Product Library / Indoor Air & Comfort

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-08

Big Ass Fans Haiku Ceiling Fan

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][2][7][21][24][29][32][44]
[1][17][21][29]
[4][6][23][31][36][40]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH · MATTER[1][2][5][7][8][21][25][26][29][33][41][42]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub is named by the vendor. Big Ass Fans lists the control routes as 'app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote', and Home Assistant's official integration for these fans connects locally over the network — so the fan is reachable on your own LAN without a bridge. The Apple route the vendor advertises is Matter ('Apple HomeKit (Matter)'), and on Apple Home an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub, and a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control.[1][4][21][29][45][46][47]

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Matter controller

Apple Home only: Apple says an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control a Matter accessory without a home hub; a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control. The fan's own app, Alexa, Google Home and Home Assistant need no hub.[1][4][21][29][45][46][47]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [4] [22] [23] [30] [31] [43]

Documented device function

Fan mode

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [4] [22] [23] [30] [31] [43]

Documented device function

Temperature reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [4] [22] [23] [30] [31] [43]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[1][4][22][23][30][31][43]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
2 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks, except fan mode[1][2][7][21][24][29][32][44]Google HomeWorks[1][21][29][35][38][48][49][51]AlexaWorks[1][21][29][35][38][48][49]SmartThingsInconclusive[1][17][21][29]Home AssistantWorks[4][6][23][31][36][40]
On/offDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

? not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Fan modeDevice control
Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Fan mode is not on it.

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

? not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Temperature readingReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

? not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

On and off works in Apple Home over Matter: Big Ass Fans writes 'Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee', and the official Matter certification register lists the Haiku series as a certified fan. Fan mode is missing: Apple's list of the Matter accessories the Home app supports leaves fans out, so Apple does not say the Home app sets this fan's speed. The SenseMe sensor automations stay inside Big Ass Fans' own system.[1][2][7][21][24][29][32][44]

Fan mode automation: Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Fan mode is not on it.

Google Home

Works in Google Home over Matter: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Google Home controls On/off and Fan mode on Matter fans. Big Ass Fans also lists Google Home for voice control without saying how it connects.[1][21][29][35][38][48][49][51]

Alexa

Works in Alexa over Matter: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Alexa controls On/off and Fan mode on Matter fans. Big Ass Fans also lists Amazon Alexa for voice control without saying how it connects.[1][21][29][35][38][48][49]

SmartThings

Big Ass Fans publishes one compatibility sentence for the Haiku, and it reads "Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee." SmartThings is not on it, and that is still not a no. The sentence reaches Apple through Matter — the fan's own words — and a fan that speaks Matter is reachable in principle by any app that speaks Matter, SmartThings included, so a list built on that route has not answered where else the route goes. Nobody publishes the part that would settle it: Big Ass Fans says nothing about SmartThings for this fan, and Samsung says nothing about this fan. Ask Big Ass Fans before you buy on the strength of it.[1][17][21][29]

Home Assistant

The most fully evidenced platform on this page, and it comes entirely from the Home Assistant side — Big Ass Fans names Home Assistant nowhere. Home Assistant ships an official Big Ass Fans integration that talks to the fan on your own network with no company servers in the path, and is told about changes rather than having to ask. Its documented device list covers 'Haiku Fans (3.0 firmware and later)', 'Discontinued Haiku Lights (3.0 firmware and later)' and 'i6 Fans'. TWO CAVEATS RECORDED BECAUSE THEY BITE. First, the firmware floor is real: Home Assistant states that 'Legacy SenseME firmware' is NOT supported, so a Haiku bought years ago and never updated is outside this entirely — which matters far more for a second-hand or already-installed fan than for a new one. Second, some Auto Comfort features need firmware 3.1 or later, and Home Assistant notes that climate and temperature sensors 'may become unavailable when fans disconnect from their remotes, though the fan itself remains operational'. We call it full on the strength of an official, local, named-product integration, with those limits stated plainly.[4][6][23][31][36][40]

Device documentation: [1] [4] [22] [23] [30] [31] [43]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeWorks, except fan modeWorks, except fan mode — see the catch[1][2][7][21][24][29][32][44]On and off works in Apple Home over Matter: Big Ass Fans writes 'Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee', and the official Matter certification register lists the Haiku series as a certified fan. Fan mode is missing: Apple's list of the Matter accessories the Home app supports leaves fans out, so Apple does not say the Home app sets this fan's speed. The SenseMe sensor automations stay inside Big Ass Fans' own system.
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][21][29][35][38][48][49]Works in Alexa over Matter: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Alexa controls On/off and Fan mode on Matter fans. Big Ass Fans also lists Amazon Alexa for voice control without saying how it connects.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][21][29][35][38][48][49][51]Works in Google Home over Matter: this model carries a Matter certificate, and Google Home controls On/off and Fan mode on Matter fans. Big Ass Fans also lists Google Home for voice control without saying how it connects.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][17][21][29]Big Ass Fans publishes one compatibility sentence for the Haiku, and it reads "Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee." SmartThings is not on it, and that is still not a no. The sentence reaches Apple through Matter — the fan's own words — and a fan that speaks Matter is reachable in principle by any app that speaks Matter, SmartThings included, so a list built on that route has not answered where else the route goes. Nobody publishes the part that would settle it: Big Ass Fans says nothing about SmartThings for this fan, and Samsung says nothing about this fan. Ask Big Ass Fans before you buy on the strength of it.
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][6][23][31][36][40]The most fully evidenced platform on this page, and it comes entirely from the Home Assistant side — Big Ass Fans names Home Assistant nowhere. Home Assistant ships an official Big Ass Fans integration that talks to the fan on your own network with no company servers in the path, and is told about changes rather than having to ask. Its documented device list covers 'Haiku Fans (3.0 firmware and later)', 'Discontinued Haiku Lights (3.0 firmware and later)' and 'i6 Fans'. TWO CAVEATS RECORDED BECAUSE THEY BITE. First, the firmware floor is real: Home Assistant states that 'Legacy SenseME firmware' is NOT supported, so a Haiku bought years ago and never updated is outside this entirely — which matters far more for a second-hand or already-installed fan than for a new one. Second, some Auto Comfort features need firmware 3.1 or later, and Home Assistant notes that climate and temperature sensors 'may become unavailable when fans disconnect from their remotes, though the fan itself remains operational'. We call it full on the strength of an official, local, named-product integration, with those limits stated plainly.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[1][19][21][29]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription. No plan, tier or paywall was found gating any advertised function, and the SenseMe automation the fan is sold on — 'Set your preferences once in the app' — is described without a fee. There is no consumable. Recorded as an absence rather than a positive 'none': Big Ass Fans makes no written 'no fees' commitment, it simply never mentions a charge.

Maintenance and offline use[1][4]

The catch

Start with what is genuinely unusual here: the option that runs on your own network is also the one documented most fully, and the maker never mentions it. Home Assistant ships an official Big Ass Fans integration that runs entirely on your own network with no company servers involved, and it names Haiku fans directly. The catch is a firmware floor — 'Legacy SenseME firmware' is unsupported — so an older Haiku may be excluded, and the same caution is worth applying to Matter on a used unit. ⚠ Apple Home is certified on the fan's side and unlisted on Apple's. Big Ass Fans states 'Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee', and the official Matter register lists 'Haiku H/I Series' as certified under family certificate FAM226154, device type Fan, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. But Apple's own list of the Matter accessories the Home app supports does not include fans, so Apple does not say the Home app will run it, and Apple Home reads partial here. ⚠ One thing to know if you ever go looking for that certificate yourself: the certification website titles all eight of this company's certificate pages 'es6', so when we searched the certification body's list for 'Haiku' in August 2026, it returned nothing — only the underlying register names the models. ⚠ The price moves with promotions. On two reads, in August and September 2026, the page showed 15% off — $1,317.50–$2,320.50 against a $1,550.00–$2,730.00 list — each time with a one-week deadline, and on 1 October 2026 it showed the list range alone, which is why we carry the list price. The maker's listing page and product page also disagreed about the top of the range on the same day ($2,193.00 versus $2,320.50), which we record rather than tidy away. Finally: this is a hardwired ceiling fixture up to 84 inches across, not a plug-in gadget — plan for overhead wiring work. What it does is specified far better than its compatibility ever was: up to 17,369 CFM, under 35 dBA at full speed, 2.4W at low, with built-in temperature and motion sensors that run SenseMe automations without an app open.

Who it's for

A serious ceiling fan for almost any smart home, and — unusually — the local-first option is also the most fully documented one. Home Assistant households get an official Big Ass Fans integration: entirely on your own network, no company servers, Haiku fans named directly, with the caveat that older SenseME firmware is excluded outright. Apple Home households should read the Apple note first: the Haiku is Matter-certified under Big Ass Fans' family certificate, but Apple's own list of supported Matter accessories leaves fans out, so what the Home app does with this fan is not something Apple states, and the SenseMe sensor automations stay inside the maker's own system either way. It suits anyone who wants a fan that runs itself — the built-in temperature and motion sensors drive SenseMe with no app in the loop — and the engineering justifies the price if airflow and silence matter: 17,369 CFM at under 35 dBA is specified, not implied. Treat any advertised discount as temporary, and plan for hardwired overhead work carrying a moving load.

Check availability at Big Ass Fans

This opens Big Ass Fans's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

52 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Big Ass Fans, Haiku Ceiling Fan product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Works without the internet, Power source, Installation, Capabilities, Market availability, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Research status
  2. [2] CSA-IoT certified products database, keyword searches and the es6 certificate. Family certificate FAM226154, the number this entry's note records on the es6 certificate and, after the 2026-08-22 overturn, as covering the Haiku. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, Product identity
  3. [3] A search check on the certification registry used another company's products (Narwal's Flow and Flow 2) to test that the search answers. Those certificates belong to different products and say nothing about this one., verified 2026-08-02
  4. [4] Home Assistant, Big Ass Fans (baf) integration documentation — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Batteries, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge, Service status, Capabilities
  5. [5] bigassfans.com/haiku-ceiling-fan/, re-read 2026-08-09. Control methods, quoted as published: 'Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote.' Smart-home line on the same page: 'Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  6. [6] Home Assistant's own Big Ass Fans integration documentation, re-read 2026-08-18 — IoT class 'Local Push'. Corroborated by bigassfans.com's Haiku ceiling fan page, re-read the same day: 'Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote.' — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  7. [7] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, models for VID 5202 (Big Ass Fans, legal 'Delta T LLC dba Big Ass Fans'), read 2026-08-22: 8 models enumerated to pagination exhaustion — 'i6' (PID 1), 'es6' (PID 2), 'Haiku H/I Series' (PID 3), 'Haiku L Series' (PID 4), 'Speakeasy' (PID 5), 'Turbo6' (PID 6), 'Mammoth' (PID 7), 'Bison' (PID 8). The ledger's certification lookup for this model — vendor 5202, product 3 — returns software version 0 (3.3.0) CERTIFIED under family certificate FAM226154 dated 2024-03-29. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility
  8. [8] csa-iot.org certified-products registry, the page carrying Product ID 0x0003 (read 2026-08-22): certificate FAM226154, certified 2024-03-29, family SKU MK-ES6 with variant FR127C, product ID 0x0003, vendor ID 0x1452, primary device type 0x002B, over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, Matter specification 1.2. ⚠ The page's PRODUCT NAME field reads 'es6', not 'Haiku' — which is the whole defect: the model identity lives in the ledger, and the transport lives on this page, so neither instrument alone answers the question. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Protocols
  9. [9] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was replaced by the read that actually established this record, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
  10. [10] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-06 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-06
  11. [11] https://bigassfans.com/haiku-ceiling-fan/ (read 2026-09-10) opened for us and served 3,885 characters — navigation and a privacy link, with no specification table, no band and no app-store link. A second address, https://www.bigassfans.com/fans/haiku/, does not exist. Both fields stay unanswered; as with the LiftMaster manual read the same day, this is a page that would not render rather than a maker that does not publish, and it is worth a browser read on a later pass. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-10
  12. [12] https://bigassfans.com/haiku-ceiling-fan/ read in a browser with its tabs expanded 2026-09-12: it opened and served 5,670 characters of human-visible text after opening 15 tabs (reading it directly had returned 3,885 on 2026-09-10). The page renders its full marketing copy and a feature list — 'Brushless DC/EC motor designed for efficiency and silence. Draws as little as 2.4W at low speed' and 'Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee. Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote' — and carries no band, no 802.11 designation, no frequency row and no App Store or Google Play link, in the rendered text or in the full DOM text. ⚠ The only '2.4' on the page is a WATTAGE ('2.4W at low speed'), which is the near-miss this note exists to stop the next pass making. ⚖ The 2026-09-10 diagnosis is now withdrawn: this was called 'a page that would not render' and it renders fine — the maker does not print the radio or the app's platforms. Both fields stay unanswered, recorded as checked and not published, with no route left untried on this site. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-12
  13. [13] Big Ass Fans' own pages, read in a browser with their tabs expanded on 2026-09-15: the Haiku support hub https://bigassfans.com/support/ceiling-fans/haiku/ (it opened and served 1,606 characters: links to installation, operation and maintenance, tech specs, videos, warranty and four support articles about noise, power and mounts, with no statement about internet or offline operation); two Wi-Fi FAQ addresses on www.bigassfans.com/support/faq/ ('my-fan-failed-to-join-my-wi-fi-network' and 'im-trying-to-connect-my-haiku-product-to-my-wi-fi-network-but-i-dont-see-my-network-in-the-haiku-app') and the Singapore copy of the second, none of which exist; the Singapore Haiku troubleshooting page https://bigassfans.com/sg/troubleshooting/haiku/ (it opened and served 1,588 characters, with no such statement). The product page was read in a browser on 2026-09-12 and lists 'Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote' with no offline statement. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15
  14. [14] the record's own customer-facing prose as it stood before 2026-09-15 (no external read), verified 2026-09-15
  15. [15] The two Big Ass Fans pages this record cites, read 2026-09-16 after the host-conduct check (bigassfans.com is open on the register), each checked for any statement about the fan's behaviour without an internet connection. Neither carries one. What the product page does carry, verbatim: 'Smart Home Ready — Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee. Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote.' and 'SenseMe Adjusts Automatically — Built-in temperature and motion sensors respond to conditions and occupancy. Set your preferences once in the app SenseMe keeps your space comfortable without you touching a control.' The support page at /support/ceiling-fans/haiku/ is a link hub — 'Accessory & Service Kit', 'Installation', 'Operation & Maintenance', 'Tech Specs', 'Videos', 'Warranty' — over four article titles: 'Fan is making a noise', 'Fan is not Turning on', 'Universal Mount is wobbling', 'Low Profile Mount is wobbling'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
  16. [16] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-16 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-16
  17. [17] bigassfans.com, Big Ass Fans' own Haiku Ceiling Fan page, with its es6 Outdoor Ceiling Fan page as the control — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  18. [18] The Matter certification ledger the Connectivity Standards Alliance publishes lists eight Big Ass Fans models, and the one named 'Haiku H/I Series' sits under the maker's vendor number 0x1452 as product number 0x0003 — re-read 2026-09-18 and unchanged from the 2026-08-22 reading this record already carries, where the alliance's own certificate page printed the same pair. Those two numbers are how a Matter home tells one model apart from another, which matters here because all eight of this maker's certificate pages are titled after a different fan. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  19. [19] Big Ass Fans' product page, https://bigassfans.com/haiku-ceiling-fan/, read in full 2026-09-20. Header "HAIKU® CEILING FAN". Price "$1,317.50 - $2,320.50", shown as 15% off "$1,550.00 - $2,730.00". Promotion fine print: the discount applies to "U.S. residential consumer orders placed directly with Big Ass Fans between 09/18/26 to 09/25/26" and cannot be combined with other offers. Buyable with a live configurator in 52", 60" and 84" diameters, matching rooms up to 225, 400 and 900 square feet, with downrods from 7" to 60". No discontinuation or replacement notice appears. Warranty referred to only as "industry-leading warranties" behind a link, with no term stated in the page text. Platform copy: "Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee. Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote." No subscription, plan, tier or fee is mentioned anywhere on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Market availability
  20. [20] Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans integration page, https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/baf/, read in full 2026-09-20. Supported devices listed: "Haiku Fans with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)", "Discontinued Haiku Lights with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)" and "i6 Fans". "Its IoT class is Local Push." "For devices that support Auto Comfort and are running firmware 3.1 or later, an occupancy sensor entity is available." No deprecation or removal notice appears on the page. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Service status
  21. [21] Big Ass Fans' product page for the Haiku Ceiling Fan, read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: "HAIKU® CEILING FAN" · "$1,550.00 - $2,730.00" · "Up to 17,369 CFM, under 35 dBA at max speed." · "Draws as little as 2.4W at low speed." · "Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee. Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote." The order form lists diameters of 52, 60 and 84 in., downrod or flush mounting and No Light or Downlight; the size table matches them to rooms of up to 225, 400 and 900 sq ft with a 12 in. downrod included on each. No promotion or struck-through price is shown. The page names no fee or plan, no hub, no SmartThings, no Home Assistant and no warranty term; it links to Tech Specs, an Install Guide and a Warranty document. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Market availability, Research status, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  22. [22] Big Ass Fans' Haiku technical specification sheet (HKU-MKTG-222-ENG-01 REV. N, dated 05/22/26), read in full on 2026-10-01. Operating voltage for every row of both fan-specification tables: "100–240 VAC, 1 Φ, 50–60 Hz". The aluminum table's 84 in. Indoor row gives 17,031 CFM, 26 lb and 41.9 W; its 84 in. Covered Damp row gives 17,369 CFM. Mounting: low profile on flat ceilings from 8 to 10 ft, universal on sloped or flat ceilings from 9 ft. Controls column: 'Bluetooth remote', 'Big Ass Fans mobile app', 'Voice control', '0–10 V (optional)'. Integrations column: 'Voice control with Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa' and 'Apple Homekit with Matter'. Onboard sensors: 'Temperature and motion sensors enable SenseME Technology'. Key features: seven speed settings. Footnotes, verbatim: "SenseME Technology and the Haiku mobile app are supported by Android™ and iOS®." · "Voice control requires an Amazon Alexa-enabled device or the Google Assistant." The cover panel gives the warranty as up to 5 years indoor and up to 3 years outdoor, and the sheet says warranty period and terms vary by country and application. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Installation, Power source, App platforms, Capabilities
  23. [23] Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans integration page, read in full on 2026-10-01. Supported devices, verbatim: "Haiku Fans with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)" · "Discontinued Haiku Lights with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)" · "i6 Fans". "Its IoT class is Local Push." "For devices that support Auto Comfort and are running firmware 3.1 or later, an occupancy sensor" entity is available, and the Sensor section lists Temperature and Humidity sensors that receive push updates. A note says climate and some sensors such as temperature are provided by the remote on certain models and may become unavailable when the fan loses its remote. No deprecation or removal notice appears. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Service status, Capabilities
  24. [24] Apple Support, 'Pair and manage your Matter accessories' (published May 07, 2026), read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: "The Home app currently supports these types of Matter accessories: air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors (motion, ambient light, contact, temperature, and humidity)." The list does not name fans. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  25. [25] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certificate page carrying product number 0x0003 under Big Ass Fans' vendor number 0x1452, read in full on 2026-10-01 and summarised in our own words: family certificate FAM226154, certified on 29 March 2024 to Matter 1.2, primary device type 0x002B (Fan), transports Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, firmware 3.3.0. The page is titled after the es6, a different fan; the ledger is what names product 3 as the Haiku H/I Series. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs
  26. [26] The Matter certification ledger for Big Ass Fans' vendor number 5202 (0x1452), read on 2026-10-01 through the ledger lookup tool and summarised in our own words: eight models (i6, es6, Haiku H/I Series, Haiku L Series, Speakeasy, Turbo6, Mammoth, Bison); product 3 is the Haiku H/I Series, and its software version 3.3.0 is recorded as certified under family certificate FAM226154 dated 29 March 2024., verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Certification and product IDs, Protocols
  27. [27] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certificate page for the Big Ass Fans es6, a different fan, read in full on 2026-10-01. It describes a residential ceiling fan under product number 0x0008 and says nothing about the Haiku. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-01
  28. [28] Big Ass Fans' Haiku support page, read in full on 2026-10-01. It links to Installation, Operation & Maintenance, Tech Specs, Videos and Warranty, and to four support articles about noise, power and mounts. It carries no statement about Wi-Fi bands, app stores, accounts or operation without an internet connection. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01
  29. [29] Big Ass Fans' product page for the Haiku Ceiling Fan, read in full on 2026-10-02. Verbatim: "HAIKU® CEILING FAN" · "$1,550.00 - $2,730.00" · "Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee. Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote." The order form lists diameters of 52, 60 and 84 in. No promotion or struck-through price is shown. The page names no Alexa skill, no account link and no list of voice commands, and no fee or plan, no hub, no SmartThings and no Home Assistant. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Market availability, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  30. [30] Big Ass Fans' Haiku technical specification sheet (HKU-MKTG-222-ENG-01 REV. N, dated 05/22/26), read in full on 2026-10-02. Operating voltage for every row of both fan-specification tables: "100–240 VAC, 1 Φ, 50–60 Hz". The Integrations column lists voice control with Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa and Apple Homekit with Matter. Footnotes, verbatim: "Voice control requires an Amazon Alexa-enabled device or the Google Assistant." · "SenseME Technology and the Haiku mobile app are supported by Android™ and iOS®." The sheet names no skill, no account link and no list of voice commands. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Installation, Power source, App platforms, Capabilities
  31. [31] Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans integration page, read in full on 2026-10-02. Its supported devices are "Haiku Fans with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)", "Discontinued Haiku Lights with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)" and "i6 Fans". The page says "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Service status, Capabilities
  32. [32] Apple's support article on pairing and managing Matter accessories, read in full on 2026-10-02: "The Home app currently supports these types of Matter accessories: air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors (motion, ambient light, contact, temperature, and humidity)." Fans are not on the list. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  33. [33] The Matter certification ledger's model list for Big Ass Fans' vendor number 5202 (0x1452), read in full on 2026-10-02. It carries eight models, and the one named Haiku H/I Series is product number 3. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Certification and product IDs, Protocols
  34. [34] Big Ass Fans' support page for the Haiku, read in full on 2026-10-02. As served it shows section headings and four support articles about noise, power and wobble, with no document text and nothing about Alexa, Google, accounts or working without the internet., verified 2026-10-02
  35. [35] Big Ass Fans' product page for the Haiku Ceiling Fan, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Smart Home Ready Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee. Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote." The page names no Alexa skill, no account link and no list of voice commands. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  36. [36] Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans integration page (documentation 2026.9.4), read in full on 2026-10-04. Supported devices, verbatim: "Haiku Fans with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)" · "i6 Fans". "Its IoT class is Local Push." · "Categories Binary sensor Climate Fan Light Number Sensor Switch". The platform sections describe an occupancy sensor, a climate entity, minimum and maximum speed settings, temperature and humidity sensors and a Whoosh mode switch. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  37. [37] A wording correction to this record's own sentences about the certification body's keyword search. No page was read., verified 2026-10-07
  38. [38] Big Ass Fans' Haiku product page, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "$1,550.00 - $2,730.00" · "Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee." The page showed no sale price for the Haiku itself on that day; its promotion footnote covered other fans. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Price, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Market availability, Research status
  39. [39] Read in full on 2026-10-08. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
  40. [40] Read in full on 2026-10-08. The sentences entry bq640-u3b1-big-ass-fans-haiku-ceiling-fan-home-assistant-2026-10-04 quotes are all still on the page, so the facts it records stand. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Service status
  41. [41] Read in full on 2026-10-08. Its text fingerprint is the same as an earlier read recorded on this record, so the facts entry bq107-t1-20261002-haiku-ledger records stand. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Certification and product IDs, Protocols
  42. [42] The Connectivity Standards Alliance certificate page carrying product number 0x0003 under vendor number 0x1452, read in full on 2026-10-08 and summarised in our own words: family certificate FAM226154, certified on 29 March 2024 to Matter 1.2, over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, firmware 3.3.0, primary device type 0x002B (a fan). Its text fingerprint is the same as the 2026-10-01 read (entry bq107-t2-20261001-haiku-csa-certificate-page), so the facts that entry records stand. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs
  43. [43] Read in full on 2026-10-08. Its text fingerprint is the same as an earlier read recorded on this record, so the facts entry bq107-t1-20261002-haiku-cutsheet records stand. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Installation, Power source, App platforms, Capabilities
  44. [44] Read in full on 2026-10-08. Its text fingerprint is the same as an earlier read recorded on this record, so the facts entry bq107-t1-20261002-haiku-apple-matter-list records stand. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  45. [45] Apple's support article on setting up a home hub, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "You must set up a home hub to add Matter accessories to the Home app." The Haiku reaches Apple Home over Matter, so the Apple route needs that hub; no other route does. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  46. [46] Apple Support, 'Pair and manage your Matter accessories' (Published Date May 07, 2026), read 2026-10-10: "If you have an iPhone using iOS 18 or later, you can add Matter accessories to and control Matter accessories from the Home app without a home hub." · "However, for the best experience set up a home hub to add supported Matter and thread-based accessories to the Home app." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-10
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  47. [47] Apple Support, 'Set up your HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV as a home hub' (Published Date September 15, 2025), read 2026-10-10: "Set up a home hub to control your smart home accessories while you're away from home, share control of your accessories with others, and automate your accessories to do what you want, when you want." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-10
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  48. [48] The Connectivity Standards Alliance certificate page carrying product number 0x0003 under vendor number 0x1452, read in full on 2026-10-11 and stated in our own words: family certificate FAM226154, certified on 29 March 2024 to Matter 1.2 over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, firmware 3.3.0, primary device type 0x002B (a fan). Same fingerprint as the 2026-10-08 read and change detection's copy. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  49. [49] Big Ass Fans' Haiku product page, read in full on 2026-10-11. Verbatim: "Smart Home Ready Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee. Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote." It names no way of connecting to Alexa or Google Home., verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  50. [50] Amazon's 'Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters' page, read in full on 2026-10-11 ("Last updated: Apr 08, 2026"): "Fan Control the speed of a fan Fan Control, Fan Controller Capability Alexa.RangeController , Alexa.ModeController , Alexa.ToggleController". The page names no brand or model., verified 2026-10-11
  51. [51] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' for Matter, read in full on 2026-10-11 (18,225 characters). Verbatim: "Many Matter device types are supported in the Google Home ecosystem, though not all are fully supported." · "Note: Device types other than the ones listed here are not officially supported in the Google Home ecosystem." The table's Fan row (Fan Control and On/Off clusters, Matter 1.0, Home ecosystem type Fan) is marked available in all three control columns, Google Assistant, Google Home app (GHA) and Smart Display. The page names no brand or model., verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  52. [52] Record-keeping entry: the apple answers of this record gained a per-function findings map from the platforms' own Matter files (apple-matter.json), 2026-10-17, verified 2026-10-17

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Big Ass Fans Haiku Ceiling Fan with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker