Product Library / Blinds, Shades & Curtains

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-21

Aqara Roller Shade Driver E1

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][3][17][19]
[1][3][17][19]
[1][3][17][19]
[4][19]
[4][19]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: ZIGBEE[1][2][3][6][17][18][19]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

A hub or controller is required

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Required for the device

Aqara hub or bridge

Setup and sources

Mandatory. Aqara names an 'Aqara Zigbee 3.0 HUB' on the US specification sheet and 'a compatible Aqara hub' on the global page. Unlike the Curtain Driver E1's store listing, no Aqara surface for THIS model states whether hubs from other brands are compatible - so the brand lock is recorded as Aqara's own wording rather than as the explicit exclusion the sibling product carries.

Required for the device

Zigbee hub

Yes, and an Aqara one specifically. Aqara states the requirement on both surfaces that describe the product: the global page footnotes the smart-automation section with 'A compatible Aqara hub is required', and the US specification sheet answers its own 'Hub Required' field with 'Yes (Aqara Zigbee 3.0 HUB)'. The device is Zigbee 3.0 with no Wi-Fi, no Bluetooth and no Matter radio of its own, so there is no route to it that bypasses a hub. Aqara publishes no hub-by-hub compatibility list for this model - the word it uses is 'compatible', which leaves the buyer to establish that their specific hub qualifies. This record does not import the hub list from the Curtain Driver E1's store listing, because that list is published for a different product.[1][3][17][19]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Open/close

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [17]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[1][17]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[1][3][17][19]Google HomeWorks[1][3][17][19]AlexaWorks[1][3][17][19]SmartThingsInconclusive[4][19]Home AssistantInconclusive[4][19]
Open/closeDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Named on both Aqara enumerations - 'Apple HomeKit' on the global product page, 'Apple Home' on the US specification sheet. Reached through the mandatory Aqara hub, which is the device that actually appears in the Home app; no hub, no Apple Home. Aqara names no mechanism beyond the hub dependency, so the transport is not guessed.[1][3][17][19]

Google Home

Named on both enumerations, though Aqara uses two different names for two different things - 'Google Assistant' on the global page (the voice service) and 'Google Home' on the US sheet (the app). The substance is the same cloud link through the Aqara hub. The global-servers footnote applies here too.[1][3][17][19]

Alexa

Named on both enumerations, as 'Amazon Alexa' and 'Alexa'. Runs through the Aqara hub and an account link, which means a routine that raises the shade depends on the internet being up as well as the hub being online. Read the ecosystem footnote below alongside this cell: Aqara states that its ecosystem support applies only on the global servers of the Aqara Home app.[1][3][17][19]

SmartThings

Not established, and it changed from a published no on 2026-09-18. Aqara's two compatibility lists — the 'Compatible Platforms' line on the US specification sheet and the paragraph on the global product page — both end without naming SmartThings, and Aqara's own Curtain Driver E1 does name it, so Aqara names SmartThings where it applies. What those lists describe, though, is the path through an Aqara hub. The motor itself is a Zigbee 3.0 device with no radio of its own for anything else, and a SmartThings hub has a Zigbee radio, so a list about Aqara's own hub cannot rule out pairing the motor to a SmartThings hub directly. Neither Aqara nor Samsung publishes anything about that. Plan on Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or IFTTT through an Aqara hub, which is the route Aqara actually supports, and treat a direct SmartThings pairing as unproven.[4][19]

Home Assistant

Same evidence and same reasoning as SmartThings: absent from both Aqara enumerations, and no Home Assistant documentation naming this model was found, so neither party has published anything specific to it. What a Home Assistant user would probably do in practice - bridge through a Matter-capable Aqara hub, or pair the device to their own Zigbee coordinator - is a community path rather than a documented one, and this record does not promote it to a level. Recorded unknown with the absence marked.[4][19]

Device documentation: [1] [17]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][3][17][19]Named on both Aqara enumerations - 'Apple HomeKit' on the global product page, 'Apple Home' on the US specification sheet. Reached through the mandatory Aqara hub, which is the device that actually appears in the Home app; no hub, no Apple Home. Aqara names no mechanism beyond the hub dependency, so the transport is not guessed.In Apple Home you also need: a Aqara hub · a Zigbee hub
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][3][17][19]Named on both enumerations, as 'Amazon Alexa' and 'Alexa'. Runs through the Aqara hub and an account link, which means a routine that raises the shade depends on the internet being up as well as the hub being online. Read the ecosystem footnote below alongside this cell: Aqara states that its ecosystem support applies only on the global servers of the Aqara Home app.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Aqara hub · a Zigbee hub
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][3][17][19]Named on both enumerations, though Aqara uses two different names for two different things - 'Google Assistant' on the global page (the voice service) and 'Google Home' on the US sheet (the app). The substance is the same cloud link through the Aqara hub. The global-servers footnote applies here too.In Google Home you also need: a Aqara hub · a Zigbee hub
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[4][19]Not established, and it changed from a published no on 2026-09-18. Aqara's two compatibility lists — the 'Compatible Platforms' line on the US specification sheet and the paragraph on the global product page — both end without naming SmartThings, and Aqara's own Curtain Driver E1 does name it, so Aqara names SmartThings where it applies. What those lists describe, though, is the path through an Aqara hub. The motor itself is a Zigbee 3.0 device with no radio of its own for anything else, and a SmartThings hub has a Zigbee radio, so a list about Aqara's own hub cannot rule out pairing the motor to a SmartThings hub directly. Neither Aqara nor Samsung publishes anything about that. Plan on Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or IFTTT through an Aqara hub, which is the route Aqara actually supports, and treat a direct SmartThings pairing as unproven.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[4][19]Same evidence and same reasoning as SmartThings: absent from both Aqara enumerations, and no Home Assistant documentation naming this model was found, so neither party has published anything specific to it. What a Home Assistant user would probably do in practice - bridge through a Matter-capable Aqara hub, or pair the device to their own Zigbee coordinator - is a community path rather than a documented one, and this record does not promote it to a level. Recorded unknown with the absence marked.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[7][14][17][20][22]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[11][16]

No subscription is referenced on any of the four Aqara surfaces read for this product. Recorded on absence rather than on an affirmative pledge, the same basis the Curtain Driver E1 and the Aqara water leak sensor records use: no Aqara statement creating a subscription for shade hardware was found, but neither is there a commitment that it stays free. Aqara's paid tiers cover camera and doorbell video storage, which has no bearing on a shade driver.

Maintenance and offline use[2][3]

The catch

Start with availability, because it decides whether the rest matters. Aqara runs a US store, sells this product's sibling through it, and does not list the Roller Shade Driver E1 there at all - no store listing, no US product page, and a US help-centre page that is empty under every heading and points you to 'Retailers'. Aqara plainly still makes and documents the product, including a US-region specification sheet, but it is not selling it to you directly. Second, the battery figure deserves a second look, especially against the other Aqara motor. Two months, on Aqara's own stated basis of raising and lowering a 1.8 m shade once a day. The Curtain Driver E1 is rated at a year on a comparable duty cycle. If six recharges a year is unwelcome, Aqara's answer is to leave the USB-C cable plugged in permanently, which it supports and calls wired mode - so the real question is whether you have a socket near the window. Third, the hub is mandatory and it must be an Aqara one: this is Zigbee 3.0 with no Wi-Fi, no Bluetooth and no Matter radio, so budget for a hub before budgeting for the driver. Fourth, and this is the part a single page will not tell you: Aqara's two compatibility lists for this product do not agree with each other, and neither names SmartThings, Home Assistant or Matter. The global page adds Alice and Marusya - voice assistants that matter in Russia and nowhere in a US household - while the US sheet drops them and adds nothing. Aqara also footnotes the whole thing with a condition worth reading twice: 'The ecosystem support is only provided on the global servers of Aqara Home app.' Finally, the mechanism is narrower than 'roller shades' suggests. This drives a beaded chain, and Aqara says only beaded-chain roller blinds with plastic or metal beads are supported, with the four included adapters covering beads 3-6 mm thick. A spring-loaded or cordless roller shade has nothing for it to grip.

Who it's for

Someone who already owns an Aqara hub, has roller blinds operated by a beaded chain, and wants them on a schedule or a voice command without replacing the blinds. The install is genuinely modest - screw the bracket to the wall, fit the adapter, feed the chain through - and at 42 mm deep it is a small thing to have beside a window. It suits an Apple Home, Alexa or Google household, which are the three ecosystems Aqara consistently names for it. It is a poor first Aqara purchase, because the mandatory hub means the true cost is the driver plus a hub. It is the wrong pick if your shades are cordless or spring-loaded, if the chain has fabric or oversized beads, if two-monthly recharging is unacceptable and there is no socket for permanent USB-C power, or if the household runs on SmartThings or Home Assistant - Aqara names neither for this product, and this catalogue records that silence rather than borrowing a claim from the sibling curtain motor. US buyers should also expect to source it from a retailer rather than from Aqara.

Check availability at Aqara

This opens Aqara's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

23 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Aqara product page, Roller Shade Driver E1 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Installation, Power source, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Market availability
  2. [2] Aqara product page, Roller Shade Driver E1 - specification tab — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Product identity, Batteries, Works without the internet, Protocols, Power source
  3. [3] Aqara US store, Roller Shade Driver E1 specification page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Batteries, Works without the internet, Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Research status
    Checked 2026-09-21. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  4. [4] Aqara US specification sheet and Aqara global product page - both compatibility enumerations — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
    Checked 2026-09-21. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  5. [5] No new page was read. The entry above is re-weighed against the standards rule ratified on 2026-09-17 and confirmed as an accessory case on 2026-09-18. Aqara two enumerations describe what the Roller Shade Driver E1 does through an Aqara hub; the device is Zigbee 3.0, and a hub left out of a vendor platform list is not thereby ruled out as a Zigbee coordinator. This record already carries that route in its own hub requirement, which lists a generic Zigbee hub beside the Aqara one, and its Home Assistant answer already stays unknown on exactly this reasoning. The SmartThings answer was the odd one out on the same evidence., verified 2026-09-18
  6. [6] Aqara global product page and specification tab - the protocol and compatibility statements — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Protocols
  7. [7] Aqara US store (no listing), Aqara US help centre page for the Roller Shade Driver E1, and the redirected FAQ page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Subscription
  8. [8] Aqara's Roller Shade Driver E1 specification tab, re-read 2026-08-18 — battery duty cycle, dimensions and the Aqara-hub requirement; nothing about local automation or outage behaviour. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  9. [9] aqara.com, Roller Shade Driver E1 product page and us.aqara.com product-specs page, both re-read 2026-08-18. The only 'operates without an internet connection' sentence on either page belongs to a third-party project case study, not to this product; the specification page addresses connectivity only as far as 'a Zigbee 3.0 hub is required'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  10. [10] Aqara (Lumi United Technology Co., Ltd), Statement of Compliance for UK — Roller Shade Driver E1, read 2026-08-19. Model name on the document: RSD-M01. Verbatim: 'we state that the defined support period for the product above is till 12/31/2026'. Located via Aqara's own compliance library at https://www.aqara.com/en/security-certifications/, which lists this product with these model numbers. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Security-update support period
  11. [11] Aqara Roller Shade Driver E1 user manual, 'Preparation before Use' — "2. An Aqara Zigbee 3.0 hub is required (The distance between this product and your hub should be within 30 m). 3. Download and install the Aqara Home app."; 'Device Binding & Initialization' adds "1. Before activating the accessory, please make sure you have the Aqara Home app and the Aqara Zigbee 3.0 hub installed." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  12. [12] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance — filling in which region the security-support statement applies to, verified 2026-08-27
  13. [13] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13
  14. [14] Aqara's global product page, https://www.aqara.com/en/product/roller-shade-driver-e1/, read in full 2026-09-20. The page presents the Roller Shade Driver E1 as a current product with no discontinuation or successor notice. No price appears anywhere on it. No subscription, plan, tier or fee is mentioned anywhere on it. The only purchase route offered is "Buy Now" pointing at https://eu.aqara.com/products/aqara-roller-shade-driver-e1. Specification text unchanged: "2-Months Battery Life" with the footnote "*Based on controlling a roller shade of 1.8m x 1.8m up and down, once a day", "Zigbee 3.0 Protocol", "A compatible Aqara hub is required", and "You can choose between two installation modes: wired and wireless. For charging or powering the device constantly, the most modern and versatile Type-C port is used." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Subscription
  15. [15] Aqara's US help-centre entry for the product, https://store-support.aqara.com/products/roller-shade-driver-e1, read 2026-09-20. The rendered page shows navigation, support options and resource links with no price, no stock state and no product specification. Its structured listing at the same address reports title "Roller Shade Driver E1", vendor "Help Center", a price of zero, no struck-through price, and not available, with a single "Default Title" variant carrying no SKU. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  16. [16] Aqara Roller Shade Driver E1 user manual (PDF), read in full 2026-09-21. 'Preparation before Use' step 1: "A smartphone or tablet that supports Wi-Fi or a cellular network (with iOS or Android system) is required." Step 2 still reads "An Aqara Zigbee 3.0 hub is required (The distance between this product and your hub should be within 30 m)", step 3 "Download and install the Aqara Home app" and step 4 "A drilling machine is required (must be equipped with a φ5 drill bit)". 'Device Binding & Initialization' step 1 still reads "Before activating the accessory, please make sure you have the Aqara Home app and the Aqara Zigbee 3.0 hub installed." 'Device Rotating Range Setup' step 2 reads "When the device is not connected to the network, the device rotating range can also be set by pressing the buttons;". The 'Device control (after rotating range is set)' table gives the on-device operations: "Roll the roller shade — Click Up Button - the motor keeps moving upwards till the shade is fully opened", "Unroll the roller shade — Click Down Button - the motor keeps moving downwards till the shade is fully closed", and a stop operation on the same buttons. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Works without the internet, App platforms, Vendor account required, Installation
  17. [17] Aqara's global product page, https://www.aqara.com/en/product/roller-shade-driver-e1/, read in full 2026-09-21. The page still presents the Roller Shade Driver E1 as a current product with no discontinuation or successor notice, and still carries no price anywhere on it and no subscription, plan, tier or fee language anywhere on it; the only purchase route is a "Buy Now" that leaves the US for https://eu.aqara.com/products/aqara-roller-shade-driver-e1. The ecosystem enumeration is unchanged and still reads Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, Yandex Alice and Marusya, with SmartThings, Home Assistant and Matter absent from it, and it is still footnoted "The ecosystem support is only provided on the global servers of Aqara Home app". "A compatible Aqara hub is required" is unchanged. "2-Months Battery Life" is unchanged and still footnoted "*Based on controlling a roller shade of 1.8m x 1.8m up and down, once a day". "Zigbee 3.0 Protocol" is unchanged, as are the two installation modes, wired and wireless, over the Type-C port, the "Just 5-minute installation" claim, and the bead-chain limits "4 adapters included make it compatible with beaded chains with a thickness of 3-6 mm" and "Only beaded chain roller blinds with plastic/metal beads are supported". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Power source, Batteries, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Price, Subscription, Market availability
  18. [18] Aqara's specification tab for the product, https://www.aqara.com/en/product/roller-shade-driver-e1/specs/, read in full 2026-09-21. Verbatim and unchanged: Model "RSD-M01"; Colour "White"; Dimensions "42×37×165 mm (1.69×1.52×6.89 in.)"; Wireless Protocol "Zigbee 3.0 IEEE 802.15.4"; Battery Type "Lithium battery (not replaceable)"; Standby Time "Two months (supposed to control a roller shade of 1.8m*1.8m up and down once a day)"; Input "5V⍰1A"; Total Power Consumption "5W"; Operating Temperature "-10°C ~ 55℃ (14°F ~ 131°F)"; Operating Humidity "0 ~ 95% RH, no condensation"; Compliance "GB/T 12350-2009"; and the box contents list. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Power source, Batteries
  19. [19] Aqara's US-region specification sheet, https://us.aqara.com/pages/product-specs/aqara-roller-shade-driver-e-1, read in full 2026-09-21. Unchanged: "Hub Required" answers "Yes (Aqara Zigbee 3.0 HUB)"; "Compatible Platforms" still reads "Aqara, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, IFTTT" and still names neither SmartThings nor Home Assistant nor Matter; Wireless Protocol "Zigbee IEEE 802.15.4"; a non-replaceable lithium battery; dimensions "1.69 × 1.52 × 6.89 inches (42 × 37 × 165 mm)" and weight 0.52 lb / 234 g; operating range -10°C to 55°C and 0-95% RH without condensation. No price, no stock state and no subscription language appear on it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Protocols, Batteries, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Research status
    Checked 2026-09-21. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  20. [20] Aqara's US help-centre entry for the product, https://store-support.aqara.com/products/roller-shade-driver-e1, read in full 2026-09-21. The page still carries only a title, a product image, the User Manual / FAQ / Video Tutorial / Forum Posts tabs, a "Setup Review" section reading "No content yet", live-chat and email support options, and a "Where to Buy" footer offering "Aqara Online Store" and "Retailers" generically. No price, no stock statement and no subscription language appear on it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Subscription
  21. [21] Aqara (Lumi United Technology Co., Ltd), "Statements of Compliance for UK" for the Roller Shade Driver E1, https://www.aqara.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/PSTI-statements-Roller-Shade-Driver-E1.pdf, re-read in full 2026-09-21. Verbatim and unchanged: "Product: Roller Shade Driver E1", "Brand name: Aqara", "Model name: RSD-M01", and "Moreover, we state that the defined support period for the product above is till 12/31/2026." Signed "Lean Wang / Senior Certification Engineer", "Place: Shenzhen, China; Date: April 9, 2024", pointing to https://www.aqara.com/eu/support/security-response-center for more information. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Security-update support period
  22. [22] Aqara US store (still no listing for this model) and Aqara's US help-centre entry for the product — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Subscription
  23. [23] This record's own entries for Aqara's signed statement of compliance, which quote the model list the document prints., verified 2026-08-19

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Aqara Roller Shade Driver E1 with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker