Product Library / Cameras & Doorbells

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-15

Arlo Ultra (3rd Gen)

⚠ Similar names, different products: Arlo sells the Ultra line as several distinct SKUs under one storefront name, and the difference decides whether the camera works at all. VMS5250-100NAS is the 2-camera kit recorded here and it INCLUDES the required SmartHub. VMC5050-100NAS is sold as an 'Add-on Camera' at $199.99 and does NOT include one — bought alone it has nothing to connect to. VMS5350/VMS5450 are 3- and 4-camera kits. 'Ultra 2' also remains on the same storefront as a separate product line.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[6][18]
[5][18][19]
[5][18][19]
[5][18][19]
[6][18][19]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[2]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

A hub or controller is required

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Required for the device

Arlo hub or bridge

Setup and sources

Arlo states the dependency in its own product copy, twice and without qualification: '(SmartHub required)' in the description and 'SmartHub Required' in the feature list. The SmartHub is proprietary, so no third-party bridge substitutes. It IS included in this SKU — Arlo's what's-in-the-box list reads '1x SmartHub w/ it's own power adapter and ethernet cable' — which is precisely why the add-on-camera SKU (VMC5050-100NAS, $199.99) is the trap: it is the same camera with no hub in the box.

Yes, an Arlo SmartHub — and Arlo says so twice on its own page, ending the product description with '(SmartHub required)' and repeating 'SmartHub Required' in the feature list. The hub is proprietary, so no third-party bridge substitutes for it. The good news is that it is IN THE BOX for this SKU: Arlo's what's-in-the-box list reads '1x SmartHub w/ it's own power adapter and ethernet cable', and it takes power and ethernet, so it needs a spot by the router. The trap is the SKU next to it — Arlo sells the identical camera as an 'Add-on Camera' (VMC5050-100NAS) for $199.99 with no hub included, so a buyer comparing that $199.99 against this $349.99 kit is comparing a component against a complete system.[2][18]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Camera stream

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11]

Documented device function

Two-way audio

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11]

Documented device function

Siren

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[11]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
3 documented
Reported events
2 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeDoesn't work[6][18]Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[5][18][19]AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[5][18][19]SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[5][18][19]Home AssistantInconclusive[6][18][19]
Camera streamDevice control
Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Two-way audioDevice control
Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

SirenDevice control
Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Doesn't work

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Sound detectedReported event
Event

Doesn't work

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Arlo's compatibility strip for this camera is a closed row of badges — 'Works with Alexa', 'Works with Google Home', 'Works with SmartThings', 'Works with IFTTT' — and Apple Home is not among them. The same badge row on Arlo's own Video Doorbell page does carry 'Works with Apple Home', so Arlo puts Apple on the row when Apple applies, and for this camera it does not. Plan on running this camera through Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings rather than the Apple Home app.[6][18]

Google Home

Arlo's page for this camera says it works with Google Home and says nothing more: it does not say how the camera connects to Google Home or which of its features, such as live view or two-way talk, come across.[5][18][19]

Alexa

Arlo's page for this camera says it works with Alexa and says nothing more: it does not say how the camera connects to Alexa or which of its features, such as live view or two-way talk, come across.[5][18][19]

SmartThings

Arlo's page for this camera says it works with SmartThings and says nothing more: it does not say how the camera connects to SmartThings or which of its features, such as live view or two-way talk, come across.[5][18][19]

Home Assistant

Arlo names no Home Assistant support on this page, and no Arlo statement was found declaring it either supported or unsupported. Recorded as unknown rather than none: unofficial community integrations for Arlo are well known to exist, but a community project is not vendor support and its presence says nothing about what Arlo will do next.[6][18][19]

Device documentation: [11]

Some functions may need a paid plan. Plan requirements are shown below.

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[5][18][19]Arlo's page for this camera says it works with Alexa and says nothing more: it does not say how the camera connects to Alexa or which of its features, such as live view or two-way talk, come across.In Amazon Alexa you also need: the maker's own hub
Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[5][18][19]Arlo's page for this camera says it works with Google Home and says nothing more: it does not say how the camera connects to Google Home or which of its features, such as live view or two-way talk, come across.In Google Home you also need: the maker's own hub
Apple HomeDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[6][18]Arlo's compatibility strip for this camera is a closed row of badges — 'Works with Alexa', 'Works with Google Home', 'Works with SmartThings', 'Works with IFTTT' — and Apple Home is not among them. The same badge row on Arlo's own Video Doorbell page does carry 'Works with Apple Home', so Arlo puts Apple on the row when Apple applies, and for this camera it does not. Plan on running this camera through Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings rather than the Apple Home app.
SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[5][18][19]Arlo's page for this camera says it works with SmartThings and says nothing more: it does not say how the camera connects to SmartThings or which of its features, such as live view or two-way talk, come across.In SmartThings you also need: the maker's own hub
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[6][18][19]Arlo names no Home Assistant support on this page, and no Arlo statement was found declaring it either supported or unsupported. Recorded as unknown rather than none: unofficial community integrations for Arlo are well known to exist, but a community project is not vendor support and its presence says nothing about what Arlo will do next.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[3][4][18]

◐ Works without a subscription: Yes, but some features need a plan.

Vendor account required: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own setup material and it does not say either way. Treat it as unanswered rather than as a no.[9]

Arlo answers this itself in the product page's own FAQ, and the answer is worth reading closely: 'Is a subscription required for my Ultra Security Camera (3rd Gen) to work after the trial ends? No. A subscription is not required... Without a subscription, you will continue to receive notifications when motion is detected and be able to view your camera's live video feed. However, a subscription is required to maintain premium features like Video Cloud Storage, Interactive Notifications, Video Object Detection, and more.' The camera ships with a one-month trial of an Arlo Secure Early Warning System plan. PRICING IS RECORDED PARTIALLY AND DELIBERATELY: the plans page sells by camera count and billing period — $9.99 billed monthly or $7.99/mo billed annually for a single camera, $19.99 monthly or $17.99/mo billed annually for unlimited cameras, with higher unlimited tiers at $29.99 monthly and $24.99/mo billed annually. The monthly price we list is the single-camera monthly entry price. We list no annual price on purpose: Arlo advertises a per-month rate billed annually and never states an annual total, so any yearly figure here would be our multiplication rather than Arlo's price. Which named tier (Plus vs Premium) each figure belongs to could not be resolved from the page, because the tier table renders client-side — so the ladder is recorded without asserting the tier mapping.

Maintenance and offline use[2]

Security updates[9]

Arlo publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.

The catch

Two things decide whether this camera is what you think you bought. First, it does not work on its own: Arlo says '(SmartHub required)' twice on its own page. The 2-camera kit recorded here includes that hub — the $199.99 'Add-on Camera' SKU does not, and a buyer comparing prices across Arlo's own storefront is comparing a complete system against a component. Second, the subscription line is honest but narrow: without a plan you keep live view and motion alerts, and that is genuinely more than some rivals offer — but you do not keep recordings. Video Cloud Storage is a paid feature, so the un-subscribed camera tells you something happened without keeping what happened. The price shown is Arlo's regular price for this kit; the earlier sale has ended.

Who it's for

Households that want 4K outdoor coverage inside Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings, are willing to run Arlo's hub as part of the system, and have decided in advance whether they are paying for a plan — because without one this camera notifies but does not record. Apple Home households should not assume the brand's doorbell support carries across: Arlo lists Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings and IFTTT for this camera, and Apple Home is not among them.

Check availability at Arlo

This opens Arlo's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

19 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Arlo's own US store listing data for the Ultra 3, behind https://us.arlo.com/products/arlo-ultra-3 — title 'Ultra (3rd Gen – 2025 Release)', type 'Battery-Powered Camera', vendor 'ARLO'. Variants read directly: VMS5250-100NAS (White / 2 Cameras) $279.99 with compare-at $349.99 · VMS5350-100NAS (3 Cameras) $379.99 / $499.99 · VMS5350-1BYNAS (3 Cameras + Batteries) $399.99 / $499.99 · VMS5450-100NAS (4 Cameras) $499.99 / $519.99 · VMC5050-100NAS (Add-on Camera) $199.99 with compare-at $199.99 · VMS5250B-100NAS and VMC5050B-100NAS as the Black equivalents. All listed available. The add-on camera being the only variant NOT discounted is what makes the sale-vs-list distinction legible. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Product identity, Price
  2. [2] https://us.arlo.com/products/arlo-ultra-3 — description ends '(SmartHub required)' and the feature list repeats 'SmartHub Required'. What's in the Box: '2x Arlo Ultra 3 Camera, 2x Rechargeable battery, 1x SmartHub w/ it's own power adapter and ethernet cable, 1x Wall mount and screw kit, 1x Magnetic mount and screw kit, 1x Indoor power adapter, 1x USB-C Charging cable'. Specs: 'Connectivity 2.4GHz & 5GHz', 'Battery Life 6 months***', 'Charge Time to Full 4.5 (5V, 2A, at room temp)', 'Operating Temperature -20 to 45 degree Celsius'. Feature copy: '4K Video with HDR', '180° Field of View', 'Auto-Zoom & Tracking', 'Brilliant Color Night Vision'. METHOD NOTE: Arlo's site turned away an anonymous read of this page while serving it to our declared reader on the same address; the store listing data behind it opened either way. The refusal depends on the address and on who is asking rather than being a site-wide no, and it is recorded rather than worked around. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Protocols, Power source, Batteries, Works without the internet
  3. [3] https://us.arlo.com/products/arlo-ultra-3 — FAQ: 'Is a subscription required for my Ultra Security Camera (3rd Gen) to work after the trial ends? No. A subscription is not required for the Ultra Security Camera (3rd Gen) to work after the trial period. Without a subscription, you will continue to receive notifications when motion is detected and be able to view your camera's live video feed. However, a subscription is required to maintain premium features like Video Cloud Storage, Interactive Notifications, Video Object Detection, and more.' Product copy adds: 'Comes with a free 1-month trial of an Arlo Secure Early Warning System plan' and 'Live streaming and basic alerts work without a subscription.*' Feature copy names the paid side: 'Access 60-Day Video History, 24/7 Emergency Response, Activity Zones, and more.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Subscription
  4. [4] https://us.arlo.com/pages/arlo-secure — plan names shown are 'Early Warning System Basic', 'Early Warning System Plus' and 'Early Warning System Premium', with Premium described as '+Emergency Response + 24/7 Video Recording, 60-Day Video History, Smart Activity Zones, Priority Care, Theft Replacement, Discounts on Arlo.com'. Price ladder read verbatim: 'Single Camera $7.99 / mo billed annually', 'Unlimited Cameras $17.99 / mo billed annually', 'Single Camera $9.99 billed monthly', 'Unlimited Cameras $19.99 billed monthly', 'Unlimited Cameras $24.99 / mo billed annually', 'Unlimited Cameras $29.99 billed monthly'. ⚠ LIMIT STATED: the annual/monthly toggle and the tier columns render client-side, so which figure sits under Plus versus Premium could not be established from the served HTML. The figures are recorded; the tier attribution is not, rather than being guessed from their order. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Subscription
  5. [5] https://us.arlo.com/products/arlo-ultra-3 — compatibility strip reads 'Works with your favorite smart home devices. Works with Alexa · Works with Google Home · Works with SmartThings · Works with IFTTT'. The badges assert compatibility and nothing about depth, so no capability detail is recorded from them. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  6. [6] https://us.arlo.com/products/arlo-ultra-3 — the compatibility strip, re-read 2026-09-17, reads verbatim 'Works with your favorite smart home devices. Works with Alexa Works with Google Home Works with SmartThings Works with IFTTT'. It names neither Apple nor Home Assistant. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  7. [7] https://us.arlo.com/collections/security-cameras/products.json — 'Ultra (3rd Gen – 2025 Release)' is listed on Arlo's current US security-camera collection, published 2026-03-19, with every variant reading available:true on 2026-08-14. The product page is live, sells the current-generation SmartHub with it, and offers an active Arlo Secure trial, which is the service axis rather than the market one. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15
    Backs: Market availability, Service status
  8. [8] Record created 2026-08-14 from Arlo's own US storefront: the store listing data behind it for identity, SKUs and prices; the product page as a browser sees it (read with our declared reader, after an anonymous read was turned away) for the hub requirement, box contents, specs, platform badges and the subscription FAQ; and the Arlo Secure plans page for the plan ladder. Two integration cells were left calibrated unknown rather than resolved, and the plan tier mapping was left unattributed, because the evidence did not support closing them. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Research status
  9. [9] Arlo's product page states neither whether the camera keeps working without internet nor whether an Arlo account is mandatory, and gives no security-update horizon. The SmartHub accessory copy says a hub 'stores videos locally', which is suggestive of local retention but is written about the Pro SmartHub accessory rather than this kit's included hub — not close enough to record as this product's local-operation behaviour. The power source is recorded as battery on the vendor's own 'Battery-Powered Camera' product type and 'Battery Life 6 months' spec. Install effort is not characterised by the vendor and is not inferred from the mount list., verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Works without the internet, Vendor account required, Installation, Security-update support period, Power source
  10. [10] us.arlo.com, Arlo Secure page — we tried to read it on 2026-08-18 and Arlo's site turned us away. The refusal comes from the site as a whole, consistent with the control-tested behaviour recorded on 2026-08-17. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  11. [11] kb.arlo.com/000063579 (Arlo Ultra Security Camera 4K (3rd Gen) FAQ), read 2026-08-20: "A siren plays directly from the camera. It can be set to trigger manually or automatically when motion or audio is detected." · "The microphones can be used for two-way full-duplex conversations; they also enable noise-cancelling and wind noise reduction." · "Arlo Ultra Security Camera 4K (3rd Gen) is compatible with Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, Google Assistant, and IFTTT." Corroborated on the camera's spec sheet kb.arlo.com/000063721 (VMC5050): "Built-in smart siren", "Integrated Spotlight", "Speaker and Dual Microphones", "Adjustable sound detection", "Works With: Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, Arlo Home Security System, Arlo Secure subscription services". Live streaming without a plan is established on kb.arlo.com/000063083: "you can choose not to have a service plan and still have access to live streaming and two-way audio." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
    Checked 2026-08-20. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  12. [12] Arlo's own specification for this product, already cited on this record and re-read against a second Arlo surface today: the product page's Specs block reads 'Connectivity 2.4GHz & 5GHz', naming both bands rather than stating a setup requirement. Corroborated 2026-09-09 on https://us.arlo.com/pages/arlo-secure, whose product listing describes this model as 'Ultra 3rd Gen Ultimate Battery Powered Camera with 180° Field of View, 4K HDR, Auto-Zoom & Tracking, Dual-Band Wi-Fi, Color Night Vision, Swappable Battery, and Motion Alerts'. The rendered product page at us.arlo.com/products/arlo-ultra-3 was not re-read today — the record's existing citation of it stands, and the Secure page is the independent read. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
  13. [13] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-11 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-11
  14. [14] Arlo's own US store listing for the Ultra 3rd generation, read 2026-09-22. The listing is titled "Ultra (3rd Gen – 2025 Release)", is sold by ARLO, and publishes a store code for each kit it sells. The two-camera kit — the configuration this profile covers — carries the store code VMS5250-100NAS, which is the same code this record already names as the model. Arlo publishes no retail barcode for that kit, so none is recorded. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  15. [15] Looked on 23 September 2026 for another Arlo page carrying what this camera can do in an automation. The list rests on Arlo's help-library questions page for this camera, which no longer lets our reader in, so it was not asked for any page. Arlo's own US store, which does open for us, was searched through its own index, and its product page for this kit was read. It confirms three of the five things on the list: you can watch the live video, talk both ways through its two microphones, and get alerts when motion is detected. It says nothing about the built-in siren or about the camera reacting to sound, and those are the parts only the help page carried. A page that confirms part of a list does not re-check the whole of it, so the list keeps its earlier source and date. Five requests were spent on Arlo's store. No page carrying the siren and sound details was found., verified 2026-09-23
  16. [16] Arlo's own US store listing data for the Ultra 3, read 2026-09-23. The 'White / 2 Cameras' version, part code VMS5250-100NAS, is listed available at $349.99 with a compare-at price of $349.99 (no discount). The same listing's other versions that day: VMS5350-100NAS (3 Cameras) $499.99 · VMS5350-1BYNAS (3 Cameras + Extra Battery + External Charger Bundle) $499.99 · VMS5450-100NAS (4 Cameras) $519.99 · VMC5050-100NAS (Add-on Camera, SmartHub not included) $199.99 · the Black 2-camera kit VMS5250B-100NAS $349.99 and Black add-on VMC5050B-100NAS $199.99, each with a compare-at price equal to its price. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: Price
  17. [17] the record's own customer-facing prose as it stood before 2026-09-24 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-24
  18. [18] Arlo's US Ultra (3rd Gen – 2025 Release) page, read in full on 2026-09-29. Verbatim: "Item No. VMS5250-100NAS Regular price $220.99 Original price $349.99 Sale price $220.99" · "Add-on Camera (SmartHub not included) Regular price $199.99" · "Live streaming and basic alerts work without a subscription." · "Works with Alexa Works with Google Home Works with SmartThings Works with IFTTT" · "Battery Life 6 months*** Charge Time to Full 4.5 (5V, 2A, at room temp) Operating Temperature -20 to 45 degree Celsius Connectivity 2.4GHz & 5GHz" · "1x SmartHub w/ it's own power adapter and ethernet cable" · "No. A subscription is not required for the Ultra Security Camera (3rd Gen) to work after the trial period." · "Yes. A SmartHub / Base Station (VMB5000, VMB4540) is required to use the Ultra Security Camera (3rd Gen)." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29
    Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Market availability, Subscription, Batteries, Power source, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Research status
  19. [19] Arlo's Ultra 3 (3rd Gen) page, read in full on 2026-10-04. The only platform line on the page is the compatibility row: "Works with your favorite smart home devices. Works with Alexa Works with Google Home Works with SmartThings Works with IFTTT". The page names no Echo, Nest Hub or voice feature, no skill or account link, and no Apple Home or Home Assistant. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Arlo Ultra (3rd Gen) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker