Product Library / Blinds, Shades & Curtains

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-18

Aqara Curtain Driver E1

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][10]
[1][10]
[1][10]
[4][10][11]
[4][10]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: ZIGBEE[1][10]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

A hub or controller is required

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Required for the device

Aqara hub or bridge

Setup and sources

Mandatory and brand-locked. Aqara states plainly that hubs from other brands are not compatible, so a generic Zigbee coordinator is not a supported substitute — a Home Assistant user pairing this to their own Zigbee stick is on a community path Aqara does not endorse.

Required for the device

Zigbee hub

Yes, and only an Aqara one. The device is Zigbee 3.0 with no Wi-Fi, no Bluetooth path and no Matter radio of its own, and Aqara's US store states the dependency twice over: 'An Aqara Hub is required and sold separately', followed by '(NOTE: Hubs from alternative brands are not compatible.)' Aqara's specification tab records the requirement as an 'Aqara Zigbee 3.0 HUB'. Hubs reported compatible on the store listing include the M2, M1S, M1S Gen 2, E1, Camera Hub G2H, G2H Pro and G3 — indicative rather than authoritative, since Aqara publishes no hub-by-hub compatibility matrix for this product. Which hub you buy is a live decision rather than a formality: Aqara's own footnote says 'Matter support may be unavailable by the time of the launch, and will be rolled out as an OTA update of a compatible Aqara Zigbee 3.0 hub', so a Matter path through this curtain driver depends on the hub's firmware rather than the motor's.[1][2][13]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Open/close

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[1]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[1][10]Google HomeWorks[1][10]AlexaWorks[1][10]SmartThingsPartial[4][10][11]Home AssistantPartial[4][10]
Open/closeDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

The one platform every Aqara surface agrees on — named as 'HomeKit' on the product overview, 'Apple Home' in the compatibility section, and 'Apple Home' again on the US store. Reached through the Aqara hub, which is what actually appears in the Home app; no hub, no Apple Home. Aqara's example phrasing is its own: 'Hey Siri, open the curtain'.[1][10]

Google Home

Named on all three surfaces, though Aqara cannot keep the name straight — 'Google Assistant' on the product overview, 'Google Home' in the compatibility section and on the store. Those are the voice service and the app respectively; the substance is the same cloud link through the Aqara hub.[1][10]

Alexa

Named on all three Aqara surfaces, as 'Alexa' and 'Amazon Alexa'. Requires the Aqara hub and account-linking, which means an Alexa routine that opens the curtain depends on the internet being up as well as on the hub being online.[1][10]

SmartThings

Aqara contradicts itself, and this cell is the disagreement rather than a resolution of it. The compatibility section of Aqara's own product page states 'Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, and Home Assistant are supported'. The ecosystem section higher up the SAME page lists 'HomeKit, Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, and the upcoming Matter' and omits SmartThings entirely, and Aqara's US store listing — the page actually selling the product — names 'Aqara, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and IFTTT' and also omits it. One affirmation against two silences, on three surfaces the same company controls. Recorded partial for the reason the Aqara water leak sensor record uses: the vendor will not commit consistently on its own pages. Aqara names no mechanism either — the plausible route is Matter bridging through a Matter-capable Aqara hub, which Aqara's own footnote describes as an OTA-delivered hub capability rather than a shipped fact, so the path stays unknown instead of being guessed. Since then SmartThings has been checked directly, and its own list of the Aqara devices that work with it names this one, under the same model number this product carries. That is the first word on the question from anyone but Aqara. The list says only that the two work together — it says nothing about how — so what happens between them is still unstated.[4][10][11]

Home Assistant

Same conflict as SmartThings and the same reasoning. Home Assistant appears in exactly one of Aqara's three surfaces — the compatibility section's 'Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, and Home Assistant are supported' — and is absent from the ecosystem section on the same page and from the US store listing. Worth being concrete about what this probably means in practice, without recording it as fact: Home Assistant users commonly reach Aqara Zigbee devices either through a Matter-bridging Aqara hub or by pairing the device directly to their own Zigbee coordinator, and Aqara explicitly disclaims the second route by stating that hubs from other brands are not compatible. Neither party has published anything specific to this curtain driver, so the level records the vendor's own inconsistency and the path stays unknown.[4][10]

Device documentation: [1]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][10]The one platform every Aqara surface agrees on — named as 'HomeKit' on the product overview, 'Apple Home' in the compatibility section, and 'Apple Home' again on the US store. Reached through the Aqara hub, which is what actually appears in the Home app; no hub, no Apple Home. Aqara's example phrasing is its own: 'Hey Siri, open the curtain'.In Apple Home you also need: a Aqara hub · a Zigbee hub
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][10]Named on all three Aqara surfaces, as 'Alexa' and 'Amazon Alexa'. Requires the Aqara hub and account-linking, which means an Alexa routine that opens the curtain depends on the internet being up as well as on the hub being online.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Aqara hub · a Zigbee hub
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][10]Named on all three surfaces, though Aqara cannot keep the name straight — 'Google Assistant' on the product overview, 'Google Home' in the compatibility section and on the store. Those are the voice service and the app respectively; the substance is the same cloud link through the Aqara hub.In Google Home you also need: a Aqara hub · a Zigbee hub
SmartThingsPartialPartial support — see the catch[4][10][11]Aqara contradicts itself, and this cell is the disagreement rather than a resolution of it. The compatibility section of Aqara's own product page states 'Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, and Home Assistant are supported'. The ecosystem section higher up the SAME page lists 'HomeKit, Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, and the upcoming Matter' and omits SmartThings entirely, and Aqara's US store listing — the page actually selling the product — names 'Aqara, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and IFTTT' and also omits it. One affirmation against two silences, on three surfaces the same company controls. Recorded partial for the reason the Aqara water leak sensor record uses: the vendor will not commit consistently on its own pages. Aqara names no mechanism either — the plausible route is Matter bridging through a Matter-capable Aqara hub, which Aqara's own footnote describes as an OTA-delivered hub capability rather than a shipped fact, so the path stays unknown instead of being guessed. Since then SmartThings has been checked directly, and its own list of the Aqara devices that work with it names this one, under the same model number this product carries. That is the first word on the question from anyone but Aqara. The list says only that the two work together — it says nothing about how — so what happens between them is still unstated.In SmartThings you also need: a Aqara hub · a Zigbee hub
Home AssistantPartialPartial support — see the catch[4][10]Same conflict as SmartThings and the same reasoning. Home Assistant appears in exactly one of Aqara's three surfaces — the compatibility section's 'Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, and Home Assistant are supported' — and is absent from the ecosystem section on the same page and from the US store listing. Worth being concrete about what this probably means in practice, without recording it as fact: Home Assistant users commonly reach Aqara Zigbee devices either through a Matter-bridging Aqara hub or by pairing the device directly to their own Zigbee coordinator, and Aqara explicitly disclaims the second route by stating that hubs from other brands are not compatible. Neither party has published anything specific to this curtain driver, so the level records the vendor's own inconsistency and the path stays unknown.In Home Assistant you also need: a Aqara hub · a Zigbee hub

Plans and ongoing costs[2][9]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[7]

No subscription is referenced on any of the three Aqara surfaces read for this product. Blinds and shades are a category where nothing is sold by the month — no maker in it charges a recurring fee to open or close a window covering — so "no subscription" here is the category's normal answer rather than a gap in what we checked. What would change it is Aqara naming a plan, tier or fee that gates something this motor does. Aqara's paid tiers cover camera and doorbell video storage, which has no bearing on a motor.

Maintenance and offline use[3]

The catch

The hub is not optional and it is not yours to choose freely. This is a Zigbee 3.0 device with no Wi-Fi, no Bluetooth and no Matter radio, and Aqara states both halves of the dependency on its own store: an Aqara hub is required, and hubs from other brands are not compatible. Budget for one before budgeting for the motor. The second thing to check is the track, because this is the rare smart-home product where the wrong measurement makes it useless: the Track Version fits U- and I-rails only, U-rails need a bottom slot of 8 mm or less, I-rails need 10 mm or more, extendable rods are not supported, and U-rail gliders without wheels are not supported. The Rod Version costs $10 more and fits more things. Third — and this is the finding a buyer cannot get from any single page — Aqara's own surfaces disagree about which ecosystems this works with. SmartThings and Home Assistant are named in one section of one Aqara page, and omitted from both the ecosystem section on that same page and the US store listing that sells the product. Matter is described as something that 'will be rolled out as an OTA update of a compatible Aqara Zigbee 3.0 hub' rather than as a shipped capability, which means the Matter answer depends on which hub you own and what firmware it is running. Finally, the good news is unusually well documented: Aqara rates the 6000 mAh battery at up to a year and, rather than leaving that bare, publishes the duty cycle it was measured at and the three variables that will make your result worse.

Who it's for

Someone already inside the Aqara ecosystem — a hub on the shelf, sensors on the walls — who wants existing curtains to open on a schedule, at sunrise, or by voice, and whose track matches one of the two mounting versions. The 12 kg pull and the year-long battery make it a genuinely low-maintenance choice for ordinary household curtains. It is a poor first Aqara purchase, because the mandatory brand-locked hub means the real price is the motor plus a hub. It is the wrong pick if the window has slatted blinds rather than draw curtains, if the track is an extendable rod or uses gliders without wheels, or if SmartThings or Home Assistant is the intended home and a firm answer matters — on those two platforms Aqara's own pages contradict each other, and this catalogue records the contradiction rather than picking the flattering side.

Check availability at Aqara

This opens Aqara's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

13 numbered sources, including 1 where sources disagree· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Aqara product pages, Curtain Driver E1 (Track Version) and (Rod Version) — overview body copy and specification tab — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Capabilities, Protocols
  2. [2] Aqara US store listing, Curtain Driver E1 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Research status, Required hub or bridge, Subscription
  3. [3] Aqara product pages, Curtain Driver E1 — specification tab, battery and installation sections — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Batteries, Works without the internet, Power source, Installation
  4. [4] Aqara product page (two sections) and Aqara US store listing — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  5. [5] Aqara's Curtain Driver E1 specification tab, re-read 2026-08-18 — dimensions, power, Zigbee 3.0 and accessories; no statement about automations running locally or the driver working during an internet outage. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  6. [6] Aqara (Lumi United Technology Co., Ltd), Statement of Compliance for UK — Curtain Driver E1 (Rod Version and Track Version, both named on one document), read 2026-08-19. Model name on the document: CM-M01. Verbatim: 'we state that the defined support period for the product above is till 12/31/2026'. Located via Aqara's own compliance library at https://www.aqara.com/en/security-certifications/, which lists this product with these model numbers. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Security-update support period
  7. [7] Aqara Curtain Driver E1 (Track Version) user manual, 'Preparation before use' — "1.This product needs to be connected with the Aqara Home app before being installed on the curtains. Before activating the product, please make sure you have the Aqara Home app and the Aqara Zigbee 3.0 hub installed"; product introduction adds "*An Aqara Zigbee 3.0 hub is required. Some functions require specific models of hubs." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  8. [8] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance — filling in which region the security-support statement applies to, verified 2026-08-27
  9. [9] Aqara's US store listing for the Curtain Driver E1, re-read 2026-09-18 — first through the structured product data the store publishes for its own listing, which answered normally, and then the visible listing for the text that structured data does not carry. WHAT THE STRUCTURED DATA SAYS: the product is available; the lowest price is 89.99 US dollars and the highest 99.99; the Rod version is priced at 99.99 and marked available, with the store code DTC-US-CD-E1-ROD and the barcode 0192784000861; the Track version is priced at 89.99 and marked NOT available, with the store code DTC-US-CD-E1-TRACK and the same barcode 0192784000861. WHAT THE VISIBLE LISTING SAYS: the hub condition unchanged, verbatim — 'An Aqara Hub is required and sold separately. (NOTE: Hubs from alternative brands are not compatible.)'; the works-with row unchanged — 'Compatible Platforms Aqara, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and IFTTT'; the specification row 'Hub Required Yes(Aqara Zigbee 3.0 HUB)'. The FCC ID '2AKIT-CMM01' and the Industry Canada ID '22635-CMM01' are read from Aqara's own specification tab at https://www.aqara.com/us/product/curtain-driver-e1-track-version/specs/, re-read the same day, which also still states 'Model CM-M01' and 'Dimensions 145.7 × 96 × 46 mm'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Market availability, Certification and product IDs
  10. [10] Aqara's Curtain Driver E1 product pages — the Track Version and the Rod Version — re-read in full on 2026-09-18, together with the Track Version specification tab and the US store listing the same day. That is all four of the Aqara-owned surfaces this record was built on. The two product pages still carry identical body copy, and the Rod page still states the difference this record's price note quotes: 'Rod version supports Rods, U-Rails and I-Rails; Track version supports U-Rails and I-Rails', with the Rod Version described as supporting 'all the types' against 'a more cost-efficient Track Version'. All three enumerations still disagree, word for word as they did on 2026-08-01. 'Wide Ecosystem Support — Compatible with a wide range of ecosystems and voice assistants. HomeKit, Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, and the upcoming Matter will be supported.' 'Wide Compatibility — The Curtain Driver E1 is compatible with a wide range of smart home ecosystems and voice assistants. Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, and Home Assistant are supported', still carrying the footnote '* Matter support may be unavailable by the time of the launch, and will be rolled out as an OTA update of a compatible Aqara Zigbee 3.0 hub.' The US store's works-with row still reads 'Aqara, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and IFTTT'. Protocol unchanged: 'Zigbee 3.0 Protocol' on the overview and 'Wireless Protocol Zigbee 3.0 IEEE 802.15.4' on the specification tab. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Protocols, Research status
  11. [11] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner directory, Aqara's page, read 2026-09-20. SmartThings lists this product on its own row and names the model number this record carries: "Curtain Driver E1", "Model Number" "CM-M01", "Category" "Window treatment"., verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  12. [12] This record's own entries for Aqara's signed statement of compliance, which quote the model list the document prints., verified 2026-08-19
  13. [13] Aqara's US store listing for the Curtain Driver E1, read on 2026-10-01. Verbatim, Information block: "An Aqara Hub is required and sold separately. (NOTE: Hubs from alternative brands are not compatible.)" Verbatim, Specifications table: "Hub Required Yes(Aqara Zigbee 3.0 HUB)" and "Wireless Protocols Zigbee 3.0". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Required hub or bridge

Where sources disagree

Where two sources we consider reliable say different things, we publish both positions and what we recorded, rather than quietly picking one.

SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility

  • Aqara product page, 'Wide Compatibility' section (as of 2026-08-01): 'The Curtain Driver E1 is compatible with a wide range of smart home ecosystems and voice assistants. Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, and Home Assistant are supported.' — SmartThings and Home Assistant named as supported.
  • Aqara product page, 'Wide Ecosystem Support' section (same page, higher up) (as of 2026-08-01): 'Compatible with a wide range of ecosystems and voice assistants. HomeKit, Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, and the upcoming Matter will be supported.' — an enumeration that names IFTTT and Matter and omits both SmartThings and Home Assistant.
  • Aqara US store listing, works-with row (as of 2026-08-01): Works with 'Aqara, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and IFTTT' — the page selling the product omits both SmartThings and Home Assistant.

We publish: partial

One affirmation against two silences, all three from Aqara itself and two of them on the same page. An omission is silence rather than a denial, so 'none' would be wrong; but a single affirmation the vendor contradicts on the page that takes the money is not a commitment we can pass on as 'full'. Partial records exactly that state, and follows the resolution the aqara-water-leak-sensor record already made when Aqara's prose and its own badges disagreed. Nothing resolves this from our side: Aqara names no mechanism for either platform, and neither SmartThings nor Home Assistant publishes anything specific to this product. What would settle it is a consistent Aqara enumeration, or a counterparty page naming the Curtain Driver E1.

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Aqara Curtain Driver E1 with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker