Product Library / Indoor Air & Comfort

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-01

Big Ass Fans i6 Ceiling Fan

⚠ Similar names, different products: ⚠ Big Ass Fans sells several similarly-named residential fans and this catalogue now holds three. This is the i6 — 60 to 96 in., $2,100.00 to $3,560.00, the industrial-silhouette model. It is NOT the Haiku ("big-ass-fans-haiku-ceiling-fan") and NOT the lower-profile, much cheaper Haiku L ("big-ass-fans-haiku-l", $849.00 to $999.00). ⊕ There is also an i6 OUTDOOR sold on its own page, which this record does not cover: this is the indoor i6.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][8][10][11][21][24]
[1][8][21][30][31][33][34][36]
[1][8][21][30][31][33][34]
[1][8][21]
[2][12][25][32]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH · MATTER[2][8][9][10][21][23]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [13] [26]

Documented device function

Fan mode

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [13] [26]

Documented device function

Fan direction

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [13] [26]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[3][13][26]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
3 documented
Reported events
Not established from vendor documentation

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks, except fan mode and fan direction[1][8][10][11][21][24]Google HomeWorks, except fan direction[1][8][21][30][31][33][34][36]AlexaWorks, except fan direction[1][8][21][30][31][33][34]SmartThingsInconclusive[1][8][21]Home AssistantWorks; fan direction unconfirmed[2][12][25][32]
On/offDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

? not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Fan modeDevice control
Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Fan mode is not on it.

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

? not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Fan directionDevice control
Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Fan direction is not on it.

Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Google Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Fan direction is not on it.

Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Fan direction is not on it.

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

? not stated

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

On and off works in Apple Home over Matter: Big Ass Fans' specification sheet for the i6 lists Apple HomeKit with Matter, and the i6 is on the official Matter certification list as a fan. Fan mode and fan direction are missing: Apple's list of the Matter accessory types its Home app supports leaves fans out, so Apple does not say the Home app sets this fan's speed or direction. Ask Big Ass Fans what you can control from the Home app before buying for that reason. The page that sells the fan does not mention Apple Home at all.[1][8][10][11][21][24]

Fan mode automation: Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Fan mode is not on it.

Fan direction automation: Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Fan direction is not on it.

Google Home

Works in Google Home over Matter, except Fan direction: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Google Home controls On/off and Fan mode on Matter fans. Google's list of what Google Home supports over Matter leaves out fan direction, so Fan direction is missing in Google Home. Big Ass Fans also lists the Google Assistant for voice control without saying how it connects.[1][8][21][30][31][33][34][36]

Fan direction automation: Google Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Fan direction is not on it.

Alexa

Works in Alexa over Matter, except Fan direction: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Alexa controls On/off and Fan mode on Matter fans. Amazon's list of what Alexa supports over Matter leaves out fan direction, so Fan direction is missing in Alexa. Big Ass Fans also lists Amazon Alexa for voice control without saying how it connects.[1][8][21][30][31][33][34]

Fan direction automation: Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Fan direction is not on it.

SmartThings

Not established. Big Ass Fans' specification sheet for the i6 lists Alexa, the Google Assistant and Apple HomeKit with Matter, and adds only that the fan works with home automation systems. SmartThings is not named on it or on the page that sells the fan, and no Samsung page naming this fan was read. A fan that speaks Matter can in principle be added to any Matter app, but nobody has published that SmartThings shows this one.[1][8][21]

Home Assistant

Home Assistant's official Big Ass Fans integration names i6 fans and runs on your own network, with no company servers in between. Home Assistant lists it as a fan integration, which covers on/off and fan mode. It does not mention fan direction, and Big Ass Fans does not mention Home Assistant, so fan direction is unconfirmed.[2][12][25][32]

Device documentation: [3] [13] [26]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks, except fan directionWorks, except fan direction — see the catch[1][8][21][30][31][33][34]Works in Alexa over Matter, except Fan direction: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Alexa controls On/off and Fan mode on Matter fans. Amazon's list of what Alexa supports over Matter leaves out fan direction, so Fan direction is missing in Alexa. Big Ass Fans also lists Amazon Alexa for voice control without saying how it connects.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Google HomeWorks, except fan directionWorks, except fan direction — see the catch[1][8][21][30][31][33][34][36]Works in Google Home over Matter, except Fan direction: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Google Home controls On/off and Fan mode on Matter fans. Google's list of what Google Home supports over Matter leaves out fan direction, so Fan direction is missing in Google Home. Big Ass Fans also lists the Google Assistant for voice control without saying how it connects.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Apple HomeWorks, except fan mode and fan directionWorks, except fan mode and fan direction — see the catch[1][8][10][11][21][24]On and off works in Apple Home over Matter: Big Ass Fans' specification sheet for the i6 lists Apple HomeKit with Matter, and the i6 is on the official Matter certification list as a fan. Fan mode and fan direction are missing: Apple's list of the Matter accessory types its Home app supports leaves fans out, so Apple does not say the Home app sets this fan's speed or direction. Ask Big Ass Fans what you can control from the Home app before buying for that reason. The page that sells the fan does not mention Apple Home at all.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][8][21]Not established. Big Ass Fans' specification sheet for the i6 lists Alexa, the Google Assistant and Apple HomeKit with Matter, and adds only that the fan works with home automation systems. SmartThings is not named on it or on the page that sells the fan, and no Samsung page naming this fan was read. A fan that speaks Matter can in principle be added to any Matter app, but nobody has published that SmartThings shows this one.
Home AssistantWorks; fan direction unconfirmedWorks; fan direction unconfirmed — see the catch[2][12][25][32]Home Assistant's official Big Ass Fans integration names i6 fans and runs on your own network, with no company servers in between. Home Assistant lists it as a fan integration, which covers on/off and fan mode. It does not mention fan direction, and Big Ass Fans does not mention Home Assistant, so fan direction is unconfirmed.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[1][7][22]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription, plan or fee is named anywhere on Big Ass Fans' product page for this model. Recorded as "none" on the strength of the vendor carrying no plan.

Maintenance and offline use

The catch

The page that sells this $2,100-to-$3,560 fan does not name a single smart-home system, a radio or an app. The details are on Big Ass Fans' specification sheet instead: voice control with Amazon Alexa or the Google Assistant, Apple HomeKit with Matter, a Bluetooth wall control, a handheld remote and the Big Ass Fans app. The sheet stops there. It does not say how the fan links to Alexa or Google. Both can control it over Matter, because the fan is Matter certified and both list Matter fans, but neither lists fan direction, so Alexa and Google Home read partial here: on/off and fan mode work, reversing the fan does not. Apple Home is partial for a different reason: the fan is Matter certified, but Apple's own list of the Matter accessory types its Home app supports does not include fans. The most fully documented route is Home Assistant, whose Big Ass Fans page names i6 fans and controls them over your own network. The light is an optional kit, so a fan ordered without it has no light to control.

Who it's for

A large room with a high ceiling, and a household that runs Home Assistant, where this fan is supported by name over the local network, or one that is happy with the remote, the wall control and the Big Ass Fans app. Sizes run 60 to 96 in. and the fan is wired to the house supply at a ceiling box rated for its weight, which is work many buyers will hand to an installer. Alexa and Google Home can run it over Matter, except for fan direction. It is a weaker fit for anyone buying it for Apple Home in particular, because Apple's list of the Matter accessories its Home app supports leaves fans out.

Check availability at Big Ass Fans

This opens Big Ass Fans's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

37 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] bigassfans.com, i6 Ceiling Fan product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Installation, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  2. [2] home-assistant.io, Big Ass Fans (baf) integration documentation — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Protocols
  3. [3] Home Assistant's own Big Ass Fans (baf) integration documentation at home-assistant.io/integrations/baf/, re-read 2026-08-21. Supported devices, verbatim: 'Haiku Fans with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported) / Discontinued Haiku Lights with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported) / i6 Fans'. 'Its IoT class is Local Push.' Two first-party Home Assistant sources behind that page were read for the entity model the page itself summarises rather than enumerates: the page's own documentation source (raw.githubusercontent.com/home-assistant/home-assistant.io/current/source/_integrations/baf.markdown) declares 'ha_platforms: binary_sensor, climate, fan, light, number, sensor, switch'; and the integration's fan platform (raw.githubusercontent.com/home-assistant/core/dev/homeassistant/components/baf/fan.py) declares '_attr_supported_features = FanEntityFeature.SET_SPEED | FanEntityFeature.DIRECTION | FanEntityFeature.PRESET_MODE | FanEntityFeature.TURN_OFF | FanEntityFeature.TURN_ON', with 'async_set_direction' writing the fan's 'reverse_enable' property and the entity created whenever 'device.has_fan'. The light, temperature, humidity and occupancy entities in the same integration are each created CONDITIONALLY ('device.has_light', 'device.has_auto_comfort', 'device.has_occupancy'), which is why they are not claimed here. Read alongside Big Ass Fans' own i6 technical specification sheet (ISM-MKTG-161-ENG-01 REV. AA, 03/04/26, https://bigassfans.widen.net/content/owj7becvzy/pdf/cutsheet-i6.pdf), whose Construction Features table gives Controls as 'Handheld remote / Bluetooth wall control / Big Ass Fans mobile app / Voice control / 0-10 V' and Integrations as 'Voice control with Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa', 'Apple Homekit with Matter', 'Works with home automation systems', and whose 84 in. indoor row reads '17,405' CFM — the exact figure this record already carries, which is how the sheet was confirmed to be this model's rather than a sibling's. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Capabilities
  4. [4] https://bigassfans.com/i6-ceiling-fan/ (read 2026-09-09) carries no band, 802.11 or frequency statement and links no app store — the specification content is not in the page as the site first delivers it. The Wi-Fi band and the app's platforms stay unanswered, recorded as checked and not published; opening the page in a full browser is the route that could still answer them. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
  5. [5] https://bigassfans.com/i6-ceiling-fan/ read in a browser with its tabs expanded 2026-09-12: it opened and served 4,893 characters of human-visible text after opening 14 tabs, the network never going idle so the page was read as it stood. No band, no 802.11 designation, no frequency and no app-store link in the rendered text or the full DOM text. ⚖ The 2026-09-10 note said 'the page's specification content does not survive a plain fetch' and named a rendered read as the route that could still answer; it has now been taken and the answer is that the specification content is not published at all. Both fields stay unanswered, recorded as checked and not published, and this site has no untried route left for them. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-12
  6. [6] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13
  7. [7] Big Ass Fans' own US product page for the i6, read in full on 1 October 2026. It shows "I6® CEILING FAN" at "$2,100.00 - $3,560.00" with an Add to cart button, in diameters "60 in. 72 in. 84 in. 96 in.", with flush or downrod mounting and a choice of no light or a downlight. Key Features: "Adapts automatically to temperature and your presence. Comfort without the fuss." The diameter table includes a 6 in. downrod with the 60 and 72 in. fans and a 12 in. downrod with the 84 and 96 in. fans, and the downrod table runs from 6 in. for 8 to 9 ft ceilings to 60 in. for 16 ft and above, adding "Ceiling height ranges are estimates. Confirm with your installer before ordering." The Technical Documentation block links Tech Specs, an Install Guide, two install videos, a Warranty and clearance guidelines. The page names no plan or fee, no hub, no smart-home system, no radio and no app. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Subscription, Required hub or bridge, Market availability, Research status, Service status
  8. [8] Big Ass Fans' own technical specification sheet for the i6 (ISM-MKTG-161-ENG-01 REV. AA, dated 03/04/26), read in full on 1 October 2026. Its key features include voice integration with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant devices, built-in SenseMe technology and an available light kit. The control block lists a Bluetooth wall control and remote, a mobile app and voice integration, and the warranty block gives 5 years indoor and 3 years outdoor. The specification table gives input power as "100–277 VAC," at 50/60 Hz, weights of 34 to 40.3 lb, a sound level under 35 dBA at max speed, and 17,405 CFM for the 84 in. indoor fan. Construction features: controls are a handheld remote, "Bluetooth wall control", the "Big Ass Fans mobile app", voice control and 0–10 V; integrations are voice control with Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa, "Apple Homekit with Matter", and works with home automation systems; mounting is flat or sloped ceilings "8 ft (2.4 m) or taller" with "Maximum slope: 33°". Footnote 5: "Voice control requires an Amazon Alexa-enabled device or the Google Assistant." Footnote 6: "Mount to an outlet box marked acceptable for fan support of 70 lb (31.8 kg)." Footnote 8 says flush mount is available on 60 in. fans only and that 96 in. fans must use a 12 in. downrod minimum. The ordering table gives the diameter codes MK-I61-05 to MK-I61-08 and lists the LED light as an option. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Installation, Power source, Protocols, Service status, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  9. [9] The Matter certification ledger the Connectivity Standards Alliance publishes, read on 1 October 2026. It lists eight models under Big Ass Fans' vendor number 0x1452, and the one named i6 is product number 0x0001. The ledger's certification record for that product shows software version 3.3.0 as certified under family certificate FAM226154, dated 29 March 2024. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs
  10. [10] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certified-products page for this fan, read on 1 October 2026. It is titled after a different Big Ass Fans model, as all of this maker's certificate pages are, and its product details carry the family variant code MK-i6, vendor number 0x1452, a product-number list beginning 0x0001, certificate FAM226154 certified on 29 March 2024, Matter specification version 1.2, a primary device type of fan (0x002B), and Wi-Fi and Bluetooth as its transport interfaces. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility
  11. [11] Apple's support article on pairing and managing Matter accessories, read in full on 1 October 2026: "The Home app currently supports these types of Matter accessories: air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors (motion, ambient light, contact, temperature, and humidity)." Fans are not on the list. The article also says that with iOS 18 or later "you can add Matter accessories to and control Matter accessories from the Home app without a home hub", and recommends a home hub for the best experience. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  12. [12] Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans integration page, read in full on 1 October 2026. Its supported devices are "Haiku Fans with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)", "Discontinued Haiku Lights with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)" and "i6 Fans". The page lists Fan among the integration's categories and says "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  13. [13] The fan platform of Home Assistant's own Big Ass Fans integration, read in full on 1 October 2026. It creates a fan for any device that has one and declares "FanEntityFeature.SET_SPEED | FanEntityFeature.DIRECTION | FanEntityFeature.PRESET_MODE | FanEntityFeature.TURN_OFF | FanEntityFeature.TURN_ON", with one preset, auto, and a set-direction call that switches the fan between forward and reverse. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Capabilities
  14. [14] The source file behind Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans page, read in full on 1 October 2026. Its header lists the platforms binary_sensor, climate, fan, light, number, sensor and switch and the class Local Push, and its supported-devices list is the same three lines the published page shows., verified 2026-10-01
  15. [15] Big Ass Fans' support page for the i6, read on 1 October 2026. As first delivered it shows section headings (accessory and service kit installation, operation and maintenance, tech specs, videos, warranty) and two support articles about noise and wobble, with no document text and no statement about Wi-Fi bands, app stores, accounts or working without the internet., verified 2026-10-01
  16. [16] Big Ass Fans' certified-installation page, read in full on 1 October 2026. It offers a network of factory-certified installers and an electrical warranty upgrade for customers who use them. It is written for commercial sites, names no fan model and does not say that any fan must be installed by a professional., verified 2026-10-01
  17. [17] A Connectivity Standards Alliance certificate page for another Big Ass Fans model, read on 1 October 2026 while locating the i6's page. Its product details carry the family variant code MM1 and product number 0x0007, under the same family certificate FAM226154., verified 2026-10-01
  18. [18] A Connectivity Standards Alliance certificate page for another Big Ass Fans model, read on 1 October 2026 while locating the i6's page. Its product details carry the family variant code MK-SPK and product number 0x0005, under the same family certificate FAM226154., verified 2026-10-01
  19. [19] A Connectivity Standards Alliance certificate page for another Big Ass Fans model, read on 1 October 2026 while locating the i6's page. Its product details carry the family variant code MK-TRB1 and product number 0x0006, under the same family certificate FAM226154., verified 2026-10-01
  20. [20] A Connectivity Standards Alliance certificate page for another Big Ass Fans model, read on 1 October 2026 while locating the i6's page. Its product details carry the family variant code BN1 and product number 0x0002, under the same family certificate FAM226154., verified 2026-10-01
  21. [21] Big Ass Fans' own technical specification sheet for the i6 (ISM-MKTG-161-ENG-01 REV. AA, dated 03/04/26), read in full on 2 October 2026. Its key features list voice integration with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant devices. The construction-features table has an Integrations column that lists voice control with Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa, "Apple Homekit with Matter", and works with home automation systems, and a Controls column that lists a handheld remote, "Bluetooth wall control", the "Big Ass Fans mobile app", voice control and 0–10 V. Footnote 5: "Voice control requires an Amazon Alexa-enabled device or the Google Assistant." Footnote 6: "Mount to an outlet box marked acceptable for fan support of 70 lb (31.8 kg)." The specification table gives input power of 100 to 277 VAC at 50/60 Hz, and the warranty block gives 5 years indoor and 3 years outdoor. The sheet names no skill, no account link, no app-to-app route and no list of voice commands, and it does not name SmartThings. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Installation, Power source, Protocols, Service status
