Product Library / Cameras & Doorbells

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-15

Arlo Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)

⚠ Similar names, different products: Arlo's storefront sells this simply as 'Video Doorbell', which collides with the older Arlo Essential Video Doorbell and Arlo Essential Video Doorbell Wire-Free that Arlo's own support articles still cover. The product type field is what disambiguates it: '2nd Generation · Wired or Wireless Setup'. Two SKUs exist under the one name — AVD4001-100NAS is the doorbell alone, AVDK4001-100CNS adds a chime.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[4][19][21]
[4][19][21]
[4][19][21]
[5][20]
[5][20]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[2][19]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Camera stream

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [10] [19]

Documented device function

Two-way audio

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [10] [19]

Documented device function

Siren

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [10] [19]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[10][19]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
3 documented
Reported events
1 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[4][19][21]Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[4][19][21]AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[4][19][21]SmartThingsDoesn't work[5][20]Home AssistantInconclusive[5][20]
Camera streamDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Two-way audioDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

SirenDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Arlo badges this doorbell "Works with Apple Home". It does not say how the doorbell connects to Apple Home or what Apple Home can do with it, so the live view, two-way audio and the siren are unconfirmed there. Arlo does not mention HomeKit Secure Video either, so do not assume recordings reach Apple's side.[4][19][21]

Google Home

Arlo badges this doorbell "Works with Google Home". It does not say how the doorbell connects to Google Home or what Google Home can do with it, so the live view, two-way audio and the siren are unconfirmed there.[4][19][21]

Alexa

Arlo badges this doorbell "Works with Alexa". It does not say how the doorbell connects to Alexa or what Alexa can do with it, so the live view, two-way audio and the siren are unconfirmed there.[4][19][21]

SmartThings

Arlo's compatibility strip for this doorbell is a closed row of badges — 'Works with Alexa', 'Works with Google Home', 'Works with IFTTT', 'Works with Apple Home' — and SmartThings is not among them. The same badge row on Arlo's Ultra (3rd Gen) page does carry 'Works with SmartThings', so Arlo names SmartThings on the row when it applies, and for this doorbell it does not. Plan on Alexa, Google Home or Apple Home instead.[5][20]

Home Assistant

Arlo names no Home Assistant support, and no Arlo statement was found declaring it supported or unsupported. Unofficial community integrations exist for Arlo devices, but a community project is not vendor support.[5][20]

Device documentation: [10] [19]

Some functions may need a paid plan. Plan requirements are shown below.

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[4][19][21]Arlo badges this doorbell "Works with Alexa". It does not say how the doorbell connects to Alexa or what Alexa can do with it, so the live view, two-way audio and the siren are unconfirmed there.
Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[4][19][21]Arlo badges this doorbell "Works with Google Home". It does not say how the doorbell connects to Google Home or what Google Home can do with it, so the live view, two-way audio and the siren are unconfirmed there.
Apple HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[4][19][21]Arlo badges this doorbell "Works with Apple Home". It does not say how the doorbell connects to Apple Home or what Apple Home can do with it, so the live view, two-way audio and the siren are unconfirmed there. Arlo does not mention HomeKit Secure Video either, so do not assume recordings reach Apple's side.
SmartThingsDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[5][20]Arlo's compatibility strip for this doorbell is a closed row of badges — 'Works with Alexa', 'Works with Google Home', 'Works with IFTTT', 'Works with Apple Home' — and SmartThings is not among them. The same badge row on Arlo's Ultra (3rd Gen) page does carry 'Works with SmartThings', so Arlo names SmartThings on the row when it applies, and for this doorbell it does not. Plan on Alexa, Google Home or Apple Home instead.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[5][20]Arlo names no Home Assistant support, and no Arlo statement was found declaring it supported or unsupported. Unofficial community integrations exist for Arlo devices, but a community project is not vendor support.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[3][6][13][19]

◐ Works without a subscription: Yes, but some features need a plan.

Vendor account required: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own setup material and it does not say either way. Treat it as unanswered rather than as a no.[9]

Arlo's own FAQ on the product page: 'Is a subscription required for my Arlo Video Doorbell (2nd Generation) to work after the 1-month trial ends? No. A subscription is not required for your Video Doorbell to work after the 1-month trial period. Without a subscription, you will continue to receive notifications when motion is detected and be able to view your doorbell's live video feed. However, a subscription is required to maintain premium features...' ⚠ Read that against the spec sheet before you rely on it. Arlo lists storage for this doorbell as cloud only, with no local storage of any kind. On Arlo's Ultra camera the same wording still leaves you a hub that can hold video; here there is no local fallback at all, so an unsubscribed doorbell will alert you and show you a live view, and keep nothing. The plans are the same ladder as the rest of the range, and Arlo re-cut that ladder during 2026: as it stands in September, Smart Aware is $9.99 a month or $95.88 a year for one camera and $19.99 a month or $215.88 a year for unlimited cameras, Smart Secure is $29.99 a month or $299.98 a year for unlimited cameras, and Ultra Secure, as of 2026-09-16, is $49.99 a month or $479.88 a year. Two things follow for a buyer. Arlo now prints a yearly total beside each monthly rate, so the annual figures above are Arlo's own and not our arithmetic. And the plan names are no longer the 'Early Warning System' ones this doorbell was sold beside earlier in the year, so an older comparison of Arlo plans will not line up with what you see at checkout.

Maintenance and offline use[2]

Security updates[9]

Arlo publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.

The catch

Arlo's regular price is $79.99, and its own store discounts it often: $49.99 in August 2026, back to $79.99 in late September, and $29.50 on 1 October. Check the day's price. Underneath the price, the thing worth knowing is what 'no subscription required' means on a device Arlo lists as cloud-storage-only. Without a plan you get live view and motion alerts — you do not get a recording of what happened, and unlike Arlo's hub-based cameras there is no local storage to fall back on. The square 1944x1944 sensor is a genuine advantage for a doorbell, showing a full head-to-toe view of a visitor and packages on the step, and it is why the resolution number does not compare directly with 2K widescreen rivals.

Who it's for

Households that want a cheap, well-shaped view of the front door and are either content with alerts-plus-live-view or have already decided to pay for a plan. It is the better Arlo choice for an Apple Home household — it is the one Arlo product here that names Apple — and the worse one for a SmartThings household, which is the reverse of Arlo's own Ultra camera.

Check availability at Arlo

This opens Arlo's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

21 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Arlo's own US store listing data for the Video Doorbell, behind https://us.arlo.com/products/arlo-doorbell — title 'Video Doorbell', type '2nd Generation · Wired or Wireless Setup'. Variants read directly: AVD4001-100NAS (1 Video Doorbell) $49.99 with compare-at $79.99, available; AVDK4001-100CNS (1 Video Doorbell + Chime) $69.99 with compare-at $99.99, available. Description: 'See your entire front door and beyond in crystal-clear 2K. Get real-time alerts, speak to visitors from anywhere, and know your home is protected day and night.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Product identity, Price
  2. [2] https://us.arlo.com/products/arlo-doorbell — Specs: 'Maximum Video Resolution Up to 1944 x 1944', 'Video Modes 1944 x 1944, 1536 x 1536, 1080 x 1080', 'Lens Field of View 180-degree diagonal', 'Night Vision Yes, Up to 20 feet; single 850nm LED', 'Night Vision Image Black & White', 'Camera Movement Fixed', 'Digital Zoom 12x', 'Storage Type Cloud', 'Minimum Operating Temperature -4° F (-20° C)', 'Maximum Operating Temperature 113° F (45° C)', 'Minimum Home Upload Speed 2 Mbps', chime support given as 'existing traditional chime, or Arlo Chime V2'. What's in the Box: '1x Arlo Video Doorbell, 1x USB Charging cable, 1x Wire extension kit, 1x Flat mounting plate, 1x Angled mounting plate, 1x Security latch release, 1x Screw kit, 1x Quick Start Guide'. The Arlo Pro SmartHub appears on this page under 'Compatible Accessories' at $99.99 — as an accessory, never as a requirement, which is the opposite of the Ultra camera page and is why hubRequired is false here. Setup steps describe mounting and connecting 'to Wi-Fi', with no hub step. METHOD NOTE: Arlo's site turned away an anonymous read of this page and served it to our declared reader on the same address. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Protocols, Power source, Batteries, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge
  3. [3] https://us.arlo.com/products/arlo-doorbell — FAQ: 'Is a subscription required for my Arlo Video Doorbell (2nd Generation) to work after the 1-month trial ends? No. A subscription is not required for your Video Doorbell to work after the 1-month trial period. Without a subscription, you will continue to receive notifications when motion is detected and be able to view your doorbell's live video feed. However, a subscription is required to maintain premium feature[s]...' Page copy also states 'Live streaming and basic alerts work without a subscription.*' This record's local-operation answer is recorded as 'cloud' on the vendor's own spec line 'Storage Type Cloud' together with the absence of any local-storage option anywhere on the page — this is Arlo's statement about where video goes, not an inference from the subscription model. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Subscription, Works without the internet
  4. [4] https://us.arlo.com/products/arlo-doorbell — compatibility strip reads 'Works with your favorite smart home devices. Works with Alexa · Works with Google Home · Works with IFTTT · Works with Apple Home'. Read the same day as https://us.arlo.com/products/arlo-ultra-3, whose strip reads 'Works with Alexa · Works with Google Home · Works with SmartThings · Works with IFTTT'. The two strips differ in both directions — Apple on the doorbell only, SmartThings on the camera only — which is recorded on both records as a per-product fact rather than smoothed into a brand-level claim. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility
  5. [5] https://us.arlo.com/products/arlo-doorbell — the compatibility strip, re-read 2026-09-17, reads verbatim 'Works with your favorite smart home devices. Works with Alexa Works with Google Home Works with IFTTT Works with Apple Home'. It names neither SmartThings nor Home Assistant. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  6. [6] https://us.arlo.com/pages/arlo-secure — plan names 'Early Warning System Basic', 'Early Warning System Plus', 'Early Warning System Premium'. Prices read verbatim: 'Single Camera $7.99 / mo billed annually', 'Unlimited Cameras $17.99 / mo billed annually', 'Single Camera $9.99 billed monthly', 'Unlimited Cameras $19.99 billed monthly', 'Unlimited Cameras $24.99 / mo billed annually', 'Unlimited Cameras $29.99 billed monthly'. ⚠ The tier columns and the annual/monthly toggle render client-side, so which figure belongs to Plus versus Premium is not established and is not guessed. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Subscription
  7. [7] https://us.arlo.com/collections/video-doorbells/products.json — 'Video Doorbell' is the ONLY product on Arlo's current US video-doorbell collection, published 2025-04-14, both variants available:true on 2026-08-14. An active one-month Arlo Secure trial ships with it, which is the service axis. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15
    Backs: Market availability, Service status
  8. [8] Record created 2026-08-14 from Arlo's own US storefront: the store listing data behind it for identity, SKUs and prices; the product page as a browser sees it (read with our declared reader, after an anonymous read was turned away) for specs, box contents, platform badges and the subscription FAQ; Arlo Secure plans page for the plan ladder. Two integration cells left calibrated unknown and the plan tier mapping left unattributed, because the evidence did not close them. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Research status
  9. [9] Arlo's doorbell page does not state whether an Arlo account is mandatory, gives no security-update horizon, and names no minimum mobile OS versions. Install effort is not characterised by the vendor; the page's four-step setup and the inclusion of both a wire extension kit and mounting plates were judged insufficient to grade it, since the wired path involves mains doorbell wiring and the wire-free path does not., verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Vendor account required, Installation, Security-update support period, App platforms
  10. [10] kb.arlo.com/000063725 (Arlo Video Doorbell 2K (2nd Generation) Spec Sheet, AVD4001 — the SKU this record carries), read 2026-08-20: "Full-duplex two-way audio with high-sensitivity microphone", "Built-in Speaker", "Speak to visitors with 2-Way Audio from your phone or use pre-recorded quick reply messages", "Integrated siren automatically or manually from the Arlo Secure App", "Receive notifications when motion is detected", "Works With: Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, Arlo Home Security System, Arlo Secure subscription services". The model FAQ kb.arlo.com/000063193, read the same day, adds the automation statement: motion on this doorbell can "set up cross-triggering the same way you would with other Arlo devices", and lists compatibility with "Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and If This Then That (IFTTT)". Live streaming without a plan: kb.arlo.com/000063083. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  11. [11] Arlo knowledge base, 'Arlo Video Doorbell 2K (2nd Generation) Spec Sheet AVD4001' — the specification list's radio row reads "Wi-Fi Support: 2.4 GHz", between "Compatible SmartHubs and Base Stations: VMB5000 VMB4540 VMB4500 VMB4000" and "Wireless Range: Up to 300 ft (91 m) line of sight". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
  12. [12] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
  13. [13] Arlo's Arlo Secure plan page, read 2026-09-16. Verbatim from the plan table under the heading 'Choose a plan that's right for you. Save up to $120/yr with an annual plan.': 'Smart Aware Single Camera $9.99 /mo or $95.88 /yr', 'Unlimited Cameras $19.99 /mo or $215.88 /yr', 'Smart Secure Unlimited Cameras $29.99 /mo or $299.98 /yr', 'Ultra Secure Unlimited Cameras $49.99 /mo or $479.88 /yr'. The tier names 'Early Warning System Plus' and 'Early Warning System Premium' recorded from this page on 2026-08-14 occur nowhere on it now; 'Early Warning System Basic' survives as a feature row inside the comparison table rather than as a plan name. The feature rows this record's paid list draws on are still present: '60-Day Video History', 'Smart Activity Zones', '24/7 Emergency Response'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Subscription
  14. [14] Arlo's own US store listing for the Video Doorbell, read 2026-09-22. The listing is titled "Video Doorbell", is sold by ARLO, and publishes a store code and a retail barcode for each version. The single-doorbell version — the one this profile covers — carries the store code AVD4001-100NAS, which is the same code this record already names as the model, and the retail barcode 193108145589. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  15. [15] Arlo's own US store page for this doorbell, "Video Doorbell 2nd Generation", "Item No. AVD4001-100NAS", read on 23 September 2026. Its Product Specs table lists "Connectivity 2.4GHz Wi-Fi", between the status-light row and the battery-life row., verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
  16. [16] Looked on 23 September 2026 for another Arlo page carrying what this doorbell can do in an automation. The list rests on Arlo's help-library spec sheet for this model, which no longer lets our reader in, so it was not asked for any page. Arlo's own US store, which does open for us, has a product page for this doorbell, and it was read. It confirms live view, two-way talk and alerts when motion is detected, and its specifications list a built-in siren, but it never says the siren can be set off from the app or on its own, which is what the help page said and what puts the siren on the list. So the list keeps its earlier source and date. The same page is now cited for the doorbell's Wi-Fi band. One request was spent. No page carrying the siren detail was found., verified 2026-09-23
  17. [17] Arlo's own US store page for the Video Doorbell (2nd Gen), read in full 2026-09-23. Verbatim: 'AVD4001-100NAS Regular price $79.99 Original price $79.99 Sale price $79.99' · 'Quantity 1 Video Doorbell Regular price $79.99 Original price $79.99 Sale price $79.99 Unit price / per 1 Video Doorbell + Chime Regular price $99.99 Original price $99.99 Sale price $99.99' · 'Add to Cart - $79.99' · 'Live streaming and basic alerts work without a subscription.*' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: Price
  18. [18] Arlo's own US store data for the Video Doorbell, read 2026-10-01. Product type "2nd Generation · Wired or Wireless Setup". Option White / 1 Video Doorbell: part code AVD4001-100NAS, barcode 193108145589, price 29.50, compare-at 79.99, in stock. Option White / 1 Video Doorbell + Chime: part code AVDK4001-100CNS, price 55.99, compare-at 99.99, in stock. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Market availability
  19. [19] Arlo's own US store page for the Video Doorbell (2nd Generation), read in full 2026-10-01. Specification table: "Connectivity 2.4GHz Wi-Fi Battery Life 4 months**" · "Siren Yes, built-in siren" · "Storage Type Cloud" · "Audio Yes, Full Duplex 2-Way Audio". Footnote: "Battery life will vary with settings, use, activity captured and environment." Questions block: "The doorbell always operates on battery power." · "When your doorbell is hardwired, it still uses battery power." · "remove the doorbell from the wall mount, bring it inside, and use the included USB-C cable to charge it." · "A subscription is not required for your Video Doorbell to work after the 1-month trial period." Badge row: "Works with Alexa Works with Google Home Works with IFTTT Works with Apple Home". Price block: "Item No. AVD4001-100NAS Regular price $29.50 Original price $79.99 Sale price $29.50". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Batteries, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Works without the internet, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Capabilities, Research status
  20. [20] Arlo's own US store page for the Video Doorbell (2nd Generation), read in full 2026-10-01. The badge row reads "Works with Alexa Works with Google Home Works with IFTTT Works with Apple Home". SmartThings, Samsung and Home Assistant occur zero times in the product's own section. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  21. [21] Arlo's US store page for the Video Doorbell (2nd Generation), read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim badge row: "Works with your favorite smart home devices. Works with Alexa Works with Google Home Works with IFTTT Works with Apple Home". The page names no way of connecting to any of them, no HomeKit or Matter route, and nothing any of them can do with the doorbell. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Arlo Video Doorbell (2nd Gen) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker