart Chain Drive Garage Door Opener" (Model: CMXC1220) US product page, read 2026-09-12 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12
    Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Protocols, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Required hub or bridge, Batteries, Capabilities, Market availability, Research status
  2. [2] Three surfaces read 2026-09-12 and compared. (a) craftsman.com's CMXC1220 page — no platform, assistant, subscription or service named. (b) Craftsman's older smart openers CMXEOCG572 / CMXEOCG772 / CMXEOCG981 / CMXEOCG982, whose craftsman.com page titles carry "Works with MyQ" / "with MYQ®" in the product name, establishing that Craftsman does name the platform when it applies. (c) support.chamberlaingroup.com's "myQ Integrations: Supported Partners and Platforms" and myq.com's works-with page, neither of which mentions CRAFTSMAN; Chamberlain's own footer reads "Chamberlain Group, the parent company to myQ, LiftMaster and Chamberlain". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Subscription, Vendor account required, Works without the internet, Service status, Security-update support period
  3. [3] docs/candidates/2026-08-31-garage-door-openers.md (candidate brief, deleted on promotion; the outcome is recorded in company-os/discovery-runs.json), verified 2026-09-12
  4. [4] craftsman.com's CMXC1220 product page and support.chamberlaingroup.com's 'myQ Integrations: Supported Partners and Platforms' article, both re-read 2026-09-12 after checking how each site treats us (both open). The Chamberlain article gives a direct read only an empty frame, so it was read in a browser and summarised. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check it against YOUR setup →