  22. [22] Big Ass Fans' own US product page for the i6, read in full on 2 October 2026. It shows "I6® CEILING FAN" at "$2,100.00 - $3,560.00" with an Add to cart button, in diameters of 60, 72, 84 and 96 in., with flush or downrod mounting and a choice of no light or a downlight. The Technical Documentation block links Tech Specs, an Install Guide, two install videos, a Warranty and clearance guidelines. The page names no plan or fee, no hub, no smart-home system, no radio and no app, and it prints no warranty term. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Subscription, Required hub or bridge, Market availability, Service status
  23. [23] The Matter certification ledger's model list for Big Ass Fans' vendor number 5202 (0x1452), read in full on 2 October 2026. It carries eight models, and the one named i6 is product number 1. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs
  24. [24] Apple's support article on pairing and managing Matter accessories, read in full on 2 October 2026: "The Home app currently supports these types of Matter accessories: air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors (motion, ambient light, contact, temperature, and humidity)." Fans are not on the list. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  25. [25] Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans integration page, read in full on 2 October 2026. Its supported devices are "Haiku Fans with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)", "Discontinued Haiku Lights with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)" and "i6 Fans". The page says "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  26. [26] The fan platform of Home Assistant's own Big Ass Fans integration, read in full on 2 October 2026. It declares "FanEntityFeature.SET_SPEED | FanEntityFeature.DIRECTION | FanEntityFeature.PRESET_MODE | FanEntityFeature.TURN_OFF | FanEntityFeature.TURN_ON", with one preset, auto, and a set-direction call that switches the fan between forward and reverse. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Capabilities
  27. [27] The source file of Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans documentation page, read in full on 2 October 2026. It gives the integration's class as Local Push and the same three supported-device lines as the rendered page., verified 2026-10-02
  28. [28] Big Ass Fans' support page for the i6, read in full on 2 October 2026. As served it shows section headings and two support articles about noise and wobble, with no document text and nothing about Alexa, Google, Wi-Fi bands, app stores, accounts or working without the internet., verified 2026-10-02
  29. [29] Big Ass Fans' Certified Installation page, read in full on 2 October 2026. It describes a nationwide network of factory-certified installers offered as a service, and is written for business premises; it names no residential model and does not say an installer is required., verified 2026-10-02
  30. [30] Big Ass Fans' product page for the i6 Ceiling Fan, read in full on 2026-10-04. The page names no smart-home platform: Alexa, Google, Apple Home and Home Assistant do not appear on it. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  31. [31] Big Ass Fans' i6 specification sheet, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Voice integration with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant devices" · Integrations "Voice control with Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa" and "Apple Homekit with Matter" · footnote "Voice control requires an Amazon Alexa-enabled device or the Google Assistant." The sheet names no way of connecting to either assistant and no voice command. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  32. [32] Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans integration page (documentation 2026.9.4), read in full on 2026-10-04. Supported devices include "i6 Fans". "Its IoT class is Local Push." · "Categories Binary sensor Climate Fan Light Number Sensor Switch". The platform sections describe an occupancy sensor, a climate entity, minimum and maximum speed settings, temperature and humidity sensors and a Whoosh mode switch, and say nothing about fan direction. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  33. [33] The Connectivity Standards Alliance certificate page for Big Ass Fans' family variant MK-i6, read in full on 2026-10-11 and stated in our own words: vendor number 0x1452, a product-number list from 0x0001 to 0x0007, family certificate FAM226154 certified on 29 March 2024 to Matter 1.2, over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, primary device type 0x002B (a fan). Same fingerprint as the 2026-10-01 read and change detection's copy. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  34. [34] Big Ass Fans' i6 specification sheet, read in full on 2026-10-11. Verbatim: "Voice integration with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant devices" · Integrations "Voice control with Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa" and "Apple Homekit with Matter" · footnote "Voice control requires an Amazon Alexa-enabled device or the Google Assistant." It names no way of connecting to either assistant., verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  35. [35] Amazon's 'Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters' page, read in full on 2026-10-11 ("Last updated: Apr 08, 2026"): "Fan Control the speed of a fan Fan Control, Fan Controller Capability Alexa.RangeController , Alexa.ModeController , Alexa.ToggleController". The page names no brand or model., verified 2026-10-11
  36. [36] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' for Matter, read in full on 2026-10-11 (18,225 characters). Verbatim: "Many Matter device types are supported in the Google Home ecosystem, though not all are fully supported." · "Note: Device types other than the ones listed here are not officially supported in the Google Home ecosystem." The table's Fan row (Fan Control and On/Off clusters, Matter 1.0, Home ecosystem type Fan) is marked available in all three control columns, Google Assistant, Google Home app (GHA) and Smart Display. The page names no brand or model., verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  37. [37] Record-keeping entry: the apple answers of this record gained a per-function findings map from the platforms' own Matter files (apple-matter.json), 2026-10-17, verified 2026-10-17

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Big Ass Fans i6 Ceiling Fan with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker