Product Library / Indoor Air & Comfort

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-02

Awair Element

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[2][5][23]
[1][22][27]
[1][22][27]
[2][23]
[2][23]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH[1][5][7][10][21][24]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub. The Element joins your 2.4GHz Wi-Fi directly and talks to Awair's service; Bluetooth 4.1 Low Energy handles setup. There is no bridge to buy and no border router to own — which, set against the Thread-based monitor in this same category, is the simpler arrangement even though it is the less local one. The genuinely interesting exception is described under maintenance: Awair documents a way to read the sensor's own numbers directly over your home network, so the path does not have to end at Awair's servers.[1][4]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Air quality reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [21]

Documented device function

Temperature reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [21]

Documented device function

Humidity reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [21]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[1][21]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
None documented by the vendor
Reported events
3 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeInconclusive[2][5][23]Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][22][27]AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][22][27]SmartThingsInconclusive[2][23]Home AssistantInconclusive[2][23]
Air quality readingReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Temperature readingReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Humidity readingReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Unknown, and the distinction from the neighbouring Airthings record is worth understanding because it is exactly the kind of difference this catalogue exists to preserve. Awair's product page enumerates three integrations — IFTTT, Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa — and names Apple, HomeKit and Siri nowhere. That is silence, not a refusal: Airthings, one record over, wrote 'Apple HomeKit is not currently supported' and therefore earns a 'none', while Awair simply stopped listing after three. An omission from a three-item list is not a denial. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Awair. Recorded unknown rather than none because nobody, on either side, has published an answer.[2][5][23]

Google Home

Awair lists Google Assistant among the three platforms it supports, with IFTTT and Amazon Alexa. It does not say how the Element connects to Google Assistant or which of its readings Google Assistant can use, so the air quality, temperature and humidity readings are unconfirmed there.[1][22][27]

Alexa

Awair lists Amazon Alexa among the three platforms it supports, with IFTTT and Google Assistant. It does not say how the Element connects to Amazon Alexa or which of its readings Amazon Alexa can use, so the air quality, temperature and humidity readings are unconfirmed there.[1][22][27]

SmartThings

Unknown. SmartThings does not appear in Awair's three-item integration list and no Samsung-side documentation naming this monitor was located. As with Apple, this is a silence rather than a stated absence, and there is no Matter fallback that could supply a route.[2][23]

Home Assistant

Awair names Home Assistant nowhere for the Element, and no Home Assistant documentation naming this monitor was found either, so the cell stays unanswered rather than unsupported. Worth flagging for anyone investigating: the local reading path described under maintenance is exactly the kind of connection a local integration would use, so the raw capability for a local, server-free integration demonstrably exists on this device. That is a statement about the hardware, not a claim about Home Assistant support.[2][23]

Device documentation: [1] [21]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2][5][23]Unknown, and the distinction from the neighbouring Airthings record is worth understanding because it is exactly the kind of difference this catalogue exists to preserve. Awair's product page enumerates three integrations — IFTTT, Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa — and names Apple, HomeKit and Siri nowhere. That is silence, not a refusal: Airthings, one record over, wrote 'Apple HomeKit is not currently supported' and therefore earns a 'none', while Awair simply stopped listing after three. An omission from a three-item list is not a denial. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Awair. Recorded unknown rather than none because nobody, on either side, has published an answer.
Amazon AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][22][27]Awair lists Amazon Alexa among the three platforms it supports, with IFTTT and Google Assistant. It does not say how the Element connects to Amazon Alexa or which of its readings Amazon Alexa can use, so the air quality, temperature and humidity readings are unconfirmed there.
Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][22][27]Awair lists Google Assistant among the three platforms it supports, with IFTTT and Amazon Alexa. It does not say how the Element connects to Google Assistant or which of its readings Google Assistant can use, so the air quality, temperature and humidity readings are unconfirmed there.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2][23]Unknown. SmartThings does not appear in Awair's three-item integration list and no Samsung-side documentation naming this monitor was located. As with Apple, this is a silence rather than a stated absence, and there is no Matter fallback that could supply a route.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2][23]Awair names Home Assistant nowhere for the Element, and no Home Assistant documentation naming this monitor was found either, so the cell stays unanswered rather than unsupported. Worth flagging for anyone investigating: the local reading path described under maintenance is exactly the kind of connection a local integration would use, so the raw capability for a local, server-free integration demonstrably exists on this device. That is a statement about the hardware, not a claim about Home Assistant support.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[1][19][21]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription. The Awair Home app is free on iOS and Android and no plan, tier or paywall was found gating any advertised function. There is no consumable — an air-quality monitor has no filter — so the ongoing cost after purchase is electricity. Recorded as an absence rather than a positive 'none': Awair does not make a written 'no fees ever' commitment of the kind that would earn the stronger reading.

Maintenance and offline use[1][4]

The catch

The thing worth knowing about Awair is a company fact, and it needs stating precisely rather than dramatically. Awair has shut devices down. Its own notice reads: 'many of our oldest devices (Glow/Glow-C/Awair V1) are no longer able to update firmware... we will be sunsetting these oldest devices starting on November 30, 2022. What is sunsetting? Your device will still perform the same quality air monitoring, but the data it collects will no longer be accessible via the Awair Home App. ' — and, in the same notice, the free data feed Awair offered to hobbyists stopped answering too. The company even warns owners not to reset those units, because a reset severs the pairing for good. That is a real, dated precedent for what this manufacturer does with hardware it no longer wants to support — and it applies to the Glow, the Glow-C and the Awair V1. It does NOT apply to the Element. The Element is a separate, currently sold, currently supported product with its own live support section, and we will not let a sibling generation's fate stand in for it. Both halves of that matter: the history is a legitimate reason to think about longevity before spending $299, and pretending it describes this device would be false. Second, and this is the part that genuinely changes the calculation: the Element can serve its own readings on your home network. Awair's own words — it lets you 'review real-time sensor readings without the need for Wi-Fi', with the device hosting 'a server that lives on the device', reachable from your own network behind your router's firewall. A monitor that can hand you its readings locally is a monitor that keeps working the day the maker's service does not, which is an unusually direct answer to the concern the company's own history raises. Third, the integrations are thin. Three names — IFTTT, Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa — with no description of what any of them can do, and nothing at all about Apple, SmartThings, Home Assistant or Matter. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Awair either. Fourth, what it does not measure: no radon, which the Airthings View Plus beside it in this category does measure. Five sensors against seven. Awair prints the measurement range for each of its five sensors, which matters if you care whether a CO2 reading tops out at 5,000 ppm.

Who it's for

A good fit for someone who wants CO2, particulates and VOCs monitored and cares about owning the data — the device can serve its readings on your own network, in a browser or to your own software, which almost nothing else in this category offers. That makes it a good fit for a tinkerer, or for anyone who has been burned by a service shutdown and wants a device that can outlive the service. It suits an Alexa, Google or IFTTT household at the level of 'the integration exists', which is as much as Awair documents. Think twice if you want radon — this does not measure it, and the Airthings View Plus beside it does. Think twice if you are an Apple household: Awair claims nothing about HomeKit or Siri, we could not confirm a Matter certificate for it, and the honest answer is that nobody has published one. And weigh the company history with a clear head: Awair switched off its Glow, Glow-C and V1 devices in November 2022, cutting off app access and outside access to their data. That is not what happened to this product, and it is a fair thing to think about before spending $299 on hardware from the same manufacturer.

Check availability at Awair

This opens Awair's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

29 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Awair, Awair Element product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Works without the internet, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Capabilities, Market availability, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Research status
  2. [2] Awair's own Element product page, re-read 2026-09-17. The page carries the sensor specification table, system requirements ('Wifi Connection'; 'Smartphone or tablet with iOS 9 or later, or Android 4.4 or later'), wireless specifications and the marketing sections, and names NO smart-home platform anywhere — the word 'integrations' appears once, in 'Use Awair's integrations to help you maintain a healthy indoor environment', with no list attached. This is a change from the 2026-08-02 read, which recorded the page as listing IFTTT, Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  3. [3] Awair Support, "Legacy Device Support" — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Service status
    Checked 2026-08-02. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  4. [4] Awair Support, "Awair Element Local API Feature" — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Batteries, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge
  5. [5] CSA-IoT certified products database, keyword search — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility
  6. [6] A search check on the certification registry used another company's products (Narwal's Flow and Flow 2) to test that the search answers. Those certificates belong to different products and say nothing about this one., verified 2026-08-02
  7. [7] getawair.com/products/element, re-read 2026-08-09. Connectivity specification, quoted as published: 'Bluetooth 4.1 (Bluetooth Low Energy)' and 'Working Wi-Fi connection: 802.11 b/g/n @ 2.4 GHz'. No functional description accompanies the Bluetooth entry on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  8. [8] support.getawair.com, 'Awair Element Local API Feature' article — we tried to read it on 2026-08-18 and Awair's support site turned us away (control: getawair.com/products/element opened for us the same day). The product page carries 'Access your air data from anywhere with the free Awair app' and a 'Wifi Connection' system requirement, and says nothing about offline behaviour. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  9. [9] FCC grant 2AF65AWAIR0HD3E (BITFINDER, INC., product code AWAIR0HD3E, Equipment Class "AWAIR Rev3E"). Operating Frequencies: a single range, "2402-2480 MHz — Original Equipment — 2019-09-24". Exhibits are "WLAN 2G Test Report" and "Bluetooth LE Test Report"; there is no 5 GHz test report and no second frequency range. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-21Seller's spec sheet, checked 2026-08-21This fact comes from a retailer or review specification listing rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-21.
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
  10. [10] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, vendor registry (read 2026-08-22 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs). Awair does not appear under any name tried: 'awair'. The DCL's vendor registry was enumerated to EXHAUSTION on 2026-08-22 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: substring queries were unioned until the distinct-VID count reached 833, which is the record count the tool itself reports scanning per query (the union of a/e/i/o/u/y reached 832; the last holdout was 'SLV GmbH', a vowel-free name, recovered by adding l/s/t). Every vendor in the ledger was therefore inspected, not searched for. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Protocols
  11. [11] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance — repairing how this record marks the facts its maker does not publish, verified 2026-08-27
  12. [12] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was replaced by the read that actually established this record, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
  13. [13] FCC grant 2AF65AWAIR0HD3E, grantee BITFINDER, INC., product code AWAIR0HD3E, Equipment Class 'AWAIR Rev3E'. Read into this record on 2026-08-21 by the entry that claims the Wi-Fi band, which records that the model mapping was verified firsthand on the grant's own ID-Label exhibit rather than taken from a search summary — the Equipment Class reads 'AWAIR Rev3E' and not 'Awair Element'. — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-21Seller's spec sheet, checked 2026-08-21This fact comes from a retailer or review specification listing rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-21.
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
    Checked 2026-08-21. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  14. [14] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-05 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-05
  15. [15] Record-keeping entry: a provenance sentence naming the wrong read date was corrected on 2026-09-12, verified 2026-09-12
  16. [16] Plugs into a wall outlet — nothing to wire or mount., verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Installation
  17. [17] No read was attempted, and none should have been. The host-conduct check that runs before any page in this unit is opened reported that this Awair address must be treated as one that refuses automated readers, and that no automated route remains to try. The verdict rests on an observation recorded the same night by another session’s scheduled re-test: Awair’s support host turned an automated reader away with a refusal, repeating the bot gate first seen there on 2026-08-02., verified 2026-09-20
  18. [18] Looked on 2026-09-21 for another Awair page saying whether this monitor is still supported. Awair's help site, where that answer lives, turns our reader away at the door, so it was not knocked on again. Awair's own shop and blog at getawair.com were walked instead — its sitemap of 262 addresses, three of its pages about the Element and its search — and none of them says anything about how long this model is supported or when support ends. No page we are allowed to read carries this fact, so the date already shown on it is where it stands., verified 2026-09-21
  19. [19] Awair store, Element product page, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Market availability, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source
  20. [20] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-25 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-25
  21. [21] Awair's own Element product page, read in full 2026-10-02. "Awair Element Smart Indoor Air Monitor Save $50 $299 £229 / €259 Buy Element" · "Smartphone or tablet with iOS 9 or later, or Android 4.4 or later" · "Working Wi-Fi connection: 802.11 b/g/n @ 2.4 GHz (single stream)" · "Bluetooth 4.1 (Bluetooth Low Energy)" · "Sub-1GHz- 868MHz(EU) and, 915MHz(US) ISM" · "Input: AC 100/240V, 50/60Hz Output: 5V/2.0A external power adapter" · "Fine Dust (PM2.5) 0-1,000 µg/m³" · "Chemicals (VOCs) 0-60,000 ppb" · "CO2 400-5,000ppm" · "Temperature -40 to 125°C" · "Humidity 0 to 100%" · "Access your air data from anywhere with the free Awair app". No plan, tier, membership or fee is named anywhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, App platforms, Capabilities, Batteries, Subscription, Market availability, Research status
  22. [22] Awair's own Element product page, read in full 2026-10-02. Read from image alt text, not from the page's visible text: the image file 628b353a7899745c92f55b42_6081881451372cb98bf3433b_works_with_badges.svg, which sits under the page's heading 'Use Awair's integrations to help you maintain a healthy indoor environment', carries the alt text "Awair supports integrations with IFTTT, Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  23. [23] Awair's own Element product page, read in full 2026-10-02 (6,940 characters of extracted text and 35 image alt texts). Apple Home, HomeKit, Siri, SmartThings, Home Assistant and Matter occur zero times in the text and zero times in the alt texts. The only platform names on the page are the three in the badge image's alt text: "Awair supports integrations with IFTTT, Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa". Apple appears only as the app-store badge, whose alt text is "Download iOS app". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  24. [24] The Matter ledger's vendor registry, read on 2026-10-03: the first page through tools/page-read.mjs (the fingerprint below), and the whole registry through tools/dcl-lookup.mjs, which walked nine pages to the end and scanned 861 vendor records. In our words: no vendor matches 'awair' and none matches 'bitfinder', the grantee named on this monitor's radio filing. The same walk matched Govee at vendor ID 4999 as the known positive. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Protocols
  25. [25] The certification body's product search with the keyword Awair, read in full on 2026-10-03 twice: plain (22,310 characters) and rendered (20,688 characters). Both reads returned the unfiltered first page of the whole catalogue, page 1 of 1,683, and neither applied the keyword. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
  26. [26] This record's own customer-facing prose as it stood before 2026-10-03, and the merged page-unit read of Awair's product page of 2026-10-02 (entries bq107-u1-20261002-awair-element-page and bq107-u1-20261002-awair-element-badge-alt-text) plus the Airthings View Plus record's 2026-10-01 price read., verified 2026-10-03
  27. [27] Awair's Element product page, read in full on 2026-10-04. The integrations section reads "Use Awair's integrations to help you maintain a healthy indoor environment", and the badge image under it carries the alt text "Awair supports integrations with IFTTT, Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa". The page names no way of connecting to either assistant and no reading either one can use. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  28. [28] The Matter certification ledger kept by the Connectivity Standards Alliance, read on 2026-10-06: no maker registration was found under the names Awair or Bitfinder, so the ledger cannot say either way whether this Awair product is certified. The Alliance's public product directory could not serve as the second check that day: its search showed the same list of products whatever name it was given, and a member company's page lists no products at all. No certification answer is recorded for this date. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-06
  29. [29] A wording correction to this record's own sentences about the certification body's keyword search. No page was read., verified 2026-10-07

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Awair Element with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker